DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 06/20/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskela et al. (US 20210258062 A1) in view of Chavva et al. (US 20220255611 A1).
Consider claim 1, Koskela discloses an apparatus (read as the UE 510, figure 5, par [0055]-[0057]) comprising:
at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (read as the processor 511 and memory 512 comprising the computer program instructions, figure 5, par [0058]-[0062]), to cause the apparatus at least to:
determine orientation of the apparatus (read as sensor for determining orientation of the UE 510, figure 5, par [0057]);
receive reference signals of a non-serving cell (read as receiving reference signal (CSI-RS, SSB) of secondary serving cell/SCell, par [0016] and [0037]-[0041]);
measure signal quality of the non-serving cell for a beam that is used for the serving cell (read as measuring reference signal quality (RSRP, RSRQ, etc.) on beams and using the same spatial filter/beam for PCell (primary cell) and SCell (secondary cell), par [0039]-[0040] and [0053]-[0054]);
determine measurement for the non-serving cell with said beam in response to adding the non-serving cell as a secondary cell in multicarrier connectivity with a serving cell using the same antenna configuration for shaping an antenna beam that provides a spatial filter (read as the multicarrier/multi-cell operation/connectivity with PCell and SCell, with selection of candidate SCell antenna beams based on measurements, and re-using the same antenna beam/spatial filter across PCell and SCell, par [0016]-[0018], [0036]-[0040] and [0053]-[0054]);
transmit to a base station of the serving cell information on said determined measurement (read as UE transmitting to serving cell (base station) information including beam/measurement data corresponding to SCell candidates, par [0017] and [0039]-[0040]).
However, Koskela discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose the determine measurement as determine based on the orientation of the apparatus a first antenna gain index.
Nonetheless, Chavva discloses a method and apparatus for selecting beam in a beamforming based communication system, which the UE determine its orientation using sensor, estimates the beam/antenna gain based on the determined orientations; specifically, the UE determines the its orientation and RSRP (beam-specific signal quality), associates the orientation with RSRP per beam and uses orientation-dependent gain (sensor/beam gain) as a metric (i.e. index) for selecting beams for communication between the UE 104 and the base station 102, par [0102], [0126]-[0129], [0134]-[0135] and [0140]-[0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of Koskela to apply Chavva’s orientation-based gain/metric estimation into Koskela’s multi-carrier (PCell/SCell) beam recovery and candidate SCell beam selection in order to improve robustness of beam selection across PCell/SCell when the UE device is rotated.
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to: determine based on the orientation of the apparatus a second antenna gain index for the serving cell with said beam in response to adding said non-serving cell as the secondary cell in multicarrier connectivity with a serving cell using the same beam; and transmit to the base station information on said determined second antenna gain (read as the orientation-dependent sensor/beam gain applies to Tx and Rx pairs generally, irrespective of a particular cell, and it used to estimate and update gain as the device orientation changes (fig. 6, par [0134]-[0135] of Chavva); and the uses of same RX beam/spatial filter for PCell and SCell (par [0053]-[0054] of Koskela), so the orientation-based gain metric/index would naturally be associated with both the SCell and PCell using that beam for communication with the base station).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to: store information on the orientation of the apparatus (read as the memory for storing the data for the beamforming operation, par [0057] and [0061] of Koskela, par [0167]-[0117] of Chavva); detect change in the orientation of the apparatus; and determine said first antenna gain for the non-serving cell and said second antenna gain for the serving cell based on the stored information on the orientation of the apparatus and on a determined change in the orientation of the apparatus (read as estimate the change in sensor gain in direction of AoA based on the change in orientation of the UE 104 and uses orientation to derive beam selection metric (par [0135] and [0140]-[0143] of Chavva).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to: determine change in orientation of antenna system of the apparatus based on the change in orientation of the apparatus; and determine the first antenna gain index for the non-serving cell and the second antenna gain index for the serving cell based on a determined change in the orientation of the antenna system of the apparatus (read as estimate the change in sensor gain in direction of AoA based on the change in orientation of the UE 104 and uses orientation to derive beam selection metric (par [0135] and [0140]-[0143] of Chavva) but does not specifically disclose the antenna system is antenna arrays.
