DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/11/2025.
The two groups have divergent subject matter which are classified in different categories and have separate status in the art..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20, 32-35, 37,39-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOGINS (US 20040255783) in view of Kahlbaugh (US 20060096263).
Regarding Claim 17, GOGINS discloses filter media, comprising: a fiber web comprising a plurality of pores ([0005]) but didn’t specifically disclose the recited weight percent of the pores to have a fixed diameters . In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Kahlbaugh controllable and appropriate pore size, pore permeability ([008], [0018], [0019]); also it discloses the pore size within the claimed range (abstract) but didn’t disclose specifically that wherein the filter media has a pore permeability index (PPI) of greater than or equal to 0.2 and less than or equal to 4.0, and wherein greater than or equal to 15% of pores of the plurality of pores have an average size of less than or equal to 1 micrometer.. Kahlbaugh didn’t particularly disclose that permeability index (PPI) of greater than or equal to 0.2 and less than or equal to 4.0, and wherein greater than or equal to 15% of pores of the plurality of pores have an average size of less than or equal to 1 micrometer. However, firstly, it is pointed out that the filters in both Kahlbaugh and the applicants’ are layered fiber filter layers having the ability to capture particulates throughout the volumes thereof. It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to varying the porosities, and permeability index of the fiber layers to arrive at a multi-layer filter media, having e.g. the filtration characteristics of claim 1 depending upon the desired filtration performance that would be optimized for a particular filtration use. Also, this is chosen based on the intended use of the filter media and it is well-known that permeability is measured in different ways and is a well- known result effective variable routinely optimized depending on the intended use and necessary parameters of the filter media for proper functioning. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (..SEE MPEP 2144.05 II).
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine GOGIN’s teaching of the filter with that of Kahlbaugh as it teaches the varying of the filter characteristics with the controllable parameters for the purpose of improved improved processability ([0008])
Regarding Claim 18, Kahlbaugh discloses filter media with controllable and appropriate pore permeability ([008], [0018], [0019]); Kahlbaugh didn’t particularly disclose that permeability index (PPI) of the filter media is greater than or equal to 0.3 and less than or equal to 3.5. However, firstly, it is pointed out that the filters in both Kahlbaugh and the applicants’ are layered fiber filter layers having the ability to capture particulates throughout the volumes thereof.
It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to varying the porosities, and permeability index of the fiber layers to arrive at a multi-layer filter media, having e.g. the filtration characteristics of claim 1 depending upon desired filtration performance that would be optimized for a particular filtration use. Also, this is chosen based on the intended use of the filter media and it is well-known that permeability is measured in different ways and is a well- known result effective variable routinely optimized depending on the intended use and necessary parameters of the filter media for proper functioning. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) SEE MPEP 2144.05 II.
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine GOGIN’s teaching of the filter with that of Kahlbaugh as it teaches the varying of the filter characteristics with the controllable parameters for the purpose of improved improved processability ([0008])
Claims 19-20, Kahlbaug discloses firstly, that the filters in both Kahlbaugh and the applicants’ are layered fiber filter layers having the ability to capture particulates throughout the volumes thereof but didn’t specifically disclose that greater than or equal to 20% of the pores of the plurality of pores have the average size of less than or equal to 1 micrometer or less than or equal to 50% of the pores of the plurality of pores have the average size of less than or equal to 1 micrometer.
It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to varying the porosities, and permeability index of the fiber layers to arrive at a multi-layer filter media, having e.g. the filtration characteristics of claim 1 depending upon desired filtration performance that would be optimized for a particular filtration use as this is chosen based on the intended use . SEE MPEP 2144.05 II as Kahlbaugh teaches the varying of the filter characteristics with controllable parameters for improved processability ([0008])
Regarding Claim 32, GOGGINS disclose wherein the fiber web is a non-woven fiber web ([0070).
Regarding Claim 33 GOGGINS discloses, wherein the fiber web glass fibers ([0022]).
Regarding Claim 34 GOGGINS discloses, wherein the fiber web comprises one or more binders ([0182).
Regarding Claim 35, Kahlbaugh discloses wherein the binder could be, epoxy ([0043]).
