DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to RCE and Amendment filed on 10/9/2025.
Claims 7 were canceled.
Claims 1-6, 8 are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
(A) Applicant's arguments filed “Although Tamai's system determines a torque range for the respective first and second electric machines, Tamai fails to determine an allowable remaining system power range for the remaining subsystem which is delimited by an upper remaining system power threshold value and a lower remaining system power threshold value, where the remaining system power range is based on one or more operating values of the energy storage device, the operating values includes: a temperature, an overall voltage, a cell voltage, and a state of charge. As recited in the claims, the determined allowable remaining system power range relates to operating values of the energy storage device, which is not disclosed by Tamai.” on 10/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Tamai fully disclosed the limitations. In particular, the limitations of “determining an allowable remaining system power range for the remaining subsystem… determining an allowable first machine power range for the first electric machine... determining an allowable second machine power range for the second electric machine” are encompassed by Para 20 of Tamai “Step 210 entails determining, via the controller 164, a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque capable of being jointly generated by the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180 based, at least in part, on a maximum battery power, a minimum battery power, a maximum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a maximum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and a minimum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a minimum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and the input brake torque capacity… Data containing the maximum battery power, the minimum battery power, the maximum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, the maximum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, the minimum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, the minimum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and the input brake torque capacity can be stored in the controller 164 or on an external memory”. In particular, “determining an allowable remaining system power range for the remaining subsystem (determining, via the controller 164, a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque)… determining an allowable first machine power range for the first electric machine(the maximum motor torque of the first electric machine 160 and the minimum motor torque of the first electric machine 160)... determining an allowable second machine power range for the second electric machine(the maximum motor torque of the second electric machine 180 and the minimum motor torque of the second electric machine 180)”. Lastly, Para 16 of Tamai recited “The hybrid powertrain 127 is also operable in an electric-only operating mode with the engine 126 off and the input brake 131 engaged. Both electric machines 160 and 180 are controlled to operate as motors or as generators as needed to meet operator torque demand as long as the state-of-charge of the battery 170 remains above a predetermined minimum state of charge” would encompasses the remaining system power range (a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque) is based on one or more operating values of the energy storage device(state-of-charge of the battery 170 remains above a predetermined minimum state of charge), the operating values includes: a temperature, an overall voltage, a cell voltage, and a state of charge.
(B) Applicant's arguments filed “Additionally, since Tamai fails to disclose or teach the allowable remaining system power range as recited, Tamai does not disclose that a sum of the upper first machine power threshold value and the upper second machine power threshold value does not exceed the upper remaining system power threshold value and a sum of the lower first machine power threshold value and the lower second machine power threshold value does not exceed the lower remaining system power threshold value. Tamai merely discloses that its method includes determination of an operating torque for the respective machines when the torque request from step 202 does not fall within the output torque range determined at step 210 and when the torque request falls within the output torque range, then the method includes determining a plurality of possible combinations of motor torques for each motor that achieve the torque requested” on 10/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Tamai disclosed the claimed limitation in Para 20 “As used herein, the “maximum motor torque” refers to the maximum torque capable of being generated by the first electric machine 160 and/or the second electric machine 180. The “minimum motor torque” refers to the minimum torque capable of being generated by the first electric machine 160 and/or the second electric machine 180 Furthermore, Para 24 of Tamai recited “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202” indicated the maximum output torque (the upper remaining system power threshold value) and minimum output torque(the lower remaining system power threshold value) refers to the maximum and minimum torque that can be applied to the drive axle 112 by the first and second electric machines. The plurality of possible motor torques (a sum of the upper first machine power threshold value and the upper second machine power threshold value and a sum of the lower first machine power threshold value and the lower second machine power threshold value) are only determined when the torque requested falls within the output torque range.
