DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on July 21, 2026 has been received and considered. By this amendment, claims 1, 11, and 18 are amended and claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein the insulating core does not form a compression hermetic seal to the inner conductor due to the CTE of the inner conductor being no less than the CTE of the insulating core" in lines 13-15. The metes and bounds of this limitation are unclear. It is unclear if the claim is requiring that no compression hermetic seal be formed at all because the CTE of the inner conductor is no less than the CTE of the insulating core, or if the limitation allows a compression hermetic seal be formed, but not a compression hermetic seal that is due to the CTE of the inner conductor being no less than the CTE of the insulating core. Clarification of claim language is necessary.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "wherein the insulating core does not form a compression hermetic seal to the inner conductor due to the CTE of the insulating core being no greater than the CTE of the inner conductor" in lines 13-15. The metes and bounds of this limitation are unclear. It is unclear if the claim is requiring that no compression hermetic seal be formed at all because the CTE of the insulating core is no greater than the CTE of the inner conductor, or if the limitation allows a compression hermetic seal be formed, but not a compression hermetic seal that is due to the CTE of the insulating core being no greater than the CTE of the inner conductor. Clarification of claim language is necessary.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "wherein the insulating core does not form a compression hermetic seal to the inner conductor due to the CTE of the inner conductor being no less than the CTE of the insulating core" in lines 18-20. The metes and bounds of this limitation are unclear. It is unclear if the claim is requiring that no compression hermetic seal be formed at all because the CTE of the inner conductor is no less than the CTE of the insulating core, or if the limitation allows a compression hermetic seal be formed, but not a compression hermetic seal that is due to the CTE of the inner conductor is no less than the CTE of the insulating core. Clarification of claim language is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (U.S. 2019/0140220, previously cited) in view of Ota et al. (U.S. 2004/0101746). Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses a feedthrough assembly for an implantable medical device, the feedthrough assembly comprising: a ferrule having a lumen 25 (see Figure 1B); an inner conductor 24 extending through the lumen of the ferrule (see Figure 1B), the inner conductor having a first material composition (“Suitable feedthrough pins 24 include, but are not limited to, molybdenum, titanium, and niobium.”, paragraph [0053]); and an insulating core 26 disposed within the lumen of the ferrule and separating the inner conductor from the ferrule (see Figure 1B), the insulating core having a second material composition that is different from the first material composition of the inner conductor (“Suitable sealing media include, but are not limited to, ceramics, glass, and quartz.”, paragraph [0053]), wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the inner conductor is no less than the CTE of the insulating core (inherent properties of the materials listed in Jiang), and wherein the inner conductor is bonded to the insulating core to form a glass-to-metal seal between the inner conductor and the insulating core (“The feedthrough pins 24 can be immobilized within the openings by an electrically insulating sealing medium 26 such as is used in a Glass-To-Metal Seal (GTMS).”, paragraph [0053]). It is respectfully submitted that Jiang discloses “wherein the insulating core does not form a compression hermetic seal to the inner conductor due to the CTE of the inner conductor being no less than the CTE of the insulating core” because there is no compression hermetic seal formed as a result of the CTE of the inner conductor being no less than the CTE of the insulating core. However, Jiang fails to disclose that the inner conductor is molecularly bonded with heat to the insulating core to form the glass-to-metal seal. Ota teaches that “[e]lectronic device seals that bond glass and other ceramics to metal are generally known in the art” and “[m]olecular bonding is accomplished by oxidizing the surface of the metal component to facilitate bonding to the glass component. Heating the components causes the glass to soften and flow into the oxidized area of the metal component thereby creating a hermetic seal when the components are cooled” (see paragraph [0003]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to molecularly bond the inner conductor with heat to the insulating core to form the glass-to-metal seal, as taught by Ota, as it is well known in the art to do so, as evidenced by the teachings of Ota.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang discloses a case 14 having a feedthrough port 10 and containing a battery 12 within the case, wherein the ferrule is disposed in the feedthrough port of the case and the inner conductor is electrically connected to the battery within the case (see Figures 1A and 1D).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang discloses that the second material composition of the insulating core comprises a glass (“Suitable sealing media include, but are not limited to, ceramics, glass, and quartz.”, paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang discloses that the first material composition of the inner conductor comprises one or both of titanium or niobium (“Suitable feedthrough pins 24 include, but are not limited to, molybdenum, titanium, and niobium.”, paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang discloses that the CTE of the inner conductor is greater than the CTE of the insulating core (inherent properties of the materials listed in Jiang).