Nonetheless, Chavva further disclose the antenna system of the UE comprising antenna arrays 204a as shown in figure 1, par [0100].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of Koskela, which modified by Chavva, to design the antenna system as antenna arrays in order to provide the ability to electronically steer the beam without physical movement.
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to: store information on the beam of the serving cell (read as the memory for storing the data for the beamforming operation, par [0057] and [0061] of Koskela, par [0167]-[0117] of Chavva); detect change in the beam of the serving cell; determine the first antenna gain index for the non-serving cell and the second antenna gain index for the serving cell based on the stored information on the beam of the serving cell and on the change in the beam of the serving cell; and transmit to a base station of the serving cell information on said determined first and second antenna gain (read as the orientation-dependent sensor/beam gain applies to Tx and Rx pairs generally, irrespective of a particular cell, and it used to estimate and update gain as the device orientation changes (fig. 6, par [0134]-[0135] of Chavva); and the uses of same RX beam/spatial filter for PCell and SCell (par [0053]-[0054] of Koskela), so the orientation-based gain metric/index would naturally be associated with both the SCell and PCell using that beam for communication with the base station).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to measure the signal quality of a non-serving cell by using a wide beam measurement and a narrow beam measurement applied to the beam that is used for the serving cell (read as the refined (narrow) beams with higher gain and candidate beam measurements, and the common practice of using both wide and narrow beams to characterize a cell, using both wide-beam and narrow-beam measurements of a non-serving cell (SCell) on the beam used for the serving cell (PCEll), par [0037], [0036]-[0040] and [0053]-[0057]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to measure the signal quality of the non-serving cell in response to the change exceeding a threshold value in the signal quality of the serving cell or in response to reaching a timer limit (read as using a threshold TH1 based on signal quality (RSRP) to select candidate beams: the threshold TH1 maybe be a network configured candidate beam select threshold, such as SS/PBCH Block (SSB) signal quality, include RSRP; when the candidate beam selections are above the threshold, the UE would consider the SSB as a potential beam failure recovery candidate, par [0054]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 7 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to receive said threshold value from network equipment (read as the threshold TH1 may be a network configured candidate beam selection threshold, such as an SS/PBCH Block (SSB) signal quality, including RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR, par [0054]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 7 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (read as the processor 511 and memory 512 comprising the computer program instructions, figure 5, par [0058]-[0062]) and measure signal quality in response a parameter received from network equipment (read as the threshold TH1 may be a network configured candidate beam selection threshold, such as an SS/PBCH Block (SSB) signal quality, including RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR, par [0054]) but does not specifically disclose the parameter as a timer limit.
Nonetheless, Chavva further discloses AOA monitor timer in step 701 used as a local UE timer used to control when orientation/beam statistics are recomputed, figure 7, par [0299]-[0305].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of Koskela, which modified by Chavva, to design the UE the perform the measurement according to a timer to allow the UE to report the results periodically.
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses a user equipment comprising the apparatus of claim 1 (read as the user equipment as mobile phone, par [0055]-[0057]).
