DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
Initially, please note that if a claim recites any limitation that is not supported in the prior-filed application, then the entire claim loses the benefit of priority to the prior-filed application, and since dependent claims inherit the limitations of the parent claim(s), the dependent claims also lose the benefit of priority to the prior-filed application.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 15214211, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Regarding independent claim 1, at least the following limitations are not supported under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description:
identifying an energy usage aberration unrelated to the energy saving changes in a second time period after the first time period;
adjusting the calibrated simulation to account for the energy usage aberration, to derive an adjusted calibrated simulation;
receiving a second metered energy usage, for the building, for the second time period;
comparing the second metered energy usage to the adjusted calibrated simulation;
identifying a difference between the second metered energy usage and the adjusted calibrated simulation;
These limitations are supported in the instant application, at least in figure 55, which was added as new matter in the parent application 16667672.
Regarding dependent claims 2-20, the dependent claims inherit the limitations of parent claim 1, and thus also are not supported under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 13670287, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Regarding independent claim 1, at least the following limitations are not supported 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description:
identifying an energy usage aberration unrelated to the energy saving changes in a second time period after the first time period;
adjusting the calibrated simulation to account for the energy usage aberration, to derive an adjusted calibrated simulation;
receiving a second metered energy usage, for the building, for the second time period;
comparing the second metered energy usage to the adjusted calibrated simulation;
identifying a difference between the second metered energy usage and the adjusted calibrated simulation;
These limitations are supported in the instant application, at least in figure 55, which was added as new matter in the parent application 16667672.
Regarding dependent claims 2-20, the dependent claims inherit the limitations of parent claim 1, and thus also are not supported under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental processes and mathematical relationships) without significantly more. Claim 1 recites:
A system for analyzing energy savings of a building energy savings changes comprising: (this falls within the statutory categories of invention)
an energy provider processor, for collecting and storing low integrity energy usage data in a mass storage database; a data correction processor, operatively connected to the mass storage database, having a first memory; a dedicated savings calculation processor, operatively connected to the data correction processor, having a second memory; and the first memory and the second memory including a set of program instructions that when executed cause the system to perform the steps of: (this amounts to generic computer components being invoked merely as tools to carry out the claimed tasks, equivalent to mere instructions to apply the exception with generic computer components as per MPEP 2106.05(f).)
receiving, at the data correction processor, the low integrity energy usage data from the mass storage database; (the act of receiving data is insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering as per MPEP 2106.05(g). The data itself is numerical in nature and used for calculations.)
correcting the low integrity energy usage data, by interpolation to replace at least one missing data point, to derive a first metered energy usage, for the building, for a first time period prior to the energy saving changes; (interpolation is a mathematical calculation done on numerical data according to a mathematical algorithm, and therefore this falls within the scope of mathematical relationships)
simulating a hypothetical energy usage, at the dedicated savings calculating processor, for the first time period, to derive a baseline simulation; (a person can mentally perform a rough estimation that falls within the scope of this simulation with evaluations and judgements, alternatively this is done according to the mathematical equations detailed throughout the instant application’s specification, and falls within the scope of mathematical relationships)
calibrating the baseline simulation against the first metered energy usage to derive a calibrated simulation; (a person can do this mentally with evaluations and judgements, alternatively the calibration is done according to the mathematical equations detailed in the specification and falls within the scope of mathematical relationships)
identifying an energy usage aberration unrelated to the energy saving changes in a second time period after the first time period; (a person can do this with mental observations and judgements)
adjusting the calibrated simulation to account for the energy usage aberration, to derive an adjusted calibrated simulation; (a person can do this with mental evaluations and judgements)
receiving a second metered energy usage, for the building, for the second time period; (as with the previous step of receiving data, the act of receiving data is insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering as per MPEP 2106.05(g). The data itself is numerical in nature and used for calculations)
comparing the second metered energy usage to the adjusted calibrated simulation; (This comparison is done numerically and with mathematical algorithms and falls within the scope of mathematical relationships.)
identifying a difference between the second metered energy usage and the adjusted calibrated simulation; and (This is a numerical subtraction operation and falls within the scope of mathematical relationships.)
calculating an energy savings based on the difference. (this is a mathematical calculation done according to a specific equation, such as that provided in claim 19 or 20)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites the following additional elements: 1) mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (the processor/memory), 2) generally linking the use of the exception to the technical field of building management, and 3) insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering (receiving data). The processor/memory is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor/memory performing a generic computer function of executing instructions and storing data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The specification that data is received is only tangentially linked to the calculation and analysis steps, and does not meaningfully limit the claim. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor/memory to perform the claimed steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims, claims 2-20, only recite features falling within the scope of the above analysis, with the addition of further features directed to displaying results. These display steps amount to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, notably similar to example iii. of such in MPEP 2106.05(g). They remain ineligible for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sons (US 20140129197 A1) in view of Hoey (US 20140032506 A1) and Reddy (S.N. Reddy et al., “Determination of retrofit savings using a calibrated building energy simulation model,” 1994, Proceedings of the Ninth Symposium on Improving Building Systems in Hot and Humid Climates, 13 pages).