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang discloses that the glass-to-metal seal between the inner conductor and the insulating core is a hermetic seal (glass-to-metal seals are inherently hermetic).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang discloses that the ferrule has a third material composition (“Suitable materials for the cover member include, but are not limited to, titanium, stainless steel, and aluminum.”, paragraph [0052]), and the CTE of the ferrule is greater than the CTE of the insulating core (inherent properties of the materials listed in Jiang).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses that the lumen of the ferrule is a first lumen, the inner conductor is a first inner conductor, and the insulating core is a first insulating core, wherein the ferrule defines a second lumen spaced apart from the first lumen, and the feedthrough assembly further comprises a second inner conductor and a second insulating core, the second inner conductor extending through the second lumen, the second insulating core disposed within the second lumen and separating the second inner conductor from the ferrule (see Figures 1A-1D that shows two lumens, insulating cores, and inner conductors).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang discloses that the first inner conductor is electrically connected to a cathode assembly of a battery cell stack and the second inner conductor is electrically connected to an anode assembly of the battery cell stack (see paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang discloses a method for forming an implantable medical device, the method comprising: forming a feedthrough assembly by: inserting an inner conductor 24 to extend through a lumen 25 of a ferrule (see Figure 1B), the inner conductor having a first material composition (“Suitable feedthrough pins 24 include, but are not limited to, molybdenum, titanium, and niobium.”, paragraph [0053]); positioning an insulating core 26 within the lumen of the ferrule such that the insulating core separates the inner conductor from the ferrule (see Figure 1B), the insulating core having a second material composition that is different from the first material composition of the inner conductor (“Suitable sealing media include, but are not limited to, ceramics, glass, and quartz.”, paragraph [0053]), wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the insulating core is no greater than the CTE of the inner conductor (inherent properties of the materials listed in Jiang); and bonding the inner conductor to the insulating core to form a glass-to-metal seal between the inner conductor and the insulating core (“The feedthrough pins 24 can be immobilized within the openings by an electrically insulating sealing medium 26 such as is used in a Glass-To-Metal Seal (GTMS).”, paragraph [0053]); and inserting the feedthrough assembly into a feedthrough port of a case 14 (see Figures 1A-1D). It is respectfully submitted that Jiang discloses “wherein the insulating core does not form a compression hermetic seal to the inner conductor due to the CTE of the insulating core being no greater than the CTE of the inner conductor” because there is no compression hermetic seal formed as a result of the CTE of the insulating core being no greater than the CTE of the inner conductor. However, Jiang fails to disclose molecularly bonding with heat the inner conductor to the insulating core to form the glass-to-metal seal. Ota teaches that “[e]lectronic device seals that bond glass and other ceramics to metal are generally known in the art” and “[m]olecular bonding is accomplished by oxidizing the surface of the metal component to facilitate bonding to the glass component. Heating the components causes the glass to soften and flow into the oxidized area of the metal component thereby creating a hermetic seal when the components are cooled” (see paragraph [0003]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to molecularly bond the inner conductor with heat to the insulating core to form the glass-to-metal seal, as taught by Ota, as it is well known in the art to do so, as evidenced by the teachings of Ota.
Regarding claim 12, it is respectfully submitted that the steps of “heating the ferrule, the insulating core, and the inner conductor to a temperature sufficient to cause the insulating core to melt and flow into contact with an outer surface of the inner conductor and an inner surface of the ferrule along the lumen; and thereafter cooling the ferrule, the insulating core, and the inner conductor to re-solidify the insulating core” are inherent steps in the formation of a Glass-To-Metal Seal, as formed in Jiang. As such, it is respectfully submitted that Jiang satisfies the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Jiang discloses loading a battery into the case; and electrically connecting the inner conductor to the battery within the case (see paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Jiang discloses that the first material composition of the inner conductor comprises one or both of titanium or niobium (“Suitable feedthrough pins 24 include, but are not limited to, molybdenum, titanium, and niobium.”, paragraph [0053]), and the second material composition of the insulating core comprises a glass (“Suitable sealing media include, but are not limited to, ceramics, glass, and quartz.”, paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Jiang discloses that the CTE of the inner conductor is greater than the CTE of the insulating core (inherent properties of the materials listed in Jiang).