Consider claim 11, Koskela discloses a method (read as method performed by the UE 510, figure 5, par [0055]-[0057]) comprising:
determining orientation of an apparatus (read as sensor for determining orientation of the UE 510, figure 5, par [0057]);
measuring signal quality of a non-serving cell for a beam that is used for the serving cell (read as measuring reference signal quality (RSRP, RSRQ, etc.) on beams and using the same spatial filter/beam for PCell (primary cell) and SCell (secondary cell), par [0039]-[0040] and [0053]-[0054]);
determining a first measurement for the non-serving cell with said beam in response to adding the non-serving cell as a secondary cell in multicarrier connectivity with a serving cell using the same beam (read as the multicarrier/multi-cell operation/connectivity with PCell and SCell, with selection of candidate SCell antenna beams based on measurements of the SCell, and re-using the same antenna beam/spatial filter across PCell and SCell, par [0016]-[0018], [0036]-[0040] and [0053]-[0054]);
determining a second measurement for the serving cell with said beam in response to adding said non-serving cell as the secondary cell in multicarrier connectivity with the serving cell using the same beam (read as the multicarrier/multi-cell operation/connectivity with PCell and SCell, with selection of candidate SCell antenna beams based on measurements of the PCell, and re-using the same antenna beam/spatial filter across PCell and SCell, par [0016]-[0018], [0036]-[0040] and [0053]-[0054]); and
transmitting to a base station of the serving cell information on said determined measurements (read as UE transmitting to serving cell (base station) information including beam/measurement data corresponding to SCell candidates, par [0017] and [0039]-[0040]).
However, Koskela discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose the determine measurement as determine based on the orientation of the apparatus a first antenna gain index and a second antenna gain index.
Nonetheless, Chavva discloses a method and apparatus for selecting beam in a beamforming based communication system, which the UE determine its orientation using sensor, estimates the beam/antenna gain based on the determined orientations; specifically, the UE determines the its orientation and RSRP (beam-specific signal quality), associates the orientation with RSRP per beam and uses orientation-dependent gain (sensor/beam gain) as a metric (i.e. index) for selecting beams for communication between the UE 104 and the base station 102, par [0102], [0126]-[0129], [0134]-[0135] and [0140]-[0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of Koskela to apply Chavva’s orientation-based gain/metric estimation into Koskela’s multi-carrier (PCell/SCell) beam recovery and candidate SCell beam selection in order to improve robustness of beam selection across PCell/SCell when the UE device is rotated.
Consider claim 12, Koskela discloses a computer program product embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and comprising a computer program code readable by a computer, wherein the computer program code configures the computer to carry out a computer process in an apparatus (read as the processor 511 and memory 512 comprising the computer program instructions, figure 5, par [0058]-[0062]), the computer process comprising:
determining orientation of an apparatus (read as sensor for determining orientation of the UE 510, figure 5, par [0057]);
measuring signal quality of a non-serving cell for a beam that is used for the serving cell (read as measuring reference signal quality (RSRP, RSRQ, etc.) on beams and using the same spatial filter/beam for PCell (primary cell) and SCell (secondary cell), par [0039]-[0040] and [0053]-[0054]);
determining a first measurement for the non-serving cell with said beam in response to adding the non-serving cell as a secondary cell in multicarrier connectivity with a serving cell using the same beam (read as the multicarrier/multi-cell operation/connectivity with PCell and SCell, with selection of candidate SCell antenna beams based on measurements of the SCell, and re-using the same antenna beam/spatial filter across PCell and SCell, par [0016]-[0018], [0036]-[0040] and [0053]-[0054]);
determining a second measurement for the serving cell with said beam in response to adding said non-serving cell as the secondary cell in multicarrier connectivity with the serving cell using the same beam (read as the multicarrier/multi-cell operation/connectivity with PCell and SCell, with selection of candidate SCell antenna beams based on measurements of the PCell, and re-using the same antenna beam/spatial filter across PCell and SCell, par [0016]-[0018], [0036]-[0040] and [0053]-[0054]); and
transmitting to a base station of the serving cell information on said determined measurements (read as UE transmitting to serving cell (base station) information including beam/measurement data corresponding to SCell candidates, par [0017] and [0039]-[0040]).
However, Koskela discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose the determine measurement as determine based on the orientation of the apparatus a first antenna gain index and a second antenna gain index.
