The claims filed on 05/31/2023 are entered and acknowledge. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/31/2023 have been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huda et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0114392 A1) (hereinafter “Huda”) in view of Condoluci et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0314229 A1) (hereinafter "Condoluci”).
With respect to claim 1: Huda discloses a method for providing a policy orchestration framework to support an end-to-end (E2E) policy architecture with top to bottom policy orchestration, comprising:
providing a frontend network having a first layer supporting network services (orchestration of frontend network RAN [0015], [0019], [0041-0043]);
providing a backend network having a second layer supporting the network services orchestration of backend core network [0015], [0019], [0041-0043]);
providing policy orchestration by providing an end-to-end view between the frontend network and the backend, and coordinating end-to-end policy decisions for the first layer of the frontend network and for the second layer of the backend based on the end-to-end view (providing e2e orchestration policies for RAN and core network slice management, the IEOP functions as a manager/controller that dynamically bridges RAN and core slice needs [0015-0016], [0061-0062]. The SDN manage transport functions for various layers within the network system [0044]. The orchestration control framework may be integrated with any controller such as SDN controller, SDN control software, etc. [0020]);
However, Huda does not explicitly disclose a first plurality of layers and a second plurality of layers;
Condoluci discloses a first plurality of layers and a second plurality of layers (plurality of layers including a first and second layer, after obtaining information, providing the information to another layer [0106], [Fig. 7], plurality of sublayers[Fig. 4]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huda in view of Condoluci in order to a first plurality of layers and a second plurality of layers;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would optimize the user plane for use of radio resources [Condoluci: 0030].
With respect to claim 2: Huda-Condoluci discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Huda discloses wherein the providing the end-to-end view between the frontend network and the backend network includes providing visibility at a System/Platform level, visibility of network functions at a node level, visibility at a network services end-to-end level, and visibility at an application level (SDN coordinate networking and provisioning of application/and or services and manage transport functions for various layers within the network system, the SDN may provide a platform for network services [0036], [0044], network functions from physical network functions or elements [0044]).
With respect to claim 3: Huda-Condoluci discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Huda discloses wherein the coordinating the policies between the first plurality of layers of the frontend network and the second plurality of layers of the backend network includes providing intercommunications between the first plurality of layers and between the second plurality of layers (providing e2e orchestration policies for RAN and core network slice management, the IEOP functions as a manager/controller that dynamically bridges RAN and core slice needs [0015-0016], [0061-0062]);
However, Huda does not explicitly disclose a first plurality of layers and a second plurality of layers;
Condoluci discloses a first plurality of layers and a second plurality of layers (plurality of layers including a first and second layer, after obtaining information, providing the information to another layer [0106], [Fig. 7], plurality of sublayers[Fig. 4]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huda in view of Condoluci in order to a first plurality of layers and a second plurality of layers;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would optimize the user plane for use of radio resources [Condoluci: 0030].
With respect to claim 6: Huda-Condoluci discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Huda discloses wherein the providing the policy orchestration includes providing the policy orchestration at a multi-access level management entity providing cloud-computing capabilities at an edge of the network (the IEOP may globally orchestrate E2E network slicing across the network access, edge and core networks [0018]).
With respect to claims 8-10 and 13, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 1-3, and 6, respectively. Therefore claims 8-10 and 13 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-3 and 6.
With respect to claims 15-16 and 19, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 1-2 and 6, respectively. Therefore claims 15-16 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-2 and 6.
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huda et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0114392 A1) (hereinafter “Huda”) in view of Condoluci et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0314229 A1) (hereinafter "Condoluci”) as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, 15-16 and 19 above, further in view of Burakovsky et al Pat. No.: (US 10,601,776 A1) (hereinafter "Burakovsky”).
With respect to claim 4: Huda-Condoluci discloses the method of claim 3 as set forth above.
However, Huda does not explicitly disclose wherein the providing intercommunications between the first plurality of layers and between the second plurality of layers includes providing Push Messages and Pull messages between the first plurality of layers and between the second plurality of layers;
Condoluci discloses a first plurality of layers and a second plurality of layers (plurality of layers including a first and second layer, after obtaining information, providing the information to another layer [0106], [Fig. 7], plurality of sublayers[Fig. 4]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huda in view of Condoluci in order to a first plurality of layers and a second plurality of layers;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would optimize the user plane for use of radio resources [Condoluci: 0030];
However, Huda-Condoluci does not explicitly disclose providing Push Messages and Pull messages between the first plurality of layers and between the second plurality of layers;
Burakovsky discloses providing Push Messages and Pull messages (communicating with the orchestration to obtain policy via a push or pull messages [Col 7 lines 16-57]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huda-Condoluci in view of Burakovsky in order to providing Push Messages and Pull messages;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide a method to facilitate security policies [Burakovsky: Col 7 lines 16-57].
With respect to claim 5: Huda-Condoluci-Burakovsky discloses the method of claim 4 as set forth above.
However, Huda-Condoluci does not explicitly disclose wherein the providing Push Messages and Pull messages between the first plurality of layers and between the second plurality of layers includes one of providing a Pull Message communicated from a lower level to an upper level to obtain a policy specific decision at an enforcement level, providing a Pull Message communicated from the upper level to the lower level to obtain resource level and service level requirement information, providing a Push Message communicated from the lower level to the upper level to provide the resource level and service level requirement information, or providing a Push Message communicated from the upper level to the lower level to provide the policy specific decision;
Burakovsky discloses wherein the providing Push Messages and Pull messages between the first plurality of layers and between the second plurality of layers includes one of providing a Pull Message communicated from a lower level to an upper level to obtain a policy specific decision at an enforcement level, providing a Pull Message communicated from the upper level to the lower level to obtain resource level and service level requirement information, providing a Push Message communicated from the lower level to the upper level to provide the resource level and service level requirement information, or providing a Push Message communicated from the upper level to the lower level to provide the policy specific decision (security platform configured to communicate with orchestrator elements and the orchestrator elements communicate with network elements to facilitate policies using a push pull method [Col 7 lines 16-57]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huda-Condoluci in view of Burakovsky in order to providing Push Messages and Pull messages;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide a method to facilitate security policies [Burakovsky: Col 7 lines 16-57].
With respect to claim 11-12, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 4-5, respectively. Therefore claim 11-12 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4-5.
With respect to claim 17-18, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 4-5, respectively. Therefore claim 17-18 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4-5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Han et al. Pub. No.: (US 2026/0052432 A1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-20 (e.g., Methods and arrangements to communicate UE context information).
Kundu et al. Pub. No.: (US 2023/0300728 A1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-20 (e.g., Application programming interface to store data).
Mondal et al. Pub. No.: (US 2025/0184084 A1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-20 (e.g., Timing advance and channel state information enhancement).
/T. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446