DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 06/03/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 1, 13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Zhang et al. 20220110226.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 1 of Zhang discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate 116 comprising a first portion (left) and a second portion (right) that are separated from each other;
a substrate 112 fixed to one surface of the second portion of the support substrate, and comprising a display area (top area - par [0021] – display region ) on the first portion of the support substrate, a peripheral area (bottom area - 122) on the second portion of the support substrate, and a bending area 121 connecting the display area to the peripheral area; and
a display portion in the display area of the substrate,
wherein a side surface of the first portion (left side) and at least of a part of a side surface of the second portion (right side) face each other in a first direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device, and
wherein the first portion and the second portion are in direct contact with the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 1 of Zhang discloses wherein the first portion of the support substrate defines an insertion groove (right region of left 116 form a groove between it and 121) into which the second portion (the right 116) of the support substrate is inserted.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 1 of Zhang discloses further comprising a protective member 200 in the insertion groove.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 1 of Zhang discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate 116 comprising a first portion (left 116) and a second portion (right 116) that are separated from each other; and
a substrate 112 on the support substrate, and having an area 121/122 between the first portion of the support substrate and the second portion of the support substrate that is bent (see fig. 1),
wherein one surface (top surface) of the second portion of the support substrate and an other surface (bottom surface) of the second portion of the support substrate that oppose each other, are attached to the substrate,
wherein a side surface (left side surface) of the first portion and at least of a part of a side surface (right side surface) of the second portion face each other in a first direction (X – across the page direction) perpendicular to a thickness direction (Y) of the display device, and
wherein the first portion and the second portion are in direct contact with the substrate 112 (see 116 at the bottom side is in direct contact with 122 which is bottom part of 112).
Regarding claim 19, fig. 1 of Zhang discloses wherein the substrate further comprises a bending portion (portion of 122 and sloped portions around 200) with filler 200 therein (see 200 is in portion of 122 and sloped portions).
Regarding claims 13 and 17, fig. 1 of Zhang discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate 116/200 comprising a first portion 116 and a second portion 200 that are separated from each other; and
a substrate 112 on the support substrate, and having an area 120 between the first portion of the support substrate and the second portion of the support substrate that is bent (see fig. 1),
wherein one surface (left bottom surface) of the second portion of the support substrate and an other surface (right bottom surface) of the second portion of the support substrate that oppose (left and right are opposite) each other, are attached to the substrate,
wherein a side surface (left side surface) of the first portion and at least of a part of a side surface (right side surface) of the second portion face each other in a first direction (X – across the page direction) perpendicular to a thickness direction (Y) of the display device, and
wherein the first portion and the second portion are in direct contact with the substrate (see portion 122);
wherein the second portion of the support substrate 200 is inside the first portion 116 of the support substrate.
Regarding claim 18, fig. 1 of Zhang discloses discloses further comprising a protective member (slope area around 200) between the second portion 200 of the support substrate and the first portion 116 of the support substrate.
Regarding claim 20, fig. 1 of Zhang discloses an electronic device comprising a display device, the display device comprising:
a support substrate comprising a first portion (right 116) and a second portion (left 116) that are separated from each other;
a substrate 112/120 on the first portion and the second portion of the support substrate, and comprising a display area 112; and
a display portion in the display area,
wherein the second portion of the support substrate is attached to the substrate, and
wherein at least a portion of the second portion (left 116) of the support substrate overlaps the display area in a plan view (necessary the case),
wherein a side surface of the first portion and at least of a part of a side surface of the second portion face each other in a first direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device,
wherein the first portion and the second portion are indirect contact with the substrate.
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YOU et al. 20230142422.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 2 of You discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate comprising a first portion 12 and a second portion 11 that are separated from each other;
a substrate 13 fixed to one surface of the second portion of the support substrate, and comprising a display area 133 on the first portion of the support substrate, a peripheral area 131 on the second portion of the support substrate, and a bending area 132 connecting the display area to the peripheral area; and
a display portion AA in the display area 133 of the substrate,
wherein a side surface (left vertical side surface) of the first portion 12 and at least of a part of a side surface (right side surface) of the second portion 11 face each other in a first direction (X – across the page direction) perpendicular to a thickness direction (Y) of the display device, and
wherein the first portion 12 and the second portion 11 are in direct contact with the substrate 13.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 2 of You discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate comprising a first portion 12 and a second portion 11 that are separated from each other; and
a substrate 13 on the support substrate, and having an area 132 between the first portion of the support substrate and the second portion of the support substrate that is bent (see fig. 4),
wherein one surface (left vertical side surface) of the second portion 11 of the support substrate and an other surface (right vertical side surface) of the second portion 11 of the support substrate that oppose each other, are attached to the substrate 13,
wherein a side surface (left vertical side surface) of the first portion 12 and at least of a part of a side surface (right side surface) of the second portion 11 face each other in a first direction (X – across the page direction) perpendicular to a thickness direction (Y) of the display device, and
wherein the first portion 12 and the second portion 11are in direct contact with the substrate 13.
Regarding claim 20, fig. 2 of You discloses an electronic device comprising a display device, the display device comprising:
a support substrate comprising a first portion 11 and a second portion 12 that are separated from each other;
a substrate 13 on the first portion and the second portion of the support substrate, and comprising a display area 133; and
a display portion AA in the display area,
wherein the second portion 12 of the support substrate is attached to the substrate, and wherein at least a portion of the second portion 12 of the support substrate overlaps the display area AA in a plan view (it is necessary the case),
wherein a side surface (vertical left side surface) of the first portion 11 and at least of a part of a side surface (right vertical side surface) of the second portion 12 face each other in a first direction (X) perpendicular to a thickness direction (Y) of the display device,
wherein the first portion and the second portion are indirect contact with the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 2 wherein the first portion of the support substrate defines an insertion groove (right region of 12 form a groove) into which the second portion of the support substrate is inserted.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 2 of You discloses wherein a portion of an edge of a plane of the first portion of the support substrate overlaps a planar shape of the display area.
Regarding claim 5, fig. 4 of You discloses wherein at least a portion of the second portion of the support substrate overlaps the display area in a plan view.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 2 of You discloses further comprising a protection layer 15 on the substrate and corresponding to the bending area.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 2 of You disclsoes wherein a size of a planar shape of the first portion of the support substrate is greater than a size of a planar shape of the second portion of the support substrate.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 2 of You discloses wherein at least a portion of a boundary of the first portion of the support substrate is below the display area.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 4 of You discloses wherein at least a portion of a boundary of the second portion of the support substrate is below the display area.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 2 of You discloses wherein a boundary of the display area is inside a boundary of the first portion of the support substrate in a plan view.
Regarding claim 12, fig. 2 of You discloses further comprising an adhesive member (interface layer which adheres two surfaces to ensure adhesive contact between two surfaces) between the other surface of the second portion of the support substrate and the substrate.
Regarding claim 14, fig. 2 of You discloses wherein the substrate comprises a display area comprising a display portion, and a peripheral area that is adjacent to the display area.
Regarding claim 15, fig. 4 of You discloses wherein at least a portion of the second portion of the support substrate overlaps the display area in a plan view.
Regarding claim 16, fig. 4 of You discloses wherein a boundary of the display area is on the second portion of the support substrate.
Regarding claim 18, fig. 2 of You discloses further comprising a protective member 15 between the second portion of the support substrate and the first portion of the support substrate.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893