DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed on 1/29/2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karamanos (US 2020/0355394 A1), in view of Etter (US 2019/0234168 A1), and in view of Zhou (US 2022/0214058 A1).
Claim 1: Karamanos discloses a piping package for a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration system, comprising:
a supply pipe (244/5400 outlet pipe assembly), the supply pipe (244) including a first blow-down valve (272) and a first air vent (242);
a return pipe (204 inlet pipe assembly), the return pipe (204) including a second blow-down valve (222) and a second air vent (paragraph [37] & paragraph [75]: both piping assemblies 202/232 include pressure gage 286, for example gas such as air or other gases or liquid may be used as appropriate for materials used in piping assemblies; to clarify, based on air being through piping assemblies, drain 216 used as a vent); and
an enclosure (104) configured to surround the supply pipe (244) and the return pipe (204),
the enclosure (104) having at least a horizontal plane (to clarify, planes are arbitrary), and
the first blow-down valve (272) and the second blow-down valve (222) are installed in opposite directions relative to the horizontal plane (annotated FIG.1), and
the first air vent (242) and the second air vent (216) are installed in opposite directions relative to the horizontal plane (see annotated FIG.1).
[AltContent: textbox (horizontal plane)][AltContent: arrow]
Karamanos discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose the enclosure including a first access opening configured to allow access to the first blow-down valve and a second access opening configured to allow access to the second blow-down valve, wherein the supply pipe and the return pipe are installed in the enclosure in a horizontal direction,
Etter teaches a first access opening (door 12) configured to allow access to the first blow-down valve, and a second access (door 12; see FIG.4) opening configured to allow access to the second blow-down valve (paragraph [53]: piping assembly and valves in housing; valves of each housing 102) for the purpose of reducing effects of weather conditions by the use of weather resistant materials in the housing (paragraph [12]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Karamanos to include a first access opening configured to allow access to the first blow-down valve and a second access opening configured to allow access to the second blow-down valve as taught by Etter in order to reduce effects of weather conditions by the use of weather resistant materials in the housing.
Further, Zhou teaches the supply pipe and the return pipe are installed in the enclosure (paragraph [2] [20]: valves and pipes and other components that make up the system are all in an integral housing, invention provides an integrated system which includes air duct assembly) in a horizontal direction (as shown in FIG.1 the housing and air ducts sitting in a horizontal direction) for the purpose of improving of construction of an air duct assembly by providing an integrated system with characteristics of simple structure, convenient installation and space saving (paragraph [1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Karamanos to include wherein the supply pipe and the return pipe are installed in the enclosure in a horizontal direction as taught by Zhou in order to improve of construction of an air duct assembly by providing an integrated system with characteristics of simple structure, convenient installation and space saving.
Clam 2: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a heat exchanger (paragraph [107]: heat exchange), wherein the supply pipe (244) and the return pipe (204) are each connected to a process fluid side (side is inherent to heat exchanger) of the heat exchanger (paragraph [107]: heat exchange).
Clam 3: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the enclosure has a removable side panel (Etter sides panels in FIG.1).
Clam 4: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the return pipe (204) includes a control valve (shutoff valve 3810 used as control valve) including an actuator (paragraph [117]: actuator wires/3way actuator).
Clam 5: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 4, further comprising a bypass line (bypass piping assembly 3800; paragraph [116]: passage can be open/close via operation of bypass shutoff valve 3810) extending from the supply pipe (passage 3410 in FIG.14A is pipe 244/pipe assembly 5400 in FIG.1) to the control valve (3810).
Clam 6: Karamanos discloses a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration system, comprising a piping package, the piping package comprising:
a supply pipe, the supply pipe (244 outlet pipe assembly) including a first blow-down valve and a first air vent (242);
a return pipe, the return pipe (204 inlet pipe assembly) including a second blow-down valve (222) and a second air vent (paragraph [37] & paragraph [75]: both piping assemblies 202/232 include pressure gage 286, for example gas such as air or other gases or liquid may be used as appropriate for materials used in piping assemblies; to clarify, based on air being through piping assemblies, drain 216 used as a vent); and
an enclosure (104) configured to surround the supply pipe (244) and the return pipe (204), the enclosure (104) having at least a horizontal plane (to clarify, planes are arbitrary), and
the first blow-down valve (272) and the second blow-down valve (222) are installed in opposite directions relative to the horizontal plane (annotated FIG.1), and
the first air vent (242) and the second air vent (216) are installed in opposite directions relative to the horizontal plane (see annotated FIG.1).
