DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 05/31/2023 and 05/31/2023 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 05/31/2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In the preliminary amendment, the claims and specification were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
Claims 1-20 were originally filed.
Claims 4, 5, and 9 are instantly amended.
No claims are added or canceled.
No claims are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claim 1, the claim contains the limitation that two adjacent ones of X1 to X4 are C and are fused to a structure selected from Formulae II-IV.
This limitation is confusing because the carbon definitions of X1 to X4 do not include an R group, such as hydrogen, which can be replaced by a bond to any of Formulae II through IV. Thus, it is unclear how the carbon atoms form a fused structure.
In continuing examination, this limitation is being interpreted as requiring that at least two of X1 to X4 are adjacent carbon atoms and at least two of RA are joined to form a structure of Formulae II-IV which is fused to the at least two adjacent carbon atoms of X1 to X4.
Claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claim 10, the claim contains embodiments of the compound of claim 1 that do not comply with the limitation that moiety B is a fused ring system comprising two or more rings. These compounds include any compound wherein G is selected from G1 and G2.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudreault et al. (US 2019/0248818 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 3-4, and 6-7, Boudreault discloses Compound C3086 (page 153), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Formula I (paragraph 0015) when Z3 and Z4 are fused to a structure of Formula II (paragraph 0018), both of which are pictured below.
In these formulae, Boudreault also teaches that Y1 and Y2 may be independently selected as an oxygen atom (paragraph 0020).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when X1 through X4 are carbon atoms, moiety B is a fused ring system of two, six-membered rings (naphthalene), K is a direct bond, the ligand LA is coordinated to an iridium atom which is further coordinated to a different ligand, RB is a C1 alkyl (t-butyl) group, RC represents no substitution, and two RA are joined at X1 and X2 to form the group of Formula III. In Formula III, Y1 and Y2 are each an oxygen atom, Z1 and Z2 are each a carbon atom.
Boudreault includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Boudreault being a lack of the aforementioned oxygen atoms being explicitly selected. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known divalent atom from the finite list of possible combinations of divalent atoms to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound which is highly rigid and planar, which allows for a significant bathochromic shift of the peak wavelength and increased external quantum efficiency, and which also allows fine tuning of the color, lifetime, and emission lineshape of the compound (paragraph 0087), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 2, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 1, and R, R’ and RC are not present, RB is an alkyl group, and the two RA are joined to form a structure of Formula III, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 5, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Also as discussed above, Compound C3086 is formed when Z3 and Z4 are fused to a structure of Formula II (paragraph 0077).
Boudreault also teaches that Z2 and Z3 are fused to the structure of Formula II (paragraph 0077).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when X2 and X3 are fused to a group of Formula III.
Boudreault includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Boudreault being a lack of the aforementioned oxygen atoms being explicitly selected. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known divalent atom from the finite list of possible combinations of divalent atoms to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound which is highly rigid and planar, which allows for a significant bathochromic shift of the peak wavelength and increased external quantum efficiency, and which also allows fine tuning of the color, lifetime, and emission lineshape of the compound (paragraph 0087), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 8, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 1, and ligand LA is represented by the instant second structure on the first line of the claim, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 9, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 1, and the ligand LA is represented by the first embodiment on the second line of page 16 of the claims, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 10, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 1, and the ligand is instant LA649-1-1.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the formula Ir(LA)2(LC), wherein p is 2, q is 0, and r is 1.
With respect to claim 13, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 11, and LC is represented by the instant first ligand on the first line of the claim when Ra1 and Rc1 are 3-pentyl and Rb1 is a hydrogen, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 14, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 11, and the compound is instant (LA649-1-1)2(LC17-I).
With respect to claim 15, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Boudreault also teaches that RC is a t-butyl group (see RB7 on page 28, and the ligands of paragraph 0099).
Such an additional modification produces the first compound on the second row of compounds, which is pictured below.
Boudreault includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Boudreault being a lack of the aforementioned oxygen atoms being explicitly selected. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known divalent atom from the finite list of possible combinations of divalent atoms to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound which is highly rigid and planar, which allows for a significant bathochromic shift of the peak wavelength and increased external quantum efficiency, and which also allows fine tuning of the color, lifetime, and emission lineshape of the compound (paragraph 0087), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claims 17 and 20, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 1, and Boudreault also teaches a consumer product comprising an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer comprising the compound (paragraphs 0117 and 0124).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the compound in the organic layer of a consumer OLED device, as taught by Boudreault.
