Detailed Action
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-10 and 13-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,890,278.
Claims 2-3 and 11-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 or 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,890,278 in view of Ragner (US20030098084A1).
Claims 2 and 11: ‘278 does not disclose that said flexible outer tube is constructed from a metal. However, Ragner teaches a flexible outer tube (32/32b; Examiner noting that the outer tube could be viewed broadly to also include spring 36/36b) constructed from a metal (note the previous claim’s discussion about the outer tube additionally comprising element 36 which could be made from metal, as per paragraph 60). It would have been obvious before the invention was made to utilizes metal so as to prevent the tubing from expanding beyond design specifications and rupturing.
Claims 3 and 12: ‘278 and Ragner teach the previous limitations. Ragner further discloses the metal being stainless steel, galvanized steel, non-stainless steel, aluminum, nickel, or copper (note paragraph 79, “spring 236 may comprise…spring steel”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Ragner (US20030098084A1).
Claim 1: Ragner discloses a hose (Figs. 1-19) comprising a flexible outer tube (32/32b; Examiner noting that the outer tube could be viewed broadly to also include spring 36/36b) having a first end and a second end (Figs. 1-2), said flexible outer tube having a substantially hollow interior (Figs. 1-3), said flexible outer tube having a maximal length (Fig. 1); a flexible inner tube (34/34b) having a first end and a second end (Figs. 1-2) and constructed from an elastic material (paragraph 56), said flexible inner tube having a substantially hollow interior (Figs. 1-3), said flexible inner tube having a relaxed length when said flexible inner tube is not in an extended condition (Figs. 1A and 2A), said relaxed length of said flexible inner tube being less than said maximal length of said flexible outer tube (as can be appreciated from Fig. 3C, in which the outer tube traverses a longer extent than the inner tube); a first coupler (20/26/106) secured to said first end of said flexible inner tube and said flexible outer tube (see Figs. 1-2, 9), said first coupler adapted to couple said hose to a conventional faucet thereby providing pressurized water paragraphs 54 and 86, “water faucet”; Fig. 9A); a second coupler (note 22 or coupler at/near 27 or 108) secured to said second end of said flexible inner tube and said flexible outer tube (Figs. 1-2, 9), said flexible inner tube secured to said flexible outer tube at said first and second ends (see, e.g., Fig. 18, note exemplary end which shows how inner/outer tube are to secured at a respective end 238; note also paragraphs 79-80, 89); and a flow restrictor (Fig. 18; 238) adapted to couple to said second coupler (Fig. 19; paragraph 79), whereby upon introduction of a flow of pressurized water through said first coupler into said flexible inner tube and operation of said flow restrictor to at least partially block said flow of pressurized water from exiting said flexible inner tube (paragraph 79), said flexible inner tube fills with pressurized water resulting in an increase in water pressure within said interior of said flexible inner tube (paragraph 79), said increase in water pressure expands said inner tube longitudinally along a length of said flexible inner tube and laterally across a width of said flexible inner tube thereby expanding said hose to an expanded condition (Figs. 1-2, Examiner noting that, e.g., the inner tube portions between the metal springs in Fig. 3C will necessarily stretch longitudinally and bulge out radially not unlike the corresponding portions in Fig. 3A to accommodate the increased water pressure), and whereby stopping said flow of pressurized water into said first coupler and releasing said pressurized water out of said second coupler results in said hose contracting to a contracted condition as a result of an automatic contraction of said flexible inner tube (Figs. 1-2; as can also be appreciated from paragraph 79-80, 89).
Claim 2: Ragner further discloses that said flexible outer tube is constructed from a metal (note the previous claim’s discussion about the outer tube additionally comprising element 36 which could be made from metal, as per paragraph 60).
Claim 3: Ragner further discloses the metal being stainless steel, galvanized steel, non-stainless steel, aluminum, nickel, or copper (note paragraph 79, “spring 236 may comprise…spring steel”).
Claim 4: Ragner further discloses that said elastic material has an elongation ratio of up to three to one and wherein said flexible inner tube can expand up to three times said relaxed length (see Figs. 1-2, 5-6, paragraphs 63-64).
Claim 5: Ragner further discloses that said flexible inner tube and said flexible outer tube are made from flexible materials which will not kink or become entangled upon themselves when said hose is in said expanded condition (see Figs. 1-2, 3A; paragraphs 56-58).
