DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 24, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 12 – 14, 16, 21 – 23, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xinlei Yu (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0349023). Hereinafter Yu.
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a network entity (core network device (AMF or SF), Fig. 9) comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is access network device, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is access network device, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]):
transmit, to a mobile base station (serving gNB), configuration information for a first sensing operation associated with a user equipment (UE) (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the message of the sensing instruction indicates configuration information including a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143], [0151] – [0168]; the serving gNB is the mobile base station that receives the configuration information); and
receive a first report based on the first sensing operation, the first sensing operation performed by the mobile base station and the UE (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]).
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein:
the network entity includes a network or a base station (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the core network device is an AMF or an SF, paragraphs [0142] – [0143]; the core network device (i.e. network entity) is included in a network),
the first sensing operation is a bistatic sensing operation (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the message of sensing instruction indicates a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143]),
the UE is configured as a transmit (Tx) node or a receive (Rx) node for the first sensing operation (the serving gNB instructs the target UE to activate the sensing signal configuration information, and the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the target UE is configured to transmit (i.e. transmit node)),
the first report is received from the mobile base station or the UE (the target UE activates the sensing signal configuration information and sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the serving gNB receives the report),
the first report has a compressed format, or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
receive a first sensing request for the first sensing operation from the UE or the mobile base station (a sensing signal is sent by different transmitting ends for different application scenarios, where the sensing procedure is initiation upon a request of the application function that sends the sensing request to the core network device, where a target terminal is to be sensed, paragraphs [0110], [0130]; the core network device receives sensing request for the target terminal); and
based on the first sensing request, select the mobile base station from a set of mobile base stations (a sensing signal is sent by different transmitting ends for different application scenarios, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to the first access network device to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing configuration information and execute the sensing procedure, and the sensing instruction indicates information related to the target terminal, paragraphs [0110], [0130]; the core network is responsible for selecting the proper access network device, paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 5, Yu discloses the network entity of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
based on the first sensing request, transmit an information request (the sensing procedure is sent to the core network device, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing signal configuration information and to execute the sensing procedure, paragraph [0130]);
receive, from each mobile base station of one or more mobile base stations and based on the information request, response information that indicates a capability of the mobile base station, location of the mobile base station, a mobility of the mobile base station, sensing charge information of the mobile base station, a sensing measurement report of a pre-sensing operation by the mobile base station, or a combination thereof (the primary gNB related to a target area receives a sensing instruction of a core network device (an AMF and/or an SF), where the sensing instruction may include a sensing type, such as bistatic sensing between base stations (gNB-gNBs) or gNB monostatic sensing, where the instructions include information about the target area, such as an angle or a height, and the primary gNB sends the received response to the core network device, where the response includes sensing configuration information that is transmitted after the primary gNB sending a sensing request to other auxiliary gNB in the sensing type that is bistatic sensing between gNB-gNBs, paragraphs [0134] – [0136]); and
select the mobile base station from the one or more mobile base stations based on the response information received from the one or more mobile base station, an area of interest, or a combination thereof (a sensing signal is sent by different transmitting ends for different application scenarios, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to the first access network device to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing configuration information and execute the sensing procedure, and the sensing instruction indicates information related to the target terminal, paragraphs [0110], [0130]; the core network is responsible for selecting the proper access network device, paragraph [0087]),
wherein the configuration information is transmitted to the mobile base station based on selection of the mobile base station (a sensing signal is sent by different transmitting ends for different application scenarios, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to the first access network device to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing configuration information and execute the sensing procedure, and the sensing instruction indicates information related to the target terminal, paragraphs [0110], [0130]; the core network is responsible for selecting the proper access network device, paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses a mobile base station (serving gNB, Fig. 9) comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is access network device, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is access network device, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]):
receive, from a network entity, configuration information for a first sensing operation associated with a user equipment (UE) (the serving gNB receives a sensing instruction from a core network device, where the message of the sensing instruction indicates configuration information including a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143]; the serving gNB is the mobile base station that receives the configuration information); and
perform the first sensing operation with the UE (the serving gNB determines the sensing type, and sends the sensing signal configuration information to the target UE, paragraphs [0144] – [0145]).
