Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 12, filed 13 March 2026 AD, with respect to rejection of claims 10 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 12-15, filed 13 March 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 2, 5-7, 11, 12, 15-17, 21, 22, 26 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) and rejection of claims 3, 4, 8-10, 13, 14, 18-20, 23, 24, 25, and 28-30 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Rudolf et al. (US 2024/0267932 A1) or Rudolf in view of Huang et al. (WO 2023030037 A1) or Huang for claims 1, 2, 5-7, 11, 12, 15-17, 21, 22, 26 and 27. Reference (EP 4387340 A1) will be used as an English translation for Huang.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Rudolf et al. (US 2024/0267932 A1) or Rudolf in view of Huang et al. (WO 2023030037 A1) or Huang in further view of Papasakellariou et al. (US 2022/0086894 A1) or Papasakellariou for claims 3, 4, 8-10, 13, 14, 18-20, 23, 24, 25, and 28-30. Reference (EP 4387340 A1) will be used as an English translation for Huang.
Rudolf teaches a user equipment or UE receiving from a network node multiple search space set group or SSSG configurations. Further, Rudolf discloses the UE receiving an indication of a first SSSG configuration from multiple SSG configurations based on a first received signal quality of the UE and monitoring first physical downlink control channel or PDCCH candidates associated with the first SSSG configuration. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach each SSSG configuration including at least one resource candidate distribution for a resource aggregation level. In addition to failing to explicitly teach each SSSG configuration including at least one resource candidate distribution for a resource aggregation level, Rudolf fails to explicitly disclose each SSSG configuration including at least one candidate distribution for the resource aggregation level with a reduction in a PDCCH monitoring capacity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 11, 12, 15-17, 21, 22, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf et al. (US 2024/0267932 A1) or Rudolf in view of Huang et al. (WO 2023030037 A1) or Huang. Reference (EP 4387340 A1) will be used as an English translation for Huang.
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory;
(See Rudolf paragraph 0049, As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 116 includes antenna(s) 305, a transceiver(s) 310, and a microphone 320. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, an input 350, a display 355, and a memory 360.)
and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and,
(See Rudolf paragraph 0055, The memory 360 is coupled to the processor 340.)
based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
(See Rudolf paragraph 0053, The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360. For example, the processor 340 may execute processes for PDCCH monitoring adaptation for operation in FD systems as described in embodiments of the present disclosure.)
receive, from a network node, multiple search space set (SSS) group configurations,…
(See Rudolf paragraph 0174, ...the UE 116 is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 that selectively assigns a SSSG for PDCCH monitoring...)
Shows the UE receiving the parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19
(See Rudolf paragraph 0178, ...when an existing PDCCH monitoring adaptation field of size M=2 bits is configured for a UE in a DCI with respective PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell and the set of SSSGs provided to the UE 116 by searchSpaceGroupIdList or by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 includes three SSSGs, a value ‘00’/‘01’/‘10’ respectively indicates a first/second/third SSSG from searchSpaceGroupIdList in non-SBFD symbols/slots and a first/second/third SSSG from searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 in SBFD symbols/slots for PDCCH monitoring on the active DL BWP of the serving cell.)
Shows the searchSpaceGroupList contains three SSSGs
…receive an indication of a first SSS group configuration from the multiple SSS group configurations based on a first received signal quality of the UE; and
(See Rudolf paragraph 0131, ...when the gNB 102 determines that a received SINR at the UE 116 has improved in SBFD slots/symbols, for example through a corresponding CSI report by the UE 116, the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to switch from a first SSSG that includes a first number of PDCCH candidates for a large CCE aggregation level to a second SSSG that includes a second number of PDCCH candidates for the large CCE aggregation level where the first number is larger than the second number.)
monitor first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates associated with the first SSS group configuration.
(See Rudolf paragraph 0173, If the field value of PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicates to start PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with a group index j and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with other group indexes, in 1150, the UE 116 starts PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with a group index j in SBFD symbol or in SBFD subband,...)
However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein each SSS group configuration includes at least one resource candidate distribution for a respective resource aggregation level;…
Nevertheless, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein each SSS group configuration includes at least one resource candidate distribution for a respective resource aggregation level;…
(See Huang page 13 second paragraph under “1. PDCCH monitoring mechanism”, A network device may configure at least one search space set (search space set, SS set) for the UE. The UE monitors the PDCCH based on the SS set. For example, the UE monitors the PDCCH based on configuration information of the SS set.)
