DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckenn (# US 2012/0288972) in view of Reichert et al. (# US 2010/0295287) and Zhu et al. (# US 2010/0233368).
Mckenn discloses:
An ink composition (see Abstract) comprising:
one or more inorganic phosphor dopants ([0014]-[0019]);
a solvent ([0016]; [0020]); and
a binder ([0015]-[0016]).
2. The ink composition of claim 1, wherein the one or more inorganic phosphor dopants have a diameter no greater than 0.5 μm (less than 2 micron; [0010]).
3. The ink composition of claim 1, wherein the one or more inorganic phosphor dopants are each independently selected from the group consisting of a metal oxide and a metal fluoride comprising a rare earth ion selected from the group consisting of Pr3+, Ce3+, Eu3+, Eu2+, Gd3+, Tb3+, and Dy3+, or a mixture thereof ([0020]).
5. The ink composition of claim 3, wherein the metal oxide, in each instance, is selected from the group consisting of silicates, phosphates, borates, oxides, oxynitrides, oxysulfides, and aluminates, or combinations thereof ([0020]).
6. The ink composition of claim 1, wherein the solvent is selected from the group consisting of water ([0016]), methanol, ethanol, propanol, isopropyl alcohol, butanol, acetone, tetrahydrofuran, dioxane, 2-pyrrolidone, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, dimethylsulfoxide, ethylene glycol ethers, propylene glycol ethers, esters, cyclohexanone, isophorone, and alkyl lactate.
7. The ink composition of claim 1, wherein the binder further comprises a material that is selected from the group consisting of ethyl cellulose, polymethyl methacrylate, polyurethane, latex, polydimethylsiloxane, polyvinyl alcohol, vinyl chloride/vinyl acetate co-polymers, acrylics (acrylic resin, [0015]).
8. The ink composition of claim 1, wherein the ink composition has a viscosity of about 2 mPa-s to about 30 mPa-s (below 50 centipoise; [0016]).
19. The ink composition of claim 1, wherein the ink composition has disinfection properties upon exposure to a UV light source (UV curing; [0012]).
Mckenn explicitly did not discloses:
1. The inorganic phosphor dopants comprising Ca2-xAl2SiO7; and wherein the binder comprises polyketone.
Reichert et al. teaches to have the phosphorescent image formed product can be obtained by forming a phosphorescent image forming layer on a substrate using the phosphorescent ink by a variety of methods known in the art ([0097]).
1. The inorganic phosphor dopants comprising, A list of phosphorescent inorganic materials ([0128]), CaO:Eu.sup.3+ orange CaO:Tb.sup.3+ green SrO:Pb.sup.2+ violet SrO:Eu.sup.3+ orange SrO:Tb.sup.3+ green BaO:Eu.sup.3+ red Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ (Y.sub.2-x-yTixMg.sub.y)O.sub.2S yellow-orange Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Sm.sup.2+,Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ red Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Eu.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ red Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Tm.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ bluegreen Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Yb.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Eu.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+ red Y.sub.2O.sub.2S Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:RE.sup.3+(RE:Lu/Gd) green Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Tb.sup.3+ white: ,Sr.sup.2+ and/or Zr.sup.4+ blue and yellow- green Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Tm.sup.3+ orange-yellow Gd.sub.2O.sub.2S:Er.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+ CaS:Eu.sup.2+,Ce.sup.3+ CaS:Eu.sup.2+,Sm.sup.3+ CaS:Eu.sup.2+,Tm.sup.3+ red CaS:Eu.sup.2+,Tm.sup.3+,Ce.sup.3+ red (Ca,Sr)S:Bi.sup.3+ blue CaGa.sub.2S.