DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aio et al. (US 2025/0337539 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0051722 A1).
Consider claims 1 and 19:
Aio discloses an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a first Access Point (AP) (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0043, where Aio describes a wireless communication system which includes a first access point AP1, a second access point AP2 and a wireless terminal STA; see Fig. 19 and paragraphs 0331-0334, where Aio describes a computer implementation) to:
send a plurality of data packets to a second AP via a backhaul link between the first AP and the second AP (see Fig. 7 and paragraph 0116, t15, where Aio describes that the AP1 transmits a plurality of data units MAP-MSDUs to the AP2 via a backhaul link; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0144, where Aio describes that the MAP-MSDUs include MAP-MSDU#1, MAP-MSDU #2, …; see paragraph 0114, where Aio describes that a data unit is a packet);
determine a plurality of identified packets from the plurality of data packets for a joint transmission to a non-AP wireless communication station (STA) associated with the first AP (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the AP1 generates a plurality of data packets MPDUs for joint transmission Joint Tx, and a MPDU can be recovered from a received MAP-MSDU; see Fig. 7 and paragraph 0120, t19, where Aio describes that the AP1 and the AP2 simultaneously transmit data units MPDUs to the STA in the Joint Tx);
transmit a multi-AP trigger frame to trigger the joint transmission comprising transmission of the plurality of identified packets in a first transmission from the first AP and in a second transmission from the second AP (see Fig. 7 and paragraph 0119-0120, t18, where Aio describes that the AP1 transmits a Joint Tx Trigger to the AP2, and the AP1 and AP2 simultaneously perform the Joint Tx and transmit data to the STA; see Fig. 5 and paragraph 0091, where Aio describes that the plurality of MPDUs are transmitted to the STA during the Joint Tx; see paragraph 0276, where Aio describes that the Joint Tx Trigger is a Joint Tx Trigger frame), and
transmit the first transmission after the multi-AP trigger frame, wherein the first transmission comprises the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 7 and paragraph 0119-0120, where Aio describes that the AP1 and AP2 simultaneously transmit data units MPDUs to the STA after the Joint Tx Trigger).
Aio does not explicitly disclose: the multi-AP trigger frame comprises payload-signaling information configured to signal to the second AP that a payload of the second transmission is to include the plurality of identified packets.
Huang teaches: a multi-AP trigger frame comprises payload-signaling information configured to signal to a second AP that a payload of a second transmission is to include a plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 10 and paragraph 0119, where Huang describes a joint transmission system that includes AP1, AP2 and STA; see paragraph 0150, where Huang describes that a multi-AP trigger frame is transmitted from a master AP to a slave AP, and the multi-AP trigger frame includes information of payload of the PPDU which is the data unit of joint transmission of the APs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the multi-AP trigger frame comprises payload-signaling information configured to signal to the second AP that a payload of the second transmission is to include the plurality of identified packets, as taught by Huang to modify the method of Aio in order to coordinate transmissions to reduce interference, as discussed by Huang (see paragraph 0002).
Consider claims 2 and 20:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the invention of claims 1 and 19 above. Aio discloses: numbering assignment information to indicate at least one of a Packet Number (PN) assignment for the joint transmission, or a Sequence Number (SN) assignment for the joint transmission (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0140, where Aio describes that the AP1 transmits data units MPDUs to AP2 for joint transmission, and each MPDU is assigned a sequence number, that is, MPDU #1 to MPDU #n).
Consider claim 3:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 2 above. Aio discloses: the PN assignment for the joint transmission comprises an assignment of a plurality of PNs to the plurality of identified packets, respectively (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0140, where Aio describes that the data packets MPDUs are transmitted by AP1 and AP2 in the joint transmission, and each MPDU is assigned a sequence number, that is, MPDU #1 to MPDU #n).
Consider claim 4:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 2 above. Aio discloses: an assignment of one or more SNs to one or more Medium Access Control (MAC) frames to include the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0139, where Aio describes that each of the MPDUs #1 to #n includes a MAC Header).
Consider claim 5:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 2 above. Aio discloses: cause the first AP to transmit the first transmission comprising one or more Medium Access Control (MAC) frames comprising the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the AP1 performs MAC processing to generate a plurality of data packets MPDUs for joint transmission (Joint Tx), and the MPDUs are transmitted to the AP2 by transmitting the MAP-MSDU; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0140, where Aio describes that each data unit MPDU has a MAC Header), wherein the one or more MAC frames are assigned with one or more respective SNs according to the SN assignment, wherein the plurality of identified packets are assigned with a plurality of respective PNs according the PN assignment (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0138-0140, where Aio describes that each MAC frame MPDU has a sequence number: MPDU #1 to MPDU #n).