Regarding claim 13, Yu discloses the mobile base station of claim 12, wherein:
the network entity includes a network or a base station (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the core network device is an AMF or an SF, paragraphs [0142] – [0143]; the core network device (i.e. network entity) is included in a network),
the first sensing operation is a bistatic sensing operation (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the message of sensing instruction indicates a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143]),
the UE is configured as a transmit (Tx) node or a receive (Rx) for the first sensing operation (the serving gNB instructs the target UE to activate the sensing signal configuration information, and the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the target UE is configured to transmit (i.e. transmit node)), or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 14, Yu discloses the mobile base station of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
generate a first report based on the first sensing operation (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]); and
transmit the first report to the network entity (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]).
Regarding claim 16, Yu discloses the mobile base station of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
receive an information request from the network entity (the sensing procedure is sent to the core network device, where the core network device sends a sensing instruction to trigger the first access network device to determine the sensing signal configuration information and to execute the sensing procedure, paragraph [0130]); and
transmit, based on the information request, response information that indicates a capability of the mobile base station, location of the mobile base station, a mobility of the mobile base station, sensing charge information of the mobile base station, a sensing measurement report of a pre-sensing operation by the mobile base station, or a combination thereof (the primary gNB related to a target area receives a sensing instruction of a core network device (an AMF and/or an SF), where the sensing instruction may include a sensing type, such as bistatic sensing between base stations (gNB-gNBs) or gNB monostatic sensing, where the instructions include information about the target area, such as an angle or a height, and the primary gNB sends the received response to the core network device, where the response includes sensing configuration information that is transmitted after the primary gNB sending a sensing request to other auxiliary gNB in the sensing type that is bistatic sensing between gNB-gNBs, paragraphs [0134] – [0136]).
Regarding claim 21, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE) (target UE) comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is a terminal, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to (the communication device includes memory, where the processor invokes computer program from the memory and runs the computer program to implement the method in this embodiment, and the communication device is a terminal, paragraphs [0200] – [0205]):
receive, from a network entity, configuration information for a first sensing operation associated with a mobile base station (the target UE receives the sensing signal configuration information from the core network device through the serving gNB, where the sensing signal is an uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0144] – [0145], [0147]); and
perform the first sensing operation with the mobile base station (the target UE activates the sensing signal configuration information and sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]).
Regarding claim 22, Yu discloses the UE of claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
transmit, to the network entity, a first sensing request for the first sensing operation, the first sensing request indicates a parameter, the parameter includes a key performance indicator, a quality of service, or a combination thereof, and
wherein:
the configuration information is received based on the first sensing request (the target UE activates the sensing signal configuration information and sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the serving gNB receives the report),
the network entity includes a network or a base station (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the core network device is an AMF or an SF, paragraphs [0142] – [0143]; the core network device (i.e. network entity) is included in a network),
the first sensing operation is a bistatic sensing operation (the core network device transmits a sensing instruction to the serving gNB, where the message of sensing instruction indicates a sensing type, such as uplink bistatic sensing (UE-gNB uplink sensing), paragraphs [0142] – [0143]),
the UE is configured as a transmit (Tx) node or a receive (Rx) for the first sensing operation (the serving gNB instructs the target UE to activate the sensing signal configuration information, and the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, paragraphs [0147] – [0148]; the target UE is configured to transmit (i.e. transmit node)), or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 23, Yu discloses the UE of claim 21, wherein the configuration information indicates a location of the mobile base station, mobility information of the mobile base station, or a combination thereof (the primary gNB related to a target area receives a sensing instruction of a core network device (an AMF and/or an SF), where the sensing instruction may include a sensing type, such as bistatic sensing between base stations (gNB-gNBs) or gNB monostatic sensing, where the instructions include information about the target area, such as an angle or a height, and the primary gNB sends the received response to the core network device, where the response includes sensing configuration information that is transmitted after the primary gNB sending a sensing request to other auxiliary gNB in the sensing type that is bistatic sensing between gNB-gNBs, paragraphs [0134] – [0136]).
Regarding claim 29, Yu discloses the UE of claim 21, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
after performance of the first sensing operation:
generate a report based on the first sensing operation (the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]); and
transmit the report to the network entity(the target UE sends the uplink sensing signal to the serving gNB, and the serving gNB sends the received sensing data to the core network device, paragraphs [0148] – [0149]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6 – 11, 15, 17 – 20, 24 – 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinlei Yu (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0349023), and further in view of Jiang et al (WIPO Publication 2023/231870). Hereinafter Yu and Jiang.