Karamanos discloses the claimed limitations in claim 6, but fails to disclose the enclosure including a first access opening configured to allow access to the first blow-down valve and a second access opening configured to allow access to the second blow-down valve, wherein the supply pipe and the return pipe are installed in the enclosure in a horizontal direction,
Etter teaches a first access opening (door 12) configured to allow access to the first blow-down valve, and a second access (door 12; see FIG.4) opening configured to allow access to the second blow-down valve (paragraph [53]: piping assembly and valves in housing; valves of each housing 102) for the purpose of reducing effects of weather conditions by the use of weather resistant materials in the housing (paragraph [12]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Karamanos to include a first access opening configured to allow access to the first blow-down valve and a second access opening configured to allow access to the second blow-down valve as taught by Etter in order to reduce effects of weather conditions by the use of weather resistant materials in the housing.
Further, Zhou teaches the supply pipe and the return pipe are installed in the enclosure (paragraph [2] [20]: valves and pipes and other components that make up the system are all in an integral housing, invention provides an integrated system which includes air duct assembly) in a horizontal direction (as shown in FIG.1 the housing and air ducts sitting in a horizontal direction) for the purpose of improving of construction of an air duct assembly by providing an integrated system with characteristics of simple structure, convenient installation and space saving (paragraph [1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Karamanos to include wherein the supply pipe and the return pipe are installed in the enclosure in a horizontal direction as taught by Zhou in order to improve of construction of an air duct assembly by providing an integrated system with characteristics of simple structure, convenient installation and space saving.
Clam 7: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a heat exchanger (paragraph [107]: heat exchange), wherein the supply pipe (244) and the return pipe (204) are each connected to a process fluid side (side is inherent to heat exchanger) of the heat exchanger.
Clam 8: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the enclosure has a removable side panel (Etter sides panels in FIG.1).
Clam 9: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the return pipe (204) includes a control valve (shutoff valve 3810 used as control valve) including an actuator (paragraph [117]: actuator wires/3way actuator).
Clam 10: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the actuator (paragraph [117]: actuator wires/3way actuator) is terminated on a unit controller (paragraph [111]: controller 1600) of the HVACR system.
Clam 11: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 9, further comprising a bypass line (bypass piping assembly 3800; paragraph [116]: passage can be open/close via operation of bypass shutoff valve 3810) extending from the supply line (passage 3410 in FIG.14A is pipe 244/pipe assembly 5400 in FIG.1) to the control valve (3810).
Clam 12: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a main unit (FIG.1 view of fully functional control unit) and a control box (DDC controller 112), wherein the piping package (intended use) (paragraph [9], [182]: variable air volume HVAC system, supplies volume of air to air conditioned space, embodiment includes shipping coil and pipe assembly components to a variable air volume box manufacturer by providing coils or heat exchangers with various sizes with inlet/outlet pipes) is on a same side (to clarify, VAV package is intended use for HVAC system which VAV HVAC system yields best combination of comfort can be connected to any side of HVAC system) of the main unit as the control box (FIG.1 view of fully functional control unit).
Clam 13: Karamanos as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a main unit (FIG.1 view of fully functional control unit) and a control box (DDC controller 112), wherein the piping package (intended use) (paragraph [9], [182]: variable air volume HVAC system, supplies volume of air to air conditioned space, embodiment includes shipping coil and pipe assembly components to a variable air volume box manufacturer by providing coils or heat exchangers with various sizes with inlet/outlet pipes) is on an opposite side (to clarify, VAV package is intended use for HVAC system which VAV HVAC system yields best combination of comfort can be connected to any side of HVAC system) of the main unit from the control box (FIG.1 view of fully functional control unit).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/29/2026, with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and they are moot. Applicant’s arguments to new features and amendments are addressed in this office action. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejections have been made in response to the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763