DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 02/15/2023, coinciding with the filing date of the People’s Republic of China application to which foreign priority was requested.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 19 have been amended. No claims have been added or cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection and does not find them convincing. Applicant contends that Anderton does not disclose using the support pins to pick up the article. Examiner disagrees, and points to at least col. 2, lines 1-6, where the support pins are described as being “configured to contact the article to support the article against movement along the longitudinal axis of the support pins and support the article against movement transverse to the longitudinal axis of the support pins”. Examiner contends that while the Anderton reference might additionally use vacuum cups to pick up the article, Applicant is overstating the claimed language, and the support pins are clearly involved in the process of picking up and releasing the object by way of preventing longitudinal movement during this pick and place process.
Applicant further contends that Anderton does not disclose using a pin actuator that moves the pin members between the retracted and extended positions. Examiner disagrees, and finds that the act of moving the robotic arm makes the actuator that moves the arm analogous with the pin actuator, as it is responsible for moving the pins from the extended position to a retracted position and vice versa.
Finally, Applicant argues that Anderton does not describe retracting the support pins such that the distal end of the support pins are recessed into the plate member in the retracted position, stating that the pins remain forward of the plate member when retracted. Examiner disagrees with this assertion, and points to at least col. 6, lines 20-31 “After the retainer apparatus 100 is arranged into a position overlying the article 90, the retainer apparatus 100 is lowered vertically relative to the article 90 and/or the article 90 is raised vertically relative to the retainer apparatus 100 such that a distal end face 160 of at least some of the support pins 148 makes contact with the facing surface 94 of the article 90, which results in at least some of the support pins 148 retracting into the blind hole 110 of the base plate member 106 of the retainer apparatus 100. The length of retraction of each support pin 148 into the respective blind hole 110 may vary depending on the contour of the article 90.”. This paragraph shows the distal ends of the support pins in their retracted position are recessed into the plate member, and discloses the language of the amended limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderton et al. (US11667042, referred to as Anderton).
Regarding claim 1: Anderton discloses: A part manipulator comprising: a robot arm movable in three-dimensional space, the robot arm movable between a pick station and a place station; ([col. 1, lines 46-48] The present disclosure provides a retainer apparatus for picking and placing articles of varying geometries and materials.) an end effector coupled to a distal end of the robot arm, ([col. 3, lines 43-45] end effector 50 comprises a retainer apparatus 100 disposed at a distal end of the end effector 50, as well as the multi-axis robotic arm 20 ) the end effector including a part support fixture and a pin gripper adjacent the part support fixture, the pin gripper including a pin member and a pin actuator operated to move the pin member outward between a retracted position and an extended position and operated to move the pin member inward between the extended position and the retracted position, ([col. 6, lines 37-46] Once the support pins 148 are positioned longitudinally, a locking mechanism 180 is engaged which is configured to lock (hold stationary) all the support pins 148 in a fixed position so that the support pins 148 are inhibited from any further extending or retracting. Stated another way, the locking mechanism 180 is configured to inhibit the support pins 148 from being retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is engaged, and configured to permit the support pins 148 to be retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is disengaged.) a distal end of the pin member extending from the part support fixture in the extended position to engage and hold a part against the part support fixture in the extended position, ([col. 6, lines 57-65] In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.) wherein the pin member is configured to pick up the part in the extended position at the pick station, and wherein the pin actuator is configured to release the part at the place station when the pin member is moved to the retracted position. ([col. 3, lines 45-51] the retainer apparatus 100 may be particularly configured to releasably retain/hold the article 90 by retaining/holding the article 90 only on one side, such as rear face 94, without having the grasp the article 90 on two opposite sides, such as front face 92 and rear face 94, such as by clamping from the opposite sides. [col. 6, lines 37-65] Once the support pins 148 are positioned longitudinally, a locking mechanism 180 is engaged which is configured to lock (hold stationary) all the support pins 148 in a fixed position so that the support pins 148 are inhibited from any further extending or retracting. Stated another way, the locking mechanism 180 is configured to inhibit the support pins 148 from being retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is engaged, and configured to permit the support pins 148 to be retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is disengaged. As shown, the locking mechanism 180 comprises two linear actuators 182 (e.g. shown as hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders) which each comprise an actuator body 184 mounted to the base plate member 106 and a movable (extendable/retractable) actuator rod 186 mounted to the face plate member 118. As shown, the linear actuators 182 are mounted such that the face plate member 118 is movable laterally substantially perpendicular (e.g. perpendicular within manufacturing tolerances) to the front face 108 of the base plate member 106. In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.)
