DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Amendments
Acknowledgment of receiving amendments to the claims, which were received by the Office on 02/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In that remarks, applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argues: 1) Hashimoto does not disclose "a protrusion having a convexly curved upper surface shape."
The Office identifies the "second seal section 52" of Hashimoto as the claimed protrusion. However, Hashimoto's second seal section 52 is described as a seal that protects the electrical connection portion of the interconnecting line 46 and the electrode 24 from humidity. (Hashimoto, I [0068]). Critically, Hashimoto does not disclose that this seal section has a "convexly curved upper surface shape."
Figure 1 of Hashimoto shows the second seal section 52 as a sealing material with no indication of a convexly curved surface profile. The specification of Hashimoto is entirely silent regarding any curved surface shape for the second seal section 52. The purpose of the second seal section 52 in Hashimoto is humidity protection for electrical connections and it is not configured to have any particular surface shape, let alone a "convexly curved upper surface shape."
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2125 states:
“When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979).”
As seen in Figure 1 of Hashimoto, seal section 52 is shown with a convexly curved surface profile and would reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that the seal section 52 may have a convexly curved surface profile.
Applicant argues: 2) Hashimoto does not disclose a "protrusion [that] comprises a plurality of pattern parts having upper surfaces with the convexly curved upper surface shape in a direction from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing." Amended claim 1 now specifically requires that the protrusion includes "a plurality of pattern parts" having upper surfaces with a convexly curved shape "in a direction from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing." Hashimoto's second seal section 52 does not include any "plurality of pattern parts," nor does it have upper surfaces with any particular curved profile, let alone surfaces curved in a specific direction from the image sensor toward the housing. The Office's assertion that the "upper part of second seal section 52" constitutes a protrusion with a convexly curved surface is not supported by any disclosure in Hashimoto. There is simply no teaching in Hashimoto that the second seal section 52 has any particular surface curvature or includes multiple pattern parts.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Hashimoto is seen to disclose an upper surface with a convexly curved shape. Claim language does not limit what may be considered a “pattern part”. As seen in Figure 1 of Hashimoto, a first pattern part having an upper surface with a convexly curved upper surface shape may be a section of seal section 52 on the left side of the optical chip 10 and a second pattern part having an upper surface with a convexly curved upper surface shape may be a section of seal section 52 on the right side of the optical chip 10. Both the left and right sections of seal section 52 have the convexly curved upper surface shape in a direction from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing. Therefore, Hashimoto is seen to disclose “a plurality of pattern parts having upper surfaces with the convexly curved upper surface shape in a direction from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing”.
Applicant argues: 3) Hashimoto does not disclose a "light incident on the sub-housing is reflected on the plurality of pattern parts and emitted in a direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing, not in a direction toward the lens barrel."
The claimed structure is specifically configured such that light incident on the sub-housing is (1) reflected on the plurality of pattern parts, and (2) emitted toward an outer portion of the sub- housing, not toward the lens barrel. This functional limitation defines a specific optical behavior of the claimed protrusion that directs reflected light away from the lens barrel to prevent flare.
The Office asserts that "all materials have an intrinsic reflectivity property, therefore, some amount of light incident on the convexly curved surface would be reflected toward an outermost edge of the sub-housing." Applicant respectfully submits that this reasoning is improper for several reasons:
First, Hashimoto's second seal section 52 is not disclosed as having any curved surface, so there is no basis to assert that light would be reflected in any particular direction.
Second, the amended claim requires that light is reflected "not in a direction toward the lens barrel." This is a specific functional requirement that the structure direct light away from the lens barrel. The mere fact that materials may reflect light does not establish that Hashimoto's structure would direct reflected light away from the lens barrel.
Third, under In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997), inherency requires that "the missing descriptive matter is necessarily present" in the reference.