Regarding claim 4, Yu discloses the network entity of claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sensing request indicates parameters, the parameter includes a key performance indicator, a quality of service, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the handover configuration includes parameters including performance evaluation index, and information of the first target signal used by the candidate target sensing node meets the minimum configuration requirements of sensing QoS (page 28, paragraphs 10 – 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the handover configuration parameters as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 6, Yu discloses the network entity of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
prior to transmission of the configuration information to the mobile base station, receive, from the UE, a second sensing request to assist the UE with a second sensing operation; and
perform the second sensing operation with the UE.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 7, Yu and Jiang disclose the network entity of claim 6, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
based on performance of the second sensing operation performed between the network entity and the UE:
determine a sensing result; or
receive, from the UE, a second report, a first sensing request, or a combination thereof; and
transmit an information request based on the sensing result, the second report, or the first sensing request.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 8, Yu and Jiang disclose the network entity of claim 6, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein:
to perform the second sensing operation with the UE, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to transmit a sensing signal; and
a second report based on performance of the second sensing operation, a first sensing request for the first sensing operation, or a combination thereof, is received from the UE after at least a first time period, based on insufficient reception of the sensing signal by the UE, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses the network entity of claim 1, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
transmit, to the UE, the configuration information, a location of the mobile base station, mobility information of the mobile base station, or a combination thereof; and
after receipt of the first report, transmit target information associated with a target detected based on the first report, the target information indicates a position of the target, a velocity of the target, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 10, Yu discloses the network entity of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
perform, in association with the first sensing operation, a handover operation of the mobile base station to another mobile base station, and
wherein the handover operation is performed based on a location of the mobile base station or the other mobile base station, a mobility of the mobile base station or the other mobile base station, the first report, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 11, Yu discloses the network entity of claim 1, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
select a set of mobile base stations of one or more mobile base stations for performance of the first scanning operation, the set of mobile base stations including the mobile base station,
wherein:
each mobile base station of the set of mobile base stations is selected to scan in a direction for a scan duration, or
the set of mobile base stations is selected to track multiple targets in multiple directions.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15); the measurement control information includes target parameters, including sensing the radial distance, radial velocity, and the angle of the target relative to the radar detection (page 23, paragraphs 4 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 15, Yu discloses the mobile base station of claim 12, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
transmit a first sensing request for the first sensing operation, and
wherein the first sensing request indicates parameters, the parameter includes a key performance indicator, a quality of service, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the handover configuration includes parameters including performance evaluation index, and information of the first target signal used by the candidate target sensing node meets the minimum configuration requirements of sensing QoS (page 28, paragraphs 10 – 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the handover configuration parameters as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 17, Yu discloses the mobile base station of claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
based on the information request, perform a pre-scan operation that includes a course sensing estimation of a channel, a fine sensing estimation of the channel, or a combination thereof, wherein the information request indicates the channel; and
transmit a pre-scan report based on a result of the pre-scan operation.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15); the sensing measurement quantity includes the result of the operation of the I-channel data and the Q-channel data of the frequency domain channel response of the receiving object (that is, the calculation result of the I-channel data and the Q-channel data). operation result), the result of the frequency domain channel response of the receiving object (for example, the result of the frequency domain channel response can be obtained through channel estimation; usually, the result of the frequency domain channel response is in complex form), the result of the receiving object (page 17, paragraph 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 18, Yu discloses the mobile base station of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
after performance of the first sending operation, receive, from the network entity, target information associated with a target detected based on the first sensing operation,
wherein the target information indicates a position of the target, a velocity of the target, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 19, Yu discloses the mobile base station of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
during or after performance of the first sensing operation, participate in a handover operation.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 20, Yu discloses the mobile base station of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information indicates the mobile base station is to perform the first scanning operation to:
scan in a direction for a scan duration, or
track a target in a direction.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15); the sensing measurement quantity includes the result of the operation of the I-channel data and the Q-channel data of the frequency domain channel response of the receiving object (that is, the calculation result of the I-channel data and the Q-channel data). operation result), the result of the frequency domain channel response of the receiving object (for example, the result of the frequency domain channel response can be obtained through channel estimation; usually, the result of the frequency domain channel response is in complex form), the result of the receiving object (page 17, paragraph 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 24, Yu discloses the UE of claim 21, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