Shows the network device configures a search space set or SSS for the UE
(See Huang page 13 third paragraph under “1. PDCCH monitoring mechanism” and point number 6, For example, configuration information of each SS set may include at least one of the following parameters:….6. (6) an aggregation level and a quantity of PDCCH candidates (PDCCH candidates) corresponding to each aggregation level; and…)
Shows the SSS configuration contains an aggregation level and PDCCH candidates for each aggregation level
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of a base station transmitting an indication to a user equipment or UE to switch from a first search space set group or SSSG with a higher number of physical downlink control channel or PDCCH candidates to a SSSG with a lower number of PDCCH candidates as disclosed by Rudolf with eacg SSSG configuration including at least one candidate distribution for a resource aggregation as disclosed by Huang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the power consumed by the user equipment).
Claim 2 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. Nevertheless, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each SSS group configuration includes the at least one resource candidate distribution for the respective resource aggregation level in association with a reduction in a PDCCH monitoring capacity.
(See Huang page 18 paragraph 9, …the foregoing may be represented as that an aggregation level type in the search space set of the first SSSG is less than an aggregation level type in the search space set of the first SSSG; at a same aggregation level, a quantity of PDCCH candidates corresponding to the aggregation level in the search space set of the first SSSG is less than a quantity of PDCCH candidates corresponding to the aggregation level in the search space set of the second SSSG; a quantity of PDCCH candidates at the PDCCH candidate location determined based on the search space set of the first SSSG is less than a quantity of PDCCH candidates at the PDCCH candidate location determined based on the search space set of the second SSSG.)
Shows the number of PDCCH Candidates for an aggregation level in the first search space set group or SSSG contains fewer PDCCH candidates than the aggregation level in the second SSSG
(See Huang page 16 second paragraph under “3. Search space set group (search space set group, SSSG) switching mechanism”, FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of two different SSSGs. SS sets associated with the different SSSGs may have different PDCCH monitoring occasions (candidate locations). When PDCCH monitoring occasions in an SSSG to which UE is switched are sparse, for example, an SSSG 0 in FIG. 5, the UE monitors a PDCCH based on an SS set belonging to the SSSG 0, and does not need to monitor the PDCCH based on an SS set belonging to an SSSG 1. Because the PDCCH monitoring occasions of the SS set belonging to the SSSG 0 are sparse, power consumption can be reduced.)
Shows SSSG 0 monitors fewer PDCCH candidates than SSSG 1 and reduces power consumption
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 5 (Original)
Rudolf teaches,
The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the switching indication is comprised in downlink control information (DCI).
(See Rudolf paragraph 0124, The UE 116 can be indicated to switch from a first SSSG to a second SSSG for PDCCH monitoring via an indication by a scheduling DCI.)
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6 (Original)
Rudolf teaches,
The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the switching indication is for at least one bandwidth part (BWP)
or at least one carrier.
(See Rudolf paragraph 0131, ...when the gNB 102 determines that a received SINR at the UE 116 has improved in SBFD slots/symbols, for example through a corresponding CSI report by the UE 116, the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to switch from a first SSSG...)
Shows the switching indication for the SBFD
(See Rudolf paragraph 0098, ...when carrier-aggregation based full-duplex operation is used, an SBFD subband may correspond to a component carrier or a part of a component carrier or an SBFD subband may be allocated using parts of multiple component carriers.)
Shows SBFD includes multiple component carriers
(See Rudolf paragraph 0095, Full-duplex operation using an UL subband or a DL subband may be referred to as subband-full-duplex (SBFD).)
Shows SBFD stands for subband-full-duplex
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 7 (Previously Presented)
The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the switching indication for the second SSS group configuration is received on at least a first carrier, and
wherein to monitor the second PDCCH candidates, the at least one processor is configured to:
monitor the second PDCCH candidates on multiple carriers based on the second SSS group configuration.
In Rudolf FIG. 10 of UL-DL period n, the UE receives the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field or switching indication on CORSET #2 SSSG #2 or a first carrier monitoring both SBFD and non-SBFD slots based on SSSG #2. Subsequently, UL-DL period n + 1 shows in step 3, the SSSG switching with the UE monitoring PDCCH based on SSSG #1 for the SBFD slots and the PDCCH based on SSSG #2 for the non-SFBD slots.
