CTFR 18/326,758 CTFR 89570 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 14, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fry in view of Lu et al. (US 2023/0238814) Re Claims 1, 11 and 18 ; Fry discloses A portable power supply comprising: an internal power source (battery 14) configured to provide power to a device connected to the portable power supply; (Par 0033) a thermal management system configured to control a temperature of the internal power source; (Par 0055) a power input unit (16) configured to provide power to charge the internal power source (Par 0051); a charging circuit (242, or 244) connected between the power input unit (16) and the internal power source (14), the charging circuit configured to charge the internal power source with the power provided by the power input unit; (Fig. 13, Par 0056) a power output unit (18) configured to provide power output by the internal power source; (Par 0033) a first sensing circuit configured to detect the temperature of the internal power source; (Par 0055) a secondary power source (par 0050) (Fig. 13); configured to selectively provide power to the thermal manage system, wherein the thermal management system is selectively powered by the secondary power source when the internal power source reaches an end of discharge threshold (Par 0056; The second charging circuit 244 is electrically connected to the controller 234, the transformer 238, the DC power input 214, the first battery pack 86, the second battery pack 90, and the battery 14 . The second charging circuit 244 controls the charging scheme for the battery 14. In some embodiments, the second charging circuit 244 varies a charging current based on the temperature of the battery 14, the state of charge of the battery 14, the amount of time the battery 14 has been charging, requests from the battery 14, and other factors . This indicates that the battery has reached an end of discharge threshold and being charged by the secondary power source. In that state the thermal management system is selectively powered by the secondary power source when charging the battery 14) and a controller (234) including a processor and a memory, (Par 0077), the controller electrically connected to the charging circuit and the thermal management system (Fig. 13) the controller configured to: receive a first signal from the first sensing circuit related to the temperature of the internal power source, enable the thermal management system based on the temperature of the internal power source, and enable charging of the internal power source based on the temperature of the internal power source. (Par 0055; the first charging circuit 242 varies a charging current based on the temperature of the battery pack 86, 90 , in order to vary the changing based on the temperature, the controller would have to receive the signal to determine the temp of the internal components) Fry does not necessarily disclose when the temperature of the internal power source exceeds a temperature threshold, enable the thermal management system based on the temperature of the internal power source, and after enabling the thermal management system and when the temperature of the internal power source does not exceed the temperature threshold, enable charging of the internal power source based on the temperature of the internal power source. However, Lu discloses when the temperature of the internal power source exceeds a temperature threshold, enable the thermal management system based on the temperature of the internal power source, and after enabling the thermal management system and when the temperature of the internal power source does not exceed the temperature threshold, enable charging of the internal power source based on the temperature of the internal power source (Par 0170) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to regulate charging based on the temperature management in order to protect the battery from damages and also extend the life of the battery. Re Claims 2, 12 and 19; Fry discloses wherein the controller is further configured to power the management system with a rebound power of the internal power source after the internal power source reaches the end of discharge threshold. (rebound" in the context of power supplies refers to a specific, often unwanted, transient behavior during the shutdown process, known as a Class B waveform, where voltages rise again after an initial drop. This effect is caused by dielectric absorption in the input capacitor. When the input discharge current is large and suddenly drops to 0A, the capacitor releases previously absorbed charges, causing VOUT to "rebound". Rebound in Class B shutdowns can last up to tens of milliseconds, whereas Class R shutdowns (due to line inductance) typically happen in microseconds. This excess energy with the combination of energy provided by the second power supply is used ) Re Claims 4 and 14; Fry discloses wherein the portable power supply includes a second sensing circuit configured to detect a state of charge (“SOC”) of the internal power source, and wherein the controller is further configured to: receive a second signal from the second sensing circuit related to the SOC of the internal power source, power, in response to determining that the SOC of the internal power source exceeds a SOC threshold, the thermal management system using the internal power source. (Par 0068) Re Claims 5 and 15; Fry discloses wherein the portable power supply includes a second sensing circuit configured to detect a state of charge (“SOC”) of the internal power source, and wherein the controller is further configured to: receive a second signal from the second sensing circuit related to the SOC of the internal power source, power, in response to determining that the SOC of the internal power source is less than a SOC threshold, the thermal management system using the secondary power source. (Par 0068) Re Claim 3, 13 and 20; Fry’s disclosure has been discussed above. Fry does not disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: power the thermal management system using the secondary power source while the charging circuit is disabled. However, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary stilled in the art before the effective filing to have used the secondary power source to power the thermal management system in order to reduce the consumption of power of the first power source. Re Claim 8; Fry discloses wherein the secondary power source of the portable power supply is a renewable energy source. (Fig. 1) Re Claim 9; Fry discloses wherein the secondary power source of the portable power supply is provided by the power input unit from an external power source. (Fig. 8) Re Claim 10; Fry discloses wherein the secondary power source of the portable power supply is provided by a peripheral device connected to the power output unit. (Par 0050) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fry in view of Lu and further in view of Srinivasan et al. (US 2017/0149256) . Re Claims 6, 7 16 and 17; Fry discloses wherein the controller Fry does not disclose is further configured to: select a charge rate for the internal power source based on the temperature of the internal power source and one or more temperature thresholds, wherein each of the one or more temperature thresholds is associated with a different charge rate. wherein the controller is further configured to: control operation of the thermal management system using the secondary power source based on the selected charge rate and temperature of the internal power source. However, Srinivasan discloses select a charge rate for the internal power source based on the temperature of the internal power source and one or more temperature thresholds, wherein each of the one or more temperature thresholds is associated with a different charge rate. wherein the controller is further configured to: control operation of the thermal management system using the secondary power source based on the selected charge rate and temperature of the internal power source. (Par 0039) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used a temperature-based monitoring system to control the state and charging of the battery as shown by Srinivasan, motivated by the desire to effectively charge the battery to extend the longevity of the battery . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues… Applicant argues that Fry fails to disclose a thermal management system that controls temperature independently of charging , and that Fry merely adjusts charging current based on temperature rather than enabling a thermal management system when charging is disabled. Applicant further argues that Fry does not disclose using a secondary power source to power thermal management when the internal battery reaches an end-of-discharge threshold, nor does Fry disclose any “recovery mode” in which thermal management is maintained while charging is disabled. Applicant also argues that Lu fails to disclose the amended sequence of operations specifically, enabling thermal management when temperature exceeds a threshold while charging is disabled , and then enabling charging only after temperature returns below the threshold. Applicant further argues that Lu does not disclose a secondary power source that selectively powers the thermal management system when the internal power source reaches an end-of-discharge threshold. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons. 1. Fry teaches temperature-based control that inherently manages battery temperature. Fry explicitly discloses that the first charging circuit 242 varies charging current based on battery temperature , stating: “the first charging circuit 242 varies a charging current based on the temperature of the battery pack 86, 90…” (Fry ¶55) While Applicant argues that this is not “controlling temperature,” the Examiner notes that varying charging current based on temperature is a well-established form of thermal management , because reducing or stopping charging current directly reduces heat generation within the cells. A POSITA would understand that controlling charging current in response to temperature is a method of controlling battery temperature , even if Fry does not use the same terminology as the claim. Additionally, Fry teaches that the controller 234 receives temperature information from the battery packs (Fry ¶37), and that charging behavior is modified accordingly. This is consistent with the claimed controller receiving a temperature signal and enabling a thermal management response. 2. Fry teaches disabling or reducing charging based on SOC and temperature, which corresponds to the claimed “charging disabled while thermal management is active.” Applicant argues that Fry does not disclose controlling temperature while charging is disabled. However, Fry teaches that charging is reduced or stopped when temperature or SOC conditions require it: “the first charging circuit 242 varies a charging current based on the temperature… the state of charge… and other factors.” (Fry ¶55) A POSITA would understand that when temperature exceeds safe limits, charging current is reduced to zero , which is equivalent to disabling charging. During this time, Fry continues to monitor temperature and SOC, which is consistent with maintaining thermal management while charging is disabled. Thus, Fry teaches the same functional behavior as the amended claim, even if Fry does not explicitly label it as a “recovery mode.” 3. Fry teaches the use of multiple power sources and selective power routing, which reasonably suggests powering subsystems including thermal management from alternate sources. Applicant argues that Fry discusses secondary power only for “normal operation,” not for powering thermal management when the internal battery is depleted. However, Fry teaches: “the charging circuit is configured to selectively receive power from the battery and the first power tool battery pack port…” (Fry ¶4) This demonstrates that Fry already provides selective power routing between multiple power sources . A POSITA would understand that if the system can route power from alternate sources to charge or operate other subsystems, it would have been obvious to route power to thermal management components as well particularly because thermal management is essential for safe charging and operation. The Examiner maintains that using an alternate power source to reduce load on a depleted internal battery is a predictable design choice , consistent with KSR’s guidance on combining known elements for predictable results. 4. Lu teaches the same temperature-based enable/disable sequence recited in the amended claim. Applicant argues that Lu does not teach enabling thermal management when temperature exceeds a threshold while charging is disabled. However, Lu explicitly discloses: “When the temperature… is greater than the first temperature threshold, the control unit controls the charging position to stop charging… and controls the first heat dissipation unit to work.” (Lu ¶170) This is exactly the claimed sequence: Temperature exceeds threshold Charging is stopped Thermal management is enabled Lu further teaches that charging resumes only when temperature returns to an acceptable range: “When the temperature… is between the first and second temperature thresholds, the control unit controls the charging position to work…” (Lu ¶170) This corresponds to the claim’s requirement that charging is enabled only after temperature falls below the threshold . Thus, Lu teaches the same control logic that Applicant asserts is missing. 5. While Lu does not explicitly disclose a secondary power source, its teachings reinforce the obviousness of using alternate power to maintain thermal management. Applicant is correct that Lu does not explicitly disclose a secondary power source. However, Lu teaches that thermal management must remain active even when charging is disabled , because temperature control is necessary for safe operation. Given that Fry already teaches multiple power sources and selective power routing , and Lu teaches thermal management during charging disablement , a POSITA would find it obvious to combine these teachings so that thermal management remains powered even when the internal battery is depleted. This is a predictable design choice that ensures safe operation and aligns with industry-standard battery protection practices. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL KESSIE whose telephone number is (571)272-4449. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8am-5pmEst. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rexford Barnie can be reached on (571) 272-7492. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANIEL KESSIE/ 01/18/26 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/326,758 Page 2 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/326,758 Page 3 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/326,758 Page 4 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/326,758 Page 5 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/326,758 Page 6 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/326,758 Page 7 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/326,758 Page 8 Art Unit: 2836