DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the part identifier 242, recited in Paragraph [0058] does not appear in the drawings.
It appears that “242” is intended to refer to “342” as shown in Fig. 8
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Araki (JP 2000158135 A).
As to claim 1, Araki teaches a manufacturing system (Title: “Automatic Welding System”) configured for processing a workpiece (frame, W), the manufacturing system comprising: a mobile cart (the cart is shown in Fig 4, below) including:
a first mounting assembly (the left-most clamp member 15) and a second mounting assembly (the right-most clamp member 15) both configured to support the workpiece (the clamp members 15 support the frame W, as shown), and the first mounting assembly further configured to rotate the workpiece (as illustrated in Fig 4, the workpiece W rotates along the illustrated axis); and a first mechanical coupling in cooperation with the first mounting assembly such that rotation of the first mechanical coupling rotates the first mounting assembly (a mechanical coupling is not specified in Araki, but is inherent. The motor in left-most support member 11 is mechanically coupled to the swing frame 12. Rotation of the motor rotates the swing frame via a mechanical connection); and a docking station including a second mechanical coupling and a motor (the left-most support member 11 is a docking station which is illustrated to include a motor. The docking station inherently has a mechanical coupling with the swing frame 12 as the motor causes the swing frame 12 to rotate.) configured to rotate the second mechanical coupling (the illustrated motor in support member 11 is used by the positioned 8 to rotate the swing frame 12), the second mechanical coupling configured to cooperate with the first mechanical coupling such that rotation of the second mechanical coupling rotates the first mechanical coupling and the workpiece supported by the first mounting assembly and the second mounting assembly (as described in the rejection above, there is an inherent mechanical coupling between the motor of support member 11 and the swing frame 12 which achieves the purpose of rotating the swing frame 12 around the illustrate axis.).
As to claim 4, Araki teaches the manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the workpiece is a vehicle chassis (frame W is a motorcycle chassis).
As to claim 5, Araki teaches the manufacturing system of claim 4, wherein the first mounting assembly (left-most clamp member 15) and the second mounting assembly (right-most clamp member 15) are on opposite ends of the mobile cart (as illustrated) and are configured to couple to opposite ends of the vehicle chassis to rotate the vehicle chassis about a longitudinal axis thereof (as illustrated, the frame rotates along a longitudinal axis thereof).
As to claim 6, Araki teaches the manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the first mounting assembly and the second mounting assembly are configured to rotate to any position about an axis up to 360° (the swing frame 12 is useful for rotating 360 degrees, which is illustrated by the arrows around the axis).
As to claim 13, Araki teaches the manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein: between the first mounting assembly and the second mounting assembly is a base defining a clean out for material cut from the workpiece (the bottom member of swing frame 12 is a base which defines a clean out for material cut from the workpiece); and the base is adjustable lengthwise and widthwise to accommodate different sized workpieces (as shown in the Figure 4, the swing frame 12 may accommodate frame W which are smaller than the illustrated frame, as well as frames W which are larger.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki.
As to claim 2, Araki teaches the manufacturing system of claim 1, but does not teach the mobile cart further includes wheels.
Rather, the cart shown in Fig 4 is taught to include guide member 13 which operate to slide the cart along rail 14. Examiner takes official notice that members which slide a cart along a rail were known in the automobile manufacturing art at the time the invention was effectively filed to be wheels. Such a person would have been motivated to provide for the known wheels in order to reduce sliding friction on the rail.
As to claim 3, Araki teaches the manufacturing system of claim 2, but does not teach the mobile cart further includes a handle and is configured to be pushed by a user.
However, any reasonable portion of the cart, including support members 11, are capable of acting as a handle for the purpose of pushing the cart. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have provided for a handle configured to be pushed by a user in order to allow a user to manipulate the cart into and out of the work cell in the event of a power failure or emergency.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krause et al (US 11,396,100).
As to claim 7, Araki teaches the manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the docking station is mounted in a work cell (the work cell of Fig 2).
Araki does not teach the work cell including a cutting robot configured to cut the workpiece and a measuring robot configured to track movement of the workpiece.
Rather, the work cell of Araki includes two robots useful for welding. However, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it was known to have provided for work cells including cutting and measuring robots instead of welding robots. See Krause which teaches at Col 3 lines 17-21: “The robot 110 shown is a multi-axis industrial robot of a type known in the art. For example, the robot 110 may be a six axis robot which can be programmed to perform a variety of operations—such as material cutting, welding, part selection/movement/placement, etc.”
Krause further teaches each of the robots are useful for measuring. See Col 9 lines 17-23: “At box 306, robot joint position data is provided from the controller 212 to the AR device 232 for a current pose of the robot 210. The joint position data is measured by joint encoders in the robot 210 and provided to the robot controller 212. In the case of a multi-arm articulated robot as shown in FIG. 2, the joint position data includes an angular position for each of the six joints.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have swapped the welding robots of Araki for the cutting and measuring robots of Krause. Such a person would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a wider range of operations (welding/cutting/placing/measuring) in the work cell instead of just the welding available to Araki.