The Examiner has not established that Hashimoto's structure would necessarily direct reflected light away from the lens barrel. Hashimoto is entirely silent regarding any optical function of the second seal section 52. The purpose of the second seal section 52 in Hashimoto is humidity protection and not light management or flare prevention.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Hashimoto is seen to disclose an upper surface with a convexly curved shape. Claim language does not specify an amount or degree as to which light incident on the sub-housing is reflected in a direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing, not in a direction toward the lens barrel. Claim language merely recites “light incident on the sub-housing is reflected on the plurality of pattern parts and emitted in a direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing, not in a direction toward the lens barrel”. All materials have an intrinsic reflectivity property. Therefore, the intrinsic reflectivity property of the seal section 52 is necessarily present. Since all materials have an intrinsic reflectivity property, Examiner maintains some amount of light incident on the convexly curved surface would be reflected toward an outermost edge of the sub-housing and not in a direction toward the lens barrel.
Applicant argues: “Given such contrary and deficient teachings of Hashimoto, the disclosures of Iwafuchi and Yokoi are found to be ineffectual to the present patentability analysis. The Office cited Iwafuchi for covering the side surface of the logic chip 12 on the side of the pixel region 22 and the corner on the upper surface with the light-shielding resin 25 to prevent reflected light reflected by the side surface of the logic chip 12 from entering the pixel region 22 of the sensor chip 11. Yokoi purportedly discloses corners of an adhesive 28 that are considered to be patterned. Even assuming arguendo that the Office's assertions about Iwafuchi and Yokoi are correct, which Applicant is not acquiescing in, Iwafuchi and Yokoi still fail to remedy the noted deficiencies of Hashimoto.”
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the alternative rejection, Hashimoto does not explicitly state light incident on the sub-housing is reflected on the plurality of pattern parts and emitted in a direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing, not in a direction toward the lens barrel.
In reference to Iwafuchi et al. (hereafter referred as Iwafuchi), Iwafuchi teaches a sub-housing comprising a protrusion having a convexly curved upper surface shape (Iwafuchi, Fig. 3B, light-shielding resin 25, Paragraph 0062),
wherein light incident on the sub-housing is reflected by the protrusion towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing (Iwafuchi, Fig. 3B, light-shielding resin 25, Paragraph 0064-0065).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Hashimoto with the resin material as seen in Iwafuchi to reduce an amount of light reflected in the imaging device and suppress flare and improve image quality (Iwafuchi, Paragraph 0065). Further, since the direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing is not in a direction toward the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1), the limitation “light incident on the sub-housing is reflected on the plurality of pattern parts and emitted in a direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing, not in a direction toward the lens barrel” would be met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto (US 2003/0124773 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto teaches a camera module (Hashimoto, Fig. 1) comprising:
a lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, first component 58 as a lens holder, Paragraph 0070);
a housing configured to accommodate the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, body 44, Paragraph 0070);
an image sensor disposed below the lens barrel and mounted on a substrate (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, substrate 42, Paragraph 0067), along an optical axis direction of the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, optical chip 10, Paragraph 0050); and
a sub-housing, disposed between the lens barrel and the substrate, comprising an opening in which the image sensor is accommodated and a protrusion having a convexly curved upper surface shape configured to extend toward the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52 (optionally and spacer 34), Paragraph 0068, The sub-housing may be only second seal section 52 or both second seal section 52 and spacer 34. The protrusion is the upper part of second seal section 52. Alternatively, the protrusion may be the section of second seal section 52 from the surface of the optical chip to the upper surface of second seal section 52.),
wherein the protrusion comprises a plurality of pattern parts having upper surfaces with the convexly curved upper surface shape in a direction from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52, The plurality of pattern parts may be considered to be the left section of second seal section 52 and the right section of seal section 52 on opposite sides of the optical chip. The left and right sections have convexly curved upper surface shapes in a direction from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing.), and
wherein light incident on the sub-housing is reflected on the plurality of pattern parts and emitted in a direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing, not in a direction toward the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52, All materials have an intrinsic reflectivity property, therefore, some amount of light incident on the convexly curved surface would be reflected toward an outermost edge of the sub-housing and not in a direction toward the lens barrel.).
Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein
the sub-housing further includes a bottom part disposed at an outer portion of the opening to surround the opening (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The bottom part is the bottom surface of second seal section 52. Alternatively, the bottom part may be a lower section of second seal section 52.), and
the protrusion convexly protrudes along a direction extending from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52, Paragraph 0068).
Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 2 (see claim 2 analysis), wherein
the sub-housing further includes a mounting part disposed between the protrusion and the opening (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52 (optionally and spacer 34), The mounting part may be the part of second sealing section 52 in contact with the spacer 34 and lower surface of plate 32. Alternatively, the mounting part may be spacer 34.), and
the camera module further includes a filter part accommodated in the mounting part (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Plate 32, Paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 4, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 3 (see claim 3 analysis), wherein
a thickness of the mounting part is greater than a thickness of the bottom part (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The thickness of the mounting part is considered to be from the surface of the optical chip 10 to the lower surface of plate 34 and is thicker than the thickness of the bottom surface of section 52.), and is smaller than a thickness of the protrusion (The thickness of the protrusion is considered to be from the surface of the optical chip 10 to the top surface of section 52.).
Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 4 (see claim 4 analysis), wherein
the sub-housing has a quadrangular planar shape (Hashimoto, Fig. 2B, Paragraph 0068, The sub-housing (second seal section 52) is attached to the sides of the optical chip to and plate 32 which have quadrangular planar shapes.).
Regarding claim 6, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 5 (see claim 5 analysis), wherein
the opening has a quadrangular planar shape (Hashimoto, Fig. 2B, Paragraph 0064, The opening is defined by spacer 34 which has a quadrangular planar shape.).
Regarding claim 7, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 6 (see claim 6 analysis), wherein
the mounting part has a quadrangular planar shape (Hashimoto, Fig. 2B, The mounting part may be the part of second sealing section 52 in contact with the spacer 34 and lower surface of plate 32. Alternatively, the mounting part may be spacer 34. Both interpretations have a quadrangular planar shape.).
Regarding claim 8, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 7 (see claim 7 analysis), wherein
the plurality of pattern parts are disposed along an edge of the mounting part and the outermost edge of the sub-housing, respectively (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The plurality of pattern parts are disposed along an edge of the mounting part.).
Regarding claim 12, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein
the sub-housing further includes a mounting part disposed between the protrusion and the opening (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52 (optionally and spacer 34), The mounting part may be the part of second sealing section 52 in contact with the spacer 34 and plate 32. Alternatively, the mounting part may be spacer 34.), and
the camera module further includes a filter part accommodated in the mounting part (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Plate 32, Paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 13, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 12 (see claim 12 analysis), wherein
wherein each of the sub-housing, the opening, and the mounting part has a quadrangular planar shape (Hashimoto, Fig. 2B, Paragraph 0068, The sub-housing (second seal section 52) is attached to the sides of the optical chip to and plate 32 which have quadrangular planar shapes.).
Regarding claim 14, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 13 (see claim 13 analysis), wherein
the plurality of pattern parts are disposed along an edge of the mounting part and the outermost edge of the sub-housing, respectively (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The plurality of pattern parts disposed along an edge of the mounting part.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (US 2003/0124773 A1) in view of Yokoi et al. (US 2003/0171649 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 8 (see claim 8 analysis). However, Hashimoto does not explicitly teach wherein the protrusion further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts disposed between a plurality of first points at which outer edges of the sub-housing, extending in different directions, cross each other and a plurality of second points at which outer edges of the mounting part, extending in different directions, cross each other.
In reference to Yokoi et al. (hereafter referred as Yokoi), Yokoi teaches wherein a protrusion (Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, adhesive 28, Paragraph 0049, The protrusion is the upper section of adhesive 28.) further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The plurality of corner pattern parts are the corners of the adhesive 28 and are considered to be patterned.) disposed between a plurality of first points at which outer edges of a sub-housing, extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the sub-housing (adhesive 28) are the first points extending in different directions.) and a plurality of second points at which outer edges of a mounting part, extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the spacer member 65 are the second points extending in different directions.).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to sealing the image sensor and image sensor wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Hashimoto with the explicit teaching of applying the sealing to the corners of the device as seen in Yokoi to completely surround and protect the image sensor.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hashimoto and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 9 (see claim 9 analysis), wherein upper surfaces of the plurality of corner pattern parts have convexly curved shapes (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, Upper surfaces of the corner parts are convex.).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hashimoto and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 10 (see claim 10 analysis), wherein the plurality of corner pattern parts have a shape of the surface convexly protruding along a direction extending from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, The convex is away from the center.).
