DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 3, 8-14, 16 have been cancelled. Claims 21-27 have been newly added. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 15, 17-27 remain pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 23, lines 1-2 states: “connected such that power is inhibited from flowing from the load to the plurality of battery packs.” The specification provides no disclosure for this limitation. Thus, this language is not supported by the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter. (See also 37 C.F.R. 1121(f), MPEP 608.04, 706.03(o)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 15, 17-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikhail et al. WO2019/183553A1 (hereinafter Mikhail) in view of Divan et al. US Patent 5,659,237 (hereinafter Divan).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Mikhail discloses a power supply comprising:
an AC-DC converter (fig. 3B, element 20);
a converter (fig. 3B, element 40; DC-DC converter) connected to (indirectly connected to) the AC-DC converter (20);
a plurality of battery management system controllers (¶ 0044; each such module 32 is further comprised of a serially connect set of individual lower voltage cells 34 and a simple embedded battery management system 36 to regulate basic cell-related characteristics) connected to (indirectly and/or physically connected to) the converter (fig. 3B, element 40) and configured to connect to a plurality of battery packs (fig. 3B, element 30; a plurality of battery packs; battery pack 32),
each battery pack (32) configured to be connected to a dedicated battery management system controller (fig. 3B, element 36; the BMS is integrated within the battery module 32); and
a plurality of inverters (fig. 3C-3E, element 52) configured to connect to (indirectly connect to) the plurality of battery packs (fig. 3b, element 32),
each inverter configured to connect to (directly/indirectly connect to) one of the plurality of battery packs (¶¶ 0044, 0049, 0050; each of the individual low voltage DC/AC converters 52 can be integrated within an individual battery module to form a smart or intelligent battery module 132 as shown in Figure 3D),
wherein a first inverter and a last inverter provide terminals configured to connect to (directly/indirectly connect to) a load (¶¶ 0041, 0050 and fig. 6; can be EV motors and drive trains) and power the load while the plurality of battery packs are being charged using the battery management system controllers (¶¶ 0020, 0044-0045, 0049, 0051, 0055; a battery module with regenerative breaking/acceleration capability; regenerative braking allows charging while driving).
Mikhail discloses the claimed invention except that the charger includes the AC-DC converter instead of a rectifier. Mikhail shows that the AC-DC converter is capable of converting/rectifying AC signal into DC signal. Therefore, because the AC-DC converter and the rectifier were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the AC-DC converter for the rectifier and minimize electromagnetic interference and improve battery management accuracy.
Mikhail fails to disclose the plurality of battery packs are simultaneously being charged using the battery management system controllers.
Divan discloses a battery charging system can charge a plurality of battery packs (battery strings; Col. 14, lines 51-54) simultaneously (Col. 4, lines 22-25, Col. 5, lines 62-65, col. 14, lines 51-54; the charge equalization system of the present invention will simultaneously provide trickle charging of the battery string, to bring the battery string to the fully charged level) using the battery management system controllers (Col. 10, lines 22-27 and Col. 15, lines 56-62; The sensing and control system 64 of the present invention may be implemented as a simple modification of known battery charger controllers where the charge equalization control scheme of the present invention is implemented as another charging algorithm).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mikhail to incorporate with the teaching of Divan by simultaneously providing trickle charging of the battery string, because it would be advantageous to improve the life of individual cells, and further improve the life of the battery string as a whole.
Regarding claim 4, Mikhail teaches wherein the plurality of battery management system controllers (¶¶ 0048-0049) are configured to determine a lowest charge battery pack from the plurality of battery packs having a lowest state of charge (¶ 0044; weakest cell) and to begin a cascaded charge at the lowest charge battery pack (¶ 0074; Based on the state of charge (SOC) of each intelligent battery module, an identification of the intelligent battery module which has to be switched repetitively for some period of time to provide the required output voltage level and regulation of output current).
Regarding claim 5, Mikhail teaches the power supply further including a boost converter (¶ 0090 and fig. 5; This controller calculates ISCM current based on supercapacitor voltage Vsc and determines the switching signals Si and S2 for buck/boost converter of Supercapacitor Module) connected to the converter (fig. 3D, element 40; DC-DC converter).
