DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 25th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed January 12th, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 13, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been considered but are moot because the limitations of the claims have been amended to add new issues. New grounds of rejection have been issued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao (US 20170030861 A1) further in view of Stowasser (WO 2022218731 A1)1.
Regarding Claim 1: Jiao discloses (in at least figures 1-4, the description, and the claims) an apparatus comprising:
a window main body (fig. 1 and par. 23: windshield 20) including an interior portion (fig. 1 and par. 23: intermediate layers between edge member/moisture barrier 36 and glass sheets 22 and 30 including at least the vinyl interlayer 26, first urethane layer 28, and second urethane layer 34);
a moisture sealant rim coupled to an outer edge area of the window main body to limit moisture penetration into the interior portion (fig. 1 and par. 23: edge member/moisture barrier 36); and
an indicator desiccant coupled to the moisture sealant rim and located between the moisture sealant rim and the interior portion of the window main body (fig. 1, fig. 4, and par. 30: moisture sensors 85 or 87. See also par. 34: “ the moisture sensors 85 or 87 shown in FIG. 1 are positioned in the plastic laminate layer 26, 28 and/or 34; the first urethane layer 28 having a thickness of 0.060 inch as measured between the surface 23 of the first glass sheet 22 and the surface 24 of the vinyl interlayer […] moisture sensors 85 and 87 are placed on the periphery 38 of the windshield 20 within the moisture seal 36 (see FIG. 1) […]” ), and wherein the indicator desiccant is configured to absorb penetrating fluid over time and provide a visual indication of change of the indicator desiccant in response to an associated with an amount of fluid absorbed (par. 38: “The purpose of the moisture measurement is not simply to measure the instantaneous water ingression rate between sheets of the aircraft laminated windshield, but also the quantity of moisture accumulated over time.” See also par. 60: moisture sensor output provides a visual display).
Jiao does not explicitly disclose wherein the visual indication is provided on the indicator desiccant.
Stowasser discloses an analogous art (par.’s 10, 15, and 22: moisture/humidity indicator applied to a window sealing a pressurized volume. See also par. 8: indicator sealant can be used on airplanes) wherein the visual indication is provided on the indicator desiccant (par. 22: “wherein the window is coated on the inside with a chemical that reacts to sealant and preferably indicates the lack of sufficient sealant by a color change.” See also par. 15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the on-desiccant visual indication, as taught by Stowasser, to be included in the device, system, and method of Jiao thereby providing a rapid and direct indication of moisture at its precise location within the pressurized volume without having to carry out further measurements (Stowasser par. 6. See also par. 16: Stowasser’s indicator can be applied with electronic moisture sensors).
Regarding Claims 2, 14, and 19: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the system of claim 13, and the method of claim 18 including a visual indication of change (par. 38: “The purpose of the moisture measurement is not simply to measure the instantaneous water ingression rate between sheets of the aircraft laminated windshield, but also the quantity of moisture accumulated over time.” See also par. 60: moisture sensor output provides a visual display).
Jiao does not disclose wherein the visual indication comprises a color change, or wherein the indicator desiccant comprises one or more of: silicone with cobalt chloride, silica gel with cobalt chloride, silicone with methyl violet, or silica gel with methyl violet.
Stowasser discloses an analogous art (par.’s 10, 15, and 22: moisture/humidity indicator applied to a window sealing a pressurized volume. See also par. 8: indicator sealant can be used on airplanes) wherein the visual indication comprises a color change (par. 22: “wherein the window is coated on the inside with a chemical that reacts to sealant and preferably indicates the lack of sufficient sealant by a color change”), and wherein the indicator desiccant comprises one or more of the following compounds: silicone with cobalt chloride, silica gel with cobalt chloride, silicone with methyl violet, or silica gel with methyl violet (par. 15: “Preferred materials as an inner layer or incorporated into the impeller inner part of the plastic include a silica gel layer with cobalt dichloride, cobalt dichloride, silica gel layer with methyl violet, methyl violet or similar chemicals and/or sensors that react to moisture”).
The rationale to combine is the same as for claim 1.