Regarding claim 2: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the pin member is retractable relative to the part support fixture such that the distal end of the pin member is recessed into the part support fixture in the retracted position. ([col. 6, lines 20-31] After the retainer apparatus 100 is arranged into a position overlying the article 90, the retainer apparatus 100 is lowered vertically relative to the article 90 and/or the article 90 is raised vertically relative to the retainer apparatus 100 such that a distal end face 160 of at least some of the support pins 148 makes contact with the facing surface 94 of the article 90, which results in at least some of the support pins 148 retracting into the blind hole 110 of the base plate member 106 of the retainer apparatus 100. The length of retraction of each support pin 148 into the respective blind hole 110 may vary depending on the contour of the article 90. [col. 6, lines 57-65] In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.)
Regarding claim 3: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the part support fixture includes a pin opening therethrough, the pin member received in the pin opening, the pin member movable relative to the part support fixture within the pin opening. ([col. 4, lines 54-59] A shaft 152 of the support pins 148 extends through a
through-hole 126 of a bushing 124, which is mounted in a through-hole 122 in the face plate member 118, and into a blind-hole 110 in the base plate member 106. A head 154 of the support pins 148, as well as the shaft 152, may extend and retract into the blind-hole 110)
Regarding claim 4: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the pin member is a first pin member, the pin gripper further comprising a second pin member movable between a retracted position and an extended position. ([col. 6, lines 57-65] In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.)
Regarding claim 5: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the pin member is pluggable into an opening in the part to pick up the part. ([col. 6, lines 57-65] In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124. [col. 3, lines 45-51] the retainer apparatus 100 may be particularly configured to releasably retain/hold the article 90 by retaining/holding the article 90 only on one side, such as rear face 94, without having the grasp the article 90 on two opposite sides, such as front face 92 and rear face 94, such as by clamping from the opposite sides.)
Regarding claim 6: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the pin support fixture includes a support surface at a bottom of the pin support fixture, the pin member holding the part against the support surface. [col. 6, lines 37-65] Once the support pins 148 are positioned longitudinally, a locking mechanism 180 is engaged which is configured to lock (hold stationary) all the support pins 148 in a fixed position so that the support pins 148 are inhibited from any further extending or retracting. Stated another way, the locking mechanism 180 is configured to inhibit the support pins 148 from being retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is engaged, and configured to permit the support pins 148 to be retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is disengaged. As shown, the locking mechanism 180 comprises two linear actuators 182 (e.g. shown as hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders) which each comprise an actuator body 184 mounted to the base plate member 106 and a movable (extendable/retractable) actuator rod 186 mounted to the face plate member 118. As shown, the linear actuators 182 are mounted such that the face plate member 118 is movable laterally substantially perpendicular (e.g. perpendicular within manufacturing tolerances) to the front face 108 of the base plate member 106. In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.)
Regarding claim 7: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 6,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the support surface supports the part from moving with the pin member when the pin member is moved from the extended position to the retracted position to release the part from the pin gripper. ([col. 6, lines 57-65] In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124. [col. 3, lines 45-51] the retainer apparatus 100 may be particularly configured to releasably retain/hold the article 90 by retaining/holding the article 90 only on one side, such as rear face 94, without having the grasp the article 90 on two opposite sides, such as front face 92 and rear face 94, such as by clamping from the opposite sides.)
Regarding claim 8: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the pin actuator moves the pin member in a linear actuation direction between the retracted position and the extended position. ([col. 6, lines 57-65] In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their
aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.)
