DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUB (KR101690536 B1 in view of Coffland et al. (U. S. Patent No. 9,256,220 B1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Sub teaches An electric tool (electric tool, 100; Fig. 1), comprising: a tightening unit (Paragraph [0031]) including a motor (Paragraph [0029]) and configured to perform a tightening task of tightening a component by a drive force of the motor as a drive source (Paragraphs [0029] – [0031]); a communications unit (Paragraph [0025]) configured to transmit the working data (Paragraph [0009]); a storage unit (Paragraph [0027] configured to store the working data (Paragraph [0009]); and a tool body (Fig. 1) which is portable-type and which houses therein or holds the tightening unit (Fig. 1), the communications unit, and the storage unit (Paragraphs [0025] and [0027]), the electric tool (Fig. 1) having, as a communications mode for transmitting the working data stored in the storage unit from the communications unit (Paragraph [0009]).
Sub does not explicitly teach a sensor unit configured to perform a measurement processing including measuring at least a tightening torque provided by the tightening unit and obtaining working data relating to a result of measurement; a tool body which houses therein the sensor unit; a first communications mode and a second communications mode, the communications unit being configured to, in the first communications mode, transmit, during an interval between the tightening tasks, first working data which is part of the working data stored in the storage unit, and in the second communications mode, transmit at least second working data after completion of all of the tightening tasks, the second working data being the working data stored in the storage unit except the first working data.
Coffland, however, teaches an electric tool (electric torque wrench, 44; Fig. 4), comprising: a tightening unit (jaws, 48) configured to perform a plurality of tightening tasks by repeatedly performing a tightening task of tightening a component by a drive force of a drive source (torquing of a plurality of nuts, 38; Col 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 5); a sensor unit (strain gauge sensor, 50) configured to perform a measurement processing including measuring at least a tightening torque provided by the tightening unit (48) while each of the plurality of tightening task are performed (Col. 9, line 55 – Col. 10, line 8) and obtaining working data relating to a result of measurement (Col. 6, lines 6 – 36); the working data including first and second working data (Abstract); a communications unit (pulse signal transmitter, 52) configured to transmit the working data (Col. 6, lines 6 – 36); a storage unit (memory, 53) configured to store the working data (Col. 6, lines 6 – 36) including the first and second working data (Col. 9, line 55 – Col. 10, line 8); and a tool body (Fig. 4) which is portable-type and which houses therein or holds the tightening unit (48; Fig. 4), the sensor unit (50), the communications unit (52), and the storage unit (53; Fig. 4), the electric tool (44) having, as a communications mode for transmitting the working data stored in the storage unit from the communications unit (52), a first communications mode and a second communications mode (Abstract), wherein the measurement processing includes torque measurement processing including performing a torque measurement of measuring the tightening torque and obtaining a tightening torque value which is a result of the torque measurement (Col. 6, lines 6 – 36), determination processing including performing a determination about a quality of the tightening task based on the tightening torque value and obtaining determination result data relating to a result of the determination (Measuring/trigger circuit 57 measures the digital signal and issues a trigger signal when the measured signal exceeds a threshold value, indicating, for example, that a nut has been torqued to a nominal value, or has surpassed a minimum threshold to indicate torque has been or is being applied - Col. 6, lines 6 – 36 and Col. 7, lines 23 – 45), the first working data contains at least one kind of information selected from a group consisting of the tightening torque value and the determination result data (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24), and the second working data contains the other of the tightening torque value or the determination result data for each of the plurality of tightening tasks (Measuring/trigger circuit 57 measures the digital signal and issues a trigger signal when the measured signal exceeds a threshold value, indicating, for example, that a nut has been torqued to a nominal value, or has surpassed a minimum threshold to indicate torque has been or is being applied - Col. 6, lines 6 – 36), the communications unit being configured to, in the first communications mode, transmit, during an interval between the tightening tasks, without transmitting the second working data (the first working data is stored and does not include the completion data which is the second working data), the first working data which is part of the working data stored in the storage unit (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24), and in the second communications mode, transmit at least the second working data after completion of all of the plurality of tightening tasks, without transmitting the first working data (Col. 17, lines 24 – 36; data may include completion of tasks only, thus the first working data is not included); the second working data being the working data stored in the storage unit except the first working data (Col. 17, lines 24 – 36; data may include completion of tasks only, thus the first working data is not included and Col. 23, line 63 – Col. 24, line 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach a sensor unit configured to perform a measurement processing including measuring at least a tightening torque provided by the tightening unit and obtaining working data relating to a result of measurement; a tool body which houses therein the sensor unit; a first communications mode and a second communications mode, the communications unit being configured to, in the first communications mode, transmit, during an interval between the tightening tasks, first working data which is part of the working data stored in the storage unit, and in the second communications mode, transmit at least second working data after completion of all of the tightening tasks, the second working data being the working data stored in the storage unit except the first working data, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Regarding Claim 2, Sub, as modified, teaches the electric tool of claim 1 as discussed above.