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Ho.sup.3+ yellow CaGa.sub.2S.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,RE.sup.3+ (RE:Y/Ce/Pr/Gd/Tb/Ho) SrS:Eu.sup.2+,Y.sup.3+,Ce.sup.3+ orange ZnS:Cu yellow-green ZnS:Cu,Co yellow-green Zn.sub.4O(BO.sub.2).sub.6 violet CaAl.sub.2B.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ blue MgAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Ce.sup.3+ green CaAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Mn.sup.2+,Ce.sup.3+ green CaAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ blue Ca.sub.1-x-yAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sub.x.sup.2+,Nd.sub.y.sup.3+ blue (0 .ltoreq. x .ltoreq. 0.045; 0 .ltoreq. y .ltoreq. 0.0037) opt.: x = 0.00125; y = 0.0025 CaAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ blue CaAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+,La.sup.3+ blue-violet CaAl.sub.4O7:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ Ca1 - xSrxAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+,La.sup.3+ SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Ce.sup.3+ SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+ green SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,B.sup.3+ green SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ green MAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+M:Sr, (Ba/Ca) or M:Sr,Ba,Ca f(m) Sr.sub.4Al.sub.14O.sub.25:Eu.sup.2+,RE.sup.3+RE:Dy/Pr/Ho/Nd and/or Sm Sr.sub.4Al.sub.14O.sub.25:Cr.sup.3+,Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ red-blue Sr.sub.5Al.sub.2O.sub.7S:Eu.sup.2+ Y.sub.3Ga.sub.5O.sub.12:Cr.sup.3+ MgSiO.sub.3:Mn.sup.2+,Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ red SrSiO.sub.3:Dy.sup.3+ white:blue and yellow CdSiO.sub.3:In.sup.3+ CdSiO.sub.3:Pb.sup.2+ CdSiO.sub.3:Pr.sup.3+ CdSiO.sub.3:Sm.sup.3+ pink CdSiO.sub.3:RE.sup.3+ RE:Y/La/Gd/Lu violet CdSiO.sub.3:RE.sup.3+ f(re) CdSiO.sub.3:RE.sub.1.sup.3+,RE.sub.2.sup.3+ f(re) CdSiO.sub.3:Mn.sup.2+,RE.sup.3+RE:Y/La/Gd/Lu orange Ba.sub.2SiO.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+ Ba.sub.3SiO.sub.5:Eu.sup.2+ MO-M'O--SiO.sub.2:Eu.sup.2+ M:Ca/Sr/Ba M':Mg/Zn/Cd blue-yellow f(m,s) or MO-M'O--SiO.sub.2:Eu.sup.2+,RE M:Ca/Sr/Ba,M':Mg/Zn/Cd blue-yellow f(m,s) BaMg.sub.2Si.sub.2O.sub.7:Mn.sup.2+,Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ red(mn) BaMg.sub.2Si.sub.2O.sub.7:Mn.sup.2+,Eu.sup.2+ (Ba-Defizit) reddish AMg.sub.2Si.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Mn.sup.2+ A = Ba violet A = Sr blue A = Ca yellow Ca.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ Sr.sub.0.5Ca.sub.1.5MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ green (Ca,Sr).sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ (Sr,Ca)MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ blue-green Sr.sub.2-xCa.sub.xMgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ x = 0 blue x = 0.5 blue-green x = 1 green x = 1.5 yellow-green x = 2 yellow x = 0 x = 0.8 x = 1.2 Sr.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Dy.sup.3+ white:blue and yellow Sr.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ blue Sr.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ blue Sr.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ blue Sr.sub.2-xBa.sub.xMgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+/Nd.sup.3+,Cl.sup.-- (0 .ltoreq. x .ltoreq. 2) Sr.sub.3MgSi.sub.2O.sub.8:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+,Cl.sup.