(See Rudolf paragraph 0178, ...when an existing PDCCH monitoring adaptation field is used, a first value of the field can selectively assign a SSSG from the set of SSSGs for PDCCH monitoring on non-SBFD symbols/slots, e.g., indicate start of PDCCH monitoring according to an SSSG with group index j and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to an SSSG with another group index and a second value of the field can selectively assign a SSSG from the set of SSSGs for PDCCH monitoring on SBFD symbols/slots.)
Shows the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicating a switch from one SSSG to anther SSSG
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: at least one memory;
(See Rudolf paragraph 0038, As shown in FIG. 2, the gNB 102 includes multiple antennas 205a-205n, multiple transceivers 210a-210n, a controller/processor 225, a memory 230, and a backhaul or network interface 235.)
and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and,
(See Rudolf paragraph 0046, The memory 230 is coupled to the controller/processor 225.)
based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
(See Rudolf paragraph 0044, The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as processes to support PDCCH monitoring adaptation for operation in FD systems.)
configure, for a user equipment (UE), multiple search space set (SSS) group configurations;…
(See Rudolf paragraph 0174, ...the UE 116 is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 that selectively assigns a SSSG for PDCCH monitoring...)
Shows the UE receiving the parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19
(See Rudolf paragraph 0178, ...when an existing PDCCH monitoring adaptation field of size M=2 bits is configured for a UE in a DCI with respective PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell and the set of SSSGs provided to the UE 116 by searchSpaceGroupIdList or by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 includes three SSSGs, a value ‘00’/‘01’/‘10’ respectively indicates a first/second/third SSSG from searchSpaceGroupIdList in non-SBFD symbols/slots and a first/second/third SSSG from searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 in SBFD symbols/slots for PDCCH monitoring on the active DL BWP of the serving cell.)
Shows the searchSpaceGroupList contains three SSSGs
…provide an indication of a first SSS group configuration from the multiple SSS group configurations based on a first received signal quality of the UE; and
(See Rudolf paragraph 0131, ...when the gNB 102 determines that a received SINR at the UE 116 has improved in SBFD slots/symbols, for example through a corresponding CSI report by the UE 116, the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to switch from a first SSSG that includes a first number of PDCCH candidates for a large CCE aggregation level to a second SSSG that includes a second number of PDCCH candidates for the large CCE aggregation level where the first number is larger than the second number.)
provide a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the UE in at least one PDCCH candidate of the first SSS group configuration.
(See Rudolf paragraph 0173, If the field value of PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicates to start PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with a group index j and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with other group indexes, in 1150, the UE 116 starts PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with a group index j in SBFD symbol or in SBFD subband,...)
Shows the UE being provided a PDCCH for a SSS group configuration by the PDCCH monitoring adaption field
(See Rudolf paragraph 0159, In an example, the gNB 102 transmits to the UE 116 a PDCCH with a DCI that includes a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field on a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol or slot where a value of the field, e.g., a codepoint of the field, indicates a duration for PDCCH skipping from the set of durations.)
Shows the gNB or base station transmit the PDCCH monitoring adaption field to the UE
However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein each SSS group configuration includes at least one resource candidate distribution for a respective resource aggregation level;…
Nevertheless, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein each SSS group configuration includes at least one resource candidate distribution for a respective resource aggregation level;…
(See Huang page 13 second paragraph under “1. PDCCH monitoring mechanism”, A network device may configure at least one search space set (search space set, SS set) for the UE. The UE monitors the PDCCH based on the SS set. For example, the UE monitors the PDCCH based on configuration information of the SS set.)
Shows the network device configures a search space set or SSS for the UE
(See Huang page 13 third paragraph under “1. PDCCH monitoring mechanism” and point number 6, For example, configuration information of each SS set may include at least one of the following parameters:….6. (6) an aggregation level and a quantity of PDCCH candidates (PDCCH candidates) corresponding to each aggregation level; and…)
Shows the SSS configuration contains an aggregation level and PDCCH candidates for each aggregation level
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12 (Original)
Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Huang, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 15 (Original)
Rudolf teaches the limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16 (Original)
Rudolf teaches the limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 17 (Original)
Rudolf teaches the limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 21 (Currently Amended)
A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network node, multiple search space set (SSS) group configurations,…
(See Rudolf paragraph 0174, ...the UE 116 is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 that selectively assigns a SSSG for PDCCH monitoring...)
