DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 03/27/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 3-4 are cancelled, and claims 1, 5, 8-11, and 13-14 have been amended. Thus, claims 1-2 and 5-14 remain pending in this application. Examiner would like to note that although claim 10 is identified as “currently amended”, there is no identifiable amendments made to the claim. Examiner suggests changing the identifier to “original” for claim 10.
Specification
The amendments to the specification, filed 03/27/2026 are entered. These amendments overcome the specification objection and therefore the prior specification objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20170086990 A1) in view of Roh (US 20180161181 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a sliding device comprising: a base frame (Fig. 2 where 152 is a base frame”); a slider pad of which at least a portion is configured to slide in a predetermined direction with respect to the base frame (paragraph 0068 “The sliding assembly 100 may be provided to slide along the side frame 152””); wherein the slider pad comprises: a core body (Fig. 4 sliding frame 110); and a main housing configured to accommodate the core body therein (paragraph 0084 “The supporting frame 120 may include a fully opened proximal end, a partially closed distal end, an accommodating space for accommodating the sliding bar 111”), wherein the main housing is configured to slide with respect to at least the core body (paragraph 0098 “Also, the first roller 115 or the second roller 125 may perform a rolling motion to connect the sliding frame 110 and the supporting frame 120 and minimize a gap therebetween”), wherein the main housing comprises a plurality of sliding rails configured to slide with respect to the core body (Fig. 4; paragraph 0088 “the supporting frame 120 may include a sliding groove 129 outwardly formed to have the shape on the side surface”), wherein the core body comprises a sliding projection touching the sliding rails and configured to slide (Fig. 4 where roller groove 119 is configured to touch and slide into sliding groove 129), and wherein a first portion of each of sliding rails overlaps the sliding projection (Fig. 4, where once 110 is inserted into 120, then reasonably a first portion of the sliding rails overlaps the sliding projections in order to achieve the sliding functionality).
Choi is silent on a mount configured to connect the base frame and the slider pad and wherein the core body comprises a plurality of fixed magnets and the core body being connected and fixed to the mount; and a main housing comprising a plurality of pairing magnets configured to be attracted by corresponding ones of the fixed magnets.
However, Roh teaches a mount configured to connect the base frame and the slider pad (Fig. 7 where the mount is the structure that frame 12 attaches to) and wherein the core body comprises a plurality of fixed magnets and the core body being connected and fixed to the mount (Figs. 5 and 7 where the fourth magnetic body 135 is fixed within a structure analogous to a core body; there is a plurality of 135 as taught in paragraph 64), and a main housing comprising a plurality of pairing magnets configured to be attracted by corresponding ones of the fixed magnets (paragraph 0058 “The third magnetic body 115 may be disposed on one side of the slider 111”; paragraph 0066 “A magnetic force between the second magnetic body 137 and the third magnetic body 115 and a magnetic force between the fourth magnetic body 135 and the third magnetic body 115 may be used for the insert member 11 to be inserted to the insert hole 121 and the insert recess 131 and automatically slide therein”; there is a plurality of 115 in order to correspond with the plurality of 135 as taught in paragraph 64).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Choi to include a mount to connect the base frame and slider pad and include magnets on the core body attracted to magnets on the main housing. The connecting mount allows the slider pad and core body to interface with the frame and secure itself to the frame that it moves around. The use of the magnets can help the core body and main housing return to a predetermined position using an attractive force, thus decreasing the usability burden on the user (paragraph 0064 “When the insert member 11 is inserted to the insert recess 131, the third magnetic body 115 may be pulled by an attractive force. When the third magnetic body 115 is in a predetermined distance from the fourth magnetic body 135, an attractive force may be exerted between the third magnetic body 115 and the fourth magnetic body 135, and the third magnetic body 115 may be pulled toward the fourth magnetic body 135”). The magnets can also help secure the connection between the components via the attractive force (paragraph 0064 “Also, the fourth magnetic body 135 may use the attractive force between the fourth magnetic body 135 and the third magnetic body 115 to increase a force connecting the insert member 11 to the second frame 13”).
Modified Choi is silent wherein a second portion of each of the sliding rails overlaps a corresponding one of the fixed magnets.