Sub does not teach the communications unit is configured to, in the first communications mode, every time the tightening task finishes one or more times, transmit one or more pieces of the first working data of the working data stored in the storage unit corresponding to the one or more times of the tightening task that has finished, and in the second communications mode, after completion of all of the tightening tasks, transmit at least the second working data of the working data stored in the storage unit corresponding to all of the tightening tasks.
Coffland, however, teaches the electric tool (electric torque wrench, 44; Fig. 4) wherein the communications unit (52) is configured to, in the first communications mode, every time the tightening task finishes one or more times, transmit one or more pieces of the first working data of the working data stored in the storage unit corresponding to the one or more times of the tightening task that has finished, and in the second communications mode (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24), after completion of all of the tightening tasks, transmit at least the second working data of the working data stored in the storage unit corresponding to all of the plurality tightening tasks (Col. 23, line 63 – Col. 24, line 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach the communications unit is configured to, in the first communications mode, every time the tightening task finishes one or more times, transmit one or more pieces of the first working data of the working data stored in the storage unit corresponding to the one or more times of the tightening task that has finished, and in the second communications mode, after completion of all of the tightening tasks, transmit at least the second working data of the working data stored in the storage unit corresponding to all of the tightening tasks, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Regarding Claim 3, Sub, as modified, teaches the electric tool of claim 2 as discussed above.
Sub does not teach the measurement processing includes torque measurement processing including performing a torque measurement of measuring the tightening torque and obtaining a tightening torque value which is a result of the torque measurement, determination processing including performing a determination about a quality of the tightening task based on the tightening torque value and obtaining determination result data relating to a result of the determination, and related measurement processing including performing a related measurement relating to the torque measurement and obtaining a related value which is a result of the related measurement, the first working data contains at least one kind of information selected from a group consisting of the tightening torque value and the determination result data, and the second working data contains one or more kinds of information selected from a group consisting of the tightening torque value, the determination result data, and the related value except the at least one kind of information contained in the first working data.
Coffland, however, teaches the electric tool (electric torque wrench, 44; Fig. 4) wherein the measurement processing related measurement processing including performing a related measurement relating to the torque measurement and obtaining a related value which is a result of the related measurement (Col. 7, lines 23 – 45), and the second working data contains one or more selected from the group consisting of the tightening torque value, the determination result data, and the related value except that the first working data includes (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24; Col. 17, lines 24 – 36; data may include completion of tasks only, thus the first working data is not included and Col. 23, line 63 – Col. 24, line 14)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach the measurement processing includes torque measurement processing including performing a torque measurement of measuring the tightening torque and obtaining a tightening torque value which is a result of the torque measurement, determination processing including performing a determination about a quality of the tightening task based on the tightening torque value and obtaining determination result data relating to a result of the determination, and related measurement processing including performing a related measurement relating to the torque measurement and obtaining a related value which is a result of the related measurement, the first working data contains at least one kind of information selected from a group consisting of the tightening torque value and the determination result data, and the second working data contains one or more kinds of information selected from a group consisting of the tightening torque value, the determination result data, and the related value except the at least one kind of information contained in the first working data, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Regarding Claim 4, Sub, as modified, teaches the electric tool of claim 3 as discussed above.