As to claim 8, Araki in view of Krause teaches the manufacturing system of claim 7, further comprising a control module configured to control the measuring robot (Krause teaching controlling the robots using a controller 212) and the motor of the docking station (Araki teaches the positioned 8 controls the motor in support member 11 to swing the swing frame. This is “automated.”) to control rotation of the workpiece when the mobile cart is in cooperation with the docking station (the rotation of the swing frame is “automated” by the controller controlling the positioner 8).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki (JP 2000158135 A) in view of Krause et al (US 11,396,100).
As to claim 14, Araki teaches a manufacturing system (Title: “Automatic Welding System”) configured for processing a vehicle chassis (frame W), the manufacturing system comprising:
work cell including (the work cell shown in Fig 2, below): and a docking station including a drive unit (when the cart of Fig 4 is in the work cell, the work cell includes the left-most support member 11, which is a dock, and which includes a motor as illustrated); and a mobile cart (the cart illustrated in Fig 4) configured to be moved into and out of the work cell (as shown in Fig 2, the cart is out of the work cell. The cart is illustrated as moved into the work cell by the arrow in Fig 3), the mobile cart including:
a first rotatable member (the bearing in the swing frame 12 located at the left-most side of the swing frame is a rotatable member) spaced apart from a second rotatable member (the bearing located in the swing frame 12 at the right-most side of the swing frame is a rotatable member), both the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member are configured to support and rotate the vehicle chassis about a trunnion axis (the trunnion axis is illustrated in Fig 4) of the vehicle chassis (frame W); and a mechanical coupling in cooperation with the first rotatable member (the support member 11 is mechanically coupled to the swing frame 12 at the left-most side of the cart as illustrated. Both the swing frame 12 and the support frame 11 have mechanical couplings), the mechanical coupling configured to cooperate with the drive unit of the docking station (this is an inherent feature of the cart of Araki because the motor illustrated in support member 11 rotates the swing frame, and thus the motor must be mechanically connected to the frame 12 via the support member 11) such that rotation of the drive unit rotates the mechanical coupling and the first rotatable member (again, there is an inherent mechanical coupling between the motor in support member 11 and the swing frame 12 causing rotation of the swing frame 12).
Araki teaches two robots in the work cell, but does not teach the robots are a cutting robot and a measuring robot.
Rather, the work cell of Araki includes two robots useful for welding. However, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it was known to have provided for work cells including cutting and measuring robots instead of welding robots. See Krause which teaches at Col 3 lines 17-21: “The robot 110 shown is a multi-axis industrial robot of a type known in the art. For example, the robot 110 may be a six axis robot which can be programmed to perform a variety of operations—such as material cutting, welding, part selection/movement/placement, etc.”
Krause further teaches each of the robots are useful for measuring. See Col 9 lines 17-23: “At box 306, robot joint position data is provided from the controller 212 to the AR device 232 for a current pose of the robot 210. The joint position data is measured by joint encoders in the robot 210 and provided to the robot controller 212. In the case of a multi-arm articulated robot as shown in FIG. 2, the joint position data includes an angular position for each of the six joints.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have swapped the welding robots of Araki for the cutting and measuring robots of Krause. Such a person would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a wider range of operations (welding/cutting/placing/measuring) in the work cell instead of just the welding available to Araki.
As to claim 15, Araki in view of Krause teaches the manufacturing system of claim 14, but does not teach the mobile cart further includes wheels.
Rather, the cart shown in Fig 4 is taught to include guide member 13 which operate to slide the cart along rail 14. Examiner takes official notice that members which slide a cart along a rail were known in the automobile manufacturing art at the time the invention was effectively filed to be wheels. Such a person would have been motivated to provide for the known wheels in order to reduce sliding friction on the rail.
As to claim 16, Araki in view of Krause teaches the manufacturing system of claim 15, but does not teach the mobile cart further includes a handle and is configured to be pushed by a user.
However, any reasonable portion of the cart, including support members 11, are capable of acting as a handle for the purpose of pushing the cart. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have provided for a handle configured to be pushed by a user in order to allow a user to manipulate the cart into and out of the work cell in the event of a power failure or emergency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed.
As to claims 9 ,19, and 20, Examiner’s best art does not teach the features of claim 9 including all the limitations of the claims from which it depends. Specifically, claim 9 requires a controller configured to control both the cutting robot and the motor of the docking station simultaneously control rotation of the workpiece and cutting of the workpiece by the cutting robot. Examiner’s best art teaches a motor useful for rotating a workpiece and a robot useful for cutting a workpiece, but not a controller configured for performing both simultaneously.
As to claim 10, Examiner’s best art does not teach the specific pneumatic and electrical coupling claimed.
As to claim 11, Examiner’s best art does not teach the particular first and second brakes configured to prevent rotation as claimed.
As to claims 12 and 17, Examiner’s best art does not teach the encoders which send signals to a controller which is configured to receive those signals and generate a notification. The art of Krause teaches the robots may have encoders, but this is not generally applicable to the swing frame 12 of Araki.
As to claim 18, Examiner’s best art does not teach the control module configured to control the measuring robot and drive unit as claimed.
Conclusion
/JACOB J CIGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 23 December 2025