Consider claim 6:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: cause the first AP to send the plurality of data packets in a plurality of Medium Access Control (MAC) frames to the second AP via the backhaul link (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the AP1 performs MAC processing to generate a plurality of data packets MPDUs for joint transmission (Joint Tx), and the MPDUs are transmitted to the AP2 by transmitting the MAP-MSDU via the backhaul link; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0140, where Aio describes that each data unit MPDU has a MAC Header), wherein the plurality of MAC frames are assigned with a respective plurality of Sequence Numbers (SNs), wherein the plurality of data packets are assigned with a respective plurality of previously-assigned Packet Numbers (PNs) (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0139, where Aio describes that the each of the MPDUs has a sequence number from #1 to #n), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises SN information to indicate one or more identified SNs of one or more respective identified MAC frames comprising the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0140-0141, where Aio describes that each MAC frame includes an individual information which is Sequence number).
Consider claim 7:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: cause the first AP to send the plurality of data packets assigned with a respective plurality of previously-assigned Packet Numbers (PNs) to the second AP via the backhaul link (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the AP1 performs MAC processing to generate a plurality of data packets MPDUs for joint transmission (Joint Tx), and the MPDUs are transmitted to the AP2 by transmitting the MAP-MSDU via the backhaul link; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0140, where Aio describes that each data unit MPDU has a MAC Header), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises PN information to indicate a plurality of identified PNs of the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0140-0141, where Aio describes that each MAC frame includes an individual information which is Sequence number), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises Sequence Number (SN) information to indicate an assignment of one or more SNs to one or more respective Medium Access Control (MAC) frames to include the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the data packets MPDUs are data packets transmitted in the joint transmission Joint Tx, and the MPDUs are recovered from the received MAP-MSDU).
Consider claim 8:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: cause the first AP to send the plurality of data packets in a plurality of Medium Access Control (MAC) frames to the second AP via the backhaul link (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the AP1 performs MAC processing to generate a plurality of data packets MPDUs for joint transmission (Joint Tx), and the MPDUs are transmitted to the AP2 by transmitting the MAP-MSDU via the backhaul link; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0140, where Aio describes that each data unit MPDU has a MAC Header), wherein the plurality of MAC frames are assigned with a respective plurality of Sequence Numbers (SNs) (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0139, where Aio describes that the each of the MPDUs has a sequence number from #1 to #n), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises SN information to indicate one or more identified SNs of one or more respective identified MAC frames comprising the plurality of identified packets, wherein the payload-signaling information comprises Packet Number (PN) information to indicate an assignment of a plurality of PNs to the plurality of identified packets, respectively (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0140-0141, where Aio describes that each MAC frame includes an individual information which is Sequence number).
Consider claim 9:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: cause the first AP to send the plurality of data packets in a plurality of Medium Access Control (MAC) frames to the second AP via the backhaul link (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the AP1 performs MAC processing to generate a plurality of data packets MPDUs for joint transmission (Joint Tx), and the MPDUs are transmitted to the AP2 by transmitting the MAP-MSDU via the backhaul link; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0140, where Aio describes that each data unit MPDU has a MAC Header), wherein the plurality of MAC frames are assigned with a respective plurality of Dedicated Numbers (DNs), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises DN information to indicate one or more identified DNs of one or more respective identified MAC frames comprising the plurality of identified packets, wherein the payload-signaling information comprises Packet Number (PN) information to indicate an assignment of a plurality of PNs to the plurality of identified packets, respectively (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0139, where Aio describes that the each of the MPDUs has a sequence number from #1 to #n), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises Sequence Number (SN) information to indicate an assignment of one or more SNs to the one or more identified MAC frames (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0140-0141, where Aio describes that each MAC frame includes an individual information which is Sequence number).
Consider claim 10:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: cause the first AP to send the plurality of data packets assigned with a respective plurality of Dedicated Numbers (DNs) to the second AP via the backhaul link (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the AP1 performs MAC processing to generate a plurality of data packets MPDUs for joint transmission (Joint Tx), and the MPDUs are transmitted to the AP2 by transmitting the MAP-MSDU via the backhaul link), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises DN information to indicate a plurality of identified DNs of the plurality of identified packets, wherein the payload-signaling information comprises Packet Number (PN) information to indicate an assignment of a plurality of PNs to the plurality of identified packets, respectively (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0139, where Aio describes that the each of the MPDUs has a sequence number from #1 to #n), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises Sequence Number (SN) information to indicate an assignment of one or more SNs to one or more respective Medium Access Control (MAC) frames to include the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0140-0141, where Aio describes that each MAC frame includes an individual information which is Sequence number).