Regarding claim 10: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the part support fixture is L-shaped including a main body and a support body extending from the main body, the support body including a support surface at a bottom of the support body, the support surface supporting the part from above, the pin member holding the part against the support surface when in the extended position, the pin member being retractable into the support body when moved to the retracted position to release the part from the pin gripper. ([Fig. 8] [col. 6, lines 57-65] In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124. [col. 3, lines 45-51] the retainer apparatus 100 may be particularly configured to releasably retain/hold the article 90 by retaining/holding the article 90 only on one side, such as rear face 94, without having the grasp the article 90 on two opposite sides, such as front face 92 and rear face 94, such as by clamping from the opposite sides.)
Regarding claim 11: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton further discloses: wherein the end effector includes a pin sensor detecting a position of the pin member, the robotic arm being controlled based on input from the pin sensor. ([col. 8, lines 22-24] with individual displacement sensors, the contact positions of the support pins 148 may be used as a part
identification and coarse positioning feedback.)
Regarding claim 13: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 14: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 15: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 16: Rejected using the same rationales as claims 6 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 12, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderton et al. (US11667042, referred to as Anderton) in view of Bourgeois et al. (US8781616, referred to as Bourgeois).
Regarding claim 9: Anderton discloses: The part manipulator of claim 1,
Anderton does not disclose the following limitations, however Bourgeois, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the end effector further comprises a rotation platform rotatable relative to the robot arm to change an angular orientation of the part. ([col. 6, lines 39-61] the “top” and “bottom’ of an article may refer to portions of an inverted article or an article Subject to angular rotation upon placement in a corresponding guide 28 regardless as to how an article would appear on display. A type of article conducive to placement on guide 28 is shown in FIGS. 5, 6 and 7 as one or more containers 29. Containers 29 are an example of one of many varieties of articles (including, but not limited to products, containers, canisters, devices and other objects) that may be transported and delivered in a conveyable orientation by robotic unscrambler 10. As shown in FIG. 4, the bottom extent 28e of the guide 28 may include a retractable gate 31 that will be adjacent to the bottom of an article when guide 28 is in an initial open article placement position with an article disposed on article Support Surface 28b. Each guide Support Surface 28a may include a coupling element (such as pin, bolt, or other fastener 33) that establishes pivotable communication between each guide 28 and a corresponding transporter 30 such that guide 28 is angularly movable between a generally horizontal position to a generally vertical position, along which angular path any position can define an initial article placement position and a Subsequent article conveyance position.)
Anderton and Bourgeois are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot pick and place mechanisms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the pick and place procedure of Anderton to enable the rotational part orienting of Bourgeois.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the pick and place method disclosed in Anderton with the method applied to a re-orientation part feeding system as taught in Bourgeois.
Regarding claim 12: Anderton discloses: A part assembly machine comprising: [a pick station having a part feeder, the part feeder having a platform supporting parts; a vision inspection station positioned adjacent the part feeder, the vision inspection station including an imaging device to image the parts in a field of view above the platform; a controller receiving images from the imaging device, the controller determining orientations of the parts on the platform from a plurality of possible orientations], the possible orientations including a picking orientation, ([col. 6, lines 15-26] With regards to the releasable holding of the article 90, the end effector 50, and more particularly the retainer apparatus 100, may approach the article 90 with the support pins 148 in an extended position and the article 90 arranged with a horizontal orientation. After the retainer apparatus 100 is arranged into a position overlying the article 90, the retainer apparatus 100 is lowered vertically relative to the article 90 and/or the article 90
is raised vertically relative to the retainer apparatus 100 such that a distal end face 160 of at least some of the support pins 148 makes contact with the facing surface 94 of the article 90) [the controller determining locations of each part in the picking orientation;] a part manipulator positioned adjacent the pick station to successively pick up the parts in the picking orientation [from the part feeder], the part manipulator configured to place the parts at a place station, ([col. 3, lines 15-17] FIG. 8 is a perspective view of the multi-axis manipulator 15 with the retainer apparatus of FIG. 1 after a sheet metal part has been moved and released. [col. 3, lines 45-51] the retainer apparatus 100 may be particularly configured to releasably retain/hold the article 90 by retaining/holding the article 90 only on one side, such as rear face 94, without having the grasp the article 90 on two opposite sides, such as front face 92 and rear face 94, such as by clamping from the opposite sides. [col. 6, lines 37-65] Once the support pins 148 are positioned longitudinally, a locking mechanism 180 is engaged which is configured to lock (hold stationary) all the support pins 148 in a fixed position so that the support pins 148 are inhibited from any further extending or retracting. Stated another way, the locking mechanism 180 is configured to inhibit the support pins 