DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Preliminary Amendment filed 5/31/23 has been entered. Claims 19-20, 22-24, and 26-30 have been canceled. Claims 1-18, 21, and 25 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because “the form of” in line 4 should be --a form of--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-18, 21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rostrup-Nielsen et al. (U.S. 6,109,018).
Re claim 1:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses a self-heated catalytic reactor (10, electrically-heated catalyst combustion unit - Col. 4, Lines 64-66) comprising:
a conductive layer (12, corrugated foil - Col. 6, Line 8; 14, flat foil - Col. 6, Line 8 (see Col. 7, Lines 28-40)) comprising a first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of first end (see also Fig. 1a))) and a second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of second end (see also Fig. 1a))), opposite of the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A)(see Fig. 1a and Modified Fig. 6 above), wherein the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A) and the second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B) define a length of the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 1a and Modified Fig. 6 above);
an insulator layer (72, dielectric - Col. 11, Line 65) forming a stack (Modified Fig. 7 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of stack)) together with the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 7 (also Figs. 1a and 6)), wherein each pair of adjacent layers of the conductive layer (12, 14) in the stack is separated by the insulator layer (72)(see Fig. 7), and
a catalyst layer (74, washcoat layer - Col. 12, Line 3) positioned on and supported on at least the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 7 and Col. 12, Lines 21-25);
a first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) electrically coupled to the conductive layer (12, 14) at the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Col. 8, Lines 1-7); and
a second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”) electrically coupled to the conductive layer (12, 14) at the second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Col. 8, Lines 1-7).
Re claim 2:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the stack (Modified Fig. 7 above - A) is a wound stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above at A, Fig. 6, and Col. 6, Lines 9-16) forming a coil around the first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”)(see Modified Fig. 7 above and Fig. 6).
Re claim 3:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the stack is a single-coil wound stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above at A, Fig. 6, and Col. 6, Lines 9-16) with the first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) at least partially extending through a center of the stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above, Fig. 6, and Col. 10, Line 63 - Col. 11, Line 15).
Re claim 4:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 3 (as described above), wherein the insulator layer (72) is a single layer (see Fig. 7 at 72) positioned on one side (Modified Fig. 7 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of one side of element 12, 14)) of the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Modified Fig. 7 above).
Re claim 7:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the stack (Modified Fig. 7 above - A) is an accordion-style stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above at elements A and 12 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of accordion-style stack is shown at element A by depicted structure of element 12)).
Re claim 8:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 7 (as described above), wherein the insulator layer (72) comprises multiple patches (Modified Fig. 7 above - D, E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize elements D and E as a type of patch of element 72)) positioned on different sides (Modified Fig. 7 above - B, C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize elements B, C as different sides of element 12)) of the conductive layer (12, 14) such that the patches (Modified Fig. 7 above - D) on a first side (Modified Fig. 7 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first side of element 12)) of the conductive layer (12, 14) are offset relative to the patches (Modified Fig. 7 above - E) on a second side (Modified Fig. 7 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of second side of element 12)), opposite of the first side (Modified Fig. 7 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 7 above).
Re claim 12:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the catalyst layer (74) is positioned on and supported by each of the conductive layer (12, 14) and the insulator layer (72)(see Fig. 7).
Re claim 13:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the conductive layer (12, 14) is formed from at least one of stainless steel, superalloy (INCONEL®), a FeCrAI alloy, and a conductive ceramic (Col. 7, Lines 28-40).
Re claim 14:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the conductive layer (12, 14) is configured to withstand a temperature of at least 1000°C (Col. 14, Lines 11-18 (see Also Col. 7, Lines 28-32)).
Re claim 15:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the conductive layer (12, 14) has a resistance of between 0.05 Ohm to 100 Ohm (Col. 10, Lines 44-62 (including Table 2 where resistance values are shown)).
Re claim 16:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the conductive layer (12, 14) has a thickness of between 20 micrometers and 400 micrometers (see Col. 17, Line 43 and Col. 17, Lines 60-61).
Re claim 17:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the conductive layer (12, 14) is a corrugated conductive layer (see Fig. 7 and Col. 6, Line 8).