However, the product disclosed by the prior art could be reasonably rearranged to arrive at the
same function of securing the core body to the housing and help the two components return to a predetermined position using attractive force. Reasonably, the modified device does not disclose wherein a portion of each of the sliding rails overlaps a corresponding one of the fixed magnets. However, once Choi is modified with Roh, one could reasonably rearrange the fixed magnets so that a second portion of each of the sliding rails overlaps a corresponding one of the fixed magnets for the same purpose. There is no evidence to show that the claimed arrangement and location of parts imparts any patentable distinction between the claimed product and that of the prior art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7. See also MPEP § 2144.
Regarding claim 2, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 1.
Choi further teaches wherein the core body comprises at least one roller configured to help the main housing slide (paragraph 0080 “A pair of first rollers 115 may be fixed to both sides of a distal end of the sliding bar 111”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 1.
Choi further teaches wherein the sliding projection comprises a first projection protruding from one side of the core body and a second projection protruding from another side of the core body (Fig. 4 where roller grooves 119 comprise one groove on one side and another groove on another side of the core body 110), and the sliding rails comprise a first sliding rail touching the first projection and a second sliding rail touching the second projection (Fig. 4 where the entire left 129 touches a first projection 119 and the entire right 129 touches a second projection 119 on the right of 110).
Regarding claim 6, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 5.
Choi further teaches wherein the first sliding rail comprises two rails (the left and right walls of frame 120), and the second sliding rail comprises four rails (the four rails that comprise the left and right grooves 129).
Regarding claim 7, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 2.
Roh further teaches wherein a pair of fixed magnets and a pair of pairing magnets are provided (paragraph 0064 “When the plurality of third magnetic bodies 115 are arranged, for example, the two third magnetic bodies 115 are respectively disposed on opposite sides relative to the connecting member 113, the plurality of fourth magnetic bodies 135 may each be disposed to face a magnetic pole of the corresponding third magnetic body 115”), and each magnet of the pair of fixed magnets and the pair of pairing magnets is arranged symmetrically with respect to a central portion of the slider pad (Fig. 2 shows magnetic bodies 115 arranged symmetrically to a central portion of the slider pad; paragraph 0064 “the plurality of fourth magnetic bodies 135 may each be disposed to face a magnetic pole of the corresponding third magnetic body 115” meaning that the fourth magnetic bodies 135 face both of the bodies 115 in a similarly symmetric arrangement as the bodies 115).
Regarding claim 8, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 1.
Roh further teaches wherein each of the fixed magnets is configured to apply, to a corresponding one of the pairing magnets, a magnetic force in a direction to attract the corresponding one of pairing magnets, and the main housing is configured to return to a predetermined alignment position with respect to the core body via a magnetic force (paragraph 0068 “In this example, due to an attractive force between the N pole 115a and the third magnetic body 115 and the S pole 135b of the fourth magnetic body 135, the insert member 11 may be slid via the insert hole 121 and the insert recess 131 in the direction as indicated by the arrow of FIG. 4”).
Regarding claim 9, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 8.
Roh further teaches wherein a magnitude of the magnetic force with which the fixed magnet attracts the pairing magnet is greater at the predetermined alignment position than when not at the predetermined alignment position (paragraph 0064 “When the third magnetic body 115 is in a predetermined distance from the fourth magnetic body 135, an attractive force may be exerted between the third magnetic body 115 and the fourth magnetic body 135, and the third magnetic body 115 may be pulled toward the fourth magnetic body 135. The predetermined distance may be a distance to which a magnetic force of the fourth magnetic body 135 is exerted”; one skilled in the art would reasonably expect that when the magnets are aligned at this predetermined distance, this is when they would actually exert a force and be attracted compared to when they are out of position and cannot interact with each other via the magnetic force).
Regarding claim 10, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 1.
Choi further teaches wherein the main housing comprises a through hole through which at least a portion of the core body is configured to penetrate (paragraph 0084 “The supporting frame 120 may include a fully opened proximal end, a partially closed distal end, an accommodating space for accommodating the sliding bar 111” where 111 is a part of 110).
Choi is silent on the portion of the core body is connected to the mount at least by penetrating the through hole.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Choi so the core body connects to the mount at least by penetrating the through hole. The previously modified mount must connect the slider and the base frame and once the core body penetrates the main housing, it would be in direct contact with the mount (paragraph 0069 “One end portion of the side frame 152 may be rotatably connected to the sliding assembly 100”). Therefore, once the core body penetrates the housing and becomes a cohesive sliding unit, it would be obvious to connect the mount in order to secure the slider to the base frame that it moves around.