Regarding claim 6, Mikhail teaches wherein the converter includes a pulse amplitude modulation inverter (¶¶ 0052-0053; One approach is to use space vector modulation or sine PWM to generate the reference voltage for each phase of the intelligent battery module 132. The switching signals for each intelligent battery module's output converter may then be generated using phase shifted carrier technique…These two-level waveforms may be used as the gate signals for the output converter (H-Bridge) MOSFETs in each intelligent battery module. For example, which comprises four H-bridges, the 00 signal is used for S3 and 180 signal for S6 of the first module, the 450 signal is used for S3 and 2250 signal for S6 of the second module).
Regarding claim 7, Mikhail teaches wherein the plurality of inverters include two or more stages (¶¶ 0044, 0049-0053; generate the multilevel output PWM waveform using incrementally shifted two-level waveforms).
Regarding claim 17, Mikhail teaches wherein the cascaded inverter is configured to begin a cascaded charge at a lowest charge battery pack (¶ 0044; weakest cell) from the plurality of battery packs (¶ 0074; Based on the state of charge (SOC) of each intelligent battery module, an identification of the intelligent battery module which has to be switched repetitively for some period of time to provide the required output voltage level and regulation of output current).
Regarding claim 18, Mikhail teaches wherein the cascaded inverter is configured to charge each of the plurality of battery packs to the same state of charge (¶¶ 0072, 0074).
Regarding claim 19, Mikhail teaches wherein the plurality of inverters is configured to be paired with a plurality of charge controllers (¶ 0044; each such module 32 is further comprised of a serially connect set of individual lower voltage cells 34 and a simple embedded battery management system 36 to regulate basic cell related characteristics), each inverter (fig. 3D, element 52) configured to connect to (indirectly connect to) one of the plurality of charge controllers (¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 20, Mikhail teaches wherein the cascaded inverter includes two or more stages (¶¶ 0044, 0049-0053; generate the multilevel output PWM waveform using incrementally shifted two-level waveforms).
Regarding claim 21, Mikhail teaches wherein the battery packs (each battery module includes an input terminal and an output terminal) have input terminals that connect to (directly/indirectly connect to) the battery management system controllers (BMS 36 in each battery module), and wherein each of the battery packs (including at least two terminals) have output terminals that connect to (directly/indirectly connect to) the inverters (fig. 3C, element 50).
Regarding claim 22, Mikhail teaches wherein the converter (fig. 3B, element 40; DC-DC converter) receives DC power directly from the rectifier (directly from AC-DC converter via battery pack 30).
Regarding claim 23, Mikhail teaches the power supply connected such that power is inhibited from flowing from the load to the plurality of battery packs (¶ 0020; when the EV is connected to the grid or other external power source).
Regarding claim 24, Mikhail teaches wherein powering a load comprises power flowing from the inverter to the load (¶ 0050 and fig. 6; Power flows from H-bridge inverter -> series AC terminals -> load).
Regarding claim 25, Mikhail teaches wherein the battery packs (fig. 3B) have output terminals (see fig. 3B above) connected (directly/indirectly connected to) to the inverters (fig. 3B, element 50).
Regarding claim 26, Mikhail teaches wherein the battery packs (fig. 3B, element 30) have input terminals (see reproduced figure above) connected to (directly/indirectly connected to) the battery management system controllers (BMS; 36).
Regarding claim 27, Mikhail teaches wherein the battery management system controllers are configured to control the boost converter based on charging current feedback (¶¶ 0088, 0090; This controller calculates ISCM current based on supercapacitor voltage Vsc and determines the switching signals Si and S2 for buck/boost converter of Supercapacitor Module) corresponding to a battery pack having a lowest state of charge among the plurality of battery packs (¶¶ 0076, 0083; compares it with a lowest state of charge of SOC3 and SOC4).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikhail in view of Divan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kutkut (US Patent 6,664,762).
Regarding claim 2, Mikhail in view of Divan fails to teach wherein the converter includes a high frequency (“HF”) isolation transformer, the HF isolation transformer including multiple secondary windings to accommodate charging requirements of the plurality of battery packs.
Kutkut further discloses wherein the converter includes a high frequency (“HF”) isolation transformer (Col. 2, line 33 and fig. 3, element 32; a HF isolation transformer), the HF isolation transformer including multiple secondary windings (see fig. 3 below; claim 20; a plurality of secondary windings) to accommodate charging requirements of the plurality of battery packs (Col. 4, lines 42-45, 53-55).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mikhail in view of Divan to incorporate with the teaching of Kutkut by including a high frequency isolation transformer in the system, because it would be advantageous to provide scalable DC output signals for multiple batteries while reducing component count and improving voltage matching.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 35 USC § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Divan.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 09/14/2026