Regarding claim 17, Jiang discloses that the lumen of the ferrule is a first lumen, the inner conductor is a first inner conductor, and the insulating core is a first insulating core, wherein the ferrule defines a second lumen spaced apart from the first lumen, and forming the feedthrough assembly further comprises: inserting a second inner conductor to extend through the second lumen of the ferrule, the inner conductor having the first material composition; positioning a second insulating core within the second lumen of the ferrule such that the second insulating core separates the second inner conductor from the ferrule, the second insulating core having the second material composition; and bonding the second inner conductor to the second insulating core to form a glass-to-metal seal between the second inner conductor and the second insulating core (see Figures 1A-1D that shows two lumens, insulating cores, and inner conductors).
Regarding claim 18, Jiang discloses an implantable medical device comprising: a case 14 including a feedthrough port; a battery 12 disposed within the case; and a feedthrough assembly 10 disposed in the feedthrough port of the case, the feedthrough assembly comprising: a ferrule having a lumen 25 (see Figure 1B); an inner conductor 24 extending through the lumen of the ferrule (see Figure 1B), the inner conductor having a first material composition (“Suitable feedthrough pins 24 include, but are not limited to, molybdenum, titanium, and niobium.”, paragraph [0053]), the inner conductor electrically connected to the battery (see paragraphs [0055] and [0056]); and an insulating core 26 disposed within the lumen of the ferrule and separating the inner conductor from the ferrule (see Figure 1B), the insulating core having a second material composition that is different from the first material composition of the inner conductor (“Suitable sealing media include, but are not limited to, ceramics, glass, and quartz.”, paragraph [0053]), wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the inner conductor is no less than the CTE of the insulating core (inherent properties of the materials listed in Jiang), and wherein the inner conductor is bonded to the insulating core to form a glass-to-metal seal between the inner conductor and the insulating core (“The feedthrough pins 24 can be immobilized within the openings by an electrically insulating sealing medium 26 such as is used in a Glass-To-Metal Seal (GTMS).”, paragraph [0053]). It is respectfully submitted that Jiang discloses “wherein the insulating core does not form a compression hermetic seal to the inner conductor due to the CTE of the inner conductor being no less than the CTE of the insulating core” because there is no compression hermetic seal formed as a result of the CTE of the inner conductor being no less than the CTE of the insulating core. However, Jiang fails to disclose that the inner conductor is molecularly bonded with heat to the insulating core to form the glass-to-metal seal. Ota teaches that “[e]lectronic device seals that bond glass and other ceramics to metal are generally known in the art” and “[m]olecular bonding is accomplished by oxidizing the surface of the metal component to facilitate bonding to the glass component. Heating the components causes the glass to soften and flow into the oxidized area of the metal component thereby creating a hermetic seal when the components are cooled” (see paragraph [0003]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang to molecularly bond the inner conductor with heat to the insulating core to form the glass-to-metal seal, as taught by Ota, as it is well known in the art to do so, as evidenced by the teachings of Ota.
Regarding claim 19, Jiang discloses that the first material composition of the inner conductor comprises one or both of titanium or niobium (“Suitable feedthrough pins 24 include, but are not limited to, molybdenum, titanium, and niobium.”, paragraph [0053]), and the second material composition of the insulating core comprises a glass (“Suitable sealing media include, but are not limited to, ceramics, glass, and quartz.”, paragraph [0053]).
Claims 8, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Ota as applied to claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Larson (U.S. 2003/0040781). Regarding claims 8 and 16, Jiang in view of Ota discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including that the first material composition of the inner conductor comprises titanium (“Suitable feedthrough pins 24 include, but are not limited to, molybdenum, titanium, and niobium.”, paragraph [0053]), but fails to disclose that the second material composition of the insulating core comprises calcium-boro-aluminate-12 (CABAL-12) glass. Larson teaches an implantable medical device including a feedthrough assembly 30 including a ferrule including an insulating core 56 comprising CABAL-12 glass (see paragraphs [0069] and [0089]) and an inner conductor 34 comprising titanium (see paragraphs [0069] and [0089]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang in view of Ota to include that the second material composition of the insulating core comprises calcium-boro-aluminate-12 (CABAL-12) glass, as taught by Larson, as it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07
