DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of in the reply filed on Species G is acknowledged. Examiner appreciates Applicant’s careful consideration regarding the Feature 3b and confirms that their interpretation was correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brusberg et al. (US 2021/0271037; hereinafter Brusberg).
Regarding claim 1: Brusberg disclosesAn apparatus (Fig. 5B, Fig. 22) comprising: an integrated circuit component comprising a substrate (Fig. 5A, substrate 260; Fig. 22, substrate 762), the substrate comprising a cutout (Fig. 5A, peripheral recesses 265; Fig. 22, peripheral recess where 761 is received); a processing unit (Fig. 5B, IC 330; Fig. 22, electronic IC 790) attached to the substrate, the processing unit comprising a processing unit conductive contact on a surface of the processing unit (Fig. 5B, electrical contact pads 332; Fig. 22, contact pads 794); and a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) (Fig. 5B, either of PICs 300; Fig. 22, PIC 770) comprising a waveguide (Fig. 5B, waveguide 302; Fig. 22, waveguide regions 772) and a PIC conductive contact on a surface of the PIC (Fig. 5B, bonding pad 303; Fig. 22, upper contact pads 777), the processing unit conductive contact attached to the PIC conductive contact (in Fig. 5B, they are attached via the substrate 260; additionally, see paragraph 0127; Fig. 22 shows connection between 777 and 794 via bonding bumps 796), the waveguide extending to an edge of the PIC (Figs. 5B and 22 show this), the edge of the PIC substantially flush with a wall of the cutout or extending into the cutout (Fig. 5B shows that the bottom edge of the PIC is substantially flush with a wall of the cutout, which corresponds to the upper surface 270 of the glass body 262; Fig. 22 shows the bottom edge of the PIC is substantially flush with a wall of the cutout, which corresponds to the upper surface 764 of the substrate 762).
Regarding claim 3: Brusberg disclosesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the cutout extends partially through the substrate from a top surface of the substrate (Fig. 5B shows the cutout extends partially through the substrate from the top surface 270; Fig. 22 shows the cutout extends partially through the substrate from the top surface 764 to the intermediate surface 765).
Regarding claim 4: Brusberg disclosesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the substrate further comprises a recess in a surface of the substrate (Fig. 5A, cavity 299; see paragraph 0163, Fig. 22 also has a cavity, which corresponds to the area with the redistribution layer 780), the PIC at least partially located in the recess (Figs. 5B and 22 show this), and the PIC conductive contact is attached to the processing unit conductive contact (they are attached via the substrate; additionally, see paragraph 0127 and 0163).
Regarding claim 5: Brusberg disclosesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), further comprising an attachment block (Fig. 5B, elevated portions 263), an edge of the attachment block substantially flush with the edge of the PIC (Fig. 5B shows the top edge of the attachment block substantially flush with the edge of the PIC).
Regarding claim 9: Brusberg disclosesAn apparatus (Fig. 5B, Fig. 22) comprising: an integrated circuit component comprising a substrate (Fig. 5A, substrate 260; Fig. 22, substrate 762), the substrate comprising a cutout (Fig. 5A, peripheral recesses 265; Fig. 22, peripheral recess where 761 is received); a processing unit (Fig. 5B, IC 330; Fig. 22, electronic IC 790) attached to the substrate, the processing unit comprising a processing unit conductive contact on a surface of the processing unit (Fig. 5B, electrical contact pads 332; Fig. 22, contact pads 794); a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) (Fig. 5B, either of PICs 300; Fig. 22, PIC 770) comprising a waveguide (Fig. 5B, waveguide 302; Fig. 22, waveguide regions 772) and a PIC conductive contact (Fig. 5B, bonding pad 303; Fig. 22, upper contact pads 777) on a surface of the PIC, the processing unit conductive contact attached to the PIC conductive contact (in Fig. 5B, they are attached via the substrate 260; additionally, see paragraph 0127; Fig. 22 shows connection between 777 and 794 via bonding bumps 796), the waveguide extending to an edge of the PIC (Figs. 5B and 22 show this), the edge of the PIC coplanar with a wall of the cutout or extending into the cutout (Fig. 5B shows that the bottom edge of the PIC is coplanar with a wall of the cutout, which corresponds to the upper surface 270 of the glass body 262; Fig. 22 shows the bottom edge of the PIC is coplanar with a wall of the cutout, which corresponds to the upper surface 764 of the substrate 762); and a fiber attach unit (Fig. 5B, optical connectors 310, see paragraph 0127; Fig. 22, optical connector 761) comprising an optical fiber (see paragraph 0127; see paragraph 0163), the optical fiber attached to the waveguide (in both embodiments Figs. 5B and Fig. 22, the optical fiber is attached to the waveguide via the connector and the substrate), at least a portion of the fiber attach unit extending into the cutout (Figs. 5B and 22 show this).
