Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,123. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the presently claimed elements are taught by the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sapir (WO2010/140,143).
Regarding claim 1, Sapir teaches a three-dimensional folding frame, comprising: a first pivot portion 40 for providing a front folding wheel frame (support for front wheel 32) with movable folding (see Figure 3F); a second pivot portion 46 for providing a rear folding wheel frame (support for rear wheel 34) with movable folding (see Figure 2C); a crossbar 50 is movably connected to the front folding wheel frame by means of the first pivot portion, and the front folding wheel frame is rotatable about the first pivot portion 42 and is movable relative to the crossbar 50 (movable about the wheel steering axis) to form a first three-dimensional movement freely foldable state; the crossbar 50 is movably connected to the rear folding wheel frame by means of the second pivot portion 46; the rear folding wheel frame is rotatable about the second pivot portion 46 and is movable relative to the crossbar (movable about hinge 44) to form a second three-dimensional movement freely foldable state.
Regarding claims 11-13, Sapir teaches the folding mechanism on an electric vehicle (electric motor 80 drive rear wheel 34; page 9, lines 27-29), a bicycle (two wheeled vehicle) and a motorcycle (two wheeled vehicle having motor 80 driving rear wheel 34).
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 9, 12, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warne (GB 2414972).
Warne teaches a three-dimensional folding frame 1, comprising: a first pivot portion 16 for providing a front folding wheel frame 3 with movable folding; a second pivot portion 17 for providing a rear folding wheel frame 4 with movable folding; a crossbar 2 is movably connected to the front folding wheel frame by means of the first pivot portion 16, and the front folding wheel frame is rotatable about the first pivot portion and is movable relative to the crossbar to form a first three-dimensional movement freely foldable state (transverse hinge 16 “allows the subframe 3 to pivot with respect to the main frame 2 and simultaneously to undergo lateral translation” with respect to the main frame 2; page 6, lines 1-5); the crossbar 2 is movably connected to the rear folding wheel frame 4 by means of the second pivot portion 17; the rear folding wheel frame is rotatable about the second pivot portion and is movable relative to the crossbar to form a second three-dimensional movement freely foldable state (page 6, lines 4-4-8).
Regarding claim 3, Warne teaches that each of the front folding wheel frame 3 and the rear folding wheel frame 4 is provided with a supporting shaft (cylindrical part 35 of portion 32, attached to front wheel frame 3, forms a hollow shaft that movably supports crossbar 2, see Figure 11 and page 7, lines 27-35; cylindrical part 47 of portion 44, attached to the rear wheel frame 4, forms a hollow shaft that movably supports the crossbar 2, see Figure 13, page 8, lines 14-25), the crossbar is movably engaged with the supporting shafts, the three-dimensional folding frame reaches a minimum storage volume when the front folding wheel frame and the rear folding wheel frame move to one side of the crossbar on a Z axis (see Figure 4, in the folded condition, where the volume in at its minimum, the front and rear folding wheel frames 3, 4, are shifted laterally relative to the crossbar 2).
Regarding claim 4, Warne teaches the front folding wheel frame 3 is engaged with the crossbar 2 by using a first block (first pivot portion 16 has a ramped projection 22 formed by undercut 25, as seen in Figure 7) that joints with a first groove (undercut 28, seen in Figure 7) and a quick detachable structure (locking mechanism including a spring 37 that automatically moves the pivot portion in its engaged and bolt 39/threaded hole 38 structure to further lock the joint, shown in Figure 11; page 7, lines 7-18, 26-33, page 8, lines 5-12), the rear folding wheel frame is engaged with the crossbar by using a second block that joints with a second groove (Figures 11, 12, joint 17 has ramps and undercuts that operate like joint 16). Biasing spring 49 automatically engages and locks the second pivot portion (page 8, lines 14-25).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Warne teaches a three-dimensional folding frame, comprising: a folding wheel frame 1 comprising a front folding wheel frame 3 and a rear folding wheel frame 4; a front wheel 11 connected to the front folding wheel frame; a rear wheel 14 connected to the rear folding wheel frame (see Figure 1); wherein the front folding wheel frame is foldable at different functional positions at a front end of a crossbar 2 by means of a first three-dimensional movement of a first pivot portion 16, and the rear folding wheel frame is foldable at different functional positions at a rear end of the crossbar by means of a rotational movement of a second pivot portion 17; the first pivot portion is capable of performing a translational movement while rotating (see page 6, lines 1-5; transverse hinge 16 “allows the subframe 3 to pivot with respect to the main frame 2 and simultaneously to undergo lateral translation” with respect to the main frame 2; page 6, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, Warne teaches the front folding wheel frame is provided with a supporting shaft, the crossbar is movably engaged with the supporting shaft, and the three-dimensional folding frame reaches a minimum storage volume when the front folding wheel frame moves to one side of the crossbar on a Z axis (discussed above with respect to claim 3).