Regarding Claims 3, 15, and 20: Jiao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the system of claim 13, and the method of claim 18, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the indicator desiccant comprises an expansion percentage when saturated of substantially zero percent, and wherein substantially zero percent comprises one of the following percent ranges: zero percent, 0.0 percent to 0.01 percent, or 0.0 percent to 0.1 percent.
Stowasser discloses an analogous art (par.’s 10, 15, and 22: moisture/humidity indicator applied to a window sealing a pressurized volume. See also par. 8: indicator sealant can be used on airplanes) wherein the indicator desiccant comprises an expansion percentage when saturated of substantially zero percent, and wherein substantially zero percent comprises one of the following percent ranges: zero percent, 0.0 percent to 0.01 percent, or 0.0 percent to 0.1 percent (par. 15: “Preferred materials as an inner layer or incorporated into the impeller inner part of the plastic include a silica gel layer with cobalt dichloride, cobalt dichloride, silica gel layer with methyl violet, methyl violet or similar chemicals and/or sensors that react to moisture.” It is inherent that the silica gel as disclosed by Stowasser has an expansion percentage of substantially zero percent as claimed. Silica gel’s fundamental properties allow it to absorb moisture without significant expansion.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the indicator desiccant, as taught by Stowasser, to be included in the device, system, and method of Jiao thereby serving as an effective desiccant that does not expand such that it obstructs the integrity of the seal or needs to be routinely removed after use (Stowasser par.’s 2-3 and 15).
Regarding Claim 4: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Jiao discloses the apparatus further comprising: a heater layer located at least partially within the interior portion of the window main body (fig. 1 and par. 24: “second glass sheet 30 is part of a heatable member 50 that provides heat to remove fog from, and/or to melt ice on, the outer surface 46 of the windshield 20.” See also par. 24: heatable member 50 includes a conductive coating 62 applied to surface 64 of the second glass sheet 30, and a pair of spaced bus bars 66 and 68 in electrical contact with the conductive coating 62.); and
wherein the indicator desiccant is located so as to at least partially contact the heater layer (fig. 1: multiple moisture absorbing sensors 87 in with conductive coating 62 of heatable member 50).
Regarding Claim 5: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 4, and Jiao further discloses wherein the window main body comprises an outer window ply located at an outer surface of the window main body (fig. 1: second glass sheet 30 at outer surface 46) and an inner window ply located at an inner surface of the window main body (fig. 1: first glass sheet 22 at inner surface 23), wherein the heater layer is located between the outer window ply and the inner window ply (fig. 1 and par. 27: conductive coating 62 of heatable member 50 between glass sheets 30 and 22).
Regarding Claim 6: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 5, and Jiao further discloses wherein the indicator desiccant is located at least partially between the heater layer and the inner window ply (fig. 1: multiple moisture absorbing sensors 87 between second glass sheet 22 and intermediate layers including at least the vinyl interlayer 26, first urethane layer 28, and second urethane layer 34 ).
Regarding Claim 8: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Jiao further discloses wherein the window main body comprises a windshield of a pressurized vehicle (par. 21: invention is directed to an aircraft laminated windshield. It is inherent that an aircraft is pressurized).
Regarding Claim 9: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Jiao further discloses wherein the indicator desiccant is located so as to be at least partially outside of a pressure boundary associated with the window main body (par. 21: invention is directed to an aircraft laminated windshield. It is inherent that an aircraft is pressurized. See fig. 1: multiple moisture sensors proximal to second glass sheet 30 at outer surface 46 are beyond successive pressure boundaries created by first glass sheet 22 and intermediate layers.).
Regarding Claim 10: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Jiao further discloses wherein a flashing cover is located on an outer portion of the moisture sealant rim (par. 21: invention is directed to an aircraft laminated windshield. It is inherent that said aircraft windshield includes flashing cover as present in a standard aircraft. See also par. 29: bus bar arrangement takes into account the metal body covering of the aircraft that contacts the glass sheets.).
