DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 03/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARTWRIGHT et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0313307, hereinafter CARTWRIGHT).
Regarding claims 1-3, CARTWRIGHT teaches fiber-reinforced polymer composites (Abstract) wherein the composites comprise polymer matrix (e.g. elastomer) reinforced with a plurality of fibers [0042]. The composites can be used for rebar (Claim 12). The polymer include polyurethane , thermoplastic elastomers, plasticized epoxies ([0053]; Claims 3 and 4), and vinyl ester [0082] in the range between about 30 vol% to about 70 vol% [0059] and the fibers include carbon [0046] and continuous fibers including fiberglass in the range between about 30 vol% to about 70 vol% [0061].
The elastomer may be impregnated into a dry preform of the selected plurality of fibers [0059]. The invention may be applied to a variety of applications including civil engineering, structures, buildings, bridges, and etc. [0096].
However, CARTWRIGHT does not explicitly teach 55-85 vol. % of a fiber mixture.
Given CARTWRIGHT teaches the polymer matrix is reinforced with a plurality of fibers of carbon fibers and fiberglass in the range between about 30 vol% to about 70 vol%, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the portion of the prior art's range which is within the range of applicant's claims because it has been held to be obvious to select a value in a known range by optimization for the best results. As to optimization results, a patent will not be granted based upon the optimization of result effective variables when the optimization is obtained through routine experimentation unless there is a showing of unexpected results which properly rebuts the prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Boesch, 627 F.2d 272,276,205 USPQ 215,219 (CCPA 1980). See also In re Woodruff 919 F.2d 1575, 1578,16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990), and In re AIIer, 220 F.2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CARTWRIGHT et al., one of the closest prior art of record fails to disclose the FRP rebar comprises 1-3 wt% of a coupling agent and wherein the FRP rebar comprises 97-99 wt% of the hybrid composition.
EDWARDS et al., one of the closest prior art of record, fails to teach a FRP rebar comprising a hybrid composition as claimed and wherein the FRP rebar comprises 1-3 wt% of a coupling agent and wherein the FRP rebar comprises 97-99 wt% of the hybrid composition.
BRANDSTROM, one of the closest prior art of record, fails to teach a FRP rebar comprising a hybrid composition as claimed and wherein the FRP rebar comprises 1-3 wt% of a coupling agent and wherein the FRP rebar comprises 97-99 wt% of the hybrid composition.
Conclusion
DEVE V. HALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/DEVE V HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763