Shows the UE receiving the parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19
(See Rudolf paragraph 0178, ...when an existing PDCCH monitoring adaptation field of size M=2 bits is configured for a UE in a DCI with respective PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell and the set of SSSGs provided to the UE 116 by searchSpaceGroupIdList or by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 includes three SSSGs, a value ‘00’/‘01’/‘10’ respectively indicates a first/second/third SSSG from searchSpaceGroupIdList in non-SBFD symbols/slots and a first/second/third SSSG from searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 in SBFD symbols/slots for PDCCH monitoring on the active DL BWP of the serving cell.)
Shows the searchSpaceGroupList contains three SSSGs
…receiving an indication of a first SSS group configuration from the multiple SSS group configurations based on a first received signal quality of the UE;
(See Rudolf paragraph 0131, ...when the gNB 102 determines that a received SINR at the UE 116 has improved in SBFD slots/symbols, for example through a corresponding CSI report by the UE 116, the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to switch from a first SSSG that includes a first number of PDCCH candidates for a large CCE aggregation level to a second SSSG that includes a second number of PDCCH candidates for the large CCE aggregation level where the first number is larger than the second number.)
and monitoring first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates associated with the first SSS group configuration.
(See Rudolf paragraph 0173, If the field value of PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicates to start PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with a group index j and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with other group indexes, in 1150, the UE 116 starts PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with a group index j in SBFD symbol or in SBFD subband,...)
However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein each SSS group configuration includes at least one resource candidate distribution for a respective resource aggregation level;…
Nevertheless, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein each SSS group configuration includes at least one resource candidate distribution for a respective resource aggregation level;…
(See Huang page 13 second paragraph under “1. PDCCH monitoring mechanism”, A network device may configure at least one search space set (search space set, SS set) for the UE. The UE monitors the PDCCH based on the SS set. For example, the UE monitors the PDCCH based on configuration information of the SS set.)
Shows the network device configures a search space set or SSS for the UE
(See Huang page 13 third paragraph under “1. PDCCH monitoring mechanism” and point number 6, For example, configuration information of each SS set may include at least one of the following parameters:….6. (6) an aggregation level and a quantity of PDCCH candidates (PDCCH candidates) corresponding to each aggregation level; and…)
Shows the SSS configuration contains an aggregation level and PDCCH candidates for each aggregation level
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 22 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 22 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Huang, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 22 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 26 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches,
A method of wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
configuring, for a user equipment (UE), multiple search space set (SSS) group configurations,…
(See Rudolf paragraph 0174, ...the UE 116 is provided by higher layers from a serving gNB a new parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 that selectively assigns a SSSG for PDCCH monitoring...)
Shows the UE receiving the parameter searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19
(See Rudolf paragraph 0178, ...when an existing PDCCH monitoring adaptation field of size M=2 bits is configured for a UE in a DCI with respective PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell and the set of SSSGs provided to the UE 116 by searchSpaceGroupIdList or by searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 includes three SSSGs, a value ‘00’/‘01’/‘10’ respectively indicates a first/second/third SSSG from searchSpaceGroupIdList in non-SBFD symbols/slots and a first/second/third SSSG from searchSpaceGroupIdList-r19 in SBFD symbols/slots for PDCCH monitoring on the active DL BWP of the serving cell.)
Shows the searchSpaceGroupList contains three SSSGs
…providing an indication of a first SSS group configuration from the multiple SSS group configurations based on a first received signal quality of the UE;
(See Rudolf paragraph 0131, ...when the gNB 102 determines that a received SINR at the UE 116 has improved in SBFD slots/symbols, for example through a corresponding CSI report by the UE 116, the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to switch from a first SSSG that includes a first number of PDCCH candidates for a large CCE aggregation level to a second SSSG that includes a second number of PDCCH candidates for the large CCE aggregation level where the first number is larger than the second number.)
and providing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the UE in at least one PDCCH candidate of the first SSS group configuration.
(See Rudolf paragraph 0173, If the field value of PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicates to start PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with a group index j and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with other group indexes, in 1150, the UE 116 starts PDCCH monitoring according to SSSG with a group index j in SBFD symbol or in SBFD subband,...)