148 from being retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is engaged, and configured to permit the support pins 148 to be retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is disengaged. As shown, the locking mechanism 180 comprises two linear actuators 182 (e.g. shown as hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders) which each comprise an actuator body 184 mounted to the base plate member 106 and a movable (extendable/retractable) actuator rod 186 mounted to the face plate member 118. As shown, the linear actuators 182 are mounted such that the face plate member 118 is movable laterally substantially perpendicular (e.g. perpendicular within manufacturing tolerances) to the front face 108 of the base plate member 106. In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.) the part manipulator including a robot arm and an end effector coupled to a distal end of the robot arm, ([col. 3, lines 43-45] end effector 50 comprises a retainer apparatus 100 disposed at a distal end of the end effector 50, as well as the multi-axis robotic arm 20 ) [the robot arm operably coupled to the controller], the robot arm movable in three dimensional space between the pick station and the place station, [the end effector operably coupled to the controller], the end effector including a part support fixture and a pin gripper adjacent the part support fixture, the pin gripper including a pin member and a pin actuator operated to move the pin member between a retracted position and an extended position, a distal end of the pin member extending from the part support fixture in the extended position to engage and hold a part against the part support fixture in the extended position; wherein [the controller operates the robot arm] to successively position the end effector proximate to the parts in the picking orientations; wherein [the controller operates the end effector] to pick up the corresponding part in the picking orientation at the pick station with the pin member in the extended position; ([col. 3, lines 15-17] FIG. 8 is a perspective view of the multi-axis manipulator 15 with the retainer apparatus of FIG. 1 after a sheet metal part has been moved and released. [col. 3, lines 45-51] the retainer apparatus 100 may be particularly configured to releasably retain/hold the article 90 by retaining/holding the article 90 only on one side, such as rear face 94, without having the grasp the article 90 on two opposite sides, such as front face 92 and rear face 94, such as by clamping from the opposite sides. [col. 6, lines 37-65] Once the support pins 148 are positioned longitudinally, a locking mechanism 180 is engaged which is configured to lock (hold stationary) all the support pins 148 in a fixed position so that the support pins 148 are inhibited from any further extending or retracting. Stated another way, the locking mechanism 180 is configured to inhibit the support pins 148 from being retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is engaged, and configured to permit the support pins 148 to be retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is disengaged. As shown, the locking mechanism 180 comprises two linear actuators 182 (e.g. shown as hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders) which each comprise an actuator body 184 mounted to the base plate member 106 and a movable (extendable/retractable) actuator rod 186 mounted to the face plate member 118. As shown, the linear actuators 182 are mounted such that the face plate member 118 is movable laterally substantially perpendicular (e.g. perpendicular within manufacturing tolerances) to the front face 108 of the base plate member 106. In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.) wherein [the controller operates the robot arm] to move the end effector to the place station after the part is picked up; and ([col. 3, lines 15-17] FIG. 8 is a perspective view of the multi-axis manipulator 15 with the retainer apparatus of FIG. 1 after a sheet metal part has been moved and released.) wherein [the controller operates the end effector] to release the part at the place station when the pin member is moved to the retracted position. ([col. 3, lines 15-17] FIG. 8 is a perspective view of the multi-axis manipulator 15 with the retainer apparatus of FIG. 1 after a sheet metal part has been moved and released. [col. 3, lines 45-51] the retainer apparatus 100 may be particularly configured to releasably retain/hold the article 90 by retaining/holding the article 90 only on one side, such as rear face 94, without having the grasp the article 90 on two opposite sides, such as front face 92 and rear face 94, such as by clamping from the opposite sides. [col. 6, lines 37-65] Once the support pins 148 are positioned longitudinally, a locking mechanism 180 is engaged which is configured to lock (hold stationary) all the support pins 148 in a fixed position so that the support pins 148 are inhibited from any further extending or retracting. Stated another way, the locking mechanism 180 is configured to inhibit the support pins 148 from being retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is engaged, and configured to permit the support pins 148 to be retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism 180 is disengaged. As shown, the locking mechanism 180 comprises two linear actuators 182 (e.g. shown as hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders) which each comprise an actuator body 184 mounted to the base plate member 106 and a movable (extendable/retractable) actuator rod 186 mounted to the face plate member 118. As shown, the linear actuators 182 are mounted such that the face plate member 118 is movable laterally substantially perpendicular (e.g. perpendicular within manufacturing tolerances) to the front face 108 of the base plate member 106. In an unlocked position of the support pins 148, when the linear actuators 182 and plate members 106, 118 are in their aligned position, the longitudinal (center) axis 150 of each support pin 148 is aligned coaxial with the longitudinal (center) axis 112 of each respective blind hole 110 and the longitudinal (center) axis 128 of each respective bushing 124 through which it extends, such that each support pin 148 moves ( extends or retracts) freely relative to its respective blind hole 110 and bushing 124.)