Regarding Claim 37, GOGGINS discloses, wherein the filter media has a gas/liquid separation performance ([0016]-[0017]) but didn’t disclose that less than or equal to 10 mg/m3 liquid. However, it is well-known that the gas/liquid separation flow of a material is routinely optimized to control the efficiency at minimum flow restriction and excellent filtering . This is chosen based on the intended use of the filter media. Choosing a specific separation parameter for the gas/liquid filter was well-within the routine skill of one of ordinary skill in he art at the time of the invention. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, IL.).
Regarding Claim 39-40 GOGGINS discloses wherein the filter media has an air permeability of 1 to 200 ft/min (Claim 1) but didn’t disclose that it’s greater than or equal to 1 1/m2s and less than or equal to 5000 1/m2s. It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to vary the air permeability as having e.g. the filtration characteristics of claim 1 depending upon desired filtration performance that would be optimized for a particular filtration use as this is chosen based on the intended use . SEE MPEP 2144.05 II
Regarding Claim 41 GOGINS discloses wherein the filter media has a thickness of greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 3 mm (abstract,)
Regarding Claim 42, GOGGINS discloses, wherein the filter media has a gas/liquid separation performance ([0016]-[0017]) .
Claims 43 , Kahulbag discloses firstly, that the filters in both Kahlbaugh and the applicants’ are layered fiber filter layers having the ability to capture particulates throughout the volumes thereof but didn’t specifically disclose that greater than or equal to 30% of the pores of the plurality of pores have the average size of less than or equal to 1 micrometer.
It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to varying the porosities, and permeability index of the fiber layers to arrive at a multi-layer filter media, having e.g. the filtration characteristics of claim 1 depending upon desired filtration performance that would be optimized for a particular filtration use as this is chosen based on the intended use . SEE MPEP 2144.05 II as Kahlbaugh teaches the varying of the filter characteristics with controllable parameters for improved processability ([0008])
Claim(s) 36, 44-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOGINS (US 20040255783) in view of Kahlbaugh (US 20060096283) as applied to claim 17, further in view of ANANTHARAMAIA H (US 20170232371).
Regarding Claim 36 GOGGINS discloses the filter media with a dust collector (([0002], [0016])) but didn’t disclose it has a specific dust holding capacity (DHC), but did not disclose that of greater than or equal to 10 g/m2 and less than or equal to 1000 g/m2. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, ANANTHARAMAIA H discloses that the filter media comprises a dust holding capacity of greater than about 20 g/m2 which meets the claimed range (abstract, [0005], [0015], Claim 1).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine GOGINS’s teaching for the purpose of ANANTHARAMAIA H that the filter media comprises a dust holding capacity for the purpose of having beneficial properties like without comprising the mechanical properties ([0017]).
Regarding Claim 44-47 GOGGINS discloses the filter media with a dust collector (([0002], [0016])) but didn’t disclose it has a specific dust holding capacity (DHC), but did not disclose that of greater than or equal to 10 g/m2 and less than or equal to 1000 g/m2. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, ANANTHARAMAIA H discloses that the filter media comprises a dust holding capacity of greater than about 20 g/m2 which meets the claimed range (abstract, [0005], [0015], Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 49 GOGGINS discloses the filter media with a dust collector (([0002], [0016])) but didn’t disclose it has a specific dust holding capacity (DHC), but did not disclose that of greater than or equal to 10 g/m2 and less than or equal to 1000 g/m2. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, ANANTHARAMAIA H discloses that the filter media comprises a dust holding capacity of greater than about 20 g/m2 which meets the claimed range (abstract, [0005], [0015], Claim 1). Further, a filter media that is essentially identical in composition but fabricated according to a wetlaid process ([0007], [0009]).
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOGINS (US 20040255783) in view of Kahlbaugh (US 20060096283) as applied to claim 17, further in view of GOODBY (US 20190009194)
Regarding Claim 38 GOGINS discloses filter media, comprising: a fiber web comprising a plurality of pores ([0005]) but didn’t wherein the filter media has a fuel/water separation performance of greater than or equal to 5% water retention. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, GOODBY discloses the filter media has a fuel/water separation performance of greater than or equal to 5% water retention ([0002], [0093])
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine GOGGINs’ teaching with that of the teaching of fuel water separation by GOODBY for the purpose of longer service time for the customer for the filter media ([0007], GOODBY).
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741