DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to communications filed on 05/31/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 12/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 12/18/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 8, the term “executable” in line 2 raises question as to whether the features are limiting, or merely refer to intended use.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a set of processing units” in claim 15 and “at least one processing unit” in claims 15 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20160328643 A1).
As per independent claim 1, Liu teaches a method comprising:
identifying a layer in a plurality of layers included in a neural network model, each layer in the plurality of layers comprising a plurality of weight values (e.g. in paragraph 46, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer”);
selecting a weight value from the plurality of weight values in the layer (e.g. in paragraph 46, “weight matrix of a particular node of a layer of the deep neural network”);
removing the weight value from the plurality of weight values in the layer to produce a modified version of the layer (e.g. in paragraph 47, “a sparse set of weights is retained in each filter… remove a large number (e.g., 90%) of non-zero weights in each filter (e.g., using thresholding or L1-norm minimization)… steps 704 and 706 can be iterated to gradually reduce the number of non-zero weights for each filter to achieve a sparse set of weights”); and
updating remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the modified version of the layer (e.g. in paragraph 47, “refine the remaining non-zero weights in each filter”),
wherein removing the weight value and updating the remaining weight values provides greater compression of the neural network model (e.g. in paragraph 47, “gradually reduce the number of non-zero weights for each filter to achieve a sparse set of weights”, i.e. greater compression) and reduces loss of accuracy of the neural network model (e.g. in paragraph 47, “an accuracy of the approximated deep neural network can be calculated using the training data after each iteration, and when the accuracy decreases by a certain amount, the method can be stopped and the approximated deep neural network resulting from the previous iteration can be used”, i.e. reduces loss of accuracy).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Liu further teaches wherein the layer in the plurality of layers is a first layer in the plurality of layers, wherein selecting the weight value from the plurality of weight values is based on a plurality of outputs generated from a second layer in the plurality of layers, wherein the second layer in the plurality of layers is a previous adjacent layer with respect to the first layer (e.g. in paragraph 46, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer”).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Liu further teaches wherein, updating the remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the modified version of the layer comprises modifying the remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in a manner that minimizes an error between (1) the modified version of the layer and a plurality of outputs generated from a second layer in the plurality of layers and (2) an unmodified version of the layer and the plurality of outputs generated from the second layer in the plurality of layers (e.g. in paragraphs 46-47, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer… refine the remaining non-zero weights in each filter… an accuracy of the approximated deep neural network can be calculated using the training data after each iteration, and when the accuracy decreases by a certain amount, the method can be stopped and the approximated deep neural network resulting from the previous iteration can be used”, i.e. minimizes error).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Liu further teaches repeatedly selecting a particular weight value from the plurality of weight values, removing the particular weight value from the plurality of weight values of the layer to produce a particular modified version of the layer, and, updating particular remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the particular modified version of the layer until a defined sparsity level is reached (e.g. in paragraph 47, “can be repeated for a large number of iterations to refine the non-zero weights to achieve greater accuracy… can be iterated to gradually reduce the number of non-zero weights for each filter to achieve a sparse set of weights… iterated until a target percentage of weights in each filter are set to zero”, i.e. sparsity level).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Liu further teaches wherein the layer is a first layer, wherein the weight value is a first weight value (e.g. in paragraph 46, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer”), the method further comprising: identifying a second layer in the plurality of layers included in the neural network model (e.g. in paragraph 46, “each layer has a plurality of nodes and each node has a weight matrix or “filter” that is used to filter or combine the data from the nodes of the previous layer”); selecting a second weight value from the plurality of weight values in the second layer (e.g. in paragraph 46, “weight matrix of a particular node of a layer of the deep neural network”); removing the second weight value from the plurality of weight values in the second layer to produce a modified version of the second layer (e.g. in paragraph 47, “a sparse set of weights is retained in each filter… remove a large number (e.g., 90%) of non-zero weights in each filter (e.g., using thresholding or L1-norm minimization)… steps 704 and 706 can be iterated to gradually reduce the number of non-zero weights for each filter to achieve a sparse set of weights”); and updating remaining weight values in the plurality of weight values in the modified version of the second layer (e.g. in paragraph 47, “refine the remaining non-zero weights in each filter”).
Claims 8-9 and 12-14 are the medium claims corresponding to method claims 1-2 and 5-7 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth and Liu further teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing a program executable by at least one processing unit of a device, the program comprising sets of instructions for performing the method (e.g. in paragraph 63).
Claims 15-16 and 19-20 are the system claims corresponding to method claims 1-2 and 5-6 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth and Liu further teaches a set of processing units and a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by at least one processing unit in the set of processing units cause the at least one processing unit to perform the method (e.g. in paragraph 63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20160328643 A1) in view of Bouchard et al. (US 20200285956 A1).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, but Liu does not specifically teach wherein selecting the weight value in the plurality of weight values is based on a Hessian of the plurality of outputs generated from the second layer in the plurality of layers. However, Bouchard teaches selecting a weight value in a plurality of weight values is based on a Hessian of a plurality of outputs generated from a second layer in a plurality of layers (e.g. in paragraphs 70-71 and 102-103, “the Hessian matrix, which corresponds to the relation among the output layer weights”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu to include the teachings of Bouchard because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of improving training.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein selecting the weight value in the plurality of weight values is further based on a gradient associated with the first layer (e.g. Liu, in paragraph 50, “back-propagation can be performed again using stochastic gradient descent (i.e., with the original cost function) to refine the remaining non-zero coefficients”; Bouchard, in paragraph 70, “gradient vector” and figure 2).
Claims 10-11 are the medium claims corresponding to method claims 3-4 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth.
Claims 17-18 are the system claims corresponding to method claims 3-4 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example,
Deng et al. (US 20190180184 A1) teaches “provides a neural network that may include a plurality of layers in which each layer may include a set of weights w associated with the corresponding layer that enhance a speed performance of the neural network, an accuracy of the neural network, or a combination thereof… prune weights of a neural network” (e.g. in paragraphs 6-7).
/W.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2144 05/01/2026
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144