Regarding claim 8, Warne teaches all of the claimed structure, as discussed above, and also teaches the rear folding wheel frame 4 is foldable at different functional positions at a rear end of the crossbar by means of a second three-dimensional movement of a second pivot portion 17; the second pivot portion is capable of performing a translational movement while rotating (see page 6, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 9, Warne teaches the rear folding wheel frame is provided with a supporting shaft, the crossbar is movably engaged with the supporting shaft, and the three-dimensional folding frame reaches a minimum storage volume when the rear folding wheel frame moves to one side of the crossbar on a Z axis (discussed above with respect to claim 3).
Regarding claims 12, 15, and 18, Warne teaches the three-dimensional folding frame on a bicycle (see Figure 1 and title of invention “folding bicycle”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sapir in view of Yap (UPSN 8,894,084, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Sapir shows a third pivot portion 42 (Figure 3A) for folding a folding steering support 28 and a fourth pivot portion 140 (lockable hinge 140, as seen in Figure 3A); a handlebar vertical rod holder (hinged holder for rod 28), the handlebar vertical rod holder is connected to the frame 22 by means of the third pivot portion 42 to perform three-dimensional folding on the handlebar vertical rod 28, the crossbar 22 comprises a first folding arm 100 and a second folding arm 22 where the fourth pivot portion 140 divides the cross bar into two folding arms; the first folding arm and the second folding arm are switchable between a folded state (figure 3L) and an unfolded state (Figure 3A) by means of rotation of the fourth pivot portion 140.
Sapir shows the third pivot portion connected to the crossbar/mainframe 22 rather than to the front folding wheel frame (frame that holds the front wheel).
Yap shows a folding bicycle frame having a front wheel folding frame 102a and a pivot portion (steering tube hinge 114). The pivot portion 114 connects a handlebar vertical rod holder (steering tube 113) to the front wheel folding frame 102a.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the third pivot portion of Sapir between the front wheel folding frame and the handlebar vertical rod holder, in view of Yap, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to simplify the folding structure while retaining the ability to fold the handlebar structure.
Claim(s) 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warne in view of Gaddi (USPN 4,830,133).
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Warne lacks a hinge holder for a saddle rod on the crossbar, the hinge holder being connected to a saddle rod so that the saddle rod is foldable close to the crossbar; and a saddle holder being foldable relative to the saddle rod by means of a hinged locking portion.
Gaddi teaches a folding motorcycle having a front pivot portion 7, a rear pivot portion 11, a crossbar 10 and a hinge holder at on the crossbar 10, and the hinge holder is connected to a saddle rod 32 so that the saddle rod is foldable close to the crossbar 10 (Figure 2); a saddle holder (at the pivotal connection between the saddle 33 and saddle rod 32) being foldable relative to the saddle rod by means of a hinged locking portion (support 32 and saddle are articulated relative to each other, Figures 1 and 2, and the connection is “blockable”, meaning lockable, in position; col. 3, lines 4-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to lockably hinge or pivotally connect the saddle tube to the crossbar and also lockably hinge the saddle to the saddle tube of Warne, in view of Gaddi, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to configure the frame more compactly when folded.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 14, 16,17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warne in view of Demond (PGPub 2021/0380192, cited by applicant).
Regarding claims 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19, Warner teaches the three-dimensional folding frame on a bicycle, but fails to specify that the frame could be used on an electric bicycle or a motorcycle.
Demond teaches a folding bicycle frame with foldable front and rear ends, a folding crossbar 46, 48, a saddle 108, and a handlebar 90. It teaches that the folding frame can be a bicycle with pedal power or, alternatively, be powered by a motor (para [0433], lines 8-9, “transmission may be driven instead by a motor such as motor 82”), making the vehicle an electric vehicle, specifically, an electric motorcycle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to drive the Warne bicycle using a motor rather than pedal power, making the vehicle an electric motorcycle, as taught by Demond, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to configure the vehicle as a compact, foldable, motorized vehicle for ease of use for the rider.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee, Niitsu, Csizmadia, Tratner. Herbert, Lin’449 and Lin ‘434 teach folding cycle frames.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/