(C) Applicant's arguments filed “Moreover, although Tamai's system determines the system power losses for all possible combination of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines at the current vehicle speed, Tamai fails to disclose that the allowable first machine torque range is based on the allowable first machine power range and a current speed of the first electric machine, and that the allowable second machine torque range is based on the allowable second machine power range and a current speed of the second electric machine. In other words, Tamai's system relies on the vehicle speed to determine the system losses for all possible combination of the motor torques for each of the first and second electric machines, while the claimed method includes determination of the torque range (for the first or the second machine) based on a power range (for the first or the second machine) and a current speed of the first or second machine not a speed of the vehicle. As such, the machine torque ranges of the recited claims are speed-dependent, specifically machine speed-dependent, not vehicle speed dependent” on 6/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (C), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Tamai Para 25 disclosed “In step 218, the unloaded mechanical losses are not necessarily considered when the hybrid powertrain 127 is operating either in the electric-only operating mode or the engine-off, regenerative mode because unloaded mechanical losses are only dependent on speed and all mechanical components move at the fixed speed at any given vehicle speed” indicating fixed speed during the calculation of the possible combination of the motor torques for each of the first and second electric machines.
(D) Applicant's arguments filed “As to the added limitation of claim 7 which is now incorporated in claim 1, Tamai's system (as noted by the Examiner on page 12, line 8-12) "determines the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 even if one of the electric machines is free running (i.e., to receive or provide zero torque)". Additionally, Tami states that its controller 164 calculates a plurality of possible combinations of motor torques for the first and second electric machines that can achieve the requested torque. Instead, as claimed in the method steps of claim 7, the torque request is assigned to the first or second electric motor, allowing only one electric motor to handle the request. Tamai is silent as to the assignment of the torque requests received at step 202 to a specific electric machine.” on 10/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (D), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Tamai Para 24 disclosed “When determining a plurality of possible motor torques in step 216, the controller 164 also determines the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 even if one of the electric machines is free running (i.e., to receive or provide zero torque)”. One of the electric machines is free running indicted the other motor achieve the torque requested alone encompassing the limitation of “assigning at least one of the torque requests for operation of the vehicle to only one of the first electric machine and the second electric machine”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamai (US20160009268A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tamai teaches A method for controlling an electric drive system for an electric vehicle,
the electric drive system being subdivided in an electric machine subsystem comprising a first electric machine and a second electric machine and in a remaining subsystem comprising at least an energy storage device(Tamai: Para 12 “A controller 164 is operatively connected to both power inverters 165A and 165B and to an energy storage device such as a battery 170 or battery module”), the method comprising:
determining an allowable remaining system power range for the remaining subsystem which is delimited by an upper remaining system power threshold value and a lower remaining system power threshold value(Tamai: Para 20 “Step 210 entails determining, via the controller 164, a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque capable of being jointly generated by the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180 based, at least in part, on a maximum battery power, a minimum battery power, a maximum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a maximum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and a minimum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a minimum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and the input brake torque capacity”), the allowable remaining system power range is based on one or more operating value of the energy storage device, the operating value includes: a temperature, an overall voltage, a cell voltage, and a state of charge (Tamai: Para 16 “The hybrid powertrain 127 is also operable in an electric-only operating mode with the engine 126 off and the input brake 131 engaged. Both electric machines 160 and 180 are controlled to operate as motors or as generators as needed to meet operator torque demand as long as the state-of-charge of the battery 170 remains above a predetermined minimum state of charge”; Step 210 entails determining, via the controller 164, a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque capable of being jointly generated by the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180 based, at least in part, on a maximum battery power, a minimum battery power, a maximum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a maximum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and a minimum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a minimum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and the input brake torque capacity”; Para 20 “The “minimum battery power” refers to the minimum electrical power that can be supplied by the battery 170 (or battery pack) to the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180. The “maximum battery power” refers to the maximum electrical power that can be supplied by the battery 170 (or battery pack) to the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180”; i.e. the remaining system power range (a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque) is based on one or more operating values of the energy storage device(state-of-charge of the battery 170 remains above a predetermined minimum state of charge));