- Ca.sub.2Al.sub.2SiO.sub.7:Mn.sup.2+,Ce.sup.3+ yellow Ca.sub.0.5Sr.sub.1.5Al.sub.2SiO.sub.7:Ce.sup.3+,Tb.sup.3+ white Sr.sub.3Al.sub.10SiO.sub.20:Eu.sup.2+,RE.sup.3+ blue (CaO--CaBr.sub.2--SiO.sub.2):Eu.sup.2+ green-yellow NaGdGeO.sub.4:Tb.sup.3+ green Zn.sub.2GeO.sub.4:Mn.sup.2+ green Cd.sub.3Al.sub.2Ge.sub.3O.sub.12:RE.sup.3+ RE:Pr/Tb/Dy Mg.sub.2SnO.sub.4:Mn.sup.2+ green Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sup.2+,M.sup.3+ M:Al,Ga Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sup.2+,Ga.sup.3+ red Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sub.0.052.sup.2+,Ga.sup.3+ red Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sup.2+,Zr.sup.4+ red(mn), blue(zr) Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sup.2+,Sm.sup.3+ red Ba.sub.2TiP.sub.2O.sub.9 white CaTiO.sub.3:Pr.sup.3+ red Ca.sub.0.8Zn.sub.0.2TiO.sub.3:Pr.sup.3+ red Ca.sub.2Zn.sub.4Ti.sub.15O.sub.36:Pr.sup.3+ red Y.sub.1-yNbO.sub.2.5 + 1.5y:Bi.sup.3+ (non-stoichiometric) violet ([0128]; see claims 4, 7, 13, 16, 17, 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Mckenn by the aforementioned teaching of Reichert et al. in order to have the phosphorescent image formed product can be obtained by forming a phosphorescent image forming layer on a substrate using the phosphorescent ink by a variety of methods known in the art ([0097]).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that " Mckenn and Reichert et al. does address a phosphor particles, solvent, water, binder, photoinitiator, humectant and surfactant, it teaches a laundry list of possible phosphor particles, solvent, water, binder, photoinitiator, humectant and surfactant. The format in which Mckenn and Reichert et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Mckenn and Reichert et al. to present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the phosphor particles, solvent, water, binder, photoinitiator, humectant and surfactant from the list and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
Zhu et al. teaches that to have high quality print with high binding property, the ink composition includes at least one binder resin. One or more binder resins may be present. Any suitable binder resin, soluble or dispersible, may be employed, preferably an ethanol-soluble binder resin. In an embodiment, the ink composition includes one or more binder resins selected from acrylic resins, polyvinyl butyral resins, ethylcellulose resins, polyurethane resins, modified rosin resins, phenolic resins, polyamides, cellulose ethers, cellulose nitrate resins, polymaleic anhydrides, acetal polymers, styrene/methacrylate copolymers, aldehyde resins, polyvinyl alcohol, copolymers of styrene and allyl alcohol, and polyketone resins ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the binder in the ink composition of Mckenn by the aforementioned teaching of Zhu et al. in order to have the high quality printed image/coating having high binding property.
Claim(s) 10-12, 14-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckenn (# US 2012/0288972) in view of Reichert et al. (# US 2010/0295287) and Lowenthal et al. (# US 2014/0151607).
Mckenn discloses:
10. A UV-curable ink composition (see Abstract) comprising:
one or more inorganic phosphor dopants ([0014]-[0019]);
one or more photoinitiators ([0015]); and
one or more monomers ([0020]).
11. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 10, wherein the one or more inorganic phosphor dopants have a diameter no greater than 0.5 μm (less than 2 micron; [0010]).
12. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 10, wherein the one or more inorganic phosphor dopants are each independently selected from the group consisting of a metal oxide and a metal fluoride comprising a rare earth ion selected from the group consisting of Pr3+, Ce3+, Eu3+, Eu2+, Gd3+, Tb3+, and Dy3+, or a mixture thereof ([0020]).
14. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 12, wherein the metal oxide, in each instance, is selected from the group consisting of silicates, phosphates, borates, oxides, oxynitrides, oxysulfides, and aluminates, or combinations thereof ([0020]).
15. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 10, wherein the one or more photoinitiators are each independently selected from the group consisting of 4,4′-bis(dimethylamino)benzophenone, thioxanthen-9-one, 1-hydroxy-cyclohexyl-phenyl-ketone, 2,4-Dinitro-1-naphthol, diphenyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)phosphine oxide (TPO), azobisisobutyronitrile (AIBN), benzyl dimethyl ketal (BDK, Irgacure 651), 2-hydroxy-methyl-1-phenyl propane (Darocure 1173), hydroxycyclohexylphenylketone, (HCPK, Irgacure 184), Irgacure 907, Irgacure 369, monoacyl phosphine oxide (Lucerin TPO), Esacure KIP150, monoacylphosphine oxides (MAPO) and bisacylphosphine oxide photoinitiators (BAPO) ([0020]).
16. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 10, wherein the one or more monomers are each independently an acrylate monomer ([0011]; [0015]; [0020]; see claim 6).
17. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 10, further comprising one or more additives for reducing surface tension and/or improving substrate wetting (To prevent drying of the phosphor ink within the inkjet nozzles, an optional humectant is provided. For aqueous ink compositions, water and cosolvents are provided in amounts sufficient to control the overall phosphor ink viscosity. Typically, the cosolvents are selected from water miscible organic cosolvents to ensure complete dissolution of the polymer binder components in the ink composition. For ink jet printing, viscosity should be maintained below about 50 centipoise. For thermal ink jet printing, a range of approximately 2 centipoise to 6 centipoise is preferred. Surface tension for ink jet printing is preferably in the range of about 30-50 dyne/cm. Other ink ingredients such as one or more biocides and/or surfactants are optionally provided to aid in ink preservation and ink wetting properties and to control surface tension properties. [0016]).
18. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 10, wherein the UV-curable ink composition has a viscosity of about 5 mPa-s to about 35 mPa-s (below 50 centipoise; [0016]).
20. A synthetic polymer comprising a surface, wherein the surface is coated with at least one coating of the UV-curable ink composition of claim 10, and wherein the coating provides the synthetic polymer with improved color stability (see Example).
Mckenn explicitly did not discloses:
10. The inorganic phosphor dopants comprising Ca2-xAl2SiO7; and wherein the one or more monomer comprises isophoryl acrylate.
Reichert et al. teaches to have the phosphorescent image formed product can be obtained by forming a phosphorescent image forming layer on a substrate using the phosphorescent ink by a variety of methods known in the art ([0097]).
10. The inorganic phosphor dopants comprising, A list of phosphorescent inorganic materials ([0128]), CaO:Eu.sup.3+ orange CaO:Tb.sup.3+ green SrO:Pb.sup.2+ violet SrO:Eu.sup.3+ orange SrO:Tb.sup.3+ green BaO:Eu.sup.3+ red Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ (Y.sub.2-x-yTixMg.sub.y)O.sub.2S yellow-orange Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Sm.sup.2+,Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ red Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Eu.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ red Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Tm.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ bluegreen Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Yb.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+,Mg.sup.2+ Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Eu.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+ red Y.sub.2O.sub.2S Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:RE.sup.3+(RE:Lu/Gd) green Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Tb.sup.3+ white: ,Sr.sup.2+ and/or Zr.sup.4+ blue and yellow- green Y.sub.2O.sub.2S:Tm.sup.3+ orange-yellow Gd.sub.2O.sub.2S:Er.sup.3+,Ti.sup.4+ CaS:Eu.sup.2+,Ce.sup.3+ CaS:Eu.sup.2+,Sm.sup.3+ CaS:Eu.sup.2+,Tm.sup.3+ red CaS:Eu.sup.2+,Tm.sup.3+,Ce.sup.3+ red (Ca,Sr)S:Bi.sup.3+ blue CaGa.sub.2S.