DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 07/06/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “may be defined”, this phrase is indefinite as the phrase indicates possibility/probability and/or the term to be optional. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by Olson (US 2012/0136337)
With regard to claim 1, Olson describes an injection needle (FIG. 6) for injecting fluid into a substrate, comprising: an elongated hollow shank (418, FIG. 6) having a center longitudinal axis (see annotated FIG), an inner shank wall (see annotated FIG), and an outer shank wall (see annotated FIG); and a needle tip (see annotated FIG), comprising: an injection opening (see annotated FIG); and a curved end portion extending from the elongated hollow shank and having a radius of curvature (428), the curved end portion terminating distally in a bottom outer edge and a cutting face extending from the bottom outer edge toward the inner shank wall at a bottom end of the injection opening (see annotated FIG), wherein the bottom outer edge and the cutting face are in substantially vertical alignment with an axis of a first portion of the inner shank wall extending from a top end of the injection opening (see annotated FIG.).
With regard to claim 2, Olson describes the axis of the first portion of the inner shank wall (see annotated FIG) is in a spaced parallel relationship with the center longitudinal axis of the elongated hollow shank (see annotated FIG).
With regard to claim 3, Olson describes the cutting face (see annotated FIG) is in a spaced parallel relationship with the center longitudinal axis of the elongated hollow shank (see annotated FIG).
With regard to claim 4, Olson describes the curved end portion (428) has a curvature of about 40° (see annotated FIG).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2012/0136337) in view of Crocker et al. (US 20050177117).
With regard to claim 5, Olson teaches an injection needle (FIG. 6) for injecting fluid into a substrate, comprising: an elongated hollow shank (418, FIG. 6) having a center longitudinal axis (see annotated FIG), an inner shank wall (see annotated FIG), and an outer shank wall (see annotated FIG); and a needle tip (see annotated FIG), comprising: an injection opening (see annotated FIG); and a curved end portion extending from the elongated hollow shank and having a radius of curvature (428), the curved end portion terminating distally in a bottom outer edge and a cutting face extending from the bottom outer edge toward the inner shank wall at a bottom end of the injection opening (see annotated FIG), wherein the bottom outer edge and the cutting face are in substantially vertical alignment with an axis of a first portion of the inner shank wall extending from a top end of the injection opening (see annotated FIG.).
Olson does not teach the injection opening has a height extending between the bottom and top end of the injection opening of about 4 mm. However, Crocker from the same field of endeavor directed toward a needle with a lateral aperture teaches the aforementioned limitation: “Preferably at least one aperture is spaced apart from the tip and is located wholly or substantially on the barrel or where the there is a step or gradient change in the outside diameter e.g. it is located on the gradient where the elongate section tapers out to join the larger barrel or it is located on the elongate section and optionally can or cannot not adjoin the tip. The distance from the tip to at least one aperture is not fixed but is likely to be in the range 0.1 mm to 100 mm depending on the depth of injection required.”, para. [0051]-[0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Olson reference, such that the injection opening has a height extending between the bottom and top end of the injection opening of about 4 mm, as suggested and taught by Crocker, for the purpose of providing a predetermined amount of fluid within a substrate in view of the depth required for injection and/or thickness of the substrate material.
With regard to claim 6, Olson teaches a radius of curvature for the curved end portion (see annotated FIG) may be defined such that fluid exiting the injection opening (see annotated FIG.) is at a substantially 40° angle relative to the shank elongated center axis C (see annotated FIG).
With regard to claim 7, Olson teaches the injection opening (see annotated FIG.) is surrounded by an injection opening cutting face (see annotated FIG.) defined at least in part by a first circumferential portion (see annotated FIG.) surrounding the injection opening.
With regard to claim 8, although Olson teaches the invention as claimed as detailed herein, Olson does not explicitly teach the injection opening cutting face is further defined by a secondary beveled portion cut into the first circumferential portion near the bottom outer edge of the needle tip. However, it is submitted that such an adaptation would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of routine experimentation to achieve a desired cutting profile for enhanced insertion into a substrate in view of a thickness and/or desired depth of insertion within the substrate. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Crocker is cited herein alternatively for teaching the aforementioned limitation as detailed in the annotated FIG:
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Olson reference, such that the injection opening cutting face is further defined by a secondary beveled portion cut into the first circumferential portion near the bottom outer edge of the needle tip, as suggested and taught by Crocker, for the purpose of providing a desired cutting profile for enhanced insertion into a substrate in view of a thickness and/or desired depth of insertion within the substrate.
With regard to claim 9, Crocker teaches the secondary beveled defines the cutting face (see annotated FIG.).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/CHRIS Q LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761