determining an allowable first machine power range for the first electric machine which is delimited by an upper first machine power threshold value and a lower first machine power threshold value(Tamai: Para 20 “Step 210 entails determining, via the controller 164, a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque capable of being jointly generated by the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180 based, at least in part, on a maximum battery power, a minimum battery power, a maximum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a maximum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and a minimum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a minimum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and the input brake torque capacity”);
determining an allowable second machine power range for the second electric machine which is delimited by an upper second machine power threshold value and a lower second machine power threshold value(Tamai: Para 20 “Step 210 entails determining, via the controller 164, a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque capable of being jointly generated by the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180 based, at least in part, on a maximum battery power, a minimum battery power, a maximum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a maximum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and a minimum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a minimum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and the input brake torque capacity”), a sum of the upper first machine power threshold value and the upper second machine power threshold value does not exceed the upper remaining system power threshold value and a sum of the lower first machine power threshold value and the lower second machine power threshold value does not exceed the lower remaining system power threshold value(Tamai: Para 20 “In the present disclosure, the “maximum output torque” refers to the maximum torque that can be applied to the drive axle 112 by the first and second electric machines 160, 180. The “minimum output torque” refers to the minimum torque that can be applied to the drive axle 112 by the first and second electric machines 160, 180”; i.e. maximum output torque (the upper remaining system power threshold value) and minimum output torque(the lower remaining system power threshold value) refers to the maximum and minimum torque that can be applied to the drive axle 112 by the first and second electric machines indicated (a sum of the upper first machine power threshold value and the upper second machine power threshold value and a sum of the lower first machine power threshold value and the lower second machine power threshold value));
determining an allowable first machine torque range based on the allowable first machine power range (Tamai: Para 20 “As used herein, the “maximum motor torque” refers to the maximum torque capable of being generated by the first electric machine 160 and/or the second electric machine 180. The “minimum motor torque” refers to the minimum torque capable of being generated by the first electric machine 160 and/or the second electric machine 180”; Para 24 “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202”)and a current speed of the first electric machine(Tamai: Para 25 “Step 218 entails determining, via the controller 164, the system power losses of the hybrid powertrain 127 for all the possible combinations of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 determined in step 216 at the current vehicle speed in order to achieve the torque requested in step 202”; Para 25 In step 218, the unloaded mechanical losses are not necessarily considered when the hybrid powertrain 127 is operating either in the electric-only operating mode or the engine-off, regenerative mode because unloaded mechanical losses are only dependent on speed and all mechanical components move at the fixed speed at any given vehicle speed”; i.e. fixed speed during the calculation of the possible combination of the motor torques for each of the first and second electric machines);
determining an allowable second machine torque range based on the allowable second machine power range(Tamai: Para 20 “As used herein, the “maximum motor torque” refers to the maximum torque capable of being generated by the first electric machine 160 and/or the second electric machine 180. The “minimum motor torque” refers to the minimum torque capable of being generated by the first electric machine 160 and/or the second electric machine 180”; Para 24 “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202”) and a current speed of the second electric machine(Tamai: Para 25 “Step 218 entails determining, via the controller 164, the system power losses of the hybrid powertrain 127 for all the possible combinations of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 determined in step 216 at the current vehicle speed in order to achieve the torque requested in step 202”; Para 25 In step 218, the unloaded mechanical losses are not necessarily considered when the hybrid powertrain 127 is operating either in the electric-only operating mode or the engine-off, regenerative mode because unloaded mechanical losses are only dependent on speed and all mechanical components move at the fixed speed at any given vehicle speed”; i.e. fixed speed during the calculation of the possible combination of the motor torques for each of the first and second electric machines);
determining a first machine torque setpoint for the first electric machine within the allowable first machine torque range and determining a second machine torque setpoint for the second electric machine within the allowable second machine torque range based on at least one torque request for operation of the vehicle(Tamai: Para 22 “Step 214 entails determining, via the controller 164, the first operating output torque for the first electric machine 160 and the second operating torque for the second electric machine 180 based, at least in part, on the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210 in order to satisfy the constraints of the hybrid powertrain 127 (i.e., the system constraints).”);