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Boudreault teaches the OLED of claim 17, and Boudreault also teaches that the organic layer further comprises the carbazole derivative host pictured below, which meets the requirements of the second structure on line three of page 103 of the claim when YA is a sulfur atom, all X characters are carbon atoms, and all R characters represent no substitution.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudreault et al. (US 2019/0248818 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Stoessel et al. (US 2007/0082284 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Boudreault teaches the compound of claim 11, as discussed above.
Boudreault also teaches that the compound has the formula Pt(LA)(LB), wherein LA and LB are connected to form a tetradentate, macrocyclic ligand (paragraph 0104), and that LB may be a phenylpyridine ligand (LB161 on page 51).
However, Boudreault does not fairly suggest bridging the ligands through an oxygen atom to form a tetradentate ligand of instant Formula V.
In analogous art, Stoessel teaches organometallic compounds for use in an organic light emitting device (abstract and title) comprising a bridging unit “V” (paragraph 0020 and Structure 1). Stoessel teaches that the purpose of the bridge V is to promote the formation of mononuclear metal complexes of structure 1 (tetradentate organometallic complex), and suppress or completely prevent the formation of coordination polymers on reaction of the ligand of structure 2 (tetradentate chelating ligand) with metal compounds (paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an oxygen linking group in the tetradentate platinum ligand of Boudreault in order to promote the formation of mononuclear metal complexes and suppress or completely prevent the formation of coordination polymers of the chelating ligand with metal compounds, as taught by Stoessel.
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant Formula V when M1 is platinum, moiety E is a 6-membered heterocyclic (pyridine) ring, moiety F is a 6-membered carbocyclic (benzene) ring, Z1a is a nitrogen atom and Z2a is a carbon atom, K1 and K2 are a direct bond, L1 is an oxygen atom, L2 is a direct bond, and L3 is an absent bond, RE and RF represent no substitution, and all other characters are as defined above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-13, 15, and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,180,519 B2 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 111943986 A, using the provided translation for references).
With respect to instant independent claim 1, the requirements of instant Formula I are met by the limitations of Formula I of ‘519 and the requirements of instant Formulae III and IV are met by Formulae II and III of ‘519 when Z1 and Z2 are carbon atoms.
However, ‘519 does not teach a structure of FORMULA II, or structures of Formulae III and IV wherein Z1 and Z2 are anything other than a carbon atom.
Zhang discloses an analogous compound wherein two adjacent X1 to X4 in Formula 1 are carbon atoms, and are fused with a structure of Equation 2A, Equation 2B, or Equation 2C, which are pictured below.
Examiner notes that Equation 2C is analogous to instant Formula II.
Zhang teaches that the described compounds have a larger maximum emission wavelength, a deeper red emission color, and higher external quantum efficiency than the comparative compounds (paragraph 0215).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate any of the fused structures of Zhang into the compound of ‘519 in order to achieve have a larger maximum emission wavelength, a deeper red emission color, and higher external quantum efficiency, as taught by Zhang.
Similarly,
The substituents of instant claim 2 are met by claim 2 of ‘519.
The definitions of moiety B of instant claim 3 are met by claims 4 and 5 of ‘519.
The carbon atoms and bonding position of instant claims 4 and 5 are met by claims 1, 8, and 9 of ‘519.
The definitions of Y1 and Y2 of instant claim 6 are met by claims 1 and 7 of ‘519.
The structures of instant claims 8, 9, and 10 are met by the limitations of claim 1 of ‘519.
The molecular formulas of instant claims 11 and 12 are met by the limitations of claim 12 of ‘519.
The ancillary ligands of instant claims 13 and 14 are met by the ancillary ligands of claim 13 of ‘519.
The compounds of instant claim 15 are within the limitations of claim 1 of ‘519 in view of Zhang.
The devices of instant claims 17 and 20 are met by the devices of claims 15 and 19 of ‘519.
The host compounds of instant claims 18 and 19 are met by the host compounds of claims 17 and 18 of ‘519.
Conclusion
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786