DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 12 – 16, 21 – 23, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinlei Yu (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0349023, previously cited), and further in view of Su Han Choi (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0111952). Hereinafter Yu and Choi.
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a network entity (core network device (AMF or SF), Fig. 9) comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is access network device, paragraph [0200] – [0205]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is access network device, paragraph [0200] – [0205]):
transmit, to a mobile base station (serving gNB), configuration information for a first sensing operation associated with a user equipment (UE) (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the message of the sensing instruction indicates configuration information including a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143], [0151] – [0168]; the serving gNB is the mobile base station that receives the configuration information); and
receive a first report based on the first sensing operation, the first sensing operation performed by the mobile base station and the UE (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the receives sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]).
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose “wherein the configuration information is transmitted to the mobile base station based on a location and one or more mobility parameters of the mobile base station.”
Choi discloses the donor eNB transmits the kind and capacity of DL data to the serving mobile relay, where the serving mobile relay determines whether or not the TDD DL-UL mode configuration value established is changed relative to a pre-established TDD DL-UL mode configuration value, and the serving mobile relay transmits a current location and changed TDD mode configuration information to the donor eNB if the TDD DL-UL mode configuration value is changed, and the donor eNB transmits the changed TDD mode configuration information of the serving mobile relay to the neighbor mobile relay (paragraphs [0162] – [0169]); where mobile relay function as base station by using wireless resource assigned from donor eNB as wireless backhaul (paragraph [0071]). The donor eNB is the network entity that transmits the configuration information that the serving mobile relay determines configuration value is changed (i.e. location and TDD mode configuration), which prompts the serving mobile relay to transmits and updated information to the donor eNB.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Choi before him or her, to incorporate the donor eNB transmitting configuration information to the serving mobile relay as taught by Choi, to improve the configuration information transmitted to the serving gNB of Yu for including the location and TDD mode configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to stably maintain communication connections with multiple user equipments within the mobile relay cell by conducting wireless communication with the user equipments at a high speed with low power and also improve data transmission efficiency (paragraph [0041] of Choi).
Regarding claim 2, Yu and Choi disclose the network entity of claim 1, Yu discloses wherein:
the network entity includes a network or a base station (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the core network device is an AMF or an SF, paragraphs [0142] – [0143]; the core network device (i.e. network entity) is included in a network),
the first sensing operation is a bistatic sensing operation (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the message of sensing instruction indicates a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143]),
the UE is configured as a transmit (Tx) node or a receive (Rx) node for the first sensing operation (the serving gNB instructs the target UE to activate the sensing signal configuration information, and the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the target UE is configured to transmit (i.e. transmit node)),
the first report is received from the mobile base station or the UE (the target UE activates the sensing signal configuration information and sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the serving gNB receives the report),
the first report has a compressed format, or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Yu and Choi disclose the network entity of claim 1, Yu discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
receive a first sensing request for the first sensing operation from the UE or the mobile base station (a sensing signal is sent by different transmitting ends for different application scenarios, where the sensing procedure is initiation upon a request of the application function that sends the sensing request to the core network device, where a target terminal is to be sensed, paragraphs [0110], [0130]; the core network device receives sensing request for the target terminal); and
based on the first sensing request, select the mobile base station from a set of mobile base stations (a sensing signal is sent by different transmitting ends for different application scenarios, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to the first access network device to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing configuration information and execute the sensing procedure, and the sensing instruction indicates information related to the target terminal, paragraphs [0110], [0130]; the core network is responsible for selecting the proper access network device, paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Yu and Choi disclose the network entity of claim 3, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sensing request indicates parameters, the parameter includes a key performance indicator, a quality of service, or a combination thereof.
Choi discloses the donor eNB transmits the kind and capacity of DL data to the serving mobile relay, and the serving mobile relay establishes a requirement for each of pre-established DL/UL and a TDD DL-UL mode configuration value on the basis of the information received, where the requirements include data QoS of transmission capacity of DL/UL (paragraphs [0162] – [0169]); where mobile relay function as base station by using wireless resource assigned from donor eNB as wireless backhaul (paragraph [0071]). The donor eNB is the network entity that transmits the configuration information that the serving mobile relay determines configuration value is changed (i.e. location and TDD mode configuration), which prompts the serving mobile relay to transmits and updated information to the donor eNB.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Choi before him or her, to incorporate the donor eNB transmitting configuration information to the serving mobile relay as taught by Choi, to improve the configuration information transmitted to the serving gNB of Yu for including the location and TDD mode configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to stably maintain communication connections with multiple user equipments within the mobile relay cell by conducting wireless communication with the user equipments at a high speed with low power and also improve data transmission efficiency (paragraph [0041] of Choi).