Regarding claim 20, Jiang in view of Ota discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to disclose a memory disposed within the case, the memory configured to store program instructions; and one or more processors disposed within the case and configured to execute the program instructions in connection with at least one of monitoring a biological signal or administering a therapy. Larson teaches an implantable medical device that includes a memory 226/228 disposed within the case, the memory configured to store program instructions; and one or more processors 224 disposed within the case and configured to execute the program instructions in connection with at least one of monitoring a biological signal or administering a therapy (see Figures 23A and paragraphs [0126] and [0127]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jiang in view of Ota such that the described battery and feedthrough are contained within a case including additionally a memory disposed within the case, the memory configured to store program instructions; and one or more processors disposed within the case and configured to execute the program instructions in connection with at least one of monitoring a biological signal or administering a therapy, as taught by Larson, as it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 13, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1 and 10), 1, 6, 1, 1, 17, 18, 17, 1, and 1, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,701,520 in view of Jiang (U.S. 2019/0140220) and Ota (U.S. 2004/0101746). Claims (1 and 10), 1, 6, 1, 1, 17, 18, 17, 1, and 1 of U.S. Patent 11,701,520 anticipate claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 13, 15, 18, and 20, respectively, of the present application except for wherein the inner conductor is molecularly bonded with heat to the insulating core to form a glass-to-metal seal between the inner conductor and the insulating core. Jiang teaches a feedthrough assembly for an implantable medical device, the feedthrough assembly comprising: a ferrule having a lumen 25 (see Figure 1B); an inner conductor 24 extending through the lumen of the ferrule (see Figure 1B), the inner conductor having a first material composition (“Suitable feedthrough pins 24 include, but are not limited to, molybdenum, titanium, and niobium.”, paragraph [0053]); and an insulating core 26 disposed within the lumen of the ferrule and separating the inner conductor from the ferrule (see Figure 1B), the insulating core having a second material composition that is different from the first material composition of the inner conductor (“Suitable sealing media include, but are not limited to, ceramics, glass, and quartz.”, paragraph [0053]), wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the inner conductor is no less than the CTE of the insulating core (inherent properties of the materials listed in Jiang), and wherein the inner conductor is bonded to the insulating core to form a glass-to-metal seal between the inner conductor and the insulating core (“The feedthrough pins 24 can be immobilized within the openings by an electrically insulating sealing medium 26 such as is used in a Glass-To-Metal Seal (GTMS).”, paragraph [0053]). Further, Ota teaches that “[e]lectronic device seals that bond glass and other ceramics to metal are generally known in the art” and “[m]olecular bonding is accomplished by oxidizing the surface of the metal component to facilitate bonding to the glass component. Heating the components causes the glass to soften and flow into the oxidized area of the metal component thereby creating a hermetic seal when the components are cooled” (see paragraph [0003]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims (1 and 10), 1, 6, 1, 1, 17, 18, 17, 1, and 1 of U.S. Patent 11,701,520 to include wherein the inner conductor is molecularly bonded with heat to the insulating core to form a glass-to-metal seal between the inner conductor and the insulating core, as taught by Jiang and Ota, in order to provide a stable hermetic seal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejection of the claims as being anticipated by Jiang in view of Ota, the Applicant argues that Ota fails to make up for the deficiencies of Jiang because “Ota discloses that preferable molecular bonding is achieved by a compression seal between an outer body and an insulating body, and a compression seal between the insulating body and a metal pin”. Applicant argues that every single example presented by Ota describes a preferable arrangement in which the CTE of the metal pin is less than the CTE of the insulating body to generate a compression seal between the metal pin and the insulating body. It is respectfully submitted that Applicant is referring to an embodiment of Ota not relied upon for the rejection. Paragraph [0003] of Ota describes the molecular bonding that is relied upon in the rejection in which “It is desirable for the glass and metal to have similar coefficient of thermal expansions (CTE) to avoid stress breaks during the heating and cooling processes”, and then further goes on to discuss that preferably a compression seal is formed due to the CTE of the case being higher than the insulator and the CTE of the insulator being higher than the pin. Ota is not relied upon for the relative CTE values for the inner conductor and insulating core, as these aspects are taught by Jiang. Further, the glass-to-metal seal is taught by Jiang. However, Jiang fails to teach the molecular bonding with heat that is taught by Ota. The molecular bonding with heat, as taught by Ota, requires CTEs between the glass and metal to be “similar”, but does not require the insulating core to be higher than the inner conductor. The combination of teachings arrives at the invention as claimed.
Regarding the rejection of the claims on the basis of non-statutory double patenting, the Applicant argues that the rejection fails to set forth how the claims are anticipated by the claims of the patent except for wherein the inner conductor is molecularly bonded with heat to the insulating core to form a glass-to-metal seal between the inner conductor and the insulating core. As discussed previously, the anticipation is due to the claims of the patent including each and every element of the inventive claims except for those aspects relied upon in the teaching references. This is readily apparent in a comparison between the claims of the invention and the claims of the patent and the specific one-to-one correspondence provided in the rejection. As such, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stevenson et al. (U.S. 2019/0290921) discloses ferrule 112 for an implantable medical device that includes an insulating core 160 and an inner conductor 111/114 (see Figure 4).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796