Regarding claim 11, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 1.
Roh further teaches wherein each of the fixed magnets and corresponding one of the pairing magnets are identical in size and shape (paragraph 0048 “The first magnetic body 127 may be, for example, a circular magnet. Hereinafter, a magnetic body may have the same property as that of the first magnetic body 127” which teaches that all magnets in Roh have the same properties).
Regarding claim 12, modified Choi teaches the sliding device of claim 1.
Choi further teaches comprising a rubber pad disposed on a surface of the core body (paragraph 0090 “The sliding assembly 100 may further include a flexible member 130 configured to connect the sliding frame 110 and the supporting frame 120. The flexible member 130 may include a spring or a flexible band formed with a rubber material to provide a restoring force to the sliding bar 111 and the supporting frame 120”) facing an inner wall of the main housing (Figs. 6A and 6B show 130 facing the inner wall of housing 120).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20190060154 A1) in view of Choi (US 20170086990 A1) and Roh (US 20180161181 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a wearable motion assisting device comprising: an auxiliary arm (paragraph 0039 “a driving frame 12 configured to move the distal support 10 relative to the proximal support 20”), configured to be wearable around a femoral region of a user (Fig. 1 shows support 12 configured to be wearable around the femoral region of a user), comprising a sliding device (slider 13) comprising a base frame (paragraph 0083 “The slider 13 may include a body plate 131 and slip plates 132, 133”), a slider pad of which at least a portion is configured to slide in a predetermined direction with respect to the base frame (paragraph 0065 “The slider 13 may slide in a length direction and a width direction of the sliding space 113. Here, the length direction of the sliding space 113 refers to a vertical direction of FIG. 6A, and the width direction of the sliding space 113 refers to a lateral direction of FIG. 6A”) and return to a predetermined position with respect to the base frame (paragraph 0068 “at least one of the plurality of elastic members 14 may stretch when the slider 13 is away from the center of the force transmitting frame 11, thereby applying a tensile force to the slider 13 to pull the slider 13 to the initial position”), and a mount configured to connect the base frame and the slider pad (paragraph 0086 “The connecting member 16 may connect the slider 13 and the driving frame 12. One of the slider 13 and the driving frame 12 may include the connecting member 16. For example, the connecting member 16 may be provided as an integral body with one of the slider 13 and the driving frame 12”); an actuator connected to the auxiliary arm and configured to control the auxiliary arm to be driven (paragraph 0039 “an actuator 19 configured to drive the driving frame 12, and a hinge 18 configured to connect the actuator 19 and the driving frame 12”); a main belt configured to at least partially enclose a waist of the user (paragraph 0040 “and the proximal support 20 may include a detachable belt to support the entire waist and/or the entire pelvis of the user”); and a main frame connected to the main belt, and wherein the actuator is supported by the main frame (Fig. 1 demonstrates where the actuator 19 is supported by a frame that connects to the main belt 20).
Lee is silent wherein the slider pad comprises: a core body, and the core body being connected and fixed to the mount; and a main housing configured to accommodate the core body therein, wherein the main housing is configured to slide with respect to at least the core body, wherein the main housing comprises a plurality of sliding rails configured to slide with respect to the core body, wherein the core body comprises a sliding projection touching the sliding rails and configured to slide, and wherein a first portion of each of the sliding rails overlaps the sliding projection.
However, Choi teaches wherein the slider pad comprises: a core body (Fig. 4 sliding frame 110); and a main housing configured to accommodate the core body therein (paragraph 0084 “The supporting frame 120 may include a fully opened proximal end, a partially closed distal end, an accommodating space for accommodating the sliding bar 111”), wherein the main housing is configured to slide with respect to at least the core body (paragraph 0098 “Also, the first roller 115 or the second roller 125 may perform a rolling motion to connect the sliding frame 110 and the supporting frame 120 and minimize a gap therebetween”), wherein the main housing comprises a plurality of sliding rails configured to slide with respect to the core body (Fig. 4; paragraph 0088 “the supporting frame 120 may include a sliding groove 129 outwardly formed to have the shape on the side surface”), wherein the core body comprises a sliding projection touching the sliding rails and configured to slide (Fig. 4 where roller groove 119 is configured to touch and slide into sliding groove 129), and wherein a first portion of each of sliding rails overlaps the sliding projection (Fig. 4, where once 110 is inserted into 120, then reasonably a first portion of the sliding rails overlaps the sliding projections in order to achieve the sliding functionality).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee so that the slider pad of Lee is substituted for the slider pad of Choi for the same purpose of adjusting and aligning the wearable device to a user’s body. See MPEP 2144.06.