Re claim 18:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein:
the insulator layer (72) is formed from at least one of ceramic, glass, mica, and a combination thereof (Col. 12, Lines 32-42 (zirconium oxide is a ceramic)); and
the insulator layer (72) is in the form of a sheet, a cloth, a screen, or a mat (see Fig. 7 at element 72 and Col. 12, Lines 21-25 and Col. 12, Lines 32-42 (element 72 is shown/described with a structure of a type of sheet)).
Re claim 21:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses a catalytic heating system (Figs. 9a-9b) using fuel (see Fig. 9a at “FUEL”) and oxidant (see Fig. 9a at “AIR”) to generate heat (see Fig. 9a and Col. 14, Line 47-59), the catalytic heating system comprising:
a self-heated catalytic reactor (10, electrically-heated catalyst combustion unit - Col. 4, Lines 64-66) comprises a conductive layer (12, corrugated foil - Col. 6, Line 8; 14, flat foil - Col. 6, Line 8 (see Col. 7, Lines 28-40)), an insulator layer (72, dielectric - Col. 11, Line 65), a catalyst layer (74, washcoat layer - Col. 12, Line 3), a first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”), and a second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”), wherein:
the conductive layer (12, 14) comprises a first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of first end (see also Fig. 1a))) and a second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of second end (see also Fig. 1a))), opposite of the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A)(see Fig. 1a and Modified Fig. 6 above), wherein the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A) and the second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B) define a length of the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 1a and Modified Fig. 6 above),
the insulator layer (72) forms a stack (Modified Fig. 7 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of stack)) together with the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 7 (also Figs. 1a and 6)), wherein each pair of adjacent layers of the conductive layer (12, 14) in the stack is separated by the insulator layer (72)(see Fig. 7),
the catalyst layer (74) is positioned on and supported on at least the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 7 and Col. 12, Lines 21-25),
the first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) is electrically coupled to the conductive layer (12, 14) at the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Col. 8, Lines 1-7), and
the second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”) is electrically coupled to the conductive layer (12, 14) at the second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Col. 8, Lines 1-7);
a power supply (52, power controller - Col. 15, Line 22 (element 52 corresponds to “VOLTAGE SOURCE” depicted in Fig. 6)) electrically coupled to the first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) and the second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”) of the self-heated catalytic reactor (10)(see Figs. 6, 9a-9b, and Col. 15, Lines 20-25);
a thermocouple (90, thermocouples - Col. 15, Lines 10-11) configured to measure temperature in the catalytic heating system (Figs. 9a-9b) corresponding to temperature of the self-heated catalytic reactor (10)(see Figs. 9a-9b and Col. 15, Lines 9-17); and
a system controller (100, controller - Col. 15, Line 18) communicatively coupled to the power supply (52) and the thermocouple (90) and configured to instruct the power supply (52) to provide electrical power between the first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) and the second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”) in response to the temperature of the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) received from the thermocouple (90)(see Figs. 6, 9a-9b, Col. 15, Line 9 - Col. 16, Line 14).