Regarding claim 11: Brusberg disclosesThe apparatus of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein the cutout extends partially through the substrate from a top surface of the substrate (Fig. 5B shows the cutout extends partially through the substrate from the top surface 270; Fig. 22 shows the cutout extends partially through the substrate from the top surface 764 to the intermediate surface 765).
Regarding claim 12: Brusberg disclosesThe apparatus of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein the substrate further comprises a recess in a surface of the substrate (Fig. 5A, cavity 299; see paragraph 0163, Fig. 22 also has a cavity, which corresponds to the area with the redistribution layer 780), the PIC at least partially located in the recess (Figs. 5B and 22 show this), and the PIC conductive contact is attached to the processing unit conductive contact (they are attached via the substrate; additionally, see paragraph 0127 and 0163).
Regarding claim 13: Brusberg disclosesThe apparatus of claim 9 (as applied above), further comprising an attachment block (Fig. 5B, elevated portions 263; corresponding features in Fig. 22), an edge of the attachment block coplanar with the edge of the PIC (Fig. 5B shows the top edge of the attachment block coplanar with the edge of the PIC; Fig. 22 also shows this), the fiber attach unit attached to the attachment block (Figs. 5B and 22 show the fiber attach unit attached to the attachment block).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusberg et al. (US 2021/0271037; hereinafter Brusberg).
Regarding claim 8: Brusberg disclosesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the cutout is a first cutout, the waveguide is a first waveguide, the PIC is a first PIC, the processing unit is a first processing unit, the processing unit conductive contact is a first processing unit conductive contact (as applied above), the substrate further comprising a second cutout (Fig. 5A, structure corresponding to peripheral recess 265 on the right), the apparatus further comprising: a second PIC comprising a second waveguide (Fig. 5B, PIC 300 on right side) and a second PIC conductive contact on a surface of the second PIC (Fig. 5B shows conductive contacts on the bottom surface of the PIC 300 on the right), wherein the second waveguide extends to an edge of the second PIC (Fig. 5B, waveguide 302 on right PIC 300), the edge of the second PIC substantially flush with a wall of the second cutout or extending into the second cutout (Fig. 5B shows the second PIC substantially flush with a wall of the second cutout extending to the top surface 270).
Regarding the limitations: “a second processing unit attached to the substrate, the second processing unit comprising a second processing unit conductive contact on a surface of the second processing unit” and “the second processing unit conductive contact conductively coupled to the second PIC conductive contact”: Brusberg further teaches including a plurality of electronic ICs (see paragraph 0176). Since it is suggested by Brusberg, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a second processing unit attached to the substrate in order to increase the processing capability of the apparatus. In making the modification, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the second processing unit with a similar structure as the first, including a second processing unit conductive contact on a surface of the second processing unit and conductively coupling said second processing unit conductive contact to the second PIC conductive contact, since the first processing unit has these features, and in order to shorten conductive paths between coupled EICs and PICs.