Regarding claim 15, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 14 (see claim 14 analysis). However, Hashimoto does not explicitly teach wherein the protrusion further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts disposed between a plurality of first points at which outer edges of the sub-housing, extending in different directions, cross each other and a plurality of second points at which outer edges of the mounting part, extending in different directions, cross each other.
In reference to Yokoi et al. (hereafter referred as Yokoi), Yokoi teaches wherein a protrusion (Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, adhesive 28, Paragraph 0049, The protrusion is the upper section of adhesive 28.) further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The plurality of corner pattern parts are the corners of the adhesive 28 and are considered to be patterned.) disposed between a plurality of first points at which outer edges of a sub-housing, extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the sub-housing (adhesive 28) are the first points extending in different directions.) and a plurality of second points at which outer edges of a mounting part, extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the spacer member 65 are the second points extending in different directions.).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to sealing the image sensor and image sensor wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Hashimoto with the explicit teaching of applying the sealing to the corners of the device as seen in Yokoi to completely surround and protect the image sensor.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hashimoto and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 15 (see claim 15 analysis), wherein upper surfaces of the plurality of corner pattern parts have convexly curved shapes (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, Upper surfaces of the corner parts are convex.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hashimoto and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 16 (see claim 16 analysis), wherein the plurality of corner pattern parts have a shape of the surface convexly protruding along a direction extending from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, The convex is away from the center.).
Regarding claim 18, Hashimoto teaches the camera module of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein
the plurality of pattern parts are respectively disposed along the outermost edge of the sub-housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The plurality of pattern parts disposed along an edge of the mounting part.).
However, Hashimoto does not explicitly teach wherein the protrusion further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts, disposed at a plurality of first points at which outer edges of the sub-housing extending in different directions, cross each other.
In reference to Yokoi et al. (hereafter referred as Yokoi), Yokoi teaches wherein a protrusion (Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, adhesive 28, Paragraph 0049, The protrusion is the upper section of adhesive 28.) further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The plurality of corner pattern parts are the corners of the adhesive 28 and are considered to be patterned.), disposed at a plurality of first points at which outer edges of a sub-housing extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the sub-housing (adhesive 28) are the first points extending in different directions.).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to sealing the image sensor and image sensor wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Hashimoto with the explicit teaching of applying the sealing to the corners of the device as seen in Yokoi to completely surround and protect the image sensor.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Hashimoto and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 18 (see claim 18 analysis), wherein upper surfaces of the plurality of corner pattern parts have convexly curved shapes (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, Upper surfaces of the corner parts are convex.).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hashimoto and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 19 (see claim 19 analysis), wherein corner pattern part has a shape of the surface convexly protruding along a direction extending from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, The convex is away from the center.).
Alternatively, claim(s) 1-8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (US 2003/0124773 A1) in view of Iwafuchi et al. (US 2023/0343803 A1).
Alternatively, regarding claim 1, Hashimoto teaches a camera module (Hashimoto, Fig. 1) comprising:
a lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, first component 58 as a lens holder, Paragraph 0070);
a housing configured to accommodate the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, body 44, Paragraph 0070);
an image sensor disposed below the lens barrel and mounted on a substrate (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, substrate 42, Paragraph 0067), along an optical axis direction of the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, optical chip 10, Paragraph 0050); and
a sub-housing, disposed between the lens barrel and the substrate, comprising an opening in which the image sensor is accommodated and a protrusion having a convexly curved upper surface shape configured to extend toward the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52 (optionally and spacer 34), Paragraph 0068, The sub-housing may be only second seal section 52 or both second seal section 52 and spacer 34. The protrusion is the upper part of second seal section 52. Alternatively, the protrusion may be the section of second seal section 52 from the surface of the optical chip to the upper surface of second seal section 52.), and
wherein the protrusion comprises a plurality of pattern parts having upper surfaces with the convexly curved upper surface shape in a direction from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52, The plurality of pattern parts may be considered to be the left section of second seal section 52 and the right section of seal section 52 on opposite sides of the optical chip. The left and right sections have convexly curved upper surface shapes in a direction from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing.).
However, Hashimoto does not explicitly state wherein light incident on the sub-housing is reflected on the plurality of pattern parts and emitted in a direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing, not in a direction toward the lens barrel.