Regarding claim 5, Yu and Choi disclose the network entity of claim 3, Yu discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
based on the first sensing request, transmit an information request (the sensing procedure is sent to the core network device, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing signal configuration information and to execute the sensing procedure, paragraph [0130]);
receive, from each mobile base station of one or more mobile base stations and based on the information request, response information that indicates a capability of the mobile base station, location of the mobile base station, a mobility of the mobile base station, sensing charge information of the mobile base station, a sensing measurement report of a pre-sensing operation by the mobile base station, or a combination thereof (the primary gNB related to a target area receives a sensing instruction of a core network device (an AMF and/or an SF), where the sensing instruction may include a sensing type, such as bistatic sensing between base stations (gNB-gNBs) or gNB monostatic sensing, where the instructions include information about the target area, such as an angle or a height, and the primary gNB sends the received response to the core network device, where the response includes sensing configuration information that is transmitted after the primary gNB sending a sensing request to other auxiliary gNB in the sensing type that is bistatic sensing between gNB-gNBs, paragraphs [0134] – [0136]); and
select the mobile base station from the one or more mobile base stations based on the response information received from the one or more mobile base station, an area of interest, or a combination thereof (a sensing signal is sent by different transmitting ends for different application scenarios, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to the first access network device to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing configuration information and execute the sensing procedure, and the sensing instruction indicates information related to the target terminal, paragraphs [0110], [0130]; the core network is responsible for selecting the proper access network device, paragraph [0087]),
wherein the configuration information is transmitted to the mobile base station based on selection of the mobile base station (a sensing signal is sent by different transmitting ends for different application scenarios, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to the first access network device to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing configuration information and execute the sensing procedure, and the sensing instruction indicates information related to the target terminal, paragraphs [0110], [0130]; the core network is responsible for selecting the proper access network device, paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses a mobile base station (serving gNB, Fig. 9) comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is access network device, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is access network device, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]):
receive, from a network entity, configuration information for a first sensing operation associated with a user equipment (UE) (the serving gNB receives a sensing instruction from a core network device, where the message of the sensing instruction indicates configuration information including a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143]; the serving gNB is the mobile base station that receives the configuration information); and
perform the first sensing operation with the UE (the serving gNB determines the sensing type, and sends the sensing signal configuration information to the target UE, paragraphs [0144] – [0145]).
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose “wherein the configuration information is received based on a location and one or more mobility parameters of the mobile base station.”
Choi discloses the donor eNB transmits the kind and capacity of DL data to the serving mobile relay, where the serving mobile relay determines whether or not the TDD DL-UL mode configuration value established is changed relative to a pre-established TDD DL-UL mode configuration value, and the serving mobile relay transmits a current location and changed TDD mode configuration information to the donor eNB if the TDD DL-UL mode configuration value is changed, and the donor eNB transmits the changed TDD mode configuration information of the serving mobile relay to the neighbor mobile relay (paragraphs [0162] – [0169]); where mobile relay function as base station by using wireless resource assigned from donor eNB as wireless backhaul (paragraph [0071]). The donor eNB is the network entity that transmits the configuration information that the serving mobile relay determines configuration value is changed (i.e. location and TDD mode configuration), which prompts the serving mobile relay to transmits and updated information to the donor eNB.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Choi before him or her, to incorporate the donor eNB transmitting configuration information to the serving mobile relay as taught by Choi, to improve the configuration information transmitted to the serving gNB of Yu for including the location and TDD mode configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to stably maintain communication connections with multiple user equipments within the mobile relay cell by conducting wireless communication with the user equipments at a high speed with low power and also improve data transmission efficiency (paragraph [0041] of Choi).