Sub does not teach the first working data contains the determination result data, and the second working data contains the tightening torque value and the related value
Coffland, however, teaches the electric tool (electric torque wrench, 44; Fig. 4) wherein the first working data contains the determination result data (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24), and the second working data contains the tightening torque value and the related value (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach the first working data contains the determination result data, and the second working data contains the tightening torque value and the related value, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Regarding Claim 5, Sub, as modified, teaches the electric tool of claim 4 as discussed above.
Sub does not teach the communications unit is configured to, in the second communications mode, transmit detail working data containing both the first working data and the second working data.
Coffland, however, teaches the electric tool (electric torque wrench, 44; Fig. 4) wherein the communications unit (52) is configured to, in the second communications mode, transmit detail working data containing both the first working data and the second working data (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach the communications unit is configured to, in the second communications mode, transmit detail working data containing both the first working data and the second working data, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Regarding Claim 6, Sub, as modified by Coffland, teaches the electric tool of claim 5 as discussed above.
Coffland does not explicitly teach the storage unit is configured to delete, from the storage unit, part, transmitted by the communications unit, of the detail working data.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Coffland to further explicitly include the storage unit is configured to delete, from the storage unit, part, transmitted by the communications unit, of the detail working data, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 7, Sub, as modified, teaches the electric tool of claim 6 as discussed above.
Sub does not teach the storage unit is configured, in the first communications mode, even when the communications unit transmits the determination result data, not to delete the determination result data transmitted by the communications unit, and in the second communications mode, when the communications unit transmits the detail working data, to delete the detail working data transmitted by the communications unit.
Coffland, however, teaches the electric tool (electric torque wrench, 44; Fig. 4) wherein the storage unit (53) is configured, in the first communications mode, even when the communications unit transmits the determination result data, not to delete the determination result data transmitted by the communications unit (Col. 6, lines 6 – 36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach the storage unit is configured, in the first communications mode, even when the communications unit transmits the determination result data, not to delete the determination result data transmitted by the communications unit, and in the second communications mode, when the communications unit transmits the detail working data, to delete the detail working data transmitted by the communications unit, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Coffland does not teach in the second communications mode, when the communications unit transmits the detail working data, to delete the detail working data transmitted by the communications unit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Coffland to further explicitly include in the second communications mode, when the communications unit transmits the detail working data, to delete the detail working data transmitted by the communications unit, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 8, Sub, as modified, teaches the electric tool of claim 7 as discussed above.
Sub does not teach the storage unit is configured, in the second communications mode, not to delete immediately but keep the detail working data transmitted by the communications unit as long as possible.
Coffland, however, teaches the electric tool (electric torque wrench, 44; Fig. 4) wherein the storage unit is configured, in the second communications mode, not to delete immediately but keep the detail working data transmitted by the communications unit as long as possible (Col. 6, lines 6 – 36 – Coffland does not teach any deletion of data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach the storage unit is configured, in the second communications mode, not to delete immediately but keep the detail working data transmitted by the communications unit as long as possible, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Regarding Claims 9 – 16, Sub, as modified, teaches the electric tool of claims 1 – 8 as discussed above.
Sub does not teach the communications unit includes a wireless communications unit configured to transmit the first working data under a wireless communications scheme, and a wired communications unit configured to transmit the second working data under a wired communications scheme, the first communications mode is a wireless communications mode, the second communications mode is a wired communications mode, in the wireless communications mode, the wireless communications unit transmits the first working data under the wireless communications scheme during the interval between tightening tasks, and in the wired communications mode, the wired communications unit transmits at least the second working data under the wired communications scheme after completion of all the tightening tasks.