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Ho.sup.3+ yellow CaGa.sub.2S.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,RE.sup.3+ (RE:Y/Ce/Pr/Gd/Tb/Ho) SrS:Eu.sup.2+,Y.sup.3+,Ce.sup.3+ orange ZnS:Cu yellow-green ZnS:Cu,Co yellow-green Zn.sub.4O(BO.sub.2).sub.6 violet CaAl.sub.2B.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ blue MgAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Ce.sup.3+ green CaAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Mn.sup.2+,Ce.sup.3+ green CaAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ blue Ca.sub.1-x-yAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sub.x.sup.2+,Nd.sub.y.sup.3+ blue (0 .ltoreq. x .ltoreq. 0.045; 0 .ltoreq. y .ltoreq. 0.0037) opt.: x = 0.00125; y = 0.0025 CaAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ blue CaAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+,La.sup.3+ blue-violet CaAl.sub.4O7:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ Ca1 - xSrxAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+,La.sup.3+ SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Ce.sup.3+ SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+ green SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,B.sup.3+ green SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ SrAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ green MAl.sub.2O.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+M:Sr, (Ba/Ca) or M:Sr,Ba,Ca f(m) Sr.sub.4Al.sub.14O.sub.25:Eu.sup.2+,RE.sup.3+RE:Dy/Pr/Ho/Nd and/or Sm Sr.sub.4Al.sub.14O.sub.25:Cr.sup.3+,Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ red-blue Sr.sub.5Al.sub.2O.sub.7S:Eu.sup.2+ Y.sub.3Ga.sub.5O.sub.12:Cr.sup.3+ MgSiO.sub.3:Mn.sup.2+,Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ red SrSiO.sub.3:Dy.sup.3+ white:blue and yellow CdSiO.sub.3:In.sup.3+ CdSiO.sub.3:Pb.sup.2+ CdSiO.sub.3:Pr.sup.3+ CdSiO.sub.3:Sm.sup.3+ pink CdSiO.sub.3:RE.sup.3+ RE:Y/La/Gd/Lu violet CdSiO.sub.3:RE.sup.3+ f(re) CdSiO.sub.3:RE.sub.1.sup.3+,RE.sub.2.sup.3+ f(re) CdSiO.sub.3:Mn.sup.2+,RE.sup.3+RE:Y/La/Gd/Lu orange Ba.sub.2SiO.sub.4:Eu.sup.2+ Ba.sub.3SiO.sub.5:Eu.sup.2+ MO-M'O--SiO.sub.2:Eu.sup.2+ M:Ca/Sr/Ba M':Mg/Zn/Cd blue-yellow f(m,s) or MO-M'O--SiO.sub.2:Eu.sup.2+,RE M:Ca/Sr/Ba,M':Mg/Zn/Cd blue-yellow f(m,s) BaMg.sub.2Si.sub.2O.sub.7:Mn.sup.2+,Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ red(mn) BaMg.sub.2Si.sub.2O.sub.7:Mn.sup.2+,Eu.sup.2+ (Ba-Defizit) reddish AMg.sub.2Si.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Mn.sup.2+ A = Ba violet A = Sr blue A = Ca yellow Ca.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ Sr.sub.0.5Ca.sub.1.5MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ green (Ca,Sr).sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ (Sr,Ca)MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ blue-green Sr.sub.2-xCa.sub.xMgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ x = 0 blue x = 0.5 blue-green x = 1 green x = 1.5 yellow-green x = 2 yellow x = 0 x = 0.8 x = 1.2 Sr.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Dy.sup.3+ white:blue and yellow Sr.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+ blue Sr.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ blue Sr.sub.2MgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+ blue Sr.sub.2-xBa.sub.xMgSi.sub.2O.sub.7:Eu.sup.2+,Dy.sup.3+/Nd.sup.3+,Cl.sup.-- (0 .ltoreq. x .ltoreq. 2) Sr.sub.3MgSi.sub.2O.sub.8:Eu.sup.2+,Nd.sup.3+,Cl.sup.