operating the first electric machine to realize the first machine torque setpoint(Tamai: Para 23 “Step 215 entails commanding, via the controller 164, the first electric machine 160 to generate the first operating torque determined in step 214 and the second electric machine 180 to generate the second operating torque determined in step 214”); and
operating the second electric machine to realize the second machine torque setpoint(Tamai: Para 23 “Step 215 entails commanding, via the controller 164, the first electric machine 160 to generate the first operating torque determined in step 214 and the second electric machine 180 to generate the second operating torque determined in step 214”),
wherein determining the allowable first machine power range and the allowable first machine power range(Tamai: Para 24 “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202”) includes:
assigning at least one of the torque requests for operation of the vehicle to only one of the first electric machine and second electric machine(Tamai: Para 24 “When determining a plurality of possible motor torques in step 216, the controller 164 also determines the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 even if one of the electric machines is free running (i.e., to receive or provide zero torque)”);
determining the upper power threshold value and/or the lower power threshold value of the respective electric machine such that the respective electric machine can realize the at least one assigned torque request(Tamai: Para 24 “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202. In other words, the controller 164 can calculate a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 that can achieve the torque requested in step 202. In the present disclosure, the term “a plurality of possible motor torques” refer to a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torque of the first electric machine 160 (i.e., the first motor torque) and the motor torque of the second electric machine 180 (i.e., the second motor torque) that can achieve the torque requested in step 202. When determining a plurality of possible motor torques in step 216, the controller 164 also determines the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 even if one of the electric machines is free running (i.e., to receive or provide zero torque)”);
determining the upper power threshold value of the other electric machine such that the sum of upper power threshold value of the respective electric machine and upper power threshold value of the other electric machine does not exceed the upper remaining system power threshold value(Tamai: Para 24 “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202. In other words, the controller 164 can calculate a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 that can achieve the torque requested in step 202. In the present disclosure, the term “a plurality of possible motor torques” refer to a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torque of the first electric machine 160 (i.e., the first motor torque) and the motor torque of the second electric machine 180 (i.e., the second motor torque) that can achieve the torque requested in step 202. When determining a plurality of possible motor torques in step 216, the controller 164 also determines the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 even if one of the electric machines is free running (i.e., to receive or provide zero torque)”); and
determining the lower power threshold value of the other electric machine such that the sum of lower power threshold value of the respective electric machine and lower power threshold value of the other electric machine does not exceed the lower remaining system power threshold value(Tamai: Para 24 “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202. In other words, the controller 164 can calculate a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 that can achieve the torque requested in step 202. In the present disclosure, the term “a plurality of possible motor torques” refer to a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torque of the first electric machine 160 (i.e., the first motor torque) and the motor torque of the second electric machine 180 (i.e., the second motor torque) that can achieve the torque requested in step 202. When determining a plurality of possible motor torques in step 216, the controller 164 also determines the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 even if one of the electric machines is free running (i.e., to receive or provide zero torque)”).
Regarding claim 2, Tamai teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the remaining subsystem further comprises at least one electric consumer and wherein the allowable remaining system power range (RSR) is determined based on a currently allowable energy storage input power value and a currently allowable energy storage output power value of the energy storage device and based on an electric consumer input power value of the at least one electric consumer(Tamai: Para 20 “Step 210 entails determining, via the controller 164, a maximum output torque and a minimum output torque capable of being jointly generated by the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180 based, at least in part, on a maximum battery power, a minimum battery power, a maximum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a maximum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and a minimum motor torque of the first electric machine 160, a minimum motor torque of the second electric machine 180, and the input brake torque capacity”; Para 20 “The “minimum battery power” refers to the minimum electrical power that can be supplied by the battery 170 (or battery pack) to the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180. The “maximum battery power” refers to the maximum electrical power that can be supplied by the battery 170 (or battery pack) to the first electric machine 160 and the second electric machine 180”).