Coffland, however, teaches the electric tool (electric torque wrench, 44; Fig. 4) wherein the communications unit (52) includes a wireless communications unit configured to transmit the first working data under a wireless communications scheme (Col. 4, lines 8 – 69), and a wired communications unit configured to transmit the second working data under a wired communications scheme (Col. 4, lines 8 – 69), the first communications mode is a wireless communications mode, the second communications mode is a wired communications mode (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24), in the wireless communications mode, the wireless communications unit transmits the first working data under the wireless communications scheme during the interval between tightening tasks (Col. 4, lines 8 – 69), and in the wired communications mode, the wired communications unit transmits at least the second working data (Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 24) under the wired communications scheme after completion of all the plurality of tightening tasks (Col. 4, lines 8 – 69).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach the communications unit includes a wireless communications unit configured to transmit the first working data under a wireless communications scheme, and a wired communications unit configured to transmit the second working data under a wired communications scheme, the first communications mode is a wireless communications mode, the second communications mode is a wired communications mode, in the wireless communications mode, the wireless communications unit transmits the first working data under the wireless communications scheme during the interval between tightening tasks, and in the wired communications mode, the wired communications unit transmits at least the second working data under the wired communications scheme after completion of all the tightening tasks, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Regarding Claims 17 – 20 , Sub, as modified, teaches the electric tool (Fig. 1) of claims 1 – 3 and 9 as discussed above.
Sub does not teach a receiver configured to receive the working data transmitted from the communications unit.
Coffland, however, teaches electric tool system, comprising: the electric tool (44; Fig. 4) of claim 1; and a receiver (receiver and data assembler, 62) configured to receive the working data transmitted from the communications unit (52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Sub to further explicitly teach a receiver configured to receive the working data transmitted from the communications unit, as taught by Coffland, to provide an improved system for monitoring and verifying the completion of certain manufacturing operations, thus improving the production time of such tasks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 19, 2025 regarding the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U. S. C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive; therefore the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues the second working data of Coffland is not stored in the storage unit.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The second working data involves completion of the operation being identified by displaying data related to the area in a table. One illustrative example of displaying data in table form is table 98 of FIG. 9. Table 98 displays the module number, fitting number, and torque value of the area which received the operation. In another illustrative example.
Further, Data regarding operation 2214 may be saved in memory 2226. Data regarding performance of operation 2214 may be selected from at least one of beginning time of operation 2214, completion time of operation 2214, data from sensor 2218 during operation 2214, data transmitted in signals 2236 regarding operation 2214, and other data. Memory 2226 may contain data regarding the type of operation such as type of tool 2204, the desired value for operation 2214, type of area to receive operation 2214, and other data regarding type of operation for operation 2214. Memory 2226 may also store data received from sources outside of tool 2204 such as data received from display and reporting system 2210 or locating system 2208.
Coffland explicitly teaches first and second data as well as saving said data.
Applicant further argues that none of the cited references teaches only transmitting first or second data, without transmitting the other components.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Coffland discloses torquing of nuts 38 may be monitored, recorded, and displayed. Beginning at 122, a production worker uses electronic torque wrench 44 to torque a nut 38. When strain gauge sensor 50 (FIGS. 4 and 5) senses that the nominal or threshold torque value has been reached, electronic torque wrench 44 transmits torque signals comprising UWB pulse signals that contain the torque value, shown at step 124. The torque signals (UWB pulse signals) are received at UWB radios 60 within wheel well 36, as shown at 126. The resulting location measurements are then used by processor 66 to calculate the location of electronic torque wrench 44 in three dimensional object space, as shown at 128. At 130, processor 66 associates the wrench location with nut 38, and at 132, the torque value for nut 38 is recorded. At 134, processor 66 translates the location of nut 38 from three dimensional coordinate system 26 of wheel well 36, to coordinate system 34 of the three dimensional space represented by the displayed image. Nut 38 is then displayed along with the recorded torque value at 134. Torque verification reports may be optionally generated, as desired, at 136 – which represents the first data and excludes any of the second data.
Further, Figure 24 clearly shows the second data upon completion and it does not include the first data.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723