- Ca.sub.2Al.sub.2SiO.sub.7:Mn.sup.2+,Ce.sup.3+ yellow Ca.sub.0.5Sr.sub.1.5Al.sub.2SiO.sub.7:Ce.sup.3+,Tb.sup.3+ white Sr.sub.3Al.sub.10SiO.sub.20:Eu.sup.2+,RE.sup.3+ blue (CaO--CaBr.sub.2--SiO.sub.2):Eu.sup.2+ green-yellow NaGdGeO.sub.4:Tb.sup.3+ green Zn.sub.2GeO.sub.4:Mn.sup.2+ green Cd.sub.3Al.sub.2Ge.sub.3O.sub.12:RE.sup.3+ RE:Pr/Tb/Dy Mg.sub.2SnO.sub.4:Mn.sup.2+ green Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sup.2+,M.sup.3+ M:Al,Ga Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sup.2+,Ga.sup.3+ red Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sub.0.052.sup.2+,Ga.sup.3+ red Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sup.2+,Zr.sup.4+ red(mn), blue(zr) Zn.sub.3(PO.sub.4).sub.2:Mn.sup.2+,Sm.sup.3+ red Ba.sub.2TiP.sub.2O.sub.9 white CaTiO.sub.3:Pr.sup.3+ red Ca.sub.0.8Zn.sub.0.2TiO.sub.3:Pr.sup.3+ red Ca.sub.2Zn.sub.4Ti.sub.15O.sub.36:Pr.sup.3+ red Y.sub.1-yNbO.sub.2.5 + 1.5y:Bi.sup.3+ (non-stoichiometric) violet ([0128]; see claims 4, 7, 13, 16, 17, 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Mckenn by the aforementioned teaching of Reichert et al. in order to have the phosphorescent image formed product can be obtained by forming a phosphorescent image forming layer on a substrate using the phosphorescent ink by a variety of methods known in the art ([0097]).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that " Mckenn and Reichert et al. does address a phosphor particles, solvent, water, binder, photoinitiator, humectant and surfactant, it teaches a laundry list of possible phosphor particles, solvent, water, binder, photoinitiator, humectant and surfactant. The format in which Mckenn and Reichert et al. presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Mckenn and Reichert et al. to present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the phosphor particles, solvent, water, binder, photoinitiator, humectant and surfactant from the list and any additives from the list, including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
Lowenthal et al. teaches that to have high quality print with high binding property, the ink composition including isophoryl acrylate monomer ([0017][ [0019]; [0024]; [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the binder in the ink composition of Mckenn and Reichert et al. by the aforementioned teaching of Lowenthal et al. in order to have the high quality printed image/coating having high binding property.
Claim(s) 4 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckenn (# US 2012/0288972) in view of Reichert et al. (# US 2010/0295287) and Zhu et al. (# US 2010/0233368) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-8 & 19 above, and further in view of Egger et al. (# US 2002/0124772).
Mckenn and Reichert et al. discloses all the limitation of ink composition except:
4. The ink composition of claim 3, wherein the rare earth ion is Pr3+.
9. The ink composition of claim 1, wherein the ink composition is formulated as an aerosol spray.
Egger et al. teaches to have composition with high density property, which gives high quality printed image:
4. The ink composition of claim 3, wherein the rare earth ion is Pr3+ ([0025]).
9. The ink composition of claim 1, wherein the ink composition is formulated as an aerosol spray ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Mckenn as modified by the aforementioned teaching of Egger in order to have composition with high density property, which gives high quality printed image.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckenn (# US 2012/0288972) in view of Reichert et al. (# US 2010/0295287) and Lowenthal et al. (# US 2014/0151607) as applied to claims 10-12, 14-18 & 20 above, and further in view of Egger et al. (# US 2002/0124772).
Mckenn and Reichert et al. discloses all the limitation of ink composition except:
13. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 12, wherein the rare earth ion is Pr3+.
Egger et al. teaches to have composition with high density property, which gives high quality printed image:
13. The UV-curable ink composition of claim 12, wherein the rare earth ion is Pr3+ ([0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ink composition of Mckenn as modified by the aforementioned teaching of Egger in order to have composition with high density property, which gives high quality printed image.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853