Shows the UE being provided a PDCCH for a SSS group configuration by the PDCCH monitoring adaption field
(See Rudolf paragraph 0159, In an example, the gNB 102 transmits to the UE 116 a PDCCH with a DCI that includes a PDCCH monitoring adaptation field on a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol or slot where a value of the field, e.g., a codepoint of the field, indicates a duration for PDCCH skipping from the set of durations.)
Shows the gNB or base station transmit the PDCCH monitoring adaption field to the UE
However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein each SSS group configuration includes at least one resource candidate distribution for a respective resource aggregation level;…
Nevertheless, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein each SSS group configuration includes at least one resource candidate distribution for a respective resource aggregation level;…
(See Huang page 13 second paragraph under “1. PDCCH monitoring mechanism”, A network device may configure at least one search space set (search space set, SS set) for the UE. The UE monitors the PDCCH based on the SS set. For example, the UE monitors the PDCCH based on configuration information of the SS set.)
Shows the network device configures a search space set or SSS for the UE
(See Huang page 13 third paragraph under “1. PDCCH monitoring mechanism” and point number 6, For example, configuration information of each SS set may include at least one of the following parameters:….6. (6) an aggregation level and a quantity of PDCCH candidates (PDCCH candidates) corresponding to each aggregation level; and…)
Shows the SSS configuration contains an aggregation level and PDCCH candidates for each aggregation level
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 27 (Original)
Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 27 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Huang, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 27 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 3, 4, 8-10, 13, 14, 18-20, 23, 24, 25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf et al. (US 2024/0267932 A1) or Rudolf in view of Huang et al. (WO 2023030037 A1) or Huang in further view of Papasakellariou et al. (US 2022/0086894 A1) or Papasakellariou. Reference (EP 4387340 A1) will be used as an English translation for Huang.
Claim 3 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches,
…wherein the first SSS group configuration includes a higher number of PDCCH candidates in a second resource candidate distribution for a second resource aggregation level than the second SSS group configuration, and…
(See Rudolf paragraph 0131, ...the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to switch from a first SSSG that includes a first number of PDCCH candidates for a large CCE aggregation level to a second SSSG that includes a second number of PDCCH candidates for the large CCE aggregation level where the first number is larger than the second number.)
However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach,
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first SSS group configuration includes a lower number of PDCCH candidates in a first resource candidate distribution for a first resource aggregation level than a second SSS group configuration,…
…wherein the first resource aggregation level is lower than the second resource aggregation level.
Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first SSS group configuration includes a lower number of PDCCH candidates in a first resource candidate distribution for a first resource aggregation level than a second SSS group configuration,…
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0182, The resulting PDCCH candidate allocation is {4, 8}, {4, 8}, {2, 4}, {2, 4} for USS set 0, USS set 1, USS set 2, USS set 3, respectively.)
Let USS set 2 = first SSS group and USS set 1 = second SSS group
first SSS group = {2, 4}
second SSS group = {4, 8}
first SSS group PDCCH candidates in first resource candidate distribution = 2
second SSS group PDCCH candidates in first resource candidate distribution = 4
If 2 < 4,
then the first SSS group PDCCH candidates in first resource candidate distribution contains a lower number of PDCCH candidates in first resource candidate distribution than the second SSS group
…wherein the first resource aggregation level is lower than the second resource aggregation level.
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0182, ...the UE has 4 USS sets with {8, 16}, {8, 16}, and {8, 16} PDCCH candidates associated with two CCE ALs, for example CCE AL of 1 and 2...)
Shows the first resource aggregation level as 1 and second resource aggregation level as 2
Shows {8, 16} mapped as {PDCCH Candidate 8 --> aggregation level 1, PDCCH Candidate 16 --> aggregation level 2}
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of a base station transmitting an indication to a user equipment or UE to switch from a first search space set group or SSSG with a higher number of physical downlink control channel or PDCCH candidates to a SSSG with a lower number of PDCCH candidates as disclosed by Rudolf with the method of including a lower number of PDCCH candidates in the first SSSG than a second SSSG and first resource aggregation level for the first SSSG consists of being lower than the second resource aggregation level for the second SSSG as disclosed by Papasakellariou to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of PDCCH candidates required to monitor by the UE in the second SSSG).