Consider claim 12:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: Sequence Number (SN) information to indicate an assignment of one or more SNs to one or more respective Medium Access Control (MAC) frames to include the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0140, where Aio describes that the data packets MPDUs are transmitted by AP1 and AP2 in the joint transmission, and each MPDU is assigned a sequence number: MPDU #1 to MPDU #n; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0139, where Aio describes that each of the MPDUs #1 to #n includes a MAC Header).
Consider claim 13:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: an assignment of a plurality of PNs to the plurality of identified packets (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0140, where Aio describes that the data packets MPDUs are transmitted by AP1 and AP2 in the joint transmission, and each MPDU is assigned a sequence number, that is, MPDU #1 to MPDU #n).
Consider claim 14:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: an indication of an oldest Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (MPDU), which is not to be discarded by the second AP (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0128, where Aio describes that the AP1 transmits data packets MPDUs to AP2 for joint transmission; see Fig. 7 and paragraph 0120, t19, where Aio describes that the AP1 and the AP2 simultaneously transmit data units MPDUs to the STA in the Joint Tx).
Consider claim 15:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: the multi-AP trigger frame is configured to trigger the joint transmission comprising a joint-beamforming transmission configured as a beamformed Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmission to be formed by a combination of the first transmission and the second transmission (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0048, where Aio describes that the access points enable MIMO transmission; see paragraph 0003, where Aio describes that a plurality of APs perform a joint transmission using MIMO to form a highly dimensional beam).
Consider claim 16:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio does not specifically disclose: cause the first AP to transmit the first transmission a Short-Inter-Frame-Space (SIFS) after the multi-AP trigger frame.
Huang teaches: cause a first AP to transmit a first transmission a Short-Inter-Frame-Space (SIFS) after the multi-AP trigger frame (see paragraph 0156, where Huang describes that one access point (AP) begins transmitting a Short Interframe Space after a trigger frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: cause the first AP to transmit the first transmission a Short-Inter-Frame-Space (SIFS) after the multi-AP trigger frame, as taught by Huang to modify the method of Aio in order to coordinate transmissions to reduce interference, as discussed by Huang (see paragraph 0002).
Consider claim 17:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: at least one radio to transmit the multi-AP trigger frame and the first transmission (see Fig. 7 and paragraph 0119-0120, t18, where Aio describes that the AP1 transmits a Joint Tx Trigger to the AP2; see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0048, where Aio describes that an AP transmits signal wirelessly through antennas 41).
Consider claim 18:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 17 above. Aio discloses: one or more antennas connected to the radio, and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system (see Fig. 2 and paragraph 0048, where Aio describes that an AP includes antennas 41 connected to wireless interface unit 52, signal processing unit 53 and data processing unit 54).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aio et al. (US 2025/0337539 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0051722 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chu et al. (US 2023/0082395 A1).
Consider claim 11:
Aio in view of Huang discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above. Aio discloses: cause the first AP to send the plurality of data packets in a plurality of Aggregated Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Units (MPDUs) (A-MPDUs) to the second AP via the backhaul link (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0114-0117, where Aio describes that the AP1 performs MAC processing to generate a plurality of data packets MPDUs for joint transmission (Joint Tx), and the MPDUs are transmitted to the AP2 by transmitting the MAP-MSDU via the backhaul link; see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0134, where Aio describes that the AP1 has A-MPDU processing unit, the AP1 transmits n MPDUs to AP2 by generating an aggregated data unit A-MPDU), wherein an A-MPDU of the plurality of A-MPDUs comprises a plurality of MAC frames assigned with a respective plurality of Sequence Numbers (SNs), wherein a MAC frame of the plurality of MAC frames in the A-MPDU comprises two or more data packets assigned with two or more respective Packet Numbers (PNs), wherein the payload-signaling information comprises A-MPDU number information to indicate one or more identified A-MPDUs comprising the plurality of identified packets (see paragraph 0091, where Aio describes that an A-MPDU is obtained by concatenating a plurality of the MPDUs; see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 0134-0139, where Aio describes that the each of the MPDUs has a sequence number from #1 to #n; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0140, where Aio describes that each data unit MPDU has a MAC Header).
Aio does not specifically disclose: the plurality of A-MPDUs are assigned with a respective plurality of A-MPDU numbers.
Chu teaches: plurality of A-MPDUs are assigned with a respective plurality of A-MPDU numbers (see Fig. 6 and paragraph 0092, where Chu describes an access point which transmits a first A-MPDU1 and a second A-MPDU2, the first A-MPDU1 has a sequence number (SN) equal to 2048, the second A-MPDU2 has a sequence number (SN) equal to 3072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the plurality of A-MPDUs are assigned with a respective plurality of A-MPDU numbers, as taught by Chu to modify the method of Aio in order to have better efficiency, as discussed by Chu (see paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
/LIHONG YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631