DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A as exemplified by claims 1, 5, and 8-11 in the reply filed on 2/4/26 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 2-4, 6-7, and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/4/26.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “ comprising at least one transition metal element from among Mn, Ni and Co” in lines 3-4 is improper alternative claiming. Alternative claiming may be set forth as "a material (or at least one material) selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is (or is at least one of) A, B, or C" see MPEP 2173.05(h). For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “ comprising at least one transition metal element from among Mn, Ni or Co”. Appropriate correction is required.
5. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “M is at least one element selected from among B, Mg, Al, K, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Cu, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo and W” in lines 4-5 is improper alternative claiming. Alternative claiming may be set forth as "a material (or at least one material) selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is (or is at least one of) A, B, or C" see MPEP 2173.05(h). For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “M is at least one element selected from among B, Mg, Al, K, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Cu, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo or W”. Appropriate correction is required.
6. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “The positive electrode active material particles according to claim 1” includes a drafting error. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “The positive electrode active material particle according to claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cui et al., “Structure and Interface Design Enable Stable Li-Rich Cathode”, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2020, Vol. 142, pp. 8918-8927 as cited in IDS dated 2/20/24.
Regarding claim 1, Cui discloses a positive electrode active material particle(abstract, p. 8920, Col. 1, lines 35-38, Fig. 1E), having an O2-type structure(O2-LR-NCM, p. 8920, Col. 1, lines 35-38), comprising at least one transition metal element from among Mn, Ni or Co, with Li and O, as constituent elements(O2-LR-NCM, p. 8919, Col. 2, lines 14-15), and being spherical(p. 8920, Col. 1, lines 35-38, Fig. 1E).
Regarding claim 5, Cui discloses the surface of the particle comprises crystallites(Fig. 1E).
Regarding claim 8, Cui discloses the positive electrode active material particle comprises Li, Mn, Ni, Co and O as constituent elements(O2-LR-NCM, p. 8919, Col. 2, lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 10, Cui discloses a lithium ion secondary battery having a positive electrode, an electrolyte layer and a negative electrode, wherein the positive electrode comprises the positive electrode active material particle according to claim 1 (p. 8920, Col. 2, lines 16-21).
Regarding claim 11, Cui discloses the positive electrode comprises an electrolyte solution(p. 8919, Col. 2, lines 14-26, p. 8920, Col. 2, lines 16-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al., “Structure and Interface Design Enable Stable Li-Rich Cathode”, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2020, Vol. 142, pp. 8918-8927 as cited in IDS dated 2/20/24 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugiyama (US 2021/0119207) as cited in IDS dated 5/31/23.
Regarding claim 9, Cui discloses the positive electrode active material particle has a chemical composition represented by Li1.2 Ni0.13 Co0.13 Mn0.54 O2 (p. 8920, Col. 1, Results and Discussion) but does not explicitly disclose LiaNabMnx-pNiy-qCoz-rMp+q+rO2 (where 0<a≤1.00, 0≤b≤0.20, x+y+z=1, and 0<p+q+r≤0.15, and M is at least one element selected from among B, Mg, Al, K, Ca, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Cu, Zn, Ga, Ge, Sr, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo or W).
Sugiyama teaches the cathode active material has the composition represented by LibNacMnl-sNim-tCon-uM2 s+t+u+O2 where 0<b+c≤1, l+m+n=1, 3≤4l+2m+3n≤3.5, and 0.05≤s+t+u<0.25, M2 is Al or Mo, when M2 is Al, 1 is not equal to m, and any one of 1 and m is not 0, and a O2 structure and a O3 structure coexist in a single particle of the cathode active material([0014]). Sugiyama teaches the method of producing a cathode active material may include a step of pulverizing a cathode active material after the ion exchange step because the cathode active material is adjusted to have a desired shape and particle diameter when applied to a lithium ion battery([0046]). Sugiyama teaches LiaNabMnx-p Niy-q Coz-r Mp+q+r O2 (where a=0.7, b=0, x+y+z=1, and p+q+r=0, Comparative example 1, Table 1, [0111]-[0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode active material particle of Cui with LiaNabMnx-p Niy-q Coz-r Mp+q+r O2 (where a=0.7, b=0, x+y+z=1, and p+q+r=0 as taught by Sugiyama as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724