DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to communications filed on 07/29/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a set of processing units” in claim 15 and “at least one processing unit” in claims 15 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “updating remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the modified version of the layer based on the estimated contribution of the weight value to the loss”. However, the specification does not support the above features. The specification describes “equation (1) to calculate an approximate loss value resulted from removing a weight value and updating the remaining weight values” (e.g. in paragraph 24; note that this describes a loss based on removing a weight value and updating the remaining weight values, not that updating the remaining weight values is based on the loss) and “updates the remaining weight values in a layer of a neural network model using the following equation (3)” (e.g. in paragraph 25). As can be seen, updating the remaining weight values is not based on an estimated contribution of a weight value to the loss, but is based on its own equation. As such, the claim lacks written description. Independent claims 8 and 15 also recite the same limitations and therefore have the same problem. Due at least to their dependency upon claims 1, 8, or 15, dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 also fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Response to Arguments
Previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn in view of amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See Reeb et al. (US 20220121960 A1) and Nonnenmacher et al. (US 20230024743 A1) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20160328643 A1) in view of Reeb et al. (US 20220121960 A1) and Nonnenmacher et al. (US 20230024743 A1).
As per independent claim 1, Liu teaches a method comprising:
identifying a layer in a plurality of layers included in a neural network model, each layer in the plurality of layers comprising a plurality of weight values (e.g. in paragraph 46, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer”);
selecting a weight value from the plurality of weight values in the layer defined with respect to outputs of the layer (e.g. in paragraph 46, “weight matrix of a particular node of a layer of the deep neural network”);
removing the weight value from the plurality of weight values in the layer to produce a modified version of the layer (e.g. in paragraph 47, “a sparse set of weights is retained in each filter… remove a large number (e.g., 90%) of non-zero weights in each filter (e.g., using thresholding or L1-norm minimization)… steps 704 and 706 can be iterated to gradually reduce the number of non-zero weights for each filter to achieve a sparse set of weights”); and
updating remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the modified version of the layer (e.g. in paragraph 47, “refine the remaining non-zero weights in each filter”),
wherein removing the weight value and updating the remaining weight values provides greater compression of the neural network model (e.g. in paragraph 47, “gradually reduce the number of non-zero weights for each filter to achieve a sparse set of weights”, i.e. greater compression) and reduces loss of accuracy of the neural network model (e.g. in paragraph 47, “an accuracy of the approximated deep neural network can be calculated using the training data after each iteration, and when the accuracy decreases by a certain amount, the method can be stopped and the approximated deep neural network resulting from the previous iteration can be used”, i.e. reduces loss of accuracy),
but does not specifically teach selecting based on an estimated contribution of the weight value to a loss resulting from removal of the weight value and updating remaining based on the estimated contribution of the weight value to the loss.
However, Reeb teaches selecting a weight value based on an estimated contribution of the weight value to a loss resulting from removal of the weight value (e.g. in paragraphs 21-22 and 30, “pruning of a structure…may encompass the removal or setting to zero of one or multiple weight(s)… Based on a change in the loss function described in matrix Q.sub.pq, e.g., based on a plurality of (for example all) computed components of this matrix (and not only based on the primary diagonal components, as in some methods of the related art), it is possible to determine which neural network substructures make a minor or even negligible contribution to the overall performance of the original predefined neural network (e.g., the overall performance does not decrease by more than a predetermined measure). In this connection, for example, only those substructures which, after pruning, do not cause any increase in loss function δL.sub.D(θ), or only an increase that does not exceed the measure, may be classified as the substructures to be pruned. The substructures thus classified may thus be pruned from the predefined neural network to enable the generation of a simplified neural network for the device. The resulting simplified neural network may supply data for a device more quickly and/or require fewer hardware resources”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu to include the teachings of Reeb because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of generating a simplified neural network with overall performance that does not decrease by more than a predetermined measure.
but, as best understood by examiner, does not specifically teach updating remaining based on the estimated contribution of the weight value to the loss.