Claim 4 (Previously Presented)
Rudolf teaches,
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the network node, a switching indication to switch to monitoring second PDCCH candidates associated with a second SSS group configuration from the multiple SSS group configurations
based on a change in the first received signal quality of the UE to a second received signal quality; and
(See Rudolf paragraph 0131, ...when the gNB 102 determines that a received SINR at the UE 116 has improved in SBFD slots/symbols, for example through a corresponding CSI report by the UE 116, the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to switch from a first SSSG that includes a first number of PDCCH candidates for a large CCE aggregation level to a second SSSG that includes a second number of PDCCH candidates for the large CCE aggregation level where the first number is larger than the second number.)
Shows the base station transmitting the indication to switch SSSG
However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach,
…monitor the second PDCCH candidates associated with the second SSS group configuration.
Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…monitor the second PDCCH candidates associated with the second SSS group configuration.
(See Papaskellariou paragraph 0200, A UE request for switching from a first group of search space sets to a second group of search space sets can be based on a signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) measured by the UE in CORESETs of PDCCH receptions for the search space sets, or on block error rate (BLER) statistics for detection of DCI formats provided by PDCCH receptions, and so on.)
Shows the UE requesting to switch to monitoring a second SSS group
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0200, A serving gNB receiving the request from the UE can respond with an indication of a group of search space sets for the UE to monitor PDCCH by providing a corresponding group index, wherein the group index can be same as or different than an index for a current group of search space sets that the UE uses to monitor PDCCH.)
Shows the UE monitoring the second SSS group
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 8 (Original)
Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first carrier is a primary cell (PCell).
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0101, when the UE is configured by UE-specific RRC signaling to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI formats according to a CSS, referred to as Type3-PDCCH CSS, on the secondary cell relates to treating the secondary cell as the primary cell with respect to overbooking the PDCCH capability of the UE on the secondary cell and then having to perform search space set dropping by prioritizing search space sets corresponding to PDCCH monitoring according to CSS.)
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 9 (Original)
Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first received signal quality is a lower level received signal quality than the second received signal quality.
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0204, For example, for two groups of search space sets, the UE can be configured to associate the first group with an RSRP value that is smaller than or equal to a configured RSRP threshold (and to associate the second group with an RSRP value that is larger than the threshold).)
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 10 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches,
…based on the first received signal quality…
…based on a second received signal quality…
(See Rudolf paragraph 0195, The gNB 102 can also separately adapt the search space sets used for scheduling, such as number of PDCCH candidates per CCE aggregation level or a PDCCH monitoring periodicity, based on the received SINR conditions at the UE 116 in SBFD subbands which can vary differently, such as more frequently, than the received SINR conditions in non-SBFD subbands, or based on the amount of UL traffic the UE 116 has remaining.)
Shows the adapting of search space sets with the number of PDCCH candidates based on SINR conditions at the UE
However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach,
The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a first PDCCH monitoring capacity associated with the first SSS group configuration… …and a second PDCCH monitoring capacity associated with a second SSS group configuration…
…are lower than a third PDCCH monitoring capacity that is independent of received signal qualities of the UE.
Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a first PDCCH monitoring capacity associated with the first SSS group configuration… …and a second PDCCH monitoring capacity associated with a second SSS group configuration…
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0090, A UE can monitor PDCCH according to a first PDCCH monitoring type or according to a second PDCCH monitoring type. For the first PDCCH monitoring type that corresponds to a UE capability for PDCCH monitoring per slot, a maximum number of PDCCH candidates M.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ and a maximum number of non-overlapping CCEs C.sub.PDCCH.sup.max,slot,μ for the reception of PDCCH candidates is defined per slot.)
Shows the UE may monitor PDCCH according to a first and second PDCCH monitoring type based on the number of PDCCH candidates
Shows the number of PDCCH candidates determines the PDCCH monitoring capacity. For example, a search space set with a higher number of PDCCH candidates possesses a higher PDCCH monitoring capacity than a search space set with a lower number of PDCCH candidates.
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0160, ...the UE drops PDCCH monitoring for all search space sets with indexes larger than or equal to the index of a search space set where the UE reaches the limit for the number of non-overlapped CCEs or the limit for the number of PDCCH candidates that the UE can monitor in a slot (or the first span of a slot).)
Shows the UE dropping PDCCH monitoring for all search space sets upon indexes of search space set reaching a max number of PDCCH candidates
…are lower than a third PDCCH monitoring capacity that is independent of received signal qualities of the UE.