Nonetheless, Chavva discloses a method and apparatus for selecting beam in a beamforming based communication system, which the UE determine its orientation using sensor, estimates the beam/antenna gain based on the determined orientations; specifically, the UE determines the its orientation and RSRP (beam-specific signal quality), associates the orientation with RSRP per beam and uses orientation-dependent gain (sensor/beam gain) as a metric (i.e. index) for selecting beams for communication between the UE 104 and the base station 102, par [0102], [0126]-[0129], [0134]-[0135] and [0140]-[0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of Koskela to apply Chavva’s orientation-based gain/metric estimation into Koskela’s multi-carrier (PCell/SCell) beam recovery and candidate SCell beam selection in order to improve robustness of beam selection across PCell/SCell when the UE device is rotated.
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 11 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses determining based on the orientation of the apparatus a second antenna gain index for the serving cell with said beam in response to adding said non-serving cell as the secondary cell in multicarrier connectivity with a serving cell using the same beam; and transmitting to the base station information on said determined second antenna gain (read as the orientation-dependent sensor/beam gain applies to Tx and Rx pairs generally, irrespective of a particular cell, and it used to estimate and update gain as the device orientation changes (fig. 6, par [0134]-[0135] of Chavva); and the uses of same RX beam/spatial filter for PCell and SCell (par [0053]-[0054] of Koskela), so the orientation-based gain metric/index would naturally be associated with both the SCell and PCell using that beam for communication with the base station).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 11 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses storing information on the orientation of the apparatus; detecting change in the orientation of the apparatus (read as the memory for storing the data for the beamforming operation, par [0057] and [0061] of Koskela, par [0167]-[0117] of Chavva); detect change in the orientation of the apparatus; and determine said first antenna gain for the non-serving cell and said second antenna gain for the serving cell based on the stored information on the orientation of the apparatus and on a determined change in the orientation of the apparatus (read as estimate the change in sensor gain in direction of AoA based on the change in orientation of the UE 104 and uses orientation to derive beam selection metric (par [0135] and [0140]-[0143] of Chavva).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses determine change in orientation of antenna system of the apparatus based on the change in orientation of the apparatus; and determine the first antenna gain index for the non-serving cell and the second antenna gain index for the serving cell based on a determined change in the orientation of the antenna system of the apparatus (read as estimate the change in sensor gain in direction of AoA based on the change in orientation of the UE 104 and uses orientation to derive beam selection metric (par [0135] and [0140]-[0143] of Chavva) but does not specifically disclose the antenna system is antenna arrays.
Nonetheless, Chavva further disclose the antenna system of the UE comprising antenna arrays 204a as shown in figure 1, par [0100].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of Koskela, which modified by Chavva, to design the antenna system as antenna arrays in order to provide the ability to electronically steer the beam without physical movement.
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 11 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses storing information on the beam of the serving cell (read as the memory for storing the data for the beamforming operation, par [0057] and [0061] of Koskela, par [0167]-[0117] of Chavva); detect change in the beam of the serving cell; determine the first antenna gain index for the non-serving cell and the second antenna gain index for the serving cell based on the stored information on the beam of the serving cell and on the change in the beam of the serving cell; and transmit to a base station of the serving cell information on said determined first and second antenna gain (read as the orientation-dependent sensor/beam gain applies to Tx and Rx pairs generally, irrespective of a particular cell, and it used to estimate and update gain as the device orientation changes (fig. 6, par [0134]-[0135] of Chavva); and the uses of same RX beam/spatial filter for PCell and SCell (par [0053]-[0054] of Koskela), so the orientation-based gain metric/index would naturally be associated with both the SCell and PCell using that beam for communication with the base station).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 11 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses measuring the signal quality of a non-serving cell by using a wide beam measurement and a narrow beam measurement applied to the beam that is used for the serving cell (read as the refined (narrow) beams with higher gain and candidate beam measurements, and the common practice of using both wide and narrow beams to characterize a cell, using both wide-beam and narrow-beam measurements of a non-serving cell (SCell) on the beam used for the serving cell (PCEll), par [0037], [0036]-[0040] and [0053]-[0057]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 11 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses measuring the signal quality of the non-serving cell in response to the change exceeding a threshold value in the signal quality of the serving cell or in response to reaching a timer limit (read as using a threshold TH1 based on signal quality (RSRP) to select candidate beams: the threshold TH1 maybe be a network configured candidate beam select threshold, such as SS/PBCH Block (SSB) signal quality, include RSRP; when the candidate beam selections are above the threshold, the UE would consider the SSB as a potential beam failure recovery candidate, par [0054]).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses receiving said threshold value from network equipment (read as the threshold TH1 may be a network configured candidate beam selection threshold, such as an SS/PBCH Block (SSB) signal quality, including RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR, par [0054]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 18 above, Koskela, as modified by Chavva, discloses measure signal quality in response a parameter received from network equipment (read as the threshold TH1 may be a network configured candidate beam selection threshold, such as an SS/PBCH Block (SSB) signal quality, including RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR, par [0054]) but does not specifically disclose the parameter as a timer limit.