Regarding claim 6, Tamai teaches The method of claim 1, wherein determining the allowable first machine power range and the allowable second machine power range includes:
dividing the upper remaining system power threshold value between the upper first machine power threshold value and the upper second machine power threshold value according to a given first rate, such that the sum of the upper first machine power threshold value and the upper second machine power threshold value does not exceed the upper remaining system power threshold value(Tamai: Para 24 “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202. In other words, the controller 164 can calculate a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 that can achieve the torque requested in step 202. In the present disclosure, the term “a plurality of possible motor torques” refer to a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torque of the first electric machine 160 (i.e., the first motor torque) and the motor torque of the second electric machine 180 (i.e., the second motor torque) that can achieve the torque requested in step 202”; i.e. a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180(dividing the upper remaining system power threshold value between the upper first machine power threshold value and the upper second machine power threshold value) that can achieve the torque requested which is within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque(the sum of the upper first machine power threshold value and the upper second machine power threshold value does not exceed the upper remaining system power threshold value)); and/or
dividing the lower remaining system power threshold value between the lower first machine power threshold value and the lower second machine power threshold value according to a given second rate, such that the sum of the lower first machine power threshold value and the lower second machine power threshold value does not exceed the lower remaining system power threshold value(Tamai: Para 24 “if the torque requested in step 202 falls within the output torque range defined by the maximum output torque and the minimum output torque determined in step 210, then the method 200 continues to step 216. Step 216 entails determining, via the controller 164, a plurality of possible motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 capable of achieving the torque requested in step 202. In other words, the controller 164 can calculate a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torques for the first and second electric machines 160, 180 that can achieve the torque requested in step 202. In the present disclosure, the term “a plurality of possible motor torques” refer to a plurality of possible combinations of the motor torque of the first electric machine 160 (i.e., the first motor torque) and the motor torque of the second electric machine 180 (i.e., the second motor torque) that can achieve the torque requested in step 202”).
Regarding claim 8, Tamai teaches A device for controlling an electric system for an electric vehicle, the electric system comprising:
a machine sub-system (Tamai: Fig. 1) including:
a first electric machine(Tamai: Para 12 “A controller 164 is operatively connected to both power inverters 165A and 165B and to an energy storage device such as a battery 170 or battery module”), and
a second electric machine(Tamai: Para 12 “A controller 164 is operatively connected to both power inverters 165A and 165B and to an energy storage device such as a battery 170 or battery module”); and
a remaining system including at least an electric storage device(Tamai: Para 12 “A controller 164 is operatively connected to both power inverters 165A and 165B and to an energy storage device such as a battery 170 or battery module”), wherein the device executes a control method according to claim 1(Tamai: Para 12 “A controller 164 is operatively connected to both power inverters 165A and 165B and to an energy storage device such as a battery 170 or battery module. The controller 164 is in communication with the engine 126, the first electric machine 160, and the second electric machine 180. The controller 164 controls the operation of the first and second electric machines 160 and 180 as motors or as generators, and has a processor configured with an algorithm that carries out the method 200 for minimizing system power loss described with respect to FIG. 2”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamai (US20160009268A1) in view of Center (US20090118877A1).
In regards to claim 3, Tamai teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: the allowable remaining system power range (RSR) is determined such that the operating value does not exceed a predetermined operating threshold value(Tamai: Para 16 “Both electric machines 160 and 180 are controlled to operate as motors or as generators as needed to meet operator torque demand as long as the state-of-charge of the battery 170 remains above a predetermined minimum state of charge”).
Yet Tamai do not explicitly teach the remaining subsystem comprises at least one sensor device, the at least one sensor device captures an operating value of the energy storage device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Center teaches the remaining subsystem comprises at least one sensor device, the at least one sensor device captures an operating value of the energy storage device (Center : Para 30 “The BPCM 21 is signally connected to sensors (not shown) to monitor the ESD 74, including states of electrical current and voltage parameters, to provide information indicative of parametric states of the batteries of the ESD 74 to the HCP 5. The parametric states of the batteries preferably include battery state-of-charge, battery voltage, battery temperature, and available battery power”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The method of Tamai with the feature of the remaining subsystem comprises at least one sensor device, the at least one sensor device captures an operating value of the energy storage device disclosed by Center. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of determines optimum system efficiency based upon operator demand for power, battery state of charge, and energy efficiencies of the engine 14 and the first and second electric machines 56 and 72” (Center : Para 36).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Tamai and Center teaches The method of claim 3, and Tamai further teaches wherein the energy storage device comprises at least one fuel cell(Tamai: Para 12 “A controller 164 is operatively connected to both power inverters 165A and 165B and to an energy storage device such as a battery 170 or battery module”).