Regarding Claim 1:
Sons teaches:
A system for analyzing energy savings of a building energy savings changes comprising: (¶39 Referring to FIG. 1, buildings 101 are analyzed for energy cost savings according to adjustments to building systems 120.)
a first metered energy usage (¶40 The amount of energy provided is monitored and recorded by onsite energy meter 103 in a set of time intervals.; ¶41 Referring to FIG. 2, adjustment simulator method 200 is shown. At step 202, the historical energy usage is received and converted to an actual energy usage profile comprising an actual monthly electricity consumption and an actual monthly heating fuel consumption for a building for a set of months.)
simulating a hypothetical energy usage, at the dedicated savings calculating processor, for the first time period, to derive a baseline simulation; (¶41 ... At step 206, a baseline energy usage profile is derived by performing an energy consumption simulation using the baseline configuration)
calibrating the baseline simulation against the first metered energy usage to derive a calibrated simulation; (¶41 At step 210, the baseline configuration is calibrated to the actual energy usage profile. Step 210 results in a calibrated baseline configuration and a calibrated baseline energy usage profile; Fig. 8; ¶100 Referring to FIG. 8, calibration process 210 is performed on a baseline configuration with a baseline energy usage profile)
Sons does not teach in particular, but Hoey teaches:
an energy provider processor, for collecting and storing low integrity energy usage data in a mass storage database; (¶53 the recent raw data received from one or more meter devices 110 (such as the meter device having a gap in time series data), may reside in the data warehouse 130, and/or may reside in the analytical database 160)
a data correction processor, operatively connected to the mass storage database, having a first memory; (¶15 The computing units may be connected with each other by a telecommunication network.)
a dedicated savings calculation processor, operatively connected to the data correction processor, having a second memory; and (¶15 The computing units may be connected with each other by a telecommunication network.)
the first memory and the second memory including a set of program instructions that when executed cause the system to perform the steps of: (¶14 The various memories of the computing unit may facilitate the storage of one or more computer instructions, such as a software routine and/or software program, which may be executable)
receiving, at the data correction processor, the low integrity energy usage data from the mass storage database; correcting the low integrity energy usage data, by interpolation to replace at least one missing data point, to derive a first metered energy usage, for the building, for a first time period prior to the energy saving changes; (¶23 A meter device 110 may comprise a utility meter, sub-meter, sensor, or any device directly or indirectly capable of providing information about a facility. For example, a meter devices 110 may indirectly provide information through a building management system (“BMS”); ¶24 the meter device 110 may detect and/or collect information corresponding to utility consumption and may communicate the same or related information via a network. Utility consumption may comprise the use of one or more utilities and/or power sources. For example, utility consumption may comprise the use of water, electricity, natural and/or other gas, and may comprise the use of other sources that provide heating, cooling, electricity, water, lighting, and the like to a facility, such as a building.; ¶52 A gap in time series data occurs when the data point representing an expected time interval is absent. Error detection (220) may comprise the identification of a gap; ¶54 Error correction (230) may comprise correcting a gap by estimating the one or more time series data points that are absent.; ¶53 the detected gaps in time series data may be filled through the execution of data modeling methods. This may be referred to as data forecasting. Data forecasting may comprise the use of historical time series data as the basis of estimating the missing time series data points. Data forecasting may comprise calculating any number or combination of moving averages, weighted moving averages, extrapolations, interpolations ... the historical time series data may comprise the recent raw data received from one or more meter devices 110 ... may reside in the analytical database 160)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the data detection, correction, and transformation of Hoey to the metered data of Sons, in order to mitigate factors that inhibit a real-time, accurate, and comprehensive analysis of time series data (Hoey, ¶2).