Anderton does not disclose the following limitations, however Bourgeois, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: a pick station having a part feeder, the part feeder having a platform supporting parts; ([col. 3, lines 59-62] the conveyor belt 18 transports numerous articles in a scrambled random orientation Such that the articles pass in an operating region 17 of one or more robotic pickers 20.) a vision inspection station positioned adjacent the part feeder, the vision inspection station including an imaging device to image the parts in a field of view above the platform; a controller receiving images from the imaging device, the controller determining orientations of the parts on the platform from a plurality of possible orientations; ([col. 4, lines 41-53] The pickers 20 are mounted above the conveyor belt 18, and are in communication with a vision system 24 that may comprise one or more cameras that collect and disseminate information to the pickers regarding the articles location, geometry and orientation. As a result, prior to the beginning of each new working region of the next picker, the initial article picking positions of articles still present on conveyor belt 18 are known. Therefore, idle or non-productive movements of the pickers can be avoided. Idle or non-productive picking operations on a respective article, which would result in incomplete picking of articles and Subsequent mechanical processing to make up for Such deficiencies, can also be avoided. [col. 4, lines 59-66] A programmable controller may control the receptacle (such as the hopper) and the conveyors and the pickers to: move the robotic arm 26 to an article which is in a random orientation; pick up the article by controlling the gripper, move the robotic arm to orient the picked article in at least one article placement position; and, release the article by controlling the gripper (for instance, to place the article on a guide 28, as further described below).) the robot arm operably coupled to the controller ; the end effector operably coupled to the controller ; the controller operates the robot arm ; the controller operates the end effector ; the controller operates the robot arm ; the controller operates the end effector ([col. 1, lines 41-48] A programmable controller moves the robotic arm and gripper to the article, picks up the article by controlling the gripper, moves the robotic arm so as to move the picked article from an article transfer position and releases the article by controlling the gripper (for instance, to place the article upright within a puck for further treatment; to place the article into a conveyable orientation for conveyance on a running belt)
As previously stated, Anderton and Bourgeois are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot pick and place mechanisms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the pick and place procedure of Anderton to enable the controller operated visual inspection orientation confirmation part feeding of Bourgeois.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the pick and place method disclosed in Anderton with the method applied to a visual specific orientation part feeding system as taught in Bourgeois.
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Anderton and Bourgeois teaches: The part assembly machine of claim 12,
Anderton does not disclose the following limitations, however Bourgeois, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: wherein the part manipulator picks up only the parts in the picking orientation and does not pick up the parts in other orientations. ([col. 4, lines 41-53] The pickers 20 are mounted above the conveyor belt 18, and are in communication with a vision system 24 that may comprise one or more cameras that collect and disseminate information to the pickers regarding the articles location, geometry and orientation. As a result, prior to the beginning of each new working region of the next picker, the initial article picking positions of articles still present on conveyor belt 18 are known. Therefore, idle or non-productive movements of the pickers can be avoided. Idle or non-productive picking operations on a respective article, which would result in incomplete picking of articles and Subsequent mechanical processing to make up for Such deficiencies, can also be avoided. [col. 4, lines 59-66] A programmable controller may control the receptacle (such as the hopper) and the conveyors and the pickers to: move the robotic arm 26 to an article which is in a random orientation; pick up the article by controlling the gripper, move the robotic arm to orient the picked article in at least one article placement position; and, release the article by controlling the gripper (for instance, to place the article on a guide 28, as further described below).)