In regards to claim 5, Tamai teaches The method of claim 1, wherein multiple torque requests for operating the vehicle exist(Tamai: Para 17 “Step 202 entails receiving a torque request. As discussed above, the controller 164 can receive the torque request. In doing so, the controller 164 can receive, for example, the torque command signal Tcmd from the vehicle operator or a vehicle control system, such as a cruise control system. In the present disclosure, the term “torque request” refers to an amount of the torque requested at the drive axle 112. Then, the method 200 continues to step 204”; i.e. the torque command signal Tcmd from the vehicle operator or a vehicle control system, such as a cruise control system indicate multiple torque requests for operating the vehicle).
Yet Tamai do not explicitly teach the determination of the allowable remaining system power range includes:
classifying each of the multiple torque requests in one of multiple torque request categories according to their duration; and
determining the upper remaining system power threshold value and the lower remaining system power threshold value depending on a category of a current torque request or dependent on categories of multiple current torque requests.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Center teaches the determination of the allowable remaining system power range includes:
classifying each of the multiple torque requests in one of multiple torque request categories according to their duration(Center: Fig. 8; Para 40 “A tactical control scheme (‘Tactical Control and Operation’) 330 is repeatedly executed during one of the control loop cycles to determine engine commands (‘Engine Commands’) for operating the engine, including a preferred input torque from the engine 14 to the transmission 10 based upon the output speed, the input speed, and the operator torque request and the present operating range state for the transmission”; i.e. control loop cycles indicated multiple torque requests; Para 43 “The operating limits are described as long term power limits, also referred to as a steady-state limit. A maximum long term power limit describes the maximum discharge power of the ESD 74 over an extended time period, and a minimum long term power limit describes the maximum charge power of the ESD 74 over an extended time period. An extended time period with respect to long term power limits includes time periods in excess of short time periods with respect to short term power limits a described in further detail herein below”; Para 44 “For operations that require a charge or discharge power greater than the long term power limits, the powertrain operations can control operation of the first and second electric machines 56 and 72 through the motor control modules and power inverters of the TPIM 19 to charge or discharge the ESD 74 limited by the short term power limit for short time periods, e.g., one to ten second time periods”; Para 59 “The time-based method controls the short term power limits based upon a time counter. The time counter monitors an elapsed time actual power exceeds the long term power limits. When the actual power exceeds the long term power limits, the time counter increases. When the actual power is less than the long term power limits, the time counter decreases. The time counter does not decrease below zero. The time counter is initialized at a predetermined amount, preferably zero, and is controlled by the HCP 5”; i.e. A long term power limit or short term power limit (classifying each of the multiple torque requests in one of multiple torque request categories) is applied to the actual power from the operator torque request(torque request) based on an elapsed time(according to their duration)); and
determining the upper remaining system power threshold value and the lower remaining system power threshold value depending on a category of a current torque request or dependent on categories of multiple current torque requests(Center: Fig. 8; Para 58 “After the long term limits are set, the short term power limits are determined based upon the long term power limits (602). Short term power limits may be predetermined percentage increase over the long term limits, or a predetermined magnitude over the long term limits”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The method of Tamai with the feature of the determination of the allowable remaining system power range includes: classifying each of the multiple torque requests in one of multiple torque request categories according to their duration; and determining the upper remaining system power threshold value and the lower remaining system power threshold value depending on a category of a current torque request or dependent on categories of multiple current torque requests disclosed by Center. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “controlling power output of the hybrid powertrain system based upon the short term power limits of the electric energy storage device during an electrical energy storage device power excursion outside of the long term power limits” (Center : Para 6).
Conclusion
/WENYUAN YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3667