Regarding claim 13, Yu and Choi disclose the mobile base station of claim 12, Yu discloses wherein:
the network entity includes a network or a base station (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the core network device is an AMF or an SF, paragraphs [0142] – [0143]; the core network device (i.e. network entity) is included in a network),
the first sensing operation is a bistatic sensing operation (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the message of sensing instruction indicates a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143]),
the UE is configured as a transmit (Tx) node or a receive (Rx) for the first sensing operation (the serving gNB instructs the target UE to activate the sensing signal configuration information, and the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the target UE is configured to transmit (i.e. transmit node)), or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 14, Yu and Choi disclose the mobile base station of claim 13, Yu discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
generate a first report based on the first sensing operation (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]); and
transmit the first report to the network entity (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]).
Regarding claim 15, Yu and Choi disclose the mobile base station of claim 12, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
transmit a first sensing request for the first sensing operation, and
wherein the first sensing request indicates parameters, the parameter includes a key performance indicator, a quality of service, or a combination thereof.
Choi discloses the donor eNB transmits the kind and capacity of DL data to the serving mobile relay, and the serving mobile relay establishes a requirement for each of pre-established DL/UL and a TDD DL-UL mode configuration value on the basis of the information received, where the requirements include data QoS of transmission capacity of DL/UL (paragraphs [0162] – [0169]); where mobile relay function as base station by using wireless resource assigned from donor eNB as wireless backhaul (paragraph [0071]). The donor eNB is the network entity that transmits the configuration information that the serving mobile relay determines configuration value is changed (i.e. location and TDD mode configuration), which prompts the serving mobile relay to transmits and updated information to the donor eNB.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Choi before him or her, to incorporate the donor eNB transmitting configuration information to the serving mobile relay as taught by Choi, to improve the configuration information transmitted to the serving gNB of Yu for including the location and TDD mode configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to stably maintain communication connections with multiple user equipments within the mobile relay cell by conducting wireless communication with the user equipments at a high speed with low power and also improve data transmission efficiency (paragraph [0041] of Choi).
Regarding claim 16, Yu and Choi disclose the mobile base station of claim 12, Yu discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
receive an information request from the network entity (the sensing procedure is sent to the core network device, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing signal configuration information and to execute the sensing procedure, paragraph [0130]); and
transmit, based on the information request, response information that indicates a capability of the mobile base station, location of the mobile base station, a mobility of the mobile base station, sensing charge information of the mobile base station, a sensing measurement report of a pre-sensing operation by the mobile base station, or a combination thereof (the primary gNB related to a target area receives a sensing instruction of a core network device (an AMF and/or an SF), where the sensing instruction may include a sensing type, such as bistatic sensing between base stations (gNB-gNBs) or gNB monostatic sensing, where the instructions include information about the target area, such as an angle or a height, and the primary gNB sends the received response to the core network device, where the response includes sensing configuration information that is transmitted after the primary gNB sending a sensing request to other auxiliary gNB in the sensing type that is bistatic sensing between gNB-gNBs, paragraphs [0134] – [0136]).
Regarding claim 21, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE) (target UE) comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is a terminal, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is a terminal, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]):
receive, from a network entity, configuration information for a first sensing operation associated with a mobile base station (the target UE receives the sensing signal configuration information from the core network device through the serving gNB, where the sensing signal is an uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0144] – [0145], [0147]); and
perform the first sensing operation with the mobile base station (the target UE activates the sensing signal configuration information and sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]).
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose “wherein the configuration information is received based on a location and one or more mobility parameters of the mobile base station.”
Choi discloses the donor eNB transmits the kind and capacity of DL data to the serving mobile relay, where the serving mobile relay determines whether or not the TDD DL-UL mode configuration value established is changed relative to a pre-established TDD DL-UL mode configuration value, and the serving mobile relay transmits a current location and changed TDD mode configuration information to the donor eNB if the TDD DL-UL mode configuration value is changed, and the donor eNB transmits the changed TDD mode configuration information of the serving mobile relay to the neighbor mobile relay (paragraphs [0162] – [0169]); where mobile relay function as base station by using wireless resource assigned from donor eNB as wireless backhaul (paragraph [0071]). The donor eNB is the network entity that transmits the configuration information that the serving mobile relay determines configuration value is changed (i.e. location and TDD mode configuration), which prompts the serving mobile relay to transmits and updated information to the donor eNB.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Choi before him or her, to incorporate the donor eNB transmitting configuration information to the serving mobile relay as taught by Choi, to improve the configuration information transmitted to the serving gNB of Yu for including the location and TDD mode configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to stably maintain communication connections with multiple user equipments within the mobile relay cell by conducting wireless communication with the user equipments at a high speed with low power and also improve data transmission efficiency (paragraph [0041] of Choi).