receive target information associated with a target detected based on the first sensing operation, the target information indicates a position of the target, a velocity of the target, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 25, Yu discloses the UE of claim 21, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information indicates the UE is to perform the first scanning operation to:
scan in a direction for a scan duration, or
track a target in a direction.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15); the measurement control information includes target parameters, including sensing the radial distance, radial velocity, and the angle of the target relative to the radar detection (page 23, paragraphs 4 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 26, Yu discloses the UE of claim 21, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
prior to transmission of a first sensing request associated with the first sensing operation, transmit a second sensing request to the network entity to assist the UE with a second sensing operation; and
perform the second sensing operation with the network entity.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 27, Yu and Jiang disclose the UE of claim 26, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to:
based on performance of the second sensing operation performed with the network entity, transmit a report, the first sensing request, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 28, Yu and Jiang disclose the UE of claim 26, but Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the second sensing operation is performed with the network entity; and
a second report based on performance of the second sensing operation, the first sensing request, or a combination thereof, is transmitted to the network entity after at least a first time period, based on insufficient reception of a sensing signal by the UE, or a combination thereof.
Jiang discloses the first network side device obtains the judgement result of whether to use conditional handover based on the first information, where the first information includes the second measurement result reported by the terminal, the third measurement result of the serving cell on the terminal, the measurement result of the neighboring cell on the terminal, and the fourth measurement result and at least one of the sensing capabilities of the first network side device and the plurality of candidate target cells, where the first network side device sends the first information to the core network device before the first network side device receives the determination result of whether to use conditional handover sent by the core network device (page 34, paragraphs 7 – 9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the first network side device sending the measurement result to the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 30, Yu discloses the UE of claim 29, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the report has a compressed format.
Jiang discloses the core network device sends the judgement result of conditional switching to the first network side device, where the switching conditions include performance evaluation index of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, measurement quantity of the candidate target cell and/or the serving cell, sensing results of the candidate target cell and/or serving cell, position of the terminal changes, and communication indicators of the serving cell and/or the communication indicators of the candidate target cells received by the terminal, and the perception capability includes Sensing coverage, maximum bandwidth available for sensing, maximum duration of sensing services, supported sensing signal types and frame formats, antenna array information, and supported sensing methods (page 38, paragraph 16 – page 39, paragraph 15).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yu and Jiang before him or her, to incorporate the measurement result sent by the core network device as taught by Jiang, to improve the sensing configuration information of Yu for determining whether to use conditional handover. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide solution for the handover process of the base station participating in the sensing process (page 2, paragraph 12 of Jiang).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
BAYESTEH et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0076417) – the sensing agents are used for both passive and active sensing, and the sensing agents are dedicated devices capable of performing passive sensing, active sensing, or both, including existing networks device such as user equipment or transmit receive points in bistatic sensing
JEON et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0324533) – the bistatic object sensing configuration configures the UE to one of receive a sensing signal transmitted by a base station or transmit the sensing signal for reception by the base station, where the bistatic object sensing configuration indicates sensing transmission power, waveform, and sensing resources and periodicity for the sensing signal, and configures the UE to one of receive or transmit an object detection report
JEON et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0388815) – the UE performs directional sensing based on the received configuration for directional sensing for one of monostatic sensing with reception periods between consecutive sensing signal transmissions or bistatic sensing using a plurality of beams, where the UE's directional sensing capability includes capability of spatial multiplexing of sensing signals with communication signals, where the configuration for directional sensing may permit spatial multiplexing of sensing signals with communication signals, and the UE determines to perform spatial multiplexing of sensing signals with communication signals based on orthogonality of a desired sensing beam with a beam for communications
Xinlei YU (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0340780) – the target terminal sends a sensing request to at least one auxiliary terminal, where the sensing request includes configuration information of a sensing signal, and the target terminal sends the configuration information of the sensing signal to the auxiliary terminal
ZHOU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0016813) – the first device assigns a beam/sector/channel that causes no interference to other devices to a second device, and scheduling the second device to transmit sensing information on the beam/sector/channel, wherein transmission of the sensing information causes no interference to the other devices
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468