Re claim 25:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses a method of operating a catalytic heating system (Figs. 9a-9b) comprising a self-heated catalytic reactor (10, electrically-heated catalyst combustion unit - Col. 4, Lines 64-66), a power supply (52, power controller - Col. 15, Line 22 (element 52 corresponds to “VOLTAGE SOURCE” depicted in Fig. 6)), a thermocouple (90, thermocouples - Col. 15, Lines 10-11), and a system controller (100, controller - Col. 15, Line 18), the method comprising:
determining temperature of the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) using the thermocouple (90)(see Figs. 9a-9b, Col. 15, Lines 18-14, Col. 15, Line 57 - Col. 16, Line 34), wherein the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) comprises a conductive layer (12, corrugated foil - Col. 6, Line 8; 14, flat foil - Col. 6, Line 8 (see Col. 7, Lines 28-40)), an insulator layer (72, dielectric - Col. 11, Line 65), a catalyst layer (74, washcoat layer - Col. 12, Line 3), a first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”), and a second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”), wherein:
the conductive layer (12, 14) comprises a first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of first end (see also Fig. 1a))) and a second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of second end (see also Fig. 1a))), opposite of the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A)(see Fig. 1a and Modified Fig. 6 above), wherein the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A) and the second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B) define a length of the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 1a and Modified Fig. 6 above),
the insulator layer (72) forms a stack (Modified Fig. 7 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of stack)) together with the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 7 (also Figs. 1a and 6)), wherein each pair of adjacent layers of the conductive layer (12, 14) in the stack is separated by the insulator layer (72)(see Fig. 7),
the catalyst layer (74) is positioned on and supported on at least the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 7 and Col. 12, Lines 21-25),
the first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) is electrically coupled to the conductive layer (12, 14) at the first end (Modified Fig. 6 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Col. 8, Lines 1-7), and
the second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”) is electrically coupled to the conductive layer (12, 14) at the second end (Modified Fig. 6 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 6 above and Col. 8, Lines 1-7);
activating the power supply (52) and supplying electrical power between the first electrode (ee Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) and the second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”) using the power supply when the temperature of the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) is below a first threshold, thereby resistively heating the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Figs. 6-7, 9a-9b, Col. 16, Lines 3-34);
flowing fuel (see Fig. 9a at “FUEL”) and oxidant (see Fig. 9a at “AIR”) into the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) when the temperature of the self- heated catalytic reactor (10) reaches the first threshold (Col. 16, Lines 3-34); and
deactivating the power supply (52) and stopping supplying the electrical power between the first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) and the second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODES”) when the temperature of the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) reaches a second threshold (Col. 16, Lines 3-34).
Re claim 1:
Rostrup-Nielsen (2nd embodiment) discloses a self-heated catalytic reactor (10, electrically-heated catalyst combustion unit - Col. 4, Lines 64-66) comprising:
a conductive layer (12, corrugated foil - Col. 6, Line 8; 14, flat foil - Col. 6, Line 8 (see Col. 7, Lines 28-40)) comprising a first end (see Fig. 1a at element 22 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of first end of 12,14 is shown at element 22)) and a second end (see Fig. 1a at element 24 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of second end of 12, 14 is shown at 24)), opposite of the first end (Fig. 1a at element 22)(see Fig. 1a), wherein the first end (Fig. 1a at element 22) and the second end (Fig. 1a at element 24) define a length of the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 1a);
an insulator layer (72, dielectric - Col. 11, Line 65) forming a stack (Modified Fig. 7 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of stack)) together with the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 7 (also Fig. 1a)), wherein each pair of adjacent layers of the conductive layer (12, 14) in the stack is separated by the insulator layer (72)(see Fig. 7), and
a catalyst layer (74, washcoat layer - Col. 12, Line 3) positioned on and supported on at least the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Fig. 7 and Col. 12, Lines 21-25);
a first electrode (22, electrode - Col. 8, Lines 3-4) electrically coupled to the conductive layer (12, 14) at the first end (Fig. 1a at element 22)(see Fig. 1a above and Col. 8, Lines 1-7); and
a second electrode (24, electrode - Col. 8, Lines 3-4) electrically coupled to the conductive layer (12, 14) at the second end (Fig. 1a at element 24)(see Fig. 1a above and Col. 8, Lines 1-7).
Re claim 2:
Rostrup-Nielsen (2nd embodiment) discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the stack (Modified Fig. 7 above - A) is a wound stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above at A, Fig. 1a, and Col. 6, Lines 9-16) forming a coil around the first electrode (22)(see Modified Fig. 7 above and Fig. 1a).
Re claim 5:
Rostrup-Nielsen (2nd embodiment) discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the stack (Modified Fig. 7 above - A) is a double-coil wound stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above at A, Fig. 1a, and Col. 6, Lines 9-16) with both the first electrode (22) and the second electrode (24) positioned at an exterior of the stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above and Fig. 1a).