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
identifying an energy usage aberration unrelated to the energy saving changes in a second time period after the first time period; (p.155, col 1, The unexpected simulation result of outside-air dependent loads led to the discovery that the DOE-2 default HVAC system control strategy assumes economizer operation. When economizer operation was eliminated, the resulting cooling loads were found to be fairly independent of outside-air temperature. Thus, the user must carefully check all default parameters in the DOE-2 input.; see also p.163-164 “DOE-2 MODEL VALIDATION”, and table 3, also “4. Finally, comparison Finally, comparison of postretrofit DOE-2 model (derived from a preretrofit calibration) results with monitored data for the postretrofit period show the reliability of retrofit savings predicted by the calibrated model.”)
adjusting the calibrated simulation to account for the energy usage aberration, to derive an adjusted calibrated simulation; (p.155, col 1, The unexpected simulation result of outside-air dependent loads led to the discovery that the DOE-2 default HVAC system control strategy assumes economizer operation. When economizer operation was eliminated, the resulting cooling loads were found to be fairly independent of outside-air temperature. Thus, the user must carefully check all default parameters in the DOE-2 input. Examiner notes that eliminating the economizer operation falls within the scope of the claim language here; see also above cited sections of Reddy on p.163-164.)
receiving a second metered energy usage, for the building, for the second time period; (see above cited sections of Reddy on p.163-164.)
comparing the second metered energy usage to the adjusted calibrated simulation; (see above cited sections of Reddy on p.163-164, notably Table 3 shows monitored energy usage compared to the post-retrofit DOE-2 simulation)
identifying a difference between the second metered energy usage and the adjusted calibrated simulation; and (see above cited sections of Reddy on p.163-164, notably Table 3 shows the difference between monitored energy usage compared to the post-retrofit DOE-2 simulation)
calculating an energy savings based on the difference. (see above cited sections of Reddy on p.163-164, notably Table 3 shows the percent energy difference (savings plus or minus) between monitored energy usage compared to the post-retrofit DOE-2 simulation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2:
Sons further teaches:
wherein the step of simulating the hypothetical energy usage comprises the further steps of: applying a set of simulation parameters. (¶41 Referring to FIG. 2, adjustment simulator method 200 is shown. .... At step 204, a baseline configuration is compiled from weather data, a set of occupancy parameters describing building operations 119 and a set of building physical parameters describing building systems 120. The weather data, set of occupancy parameters and set of building physical parameters form a baseline configuration for the building. At step 206, a baseline energy usage profile is derived by performing an energy consumption simulation using the baseline configuration)
Regarding Claim 3:
Sons further teaches:
wherein the set of simulation parameters further comprise: a set of weather data for the building; a set of operations parameters for the building; and a set of physical parameters for the building. (¶41 Referring to FIG. 2, adjustment simulator method 200 is shown. .... At step 204, a baseline configuration is compiled from weather data, a set of occupancy parameters describing building operations 119 and a set of building physical parameters describing building systems 120. The weather data, set of occupancy parameters and set of building physical parameters form a baseline configuration for the building. At step 206, a baseline energy usage profile is derived by performing an energy consumption simulation using the baseline configuration)
Regarding Claim 6:
Sons further teaches:
wherein the set of simulation parameters further comprise: at least one energy usage function. (¶58 At step 539, a set of plug load energy intensities are received for the building configuration. The set of plug load energy intensities describe the energy consumed for accessory electrical and electronic equipment per unit floor area (e.g. Watts/sq. ft.) for different states of occupancy; ¶59 At step 540, a heating load and a cooling load is calculated for the building. A heating system size is calculated from the heating load. A cooling system size is calculated from the cooling load. The set of mechanical systems parameters are updated to reflect the calculated heating system size and the calculated cooling system size.; ¶85-86 a set of monthly peak heat gains from plug loads is also calculated according to a preferred embodiment as …)
Regarding Claim 7:
Sons further teaches:
a first electrical energy consumption function, related to the set of simulation parameters, for a set of lighting systems of a building; (¶76, ¶58-60)
a second electrical energy consumption function, related to the set of simulation parameters, for a set of plug loads of the building; (¶58-60)
a third electrical energy consumption function, related to the set of simulation parameters, for a set of heating systems of the building; (¶92, ¶58-60)
a fourth electrical energy consumption function, related to the set of simulation parameters, for a set of cooling systems of the building; (¶87, ¶58-60)
a fifth electrical energy consumption function, related to the set of simulation parameters, for a set of hot water systems of the building; (¶93, ¶58-60)
a sixth electrical energy consumption function, related to the set of simulation parameters, for a set of fans of the building; and (¶88, ¶58-60)
a seventh electrical energy consumption function, related to the set of simulation parameters, for a set of pump motors of the building. (¶87, ¶58-60)
Regarding Claim 8:
Sons further teaches:
applying a validation tolerance for a third time period; (Figure 8, element 876 performs a comparison to a first condition, which is a validation tolerance, and was thus provided, and since the singular implies the plural, and element 876 is in a loop, the figure would have fairly suggested performing for a third time period,)
deriving a comparison between the baseline simulation to the first metered energy usage for the third time period; (Figure 8, element 872 compares the baseline to the energy usage, see figure 8 above, and since the singular implies the plural, and element 872 is in a loop, the figure would have fairly suggested performing for a third time period)
if the comparison fails to meet the validation tolerance, then adjusting the baseline simulation; and (Figure 8, element 876 performs the comparison, and if the comparison fails, then the baseline is adjusted in elements 880 and 882, see figure 8 above)