Regarding claim 19: Brusburg discloses
The apparatus of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein the cutout is a first cutout, the waveguide is a first waveguide, the PIC is a first PIC, the processing unit is a first processing unit, the processing unit conductive contact is a first processing unit conductive contact, the fiber attach unit is a first fiber attach unit, the optical fiber is a first optical fiber (as applied above), the apparatus further comprising a second cutout (Fig. 5A, structure corresponding to peripheral recess 265 on the right), the apparatus further comprising: a second PIC comprising a second waveguide (Fig. 5B, PIC 300 on right side) and a second PIC conductive contact on a surface of the second PIC (Fig. 5B shows conductive contacts on the bottom surface of the PIC 300 on the right), wherein the second waveguide extends to an edge of the second PIC (Fig. 5B, waveguide 302 on right PIC 300), the edge of the second PIC coplanar with a wall of the second cutout (Fig. 5B shows the second PIC substantially flush with a wall of the second cutout extending to the top surface 270); and a second fiber attach unit (Fig. 5B, optical connector 310 on the right) comprising a second optical fiber (see paragraph 0127), the second optical fiber attached to the second waveguide (in Fig. 5B, the optical fiber is attached to the waveguide via the connector on the right and the substrate), a portion of the second fiber attach unit extending into the cutout (Fig. 5B shows this).
Regarding the limitations: “a second processing unit attached to the substrate, the second processing unit comprising a second processing unit conductive contact on a surface of the second processing unit” and “the second processing unit conductive contact conductively coupled to the second PIC conductive contact”: Brusberg further teaches including a plurality of electronic ICs (see paragraph 0176). Since it is suggested by Brusberg, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a second processing unit attached to the substrate in order to increase the processing capability of the apparatus. In making the modification, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the second processing unit with a similar structure as the first, including a second processing unit conductive contact on a surface of the second processing unit and conductively coupling said second processing unit conductive contact to the second PIC conductive contact, since the first processing unit has these features, and in order to shorten conductive paths between coupled EICs and PICs.
Claims 6, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusberg et al. (US 2021/0271037; hereinafter Brusberg) in view of Byrd et al. (US 2019/0044002; hereinafter Byrd).
Regarding claim 6: Brusberg discloses the apparatus of claim 1, as applied above. Brusberg fails to disclose that the apparatus further comprises an integrated heat spreader, wherein the integrated heat spreader defines a maximum height of the integrated circuit component. However, Byrd, also related to an apparatus including an integrated circuit component including a substrate (Byrd Fig. 1, substrate 130), a processing unit (Byrd Fig. 1, ASIC 115), and a photonic integrated circuits (Byrd Fig. 1, PIC 105), does teach such an apparatus further comprising an integrated heat spreader (Byrd Fig. 1, thermally conductive lid 140), wherein the integrated heat spreader defines a maximum height of the integrated circuit component (wherein the integrated circuit component is considered to comprise all of the required elements of claim 1 and the integrated heat spreader). In order to spread heat away from heat generating components including the EIC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Brusberg device by including an integrated heat spreader, wherein the integrated heat spreader defines a maximum height of the integrated circuit component, since it was previously taught by Byrd.
Regarding claim 14: Brusberg discloses the apparatus of claim 9, as applied above. Brusberg fails to disclose that the apparatus further comprises an integrated heat spreader, wherein the integrated heat spreader defines a maximum height of the integrated circuit component. However, Byrd, also related to an apparatus including an integrated circuit component including a substrate (Byrd Fig. 1, substrate 130), a processing unit (Byrd Fig. 1, ASIC 115), and a photonic integrated circuits (Byrd Fig. 1, PIC 105), does teach such an apparatus further comprising an integrated heat spreader (Byrd Fig. 1, thermally conductive lid 140), wherein the integrated heat spreader defines a maximum height of the integrated circuit component (wherein the integrated circuit component is considered to comprise all of the required elements of claim 9 and the integrated heat spreader). In order to spread heat away from heat generating components including the EIC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Brusberg device by including an integrated heat spreader, wherein the integrated heat spreader defines a maximum height of the integrated circuit component, since it was previously taught by Byrd.