In reference to Iwafuchi et al. (hereafter referred as Iwafuchi), Iwafuchi teaches a sub-housing comprising a protrusion having a convexly curved upper surface shape (Iwafuchi, Fig. 3B, light-shielding resin 25, Paragraph 0062),
wherein light incident on the sub-housing is reflected by the protrusion towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing (Iwafuchi, Fig. 3B, light-shielding resin 25, Paragraph 0064-0065).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Hashimoto with the resin material as seen in Iwafuchi to reduce an amount of light reflected in the imaging device and suppress flare and improve image quality (Iwafuchi, Paragraph 0065). Further, since the direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing is not in a direction toward the lens barrel (Hashimoto, Fig. 1), the limitation “light incident on the sub-housing is reflected on the plurality of pattern parts and emitted in a direction towards an outermost edge of the sub-housing, not in a direction toward the lens barrel” would be met.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein
the sub-housing further includes a bottom part disposed at an outer portion of the opening to surround the opening (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The bottom part is the bottom surface of second seal section 52. Alternatively, the bottom part may be a lower section of second seal section 52.), and
the protrusion convexly protrudes along a direction extending from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52, Paragraph 0068).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 2 (see claim 2 analysis), wherein
the sub-housing further includes a mounting part disposed between the protrusion and the opening (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52 (optionally and spacer 34), The mounting part may be the part of second sealing section 52 in contact with the spacer 34 and lower surface of plate 32. Alternatively, the mounting part may be spacer 34.), and
the camera module further includes a filter part accommodated in the mounting part (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Plate 32, Paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 3 (see claim 3 analysis), wherein
a thickness of the mounting part is greater than a thickness of the bottom part (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The thickness of the mounting part is considered to be from the surface of the optical chip 10 to the lower surface of plate 34 and is thicker than the thickness of the bottom surface of section 52.), and is smaller than a thickness of the protrusion (The thickness of the protrusion is considered to be from the surface of the optical chip 10 to the top surface of section 52.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 4 (see claim 4 analysis), wherein
the sub-housing has a quadrangular planar shape (Hashimoto, Fig. 2B, Paragraph 0068, The sub-housing (second seal section 52) is attached to the sides of the optical chip to and plate 32 which have quadrangular planar shapes.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 5 (see claim 5 analysis), wherein
the opening has a quadrangular planar shape (Hashimoto, Fig. 2B, Paragraph 0064, The opening is defined by spacer 34 which has a quadrangular planar shape.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 6 (see claim 6 analysis), wherein
the mounting part has a quadrangular planar shape (Hashimoto, Fig. 2B, The mounting part may be the part of second sealing section 52 in contact with the spacer 34 and lower surface of plate 32. Alternatively, the mounting part may be spacer 34. Both interpretations have a quadrangular planar shape.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 7 (see claim 7 analysis), wherein
the plurality of pattern parts are disposed along an edge of the mounting part and the outermost edge of the sub-housing, respectively (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The plurality of pattern parts are disposed along an edge of the mounting part.).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein
the sub-housing further includes a mounting part disposed between the protrusion and the opening (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, second seal section 52 (optionally and spacer 34), The mounting part may be the part of second sealing section 52 in contact with the spacer 34 and plate 32. Alternatively, the mounting part may be spacer 34.), and
the camera module further includes a filter part accommodated in the mounting part (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Plate 32, Paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 12 (see claim 12 analysis), wherein
wherein each of the sub-housing, the opening, and the mounting part has a quadrangular planar shape (Hashimoto, Fig. 2B, Paragraph 0068, The sub-housing (second seal section 52) is attached to the sides of the optical chip to and plate 32 which have quadrangular planar shapes.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 13 (see claim 13 analysis), wherein
the plurality of pattern parts are disposed along an edge of the mounting part and the outermost edge of the sub-housing, respectively (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The plurality of pattern parts disposed along an edge of the mounting part.).
Claim(s) 9-11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (US 2003/0124773 A1) in view of Iwafuchi et al. (US 2023/0343803 A1) in view of Yokoi et al. (US 2003/0171649 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 8 (see claim 8 analysis). However, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the protrusion further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts disposed between a plurality of first points at which outer edges of the sub-housing, extending in different directions, cross each other and a plurality of second points at which outer edges of the mounting part, extending in different directions, cross each other.