if the comparison meets the validation tolerance, then identifying the baseline simulation as the calibrated simulation. (Figure 8, element 876 performs the comparison, and if the comparison is acceptable, then the baseline is identified as calibrated in element 892, see figure 8 above)
Regarding Claim 9:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
wherein the step of identifying the energy usage aberration further comprises: identifying an energy usage condition during the second time period that did not exist during the first time period. (p.163-164 as cited for claim 1, notably including: “the energy conservation measures are energy usage conditions that are not in the preretrofit model”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 10:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
wherein the step of adjusting the calibrated simulation further comprises: modifying a set of simulation parameters, for the calibrated simulation, corresponding to the energy usage condition. (p.163-164 as cited for claim 1, notably including: “The postretrofit model, developed by incorporating the energy conservation measures into the calibrated preretrofit model...”, which implies modifying the simulation parameters to represent the energy conservation measures)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 11:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
wherein the step of calculating the energy savings further comprises: subtracting the second metered energy usage from the adjusted calibrated simulation. (p.163-164 as cited for claim 1, notably including Table 3, which shows the second metered energy use subtracted from the adjusted simulation (DOE2 – Monitored))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 12:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
generating a set of energy program savings cards to display the energy savings. (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Table 3 of Reddy falls within the scope of “energy program saving cards”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 13:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
wherein the set of energy program savings cards further comprises one of a group of a savings trends card, a cost and consumption trends card, an energy program savings card, and an energy use index card. (see p.163-164, notably Table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 14:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
wherein the savings trends card further comprises: a cumulative savings display and a monthly savings display; and a data selection switch for modifying an input data set related to the cumulative savings display and the monthly savings display. (See Table 3 of Reddy, and in the event it is argued that Reddy does not fully disclose this feature, note that this is an optional limitation as only one of a savings trends card, a cost and consumption trends card, an energy program savings card, and an energy use index card is required to be present per claim 12, and thereby even with this limitation, Table 3 renders the claims obvious by disclosing a different type of card, e.g. what would fall within the scope of an energy use index card.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 15:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
wherein the cost and consumption trends card further comprises: an unadjusted utility bill data display and a commodity usage display; and a data selection switch for modifying an input data set related to the unadjusted utility bill data display and the commodity usage display. (See Table 3 of Reddy, and in the event it is argued that Reddy does not fully disclose this feature, note that this is an optional limitation as only one of a savings trends card, a cost and consumption trends card, an energy program savings card, and an energy use index card is required to be present per claim 12, and thereby even with this limitation, Table 3 renders the claims obvious by disclosing a different type of card, e.g. what would fall within the scope of an energy use index card.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 16:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
a monthly energy use index display and a rolling annual energy use index; and a data selection switch for modifying an input data set related to the monthly energy use index display and the rolling annual energy use index. (See Table 3 of Reddy, and in the event it is argued that Reddy does not fully disclose this feature, note that this is an optional limitation as only one of a savings trends card, a cost and consumption trends card, an energy program savings card, and an energy use index card is required to be present per claim 12, and thereby even with this limitation, Table 3 renders the claims obvious by disclosing a different type of card, e.g. what would fall within the scope of an energy use index card.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 17:
Sons further teaches:
wherein the energy program savings card further comprises a display of: (¶37 digital computer includes a user interface system including a display device)
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
a base period billed cost; a current period billed cost; a base period adjusted current cost; (p.162, Table 2)
a first difference between the base period billed cost and the current billed cost; and a second difference between the current period billed cost and the base period adjusted current cost. (Table 3, note that integrating the comparison features of Table 2 and 3 amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, aka KSR Rationale (B).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 18:
Sons does not teach in particular, but Reddy teaches:
Wherein the energy program savings card further comprises: an energy program savings equation display; (Table 3 – note the data is the result of equations and is being displayed, thereby falling within the scope of the claim language)
a base period consumption display; an adjustment consumption display; a current bill consumption display; and (Table 3)
an all-in-rate display. (Table 2, note that integrating the comparison features of Table 2 and 3 amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, aka KSR Rationale (B).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the modeling and analysis features of Reddy to the simulations and analysis of Sons as modified by Hoey, in order to develop a robust methodology to determine retrofit energy and cost savings in commercial buildings when few measured data are available for the preretrofit condition. (Reddy, p.153, column 1, last paragraph).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 4 and 5 recites a highly detailed methodology for calculating parameters based on heating or cooling days with standard deviation and variation. Claims 19 and 20 require explicit display of an extremely specific equation in the context of previous limitations (not equation results, displaying the actual equation). The closest prior art is Sons, as cited above, but this is silent for these specific features.
Conclusion
/BIJAN MAPAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2189