Modified Lee is silent wherein the slider is configured to slide and return via a magnetic force and the core body comprises a plurality of fixed magnets and the core body being connected and fixed to the mount; and a main housing comprising a plurality of pairing magnets configured to be attracted by corresponding ones of the fixed magnets.
However, Roh teaches wherein a slider returns to a predetermined position via a magnetic force (paragraph 0074 “A user may easily slide the insert member 11 using a magnetic force between the first magnetic body 127 and the third magnetic body 115”) and the core body comprises a plurality of fixed magnets and the core body being connected and fixed to the mount (Figs. 5 and 7 where the fourth magnetic body 135 is fixed within a structure analogous to a core body; there is a plurality of 135 as taught in paragraph 64), and a main housing comprising a plurality of pairing magnets configured to be attracted by corresponding ones of the fixed magnets (paragraph 0058 “The third magnetic body 115 may be disposed on one side of the slider 111”; paragraph 0066 “A magnetic force between the second magnetic body 137 and the third magnetic body 115 and a magnetic force between the fourth magnetic body 135 and the third magnetic body 115 may be used for the insert member 11 to be inserted to the insert hole 121 and the insert recess 131 and automatically slide therein”; there is a plurality of 115 in order to correspond with the plurality of 135 as taught in paragraph 64).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the slider pad of modified Lee to include magnets on the core body attracted to magnets on the main housing. The use of the magnets can help the core body and main housing return to a predetermined position using an attractive force, thus decreasing the usability burden on the user (paragraph 0064 “When the insert member 11 is inserted to the insert recess 131, the third magnetic body 115 may be pulled by an attractive force. When the third magnetic body 115 is in a predetermined distance from the fourth magnetic body 135, an attractive force may be exerted between the third magnetic body 115 and the fourth magnetic body 135, and the third magnetic body 115 may be pulled toward the fourth magnetic body 135”). The magnets can also help secure the connection between the components via the attractive force (paragraph 0064 “Also, the fourth magnetic body 135 may use the attractive force between the fourth magnetic body 135 and the third magnetic body 115 to increase a force connecting the insert member 11 to the second frame 13”).
Modified Lee is silent wherein a second portion of each of the sliding rails overlaps a corresponding one of the fixed magnets.
However, the product disclosed by the prior art could be reasonably rearranged to arrive at the
same function of securing the core body to the housing and help the two components return to a predetermined position using attractive force. Reasonably, the modified device does not disclose wherein a portion of each of the sliding rails overlaps a corresponding one of the fixed magnets. However, once Lee is modified with Choi and Roh, one could reasonably rearrange the fixed magnets so that a second portion of each of the sliding rails overlaps a corresponding one of the fixed magnets for the same purpose. There is no evidence to show that the claimed arrangement and location of parts imparts any patentable distinction between the claimed product and that of the prior art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7. See also MPEP § 2144.
Regarding claim 14, modified Lee teaches the device of claim 13.
Lee further teaches wherein the slider pad is configured to return to a central portion of the femoral region of the user via the sliding device (Fig. 1 where the slider would be initially positioned in the center of the user’s femoral region and this is the position it is configured to return to).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because of the modified rejection above, necessitated by amendment. Specifically, examiner would like to address that Fig. 4 of Choi shows where once 110 is inserted into 120, then reasonably a first portion of the sliding rails overlaps the sliding projections in order to achieve the sliding functionality. Examiner agrees that as currently constructed, the combination of prior art does not specifically teach a second portion of each of the sliding rails overlaps a corresponding one of the fixed magnets. However, the product disclosed by the prior art could be reasonably rearranged to arrive at the same function of securing the core body to the housing and help the two components return to a predetermined position using attractive force, as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKHIL A JAYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785