In reference to Yokoi et al. (hereafter referred as Yokoi), Yokoi teaches wherein a protrusion (Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, adhesive 28, Paragraph 0049, The protrusion is the upper section of adhesive 28.) further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The plurality of corner pattern parts are the corners of the adhesive 28 and are considered to be patterned.) disposed between a plurality of first points at which outer edges of a sub-housing, extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the sub-housing (adhesive 28) are the first points extending in different directions.) and a plurality of second points at which outer edges of a mounting part, extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the spacer member 65 are the second points extending in different directions.).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to sealing the image sensor and image sensor wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi with the explicit teaching of applying the sealing to the corners of the device as seen in Yokoi to completely surround and protect the image sensor.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hashimoto, Iwafuchi and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 9 (see claim 9 analysis), wherein upper surfaces of the plurality of corner pattern parts have convexly curved shapes (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, Upper surfaces of the corner parts are convex.).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hashimoto, Iwafuchi and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 10 (see claim 10 analysis), wherein the plurality of corner pattern parts have a shape of the surface convexly protruding along a direction extending from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, The convex is away from the center.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 14 (see claim 14 analysis). However, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the protrusion further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts disposed between a plurality of first points at which outer edges of the sub-housing, extending in different directions, cross each other and a plurality of second points at which outer edges of the mounting part, extending in different directions, cross each other.
In reference to Yokoi et al. (hereafter referred as Yokoi), Yokoi teaches wherein a protrusion (Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, adhesive 28, Paragraph 0049, The protrusion is the upper section of adhesive 28.) further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The plurality of corner pattern parts are the corners of the adhesive 28 and are considered to be patterned.) disposed between a plurality of first points at which outer edges of a sub-housing, extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the sub-housing (adhesive 28) are the first points extending in different directions.) and a plurality of second points at which outer edges of a mounting part, extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the spacer member 65 are the second points extending in different directions.).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to sealing the image sensor and image sensor wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi with the explicit teaching of applying the sealing to the corners of the device as seen in Yokoi to completely surround and protect the image sensor.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hashimoto, Iwafuchi and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 15 (see claim 15 analysis), wherein upper surfaces of the plurality of corner pattern parts have convexly curved shapes (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, Upper surfaces of the corner parts are convex.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hashimoto, Iwafuchi and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 16 (see claim 16 analysis), wherein the plurality of corner pattern parts have a shape of the surface convexly protruding along a direction extending from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, The convex is away from the center.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi teaches the camera module of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein
the plurality of pattern parts are respectively disposed along the outermost edge of the sub-housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, The plurality of pattern parts disposed along an edge of the mounting part.).
However, the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi does not explicitly teach wherein the protrusion further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts, disposed at a plurality of first points at which outer edges of the sub-housing extending in different directions, cross each other.
In reference to Yokoi et al. (hereafter referred as Yokoi), Yokoi teaches wherein a protrusion (Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, adhesive 28, Paragraph 0049, The protrusion is the upper section of adhesive 28.) further includes a plurality of corner pattern parts (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The plurality of corner pattern parts are the corners of the adhesive 28 and are considered to be patterned.), disposed at a plurality of first points at which outer edges of a sub-housing extending in different directions, cross each other (Yokoi, Fig. 14, The horizontal and vertical sections of the sub-housing (adhesive 28) are the first points extending in different directions.).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to sealing the image sensor and image sensor wires. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Hashimoto and Iwafuchi with the explicit teaching of applying the sealing to the corners of the device as seen in Yokoi to completely surround and protect the image sensor.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Hashimoto, Iwafuchi and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 18 (see claim 18 analysis), wherein upper surfaces of the plurality of corner pattern parts have convexly curved shapes (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, Upper surfaces of the corner parts are convex.).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hashimoto, Iwafuchi and Yokoi teaches the camera module of claim 19 (see claim 19 analysis), wherein corner pattern part has a shape of the surface convexly protruding along a direction extending from a central portion of the image sensor toward the housing (Hashimoto, Fig. 1, Yokoi, Figs. 13-14, The convex is away from the center.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESLEY J CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639