(See Papakellariou paragraph 0164, ...when after an allocation of PDCCH candidates and non-overlapping CCEs to search space sets with first indexes, a remaining number of PDCCH candidates is 5 and a number of configured for a search space set with a next index is 6, a UE drops PDCCH monitoring for all remaining PDCCH candidates even though a corresponding capability would be exceeded by only one PDCCH candidate.)
Shows the UE dropping PDCCH monitoring candidates based upon search space set index
Shows the lowest SSS index as the third PDCCH monitoring capacity independent of received signal qualities of the UE
Shows the subsequent SSS with higher indexes with lower PDCCH candidates and lower PDCCH monitoring capacity
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 13 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 14 (Previously Presented)
Rudolf teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 18 (Original)
Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 8. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 8. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 19 (Original)
Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 19 as stated in claim 9. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 19 as stated in claim 9. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 20 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 23 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 3. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 3. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 24 (Original)
Rudolf teaches limitations of claim 24 as stated in claim 4. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 24 as stated in claim 4. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 24 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 25 (Original)
Rudolf teaches,
The method of claim 24, wherein the switching indication is comprised in downlink control information (DCI);
(See Rudolf paragraph 0124, The UE 116 can be indicated to switch from a first SSSG to a second SSSG for PDCCH monitoring via an indication by a scheduling DCI.)
wherein the switching indication is for at least one bandwidth part (BWP) or at least one carrier;
(See Rudolf paragraph 0131, ...when the gNB 102 determines that a received SINR at the UE 116 has improved in SBFD slots/symbols, for example through a corresponding CSI report by the UE 116, the gNB 102 can indicate to the UE 116 to switch from a first SSSG...)
Shows the switching indication for the SBFD
(See Rudolf paragraph 0098, ...when carrier-aggregation based full-duplex operation is used, an SBFD subband may correspond to a component carrier or a part of a component carrier or an SBFD subband may be allocated using parts of multiple component carriers.)
Shows SBFD includes multiple component carriers
(See Rudolf paragraph 0095, Full-duplex operation using an UL subband or a DL subband may be referred to as subband-full-duplex (SBFD).)
Shows SBFD stands for subband-full-duplex
wherein the switching indication for the second SSS group configuration is received on at least a first carrier, and wherein monitoring the second PDCCH candidates comprises: monitoring the second PDCCH candidates on multiple carriers based on the second SSS group configuration; or
In Rudolf FIG. 10 of UL-DL period n, the UE receives the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field or switching indication on CORSET #2 SSSG #2 or a first carrier monitoring both SBFD and non-SBFD slots based on SSSG #2. Subsequently, UL-DL period n + 1 shows in step 3, the SSSG switching with the UE monitoring PDCCH based on SSSG #1 for the SBFD slots and the PDCCH based on SSSG #2 for the non-SFBD slots.
(See Rudolf paragraph 0178, ...when an existing PDCCH monitoring adaptation field is used, a first value of the field can selectively assign a SSSG from the set of SSSGs for PDCCH monitoring on non-SBFD symbols/slots, e.g., indicate start of PDCCH monitoring according to an SSSG with group index j and stop of PDCCH monitoring according to an SSSG with another group index and a second value of the field can selectively assign a SSSG from the set of SSSGs for PDCCH monitoring on SBFD symbols/slots.)
Shows the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicating a switch from one SSSG to anther SSSG
However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the first received signal quality is a lower level received signal quality than the second received signal quality.
Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the first received signal quality is a lower level received signal quality than the second received signal quality.
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0204, For example, for two groups of search space sets, the UE can be configured to associate the first group with an RSRP value that is smaller than or equal to a configured RSRP threshold (and to associate the second group with an RSRP value that is larger than the threshold).)
The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 28 (Currently Amended)
Rudolf teaches limitations of claim 28 as stated in claim 3. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 28 as stated in claim 3. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 28 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 29 (Original)
Rudolf teaches limitations of claim 29 as stated in claim 4. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 29 as stated in claim 4. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 29 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 30 (Original)
Rudolf teaches limitations of claim 30 as stated in claim 25. However, Rudolf fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 30 as stated in claim 25. Nevertheless, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 30 as stated in claim 25. The motivation to combine Rudolf and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Morimoto et al. (WO 2023054119 A1) or Morimoto teaches switching from a first search space set group or SSSG to a second SSSG.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414