DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s request for rejoinder of non-elected/withdrawn claims 8-10, 13-15 is stayed, since claim 1 is rejected herein. It will be revisited upon allowance of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 30-32, 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang US 2015/0007621 (hereinafter Huang).
Re Claim 1. (Currently amended)
Huang discloses a lock assembly (Figs. 1-3, 6), comprising: an exterior portion (10) configured to be mounted on an outside of a door; an interior portion (20) configured to be mounted on an inside of the door, the exterior portion and the interior portion are configured to be fastened to each other (61); and, a deadbolt assembly (3) configured to be actuated by the exterior and interior portions; the exterior portion including: a chassis (Fig. 2; 13); and, an anti-rotation arm (131) disposed on the chassis, the anti-rotation arm configured to abut the deadbolt assembly (3) and configured to transfer torque from the chassis to the deadbolt assembly, thereby inhibiting compromising integrity of the lock assembly; wherein the exterior portion (10;1) includes a baseplate (11) and a cover (15), the chassis (13) being disposed between the baseplate and the cover (Figs.2,3).
Re Claim 2. (Original)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 1, further comprising a shaft (139) coupled to at least one of the exterior portion (10) and the interior portion (20) and configured to rotate to alternately extend and retract the deadbolt (3), the anti-rotation arm (131) inhibiting rotation of the chassis (13) that would otherwise cause rotation of shaft.
Re Claim 5. (Original)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the anti-rotation arm (131) is integrally formed with the chassis (13; Fig.3).
Re Claim 7. (Original)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the chassis (13) includes a plurality of strengthening ribs (rib portions adj 131 in Fig.3).
Re Claim 30. (Previously presented)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 2, further comprising a key override arrangement including a key cylinder (132) disposed in the exterior portion (10) and connected to the shaft (139), wherein actuation of the key override arrangement causes rotation of the shaft (139) to actuate the deadbolt (3).
Re Claim 31. (Previously presented)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 30, wherein the key cylinder (132; Fig.2) is mounted within a key cylinder boss formed in the chassis (13).
Re Claim 32. (Previously presented)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the anti-rotation arm (131) is further configured to direct vertical loads applied to the chassis (13) to the door (4).
Re Claim 37. (Previously presented)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the interior portion (20; Figs. 4-5) includes a mounting bracket () for securing the interior portion (21) on the inside of the door (4), wherein the mounting bracket is securable (61/138) to the chassis (13).
Re Claim 38. (Previously presented)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 37, wherein the mounting bracket (21) is securable to the chassis (13) by mounting bolts (61) fastened into blind threaded holes (138) in the chassis (13).
Re Claim 39. (Previously presented)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 38, wherein the mounting bolts (61) extend through holes (32) in the deadbolt assembly (3).
Re Claim 40. (New)
As discussed above with respect to claim 1, Huang discloses a lock assembly (Figs. 1-6), comprising: an exterior portion (10) configured to be mounted on an outside of a door (4); an interior portion (20) configured to be mounted on an inside of the door, the exterior portion and the interior portion are configured to be fastened (61/138) to each other; and, a deadbolt assembly (3) configured to be actuated by the exterior and interior portions; the exterior portion including: a chassis (13); and, an anti-rotation arm (131) disposed on the chassis, the anti-rotation arm configured to abut the deadbolt assembly and configured to transfer torque from the chassis to the deadbolt assembly, thereby inhibiting compromising integrity of the lock assembly; wherein the chassis (13) further comprises a cylindrical boss (120) extending from a rear side of the exterior portion and sized to be received in a door bore hole (421) having a first size, with the anti- rotation arm (131) extending rearward from the cylindrical boss (120; see Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as discussed above with respect to claim 1 and further in view of Sorenson US 2010/0257906 (hereinafter Sorenson).
Re Claim 33. (Previously presented)
Huang discloses the lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the chassis comprises “a plate material using a stamping process”, it fails to specifically teach a zinc alloy material.
However, Sorenson discloses that a zinc alloy material (para [0058]) in lock assembly parts is old and well known as a low-cost, anti-tamper material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a zinc alloy for the plate material of Huang, as taught by Sorenson, as an obvious matter of design choice in affording a reinforced lock structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35, 36, 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re Claim 35. (Currently amended)
The prior art of record fails to teach the lock assembly of claim [[34]]1, further comprising a keypad disposed on the cover. There would have been no motivation or suggestion to provide a well known electronic keypad assembly on the manual key cylinder lock of Huang absent impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Re Claim 36. (Previously presented)
The prior art of record fails to teach the lock assembly of claim 1, further comprising an electronic assembly disposed within the chassis.
Re Claim 41. (New)
The prior art of record fails to teach the lock assembly of claim 40, further comprising a bore hole guide detachably connectable with the rear side of the exterior portion, surrounding the cylindrical boss, and sized to be received in a second door bore hole having a second size larger than the first size.
Claims 42-43 are allowed.
Re Claim 42. (New)
The prior art of record fails to teach in combination a lock assembly, comprising: an exterior portion configured to be mounted on an outside of a door; an interior portion configured to be mounted on an inside of the door, the exterior portion and the interior portion are configured to be fastened to each other; and, a deadbolt assembly configured to be actuated by the exterior and interior portions; the exterior portion including: a chassis; and, an anti-rotation arm disposed on the chassis, the anti-rotation arm configured to abut the deadbolt assembly and configured to transfer torque from the chassis to the deadbolt assembly, thereby inhibiting compromising integrity of the lock assembly; wherein the chassis further comprises an extension extending from a rear side of the exterior portion and sized to be received in a first door bore hole having a first size, with the anti- rotation arm extending rearward from the extension; wherein the lock assembly further comprises a bore hole guide detachably connectable with the rear side of the exterior portion, surrounding the extension, and sized to be received in a second door bore hole having a second size larger than the first size.
Claim 43 is dependent on claim 42 and therefore also allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 30-33, 37-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s amendment of 7/14/25, the previous rejection in view of Deng is withdrawn and a new rejection in view of thew teachings of Huang is set forth above. Huang is deemed to teach the structure of the instant lock assembly as claimed. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 30-33, 37-40 stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SUZANNE DINO BARRETT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675B
Sdb
/SUZANNE L BARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675