Regarding Claim 12: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Jiao further discloses wherein the indicator desiccant comprises a rope shaped layer of material that has been autoclaved beneath the moisture sealant rim (fig.’s 3-4 and par. 30: coaxial arrangement of moisture sensors 85. Dielectric sleeve element 91 formed of nylon chains. See also fig. 1: moisture sensors beneath sealant rim and par. 21: layers and sheets of laminated windshield formed through standard heating processes. Autoclaving is a standard method in the art to produce laminated glass sheets.).
Regarding Claim 13: Jiao discloses (in at least figures 1-4, the description, and the claims) a system comprising:
an aircraft fuselage; and
a windshield coupled to the aircraft fuselage (fig. 1 and par. 23: windshield 20), the windshield comprising:
a window main body with an interior portion (fig. 1 and par. 23: intermediate layers between edge member/moisture barrier 36 and glass sheets 22 and 30 including at least the vinyl interlayer 26, first urethane layer 28, and second urethane layer 34);
a moisture sealant rim coupled to an outer edge area of the window main body to limit moisture penetration into the interior portion (fig. 1 and par. 23: edge member/moisture barrier 36); and
an indicator desiccant coupled to the moisture sealant rim and located between the moisture sealant rim and the interior portion of the window main body (fig. 1, fig. 4, and par. 30: moisture sensors 85 or 87. See also par. 34: “ the moisture sensors 85 or 87 shown in FIG. 1 are positioned in the plastic laminate layer 26, 28 and/or 34; the first urethane layer 28 having a thickness of 0.060 inch as measured between the surface 23 of the first glass sheet 22 and the surface 24 of the vinyl interlayer […] moisture sensors 85 and 87 are placed on the periphery 38 of the windshield 20 within the moisture seal 36 (see FIG. 1) […]” ), and wherein the indicator desiccant is configured to absorb penetrating fluid over time and provide a visual indication of change of the indicator desiccant in response to and associated with an amount of fluid absorbed (par. 38: “The purpose of the moisture measurement is not simply to measure the instantaneous water ingression rate between sheets of the aircraft laminated windshield, but also the quantity of moisture accumulated over time.” See also par. 60: moisture sensor output provides a visual display).
Jiao does not explicitly disclose wherein the visual indication is provided on the indicator desiccant.
Stowasser discloses an analogous art (par.’s 10, 15, and 22: moisture/humidity indicator applied to a window sealing a pressurized volume. See also par. 8: indicator sealant can be used on airplanes) wherein the visual indication is provided on the indicator desiccant (par. 22: “wherein the window is coated on the inside with a chemical that reacts to sealant and preferably indicates the lack of sufficient sealant by a color change.” See also par. 15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the on-desiccant visual indication, as taught by Stowasser, to be included in the device, system, and method of Jiao thereby providing a rapid and direct indication of moisture at its precise location within the pressurized volume without having to carry out further measurements (Stowasser par. 6. See also par. 16: Stowasser’s indicator can be applied with electronic moisture sensors).
Regarding Claim 16: Jiao discloses he system of claim 13, and Jiao discloses the apparatus further comprising:
a heater layer located at least partially within the interior portion of the window main body (fig. 1 and par. 24: “second glass sheet 30 is part of a heatable member 50 that provides heat to remove fog from, and/or to melt ice on, the outer surface 46 of the windshield 20.” See also par. 24: heatable member 50 includes a conductive coating 62 applied to surface 64 of the second glass sheet 30, and a pair of spaced bus bars 66 and 68 in electrical contact with the conductive coating 62.); and
wherein the indicator desiccant is located so as to at least partially contact the heater layer (fig. 1: multiple moisture absorbing sensors 87 in with conductive coating 62 of heatable member 50).
Regarding Claim 17: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the system of claim 16, and Jiao further discloses wherein the window main body comprises an outer window ply located at an outer surface of the window main body and an inner window ply located at an inner surface of the window main body (fig. 1: second glass sheet 30 at outer surface 46), wherein the heater layer is located between the outer window ply and the inner window ply (fig. 1 and par. 27: conductive coating 62 of heatable member 50 between glass sheets 30 and 22).