Nonetheless, Chavva further discloses AOA monitor timer in step 701 used as a local UE timer used to control when orientation/beam statistics are recomputed, figure 7, par [0299]-[0305].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of Koskela, which modified by Chavva, to design the UE the perform the measurement according to a timer to allow the UE to report the results periodically.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027 in view of Chavva et al. (US 20220255611 A1).
Consider claims 1, 11 and 12, claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027 discloses all the limitations except determine orientation of the apparatus and determine based on the orientation of the apparatus a first antenna gain index and/or a second antenna gain index.
Nonetheless, Chavva discloses a method and apparatus for selecting beam in a beamforming based communication system, which the UE determine its orientation using sensor, estimates the beam/antenna gain based on the determined orientations; specifically, the UE determines the its orientation and RSRP (beam-specific signal quality), associates the orientation with RSRP per beam and uses orientation-dependent gain (sensor/beam gain) as a metric (i.e. index) for selecting beams for communication between the UE 104 and the base station 102, par [0102], [0126]-[0129], [0134]-[0135] and [0140]-[0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027 to apply Chavva’s orientation-based gain/metric estimation into claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027’s multicarrier connectivity operation in order to improve robustness of beam selection across primary cell and secondary cell when the UE device is rotated.
Claims 2-10 and 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027 in view of Chavva et al. (US 20220255611 A1), and in further view of Koskela et al. (US 20210258062 A1).
Consider 2, 3, 5-10, 13, 14 and 16-20, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027, as modified by Chavva, discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose all of the limitations for each of these claims.
However, Koskela discloses what’s lacking in the combination of claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027 and Chavva (see respective claim rejection in the 35 USC 103 rejection above for details on how Koskela teaches what’s lacking for each of the claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Koskela into the teachings of claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027, which modified by Chavva, to incorporate Koskela’s beam selection system for PCell and SCell in order to improve robustness of the cell adding/activating operation.
Consider claims 4 and 15, as applied to claims 3 and 14 respectively above, claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027, as modified by Chavva, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to: determine change in orientation of antenna system of the apparatus based on the change in orientation of the apparatus; and determine the first antenna gain index for the non-serving cell and the second antenna gain index for the serving cell based on a determined change in the orientation of the antenna system of the apparatus (read as estimate the change in sensor gain in direction of AoA based on the change in orientation of the UE 104 and uses orientation to derive beam selection metric (par [0135] and [0140]-[0143] of Chavva) but does not specifically disclose the antenna system is antenna arrays.
Nonetheless, Chavva further disclose the antenna system of the UE comprising antenna arrays 204a as shown in figure 1, par [0100].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Chavva into the teachings of claims 23 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/855,027, which modified by Chavva, to design the antenna system as antenna arrays in order to provide the ability to electronically steer the beam without physical movement.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645