Claim 6: Ragner further discloses that said flow restrictor is integrally formed with said second coupler (Fig. 18, note integral nature of 238 with coupler 242).
Claim 8: Ragner further discloses that said hose is a garden hose (paragraph 86, “garden hose”).
Claim 9: Ragner further discloses that said flexible inner tube and said flexible outer tube are made from flexible materials which will not kink when said hose is in said contracted condition (see Figs. 1-2, 3B/C; paragraphs 56-58).
Claim 10: Ragner discloses a method of transporting water through a hose (Figs. 1-19) comprising forming a hose (Figs. 1-2), said hose including a flexible outer tube (32/32b; Examiner noting that the outer tube could be viewed broadly to also include spring 36/36b) having a first end and a second end (Figs. 1-2), said flexible outer tube having a substantially hollow interior (Figs. 1-3), said hose including a flexible inner tube (34/34b) having a first end and a second end (Figs. 1-2) and constructed from an elastic material (paragraph 56), said flexible inner tube being substantially hollow (Figs. 1-2), said flexible inner tube positioned within said substantially hollow interior of said flexible outer tube (Figs. 1-2); securing a first coupler (20/26/106) to said first end of said elastic inner and said flexible outer tube see Figs. 1-2, 9); securing a second coupler (note 22 or coupler at/near 27 or 108) to said second end of said flexible inner tube and said flexible outer tubes (Figs. 1-2, 9), said flexible inner tube and said flexible outer tube being secured to each other at said first and said second ends (see, e.g., Fig. 18, note exemplary end which shows how inner/outer tube are to secured at a respective end 238; note also paragraphs 79-80, 89); connecting said first coupler to a source of pressurized water (see Figs. 1-2, 9), said first coupler adapted to couple said hose to a conventional faucet thereby providing pressurized water paragraphs 54 and 86, “water faucet”; Fig. 9A); connecting said second coupler to a flow restrictor (Fig. 18; 238); introducing a flow of pressurized water into said hose through said first coupler (paragraph 79); restricting said flow of pressurized water exiting the hose, resulting in an increase in water pressure within said hose between said first and second couplers causing said flexible inner tube to expand longitudinally along a length of said flexible inner tube and laterally across a width of said flexible inner tube thereby increasing a length and width of said hose to an expanded condition (paragraph 79); and automatically contracting said hose to a decreased length and width by removing said flow of pressurized water into said hose and removing the increase in water pressure within said hose between said first coupler and said second coupler (paragraph 79).
Claim 11: Ragner further discloses that said flexible outer tube is constructed from a metal (note the previous claim’s discussion about the outer tube additionally comprising element 36 which could be made from metal, as per paragraph 60).
Claim 12: Ragner further discloses the metal being stainless steel, galvanized steel, non-stainless steel, aluminum, nickel, or copper (note paragraph 79, “spring 236 may comprise…spring steel”).
Claim 13: Ragner further discloses that said elastic material has an elongation ratio of up to three to one and wherein said flexible inner tube can expand up to three times said relaxed length (see Figs. 1-2, 5-6, paragraphs 63-64).
Claim 14: Ragner further discloses that said flexible inner tube and said flexible outer tube are made from flexible materials which will not kink or become entangled upon themselves when said hose is in said expanded condition (see Figs. 1-2, 3A; paragraphs 56-58).
Claim 15: Ragner further discloses that said flow restrictor is integrally formed with said second coupler (Fig. 18, note integral nature of 238 with coupler 242).
Claim 17: Ragner further discloses that said flexible inner tube and said flexible outer tube are made from flexible materials which will not kink when said hose is in said contracted condition (see Figs. 1-2, 3B/C; paragraphs 56-58).
Claim 18: Ragner also discloses that said flexible outer tube constrains a radial expansion and a longitudinal expansion of said flexible inner tube upon an increase of said water pressure between said first coupler and said second coupler within said hose (see Figs. 1-2).
Claim 19: Ragner further discloses that said hose is a garden hose (paragraph 86, “garden hose”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragner (US20030098084A1).
Claims 7 and 16: Ragner also discloses said flow restrictor being a nozzle but is not explicit about it being removably secured to said hose. However, such omission is immaterial as it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the restrictor removable, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177,179.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746