Regarding Claim 18: Jiao discloses (in at least figures 1-4, the description, and the claims) a method, comprising:
applying an indicator desiccant to an outer edge area of a window main body (fig. 1, fig. 4, and par. 30: moisture sensors 85 or 87. See also par. 34: “ the moisture sensors 85 or 87 shown in FIG. 1 are positioned in the plastic laminate layer 26, 28 and/or 34; the first urethane layer 28 having a thickness of 0.060 inch as measured between the surface 23 of the first glass sheet 22 and the surface 24 of the vinyl interlayer […] moisture sensors 85 and 87 are placed on the periphery 38 of the windshield 20 within the moisture seal 36 (see FIG. 1) […]” ), wherein the indicator desiccant is configured to absorb penetrating fluid over time and provide a visual indication of change of the indicator desiccant in response to and associated with an amount of fluid absorbed (par. 38: “The purpose of the moisture measurement is not simply to measure the instantaneous water ingression rate between sheets of the aircraft laminated windshield, but also the quantity of moisture accumulated over time.” See also par. 60: moisture sensor output provides a visual display); and
applying a moisture sealant rim to the outer edge area of the window main body and over at least a portion of the indicator desiccant (fig. 1 and par. 23: edge member/moisture barrier 36).
Jiao does not explicitly disclose wherein the visual indication is provided on the indicator desiccant.
Stowasser discloses an analogous art (par.’s 10, 15, and 22: moisture/humidity indicator applied to a window sealing a pressurized volume. See also par. 8: indicator sealant can be used on airplanes) wherein the visual indication is provided on the indicator desiccant (par. 22: “wherein the window is coated on the inside with a chemical that reacts to sealant and preferably indicates the lack of sufficient sealant by a color change.” See also par. 15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the on-desiccant visual indication, as taught by Stowasser, to be included in the device, system, and method of Jiao thereby providing a rapid and direct indication of moisture at its precise location within the pressurized volume without having to carry out further measurements (Stowasser par. 6. See also par. 16: Stowasser’s indicator can be applied with electronic moisture sensors).
Regarding Claim 21: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Jiao further discloses wherein the indicator desiccant is integrated into an entirety of the moisture sealant rim (fig. 1, par. 23, and par. 34: “the moisture sensors 85 and 87 are placed on the periphery 38 of the windshield 20 within the moisture seal 36 (see FIG. 1).” See also fig. 5, par. 40, and par. 46: moisture sensors 85, 87, integrated within the moisture seal, can extend around the entire marginal edges of glass sheet 22.)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao and Stowasser as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamikawa (JP 2023017221 A)1.
Regarding Claim 11: Jiao in view of Stowasser discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Jiao further discloses wherein the indicator desiccant that has been cured beneath the moisture sealant rim (fig.’s 3-4 and par. 30: coaxial arrangement of moisture sensors 85. Dielectric sleeve element 91 formed of nylon chains. See also fig. 1: moisture sensors beneath sealant rim and par. 21: layers and sheets of laminated windshield formed through standard heating processes. Autoclaving is a standard method in the art to produce laminated glass sheets.).
Jiao and Stowasser do not explicitly disclose wherein the indicator desiccant comprises a series of beads.
Kamikawa discloses an analogous art (fig.’s 1-2 and par. 21: glass laminate structure with color-changing humidity sensor) wherein the indicator desiccant comprises a series of beads (par.’s 23 and 70: spaced colloidal particle arrangement of moisture absorbing indicator particles).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the bead structure, as taught by Kamikawa, to be included in the device of Jiao and Stowasser thereby providing a desiccant that is easy to easier manufacture (Kamikawa par. 5) and provides a highly effective response to vapor in the environment (Kamikawa par. 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes:
Noda (US 20210402854 A1) the apparatus according to claims 1, 3-7, 10, 12, and the method according to claim 18.
Reyes (US 20100159238 A1) discloses the apparatus and system according to claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12-13, and the method according to claim 18.
Wang (US 20160282645 A1) discloses the apparatus and system according to claims 1-4, 8-10, 12-15, and the method according to claims 18-20.
Monfette (US 20180266170 A1) discloses the apparatus and system 1-3, 7-15, and the method according to claim 18-20.
/EVAN MANCINI/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 Citations made to translation of description attached to previous Non-Final Office Action mailed July 31st, 2025.