Regarding claim 22, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 21, Yu discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
wherein:
the configuration information is received based on the first sensing request (the target UE activates the sensing signal configuration information and sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the serving gNB receives the report),
the network entity includes a network or a base station (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the core network device is an AMF or an SF, paragraphs [0142] – [0143]; the core network device (i.e. network entity) is included in a network),
the first sensing operation is a bistatic sensing operation (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the message of sensing instruction indicates a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143]),
the UE is configured as a transmit (Tx) node or a receive (Rx) for the first sensing operation (the serving gNB instructs the target UE to activate the sensing signal configuration information, and the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the target UE is configured to transmit (i.e. transmit node)), or
a combination thereof.
However, Yu does not explicitly disclose “transmit, to the network entity, a first sensing request for the first sensing operation, the first sensing request indicates a parameter, the parameter includes a key performance indicator, a quality of service, or a combination thereof.”
Choi discloses the donor eNB transmits the kind and capacity of DL data to the serving mobile relay, and the serving mobile relay establishes a requirement for each of pre-established DL/UL and a TDD DL-UL mode configuration value on the basis of the information received, where the requirements include data QoS of transmission capacity of DL/UL (paragraphs [0162] – [0169]); where mobile relay function as base station by using wireless resource assigned from donor eNB as wireless backhaul (paragraph [0071]). The donor eNB is the network entity that transmits the configuration information that the serving mobile relay determines configuration value is changed (i.e. location and TDD mode configuration), which prompts the serving mobile relay to transmits and updated information to the donor eNB.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Choi before him or her, to incorporate the donor eNB transmitting configuration information to the serving mobile relay as taught by Choi, to improve the configuration information transmitted to the serving gNB of Yu for including the location and TDD mode configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to stably maintain communication connections with multiple user equipments within the mobile relay cell by conducting wireless communication with the user equipments at a high speed with low power and also improve data transmission efficiency (paragraph [0041] of Choi).
Regarding claim 23, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 21, Yu discloses wherein the configuration information indicates a location of the mobile base station, mobility information of the mobile base station, or a combination thereof (the primary gNB related to a target area receives a sensing instruction of a core network device (an AMF and/or an SF), where the sensing instruction may include a sensing type, such as bistatic sensing between base stations (gNB-gNBs) or gNB monostatic sensing, where the instructions include information about the target area, such as an angle or a height, and the primary gNB sends the received response to the core network device, where the response includes sensing configuration information that is transmitted after the primary gNB sending a sensing request to other auxiliary gNB in the sensing type that is bistatic sensing between gNB-gNBs, paragraphs [0134] – [0136]).
Regarding claim 29, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 21, Yu discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
after performance of the first sensing operation:
generate a report based on the first sensing operation (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]); and
transmit the report to the network entity (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]).
Claims 6 – 11, 17 – 20, 24 – 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinlei Yu (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0349023, previously cited) in view of Su Han Choi (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0111952), and further in view of Jiang et al (WIPO Publication 2023/231870, previously presented). Hereinafter Yu, Choi, and Jiang.