Regarding claim 16: Modified Brusberg teaches the apparatus of claim 14, as applied above. Byrd additionally teaches that the apparatus further comprises a heat sink (Fig. 1, heat sink 135) attached to the integrated heat spreader, the heat sink having a substantially planar bottom surface attached to the integrated heat spreader, wherein the bottom surface of the heat sink extends over each component of the apparatus. In order to dissipate heat from the apparatus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Brusberg device by further including a heat sink attached to the integrated heat spreader, the heat sink having a substantially planar bottom surface attached to the integrated heat spreader, since it was previously taught by Byrd. In making the modification, it would have been obvious to include a portion of the bottom surface of the heat sink extending over a portion of the cutout, since Byrd teaches a heat sink extending over each component of the apparatus, which in the modified Brusberg device would overlap the cutout.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusberg et al. (US 2021/0271037; hereinafter Brusberg) in view of Venkatesan et al. (US 2023/0176303; hereinafter Venkatesan).
Brusberg discloses the apparatus of claim 9, as applied above. Brusberg fails to teach that the apparatus further comprises a retention bar securing the optical fiber to the substrate. However, Venkatesan teaches a structure for an optical connector/FAU for connecting optical fibers to a PIC on a substrate (see Figs. 1a-1d, FAU 101), with the connector comprising one piece above the fibers and one piece below the fibers (see Fig. 1B, cap 101b and base portion 101a, and FAU landing site 150), which each serve as retention bars for securing optical fibers to the substrate (see paragraph 0040). These structures provide secure alignment of the optical fibers, enabling transmission of optical signals between the optical fibers and the photonic integrated circuit (see Abstract). In order to facilitate good alignment between the fibers and the PIC of the Brusberg device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an optical connector having a two-part structure such as was taught by Venkatesan, wherein each part functions as a retention bar securing the optical fiber to the substrate.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusberg et al. (US 2021/0271037; hereinafter Brusberg) in view of Patel et al. (US 2022/0196933; hereinafter Patel).
Brusberg disclosesThe apparatus of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein the cutout is a substrate cutout (see Figs. 5A-B and 22, the cutout is a substrate cutout).
Brusberg fails to disclose that the apparatus further comprising a socket comprising a socket cutout that at least partially overlaps with the substrate cutout. However, Patel, also related to an apparatus including an integrated circuit component including a substrate (Patel Figs. 1-3, substrate 110), a processing unit (Patel Figs. 1-3, EIC 115), and photonic integrated circuits (Patel Figs. 1-3, PICs 120), does teach providing such a device within a socket (Patel Fig. 3, socket 310) comprising a socket cutout (the interior top surface of the socket is depressed with respect to the sidewalls; therefore it is considered to be a cutout) that surrounds the entire device. The socket allows standardized connections to a PCB (see Patel paragraph 0046), and due to their solder-free connections, sockets allow said connections to be removable. In order to removably connect to PCBs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the Brusberg apparatus with a socket comprising a socket cutout that surrounds the Brusberg apparatus and therefore at least partially overlaps with the substrate cutout, since it was previously taught by Patel.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusberg et al. (US 2021/0271037; hereinafter Brusberg) in view of Ramachandran et al (US 2019/0285804; hereinafter Ramachandran).
Brusberg discloses the apparatus of claim 9, as applied above. Brusberg further teaches that the apparatus can include lasers (see paragraph 0194 and Fig. 37). Brusberg fails to teach that the PIC comprises a laser. Ramachandran, also related to an apparatus including an integrated circuit component including a processing unit (Fig. 5, ancillary devices 120; see paragraph 0028) and photonic integrated circuits (Fig. 5, PIC die 112), teaches that a laser die can be included as part of a PIC die (see Ramachandran paragraph 0047), so that it is not reliant on an external light source. In order to reduce die-to-die interconnect length and to allow the PIC to not be reliant on an external light source, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Brusberg device by including lasers on the PIC, since it was previously taught by Ramachandran.
Conclusion
/KIRSTEN D. ENDRESEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874