As previously stated, Anderton and Bourgeois are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot pick and place mechanisms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the pick and place procedure of Anderton to enable the controller operated visual inspection orientation confirmation part feeding of Bourgeois.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the pick and place method disclosed in Anderton with the method applied to a visual specific orientation part feeding system as taught in Bourgeois.
Regarding claim 19: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 12.
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Anderton and Bourgeois teaches: The method of claim 19,
Anderton further discloses: further comprising retracting the pin member into the part support fixture to release the part from the pin gripper, the support surface supporting the part from moving when the pin member is moved from the extended position to the retracted position. ([col. 3, lines 15-17] FIG. 8 is a perspective view of the multi-axis manipulator 15 with the retainer apparatus of FIG. 1 after a sheet metal part has been moved and released. [col. 2, lines 1-10] wherein each of the support pins have a longitudinal axis, respectively, and are configured to contact the article to support the article against movement along the longitudinal axis of the support pins and support the article against movement transverse to the longitudinal axis of the support pins; and a locking mechanism configured to inhibit
the support pins from being retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism is engaged, and configured to permit the support pins to be retractable and extendable when the locking mechanism is disengaged.)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderton et al. (US11667042, referred to as Anderton) in view of Bourgeois et al. (US8781616, referred to as Bourgeois), and further in view of Wong et al. (US20140054132, referred to as Wong).
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Anderton and Bourgeois teaches: The part assembly machine of claim 12,
Anderton does not disclose the following limitations, however Bourgeois, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: [wherein the platform of the part feeder is vibrated to change orientations of the parts on the upper surface of the platform], and wherein the imaging device images the parts [after vibration] to identify orientations of the parts [after vibration] to identify the parts in the picking orientation. ([col. 4, lines 41-53] The pickers 20 are mounted above the conveyor belt 18, and are in communication with a vision system 24 that may comprise one or more cameras that collect and disseminate information to the pickers regarding the articles location, geometry and orientation. As a result, prior to the beginning of each new working region of the next picker, the initial article picking positions of articles still present on conveyor belt 18 are known. Therefore, idle or non-productive movements of the pickers can be avoided. Idle or non-productive picking operations on a respective article, which would result in incomplete picking of articles and Subsequent mechanical processing to make up for Such deficiencies, can also be avoided. [col. 4, lines 59-66] A programmable controller may control the receptacle (such as the hopper) and the conveyors and the pickers to: move the robotic arm 26 to an article which is in a random orientation; pick up the article by controlling the gripper, move the robotic arm to orient the picked article in at least one article placement position; and, release the article by controlling the gripper (for instance, to place the article on a guide 28, as further described below).)
As previously stated, Anderton and Bourgeois are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot pick and place mechanisms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the pick and place procedure of Anderton to enable the controller operated visual inspection orientation confirmation part feeding of Bourgeois.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the pick and place method disclosed in Anderton with the method applied to a visual specific orientation part feeding system as taught in Bourgeois.
The combination of Anderton and Bourgeois does not teach the following limitations, however Wong, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: [wherein the platform of the part feeder is vibrated to change orientations of the parts on the upper surface of the platform] ; [after vibration] ; [after vibration] ([0010] there is provided a vibration feeding apparatus comprising: an alignment track that is operative to receive electronic components and to arrange the electronic components in a desired orientation by vibrating and accelerating the electronic components located on the alignment track; an inspection station operative to reject electronic components that are not in the desired orientation onto a reject track for reintroduction to the alignment track; and a spreading unit adjacent to the alignment track for transferring rejected electronic components from the reject track to the alignment track for arranging the electronic components in the desired orientation.)
Anderton, Bourgeois, and Wong are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot pick and place mechanisms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the pick and place procedure of Anderton and Bourgeois to enable the vibration-based pre-sorting of Wong.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the pick and place method taught in the combination of Anderton and Bourgeois with the vibration-based orientation pre-sorting method further taught in Wong.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ATTICUS A CAMERON whose telephone number is 703-756-4535. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/
Examiner, Art Unit 3658A /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658