Regarding claim 6, Yu and Choi disclose the network entity of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
prior to transmission of the configuration information to the mobile base station, receive, from the UE, a second sensing request to assist the UE with a second sensing operation; and
perform the second sensing operation with the UE.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 7, Yu, Choi, and Jiang disclose the network entity of claim 6, but Yu and Choi do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
based on performance of the second sensing operation performed between the network entity and the UE:
determine a sensing result; or
receive, from the UE, a second report, a first sensing request, or a combination thereof; and
transmit an information request based on the sensing result, the second report, or the first sensing request.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 8, Yu, Choi, and Jiang disclose the network entity of claim 6, but Yu and Choi do not explicitly disclose wherein:
to perform the second sensing operation with the UE, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to transmit a sensing signal; and
a second report based on performance of the second sensing operation, a first sensing request for the first sensing operation, or a combination thereof, is received from the UE after at least a first time period, based on insufficient reception of the sensing signal by the UE, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 9, Yu and Choi disclose the network entity of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
transmit, to the UE, the configuration information, a location of the mobile base station, mobility information of the mobile base station, or a combination thereof; and
after receipt of the first report, transmit target information associated with a target detected based on the first report, the target information indicates a position of the target, a velocity of the target, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 10, Yu and Choi disclose the network entity of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
perform, in association with the first sensing operation, a handover operation of the mobile base station to another mobile base station, and
wherein the handover operation is performed based on a location of the mobile base station or the other mobile base station, a mobility of the mobile base station or the other mobile base station, the first report, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 11, Yu and Choi disclose the network entity of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
select a set of mobile base stations of one or more mobile base stations for performance of the first scanning operation, the set of mobile base stations including the mobile base station,
wherein:
each mobile base station of the set of mobile base stations is selected to scan in a direction for a scan duration, or
the set of mobile base stations is selected to track multiple targets in multiple directions.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15); the measurement control information includes target parameters, including sensing the radial distance, radial velocity, and the angle of the target relative to the radar detection (page 23, paragraphs 4 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 17, Yu and Choi disclose the mobile base station of claim 16, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
based on the information request, perform a pre-scan operation that includes a coarse sensing estimation of a channel, a fine sensing estimation of the channel, or a combination thereof, wherein the information request indicates the channel; and
transmit a pre-scan report based on a result of the pre-scan operation.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15); the sensing measurement quantity includes the result of the operation of the I-channel data and the Q-channel data of the frequency domain channel response of the receiving object (that is, the calculation result of the I-channel data and the Q-channel data). operation result), the result of the frequency domain channel response of the receiving object (for example, the result of the frequency domain channel response can be obtained through channel estimation; usually, the result of the frequency domain channel response is in complex form), the result of the receiving object (page 17, paragraph 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 18, Yu and Choi disclose the mobile base station of claim 12, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
after performance of the first sensing operation, receive, from the network entity, target information associated with a target detected based on the first sensing operation,
wherein the target information indicates a position of the target, a velocity of the target, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 19, Yu and Choi disclose the mobile base station of claim 12, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
during or after performance of the first sensing operation, participate in a handover operation.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 20, Yu and Choi disclose the mobile base station of claim 12, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information indicates the mobile base station is to perform the first scanning operation to:
scan in a direction for a scan duration, or
track a target in a direction.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15); the sensing measurement quantity includes the result of the operation of the I-channel data and the Q-channel data of the frequency domain channel response of the receiving object (that is, the calculation result of the I-channel data and the Q-channel data). operation result), the result of the frequency domain channel response of the receiving object (for example, the result of the frequency domain channel response can be obtained through channel estimation; usually, the result of the frequency domain channel response is in complex form), the result of the receiving object (page 17, paragraph 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 24, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 21, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
receive target information associated with a target detected based on the first sensing operation, the target information indicates a position of the target, a velocity of the target, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 25, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 21, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information indicates the UE is to perform the first scanning operation to:
scan in a direction for a scan duration, or
track a target in a direction.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15); the measurement control information includes target parameters, including sensing the radial distance, radial velocity, and the angle of the target relative to the radar detection (page 23, paragraphs 4 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 26, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 21, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
prior to transmission of a first sensing request associated with the first sensing operation, transmit a second sensing request to the network entity to assist the UE with a second sensing operation; and
perform the second sensing operation with the network entity.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 27, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 26, but Yu and Choi do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
based on performance of the second sensing operation performed with the network entity, transmit a report, the first sensing request, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 28, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 26, but Yu and Choi do not explicitly disclose wherein:
the second sensing operation is performed with the network entity; and
a second report based on performance of the second sensing operation, the first sensing request, or a combination thereof, is transmitted to the network entity after at least a first time period, based on insufficient reception of a sensing signal by the UE, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 30, Yu and Choi disclose the UE of claim 29, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the report has a compressed format.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal, and the perception capability includes Sensing coverage, maximum bandwidth available for sensing, maximum duration of sensing services, supported sensing signal types and frame formats, antenna array information, and supported sensing methods (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu, Choi, and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the modified configuration information of Yu-Choi for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10 – 14, filed July 6, 2026, with respect to claims 1 – 30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KAZMI et al (WIPO Publication 2024/128946) – the first network node configures a WD (wireless device) to adapt a sensing operation in anticipation of a cell change from a first cell to a second cell, the 5 adapting being one of stopping, suspending, continuing and restarting a sensing operation
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468