However, Nonnenmacher teaches updating remaining weight values based on the estimated contribution of the weight value to the loss (e.g. in paragraphs 37-39 and 56, “pruning may include the removal or the setting to zero of one or of multiple weights… changes in the loss function may in some examples be approximated up to a particular order based on the pruning of structures by a Taylor development of loss function L.sub.D with respect to weights θ.sub.ij… reflects corresponding changes in the weights, for example, θ.sub.ij.sup.Tr+δθ.sub.ij after the pruning [i.e. remaining]… pruning methods are carried out until a total capacity of the simplified neural network falls below a predefined threshold value. For example, the total capacity may be estimated with the aid of accuracy (for example, the accuracy of a classification result) (see, for example, FIG. 4) which, in turn, may be calculated based on the loss function”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Nonnenmacher because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of reflecting changes based on pruning and/or generating a simplified neural network with a particular total capacity.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the layer in the plurality of layers is a first layer in the plurality of layers, wherein selecting the weight value from the plurality of weight values is based on a plurality of outputs generated from a second layer in the plurality of layers, wherein the second layer in the plurality of layers is a previous adjacent layer with respect to the first layer (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 46, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer”).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein, updating the remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the modified version of the layer comprises modifying the remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in a manner that minimizes an error between (1) the modified version of the layer and a plurality of outputs generated from a second layer in the plurality of layers and (2) an unmodified version of the layer and the plurality of outputs generated from the second layer in the plurality of layers (e.g. Liu, in paragraphs 46-47, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer… refine the remaining non-zero weights in each filter… an accuracy of the approximated deep neural network can be calculated using the training data after each iteration, and when the accuracy decreases by a certain amount, the method can be stopped and the approximated deep neural network resulting from the previous iteration can be used”, i.e. minimizes error).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches repeatedly selecting a particular weight value from the plurality of weight values, removing the particular weight value from the plurality of weight values of the layer to produce a particular modified version of the layer, and, updating particular remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the particular modified version of the layer until a defined sparsity level is reached (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 47, “can be repeated for a large number of iterations to refine the non-zero weights to achieve greater accuracy… can be iterated to gradually reduce the number of non-zero weights for each filter to achieve a sparse set of weights… iterated until a target percentage of weights in each filter are set to zero”, i.e. sparsity level).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the layer is a first layer, wherein the weight value is a first weight value (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 46, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer”), the method further comprising: identifying a second layer in the plurality of layers included in the neural network model (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 46, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer”); selecting a second weight value from the plurality of weight values in the second layer (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 46, “weight matrix of a particular node of a layer of the deep neural network”); removing the second weight value from the plurality of weight values in the second layer to produce a modified version of the second layer (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 47, “a sparse set of weights is retained in each filter… remove a large number (e.g., 90%) of non-zero weights in each filter (e.g., using thresholding or L1-norm minimization)… steps 704 and 706 can be iterated to gradually reduce the number of non-zero weights for each filter to achieve a sparse set of weights”); and updating remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the modified version of the second layer (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 47, “refine the remaining non-zero weights in each filter”).
Claims 8-9 and 12-14 are the medium claims corresponding to method claims 1-2 and 5-7 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth and the combination further teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing a program executable by at least one processing unit of a device, the program comprising sets of instructions for performing the method (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 63).
Claims 15-16 and 19-20 are the system claims corresponding to method claims 1-2 and 5-6 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth and the combination further teaches a set of processing units and a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by at least one processing unit in the set of processing units cause the at least one processing unit to perform the method (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 63).
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20160328643 A1) in view of Reeb et al. (US 20220121960 A1) and Nonnenmacher et al. (US 20230024743 A1) and further in view of Bouchard et al. (US 20200285956 A1).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, but Liu does not specifically teach wherein selecting the weight value in the plurality of weight values is based on a Hessian of the plurality of outputs generated from the second layer in the plurality of layers. However, Bouchard et al. (US 20200285956 A1) teaches selecting a weight value in a plurality of weight values is based on a Hessian of a plurality of outputs generated from a second layer in a plurality of layers (e.g. in paragraphs 70-71 and 102-103, “the Hessian matrix, which corresponds to the relation among the output layer weights”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Bouchard because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of improving training.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein selecting the weight value in the plurality of weight values is further based on a gradient associated with the first layer (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 50, “back-propagation can be performed again using stochastic gradient descent (i.e., with the original cost function) to refine the remaining non-zero coefficients”; Bouchard, in paragraph 70, “gradient vector” and figure 2).
Claims 10-11 are the medium claims corresponding to method claims 3-4 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth.
Claims 17-18 are the system claims corresponding to method claims 3-4 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example,
Deng et al. (US 20190180184 A1) teaches “provides a neural network that may include a plurality of layers in which each layer may include a set of weights w associated with the corresponding layer that enhance a speed performance of the neural network, an accuracy of the neural network, or a combination thereof… prune weights of a neural network” (e.g. in paragraphs 6-7).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2144 09/30/2026
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144