Re claim 6:
Rostrup-Nielsen (2nd embodiment) discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 5 (as described above), wherein the insulator layer (72) comprises two portions (see Fig. 7 at plural elements 72) positioned on different sides (Modified Fig. 7 above - B, C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize elements B, C as different sides of element 12)) of the conductive layer (12, 14)(see Modified Fig. 7 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rostrup-Nielsen et al. (U.S. 6,109,018), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Whittenberger (U.S. 5,070,694).
Re claims 9-10:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), further comprising an enclosure (Modified Fig. 9b above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of enclosure)) housing the stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above at A)(see Figs. 6, 7, and 9b), wherein:
each of the first electrode (see Fig. 6 at “CENTER ELECTRODE”) and the second electrode (see Fig. 6 at “ELECTRODE”) protrudes through
Rostrup-Nielsen fails to disclose wherein each of the first electrode and the second electrode is insulated from the enclosure, nor wherein the conductive layer is insulated from the enclosure (Claim 9); nor wherein the conductive layer is insulated from the enclosure by at least one of: the insulator layer positioned between the conductive layer and the enclosure, or an enclosure insulator positioned between the conductive layer and the enclosure.
Whittenberger teaches a self-heated catalytic reactor (10, electrically heatable catalytic core - Col. 4, Lines 29-30) wherein each of a first electrode (26, terminal post - Col. 5, Line 57) and a second electrode (14, central post - Col. 5, Line 7) is insulated from an enclosure (52, housing - Col. 6, Line 5)(see Fig. 5 and Col. 6, Lines 1-32), and wherein a conductive layer (18, outer steel binder shell - Col. 6, Line 12) is insulated from the enclosure (52)(see Fig. 5 and Col. 6, Lines 1-32); and wherein the conductive layer (18) is insulated from the enclosure (52) by an enclosure insulator (62, flexible ceramic insulation mat - Col. 6, Line 14) positioned between the conductive layer (18) and the enclosure (52)(see Fig. 5 and Col. 6, Lines 1-32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the self-heated catalytic reactor of Rostrup-Nielsen after that of Whittenberger, thereby making the first electrode and the second electrode of Rostrup-Nielsen be insulated from the enclosure of Rostrup-Nielsen by making the conductive layer of Rostrup-Nielsen be insulated from the enclosure of Rostrup-Nielsen by positioning an insulator layer between the conductive layer and the enclosure of Rostrup-Nielsen, all in the way taught by Whittenberger, for the advantage of being able to dispose the self-heated catalytic reactor within a housing which is conveniently formed (Whittenberger; Col. 6, Lines 8-11).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rostrup-Nielsen et al. (U.S. 6,109,018), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. (U.S. 5,456,890).
Re claim 11:
Rostrup-Nielsen discloses the self-heated catalytic reactor (10) of claim 1 (as described above), further comprising an enclosure (Modified Fig. 9b above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of enclosure)) housing the stack (see Modified Fig. 7 above at A)(see Figs. 6, 7, and 9b).
Rostrup-Nielsen fails to disclose wherein the enclosure is operable as the second electrode such that the conductive layer at the second end is electrically coupled to the enclosure.
Tsai teaches a self-heated catalytic reactor (10, converter body - Col. 8, Line 5 (see Abstract)) comprising an enclosure (18, retainer portion - Col. 8, Lines 20-24) housing a stack (12, core - Col. 8, Lines 5-9) and operable as a second electrode (see Fig. 7 at elements 116 and 118 and Col. 11, Lines 7-15) such that a conductive layer (76, strip - Col. 10, Line 9) at a second end (92, end - Col. 10, Line 31) is electrically coupled to the enclosure (18)(see Figs. 1-4, 7, and Col. 10, Line 8 - Col. 11, Line 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the self-heated catalytic reactor of Rostrup-Nielsen after that of Tsai, thereby making the enclosure of Rostrup-Nielsen be operable as the second electrode of Rostrup-Nielsen such that the conductive layer at the second end of Rostrup-Nielsen is electrically coupled to the enclosure of Rostrup-Nielsen, in the way taught by Tsai, for the advantage of being able to use all current for heating and to prevent loss (Tsai; Col. 9, Lines 42-49).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 11/7/25
/MARK A LAURENZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746