Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inamdar (U.S. 20140073731) in view of Gupta (U.S. 20150315465) as evidenced by Bird (U.S. 5,637,718).
Inamdar teaches polypropylene composition with glass fiber reinforcement and elastomer (functionally impact modifiers) and coupling agents (maleic anhydride (MAH) modified polypropylene ¶[0037] – compatibilizers).
Inamdar exemplifies a stabilizer as Irganox B225 in the amount of 0.6 wt%. (And in ¶[0037]) As evidenced by Bird in Column 16 lines 1-5 Irganox B225 is an antioxidant.
Inamdar does not exemplify UV absorbers or light stabilizers but is open other additives in the compositions (¶[0037]).
Gupta, working in the field of stabilizing materials against degradation due to thermal and ultraviolet light exposure similar to Applicant, teaches stabilizer compositions which include a tris-aryl-s-triazine compound (hydroxyphenyl triazine (Cyasorb UV1164 exemplified), hindered amine light stabilizer (HALS) and antioxidant. (See Abstract) Gupta teaches in ¶[00131] the stabilizer composition (polypropylene exemplified) display a synergistic effect and provide enhanced thermal performance in terms of retaining tensile strength under extreme conditions as compared to samples containing formulations known to those skilled in the art, and the compositions according to the invention as described herein also do not have any antagonistic effect against the good weathering performance
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Inamdar such that the stabilizer package is the stabilizer composition of Gupta for the above described advantages taught by Gupta in ¶[00131].
This would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to composition of Inamdar with:
The tris-aryl-s-triazine compound (hydroxyphenyl triazine (Cyasorb UV1164 exemplified). In ¶[0027] of the as-filed specification Applicant considers hydroxyphenyl triazine to be a UV absorber. The amount of this component is taught in ¶[0045] as 0.002 wt% to 0.50 wt% which overlaps the range of Claim 1 and Claim 2.
The hindered amine light stabilizer (HALS) reads over the light stabilizer of Claim 1 and Gupta teaches the amount that can be used is 0.01 to 1.20 wt% in ¶[0046] which overlaps the ranges of Claim 1 and Claim 3.
With respect to the amounts of polypropylene and glass fiber, Inamdar exemplifies multiple amounts of polypropylene and also 30 wt% or 50 wt% of glass fiber including 47.28 wt% of polypropylene, 30 wt% of glass fiber and 20 wt% of elastomer.
The 47.28 wt % polypropylene reads over the polypropylene and amount of (a) of Claim 1.
The 30 wt% glass fiber reads over the glass fiber and amount of Claim 1.
The ratio of these two 47:30 also meets the range ratio range of Claim 1.
Note that the exemplified glass fiber is “long glass fiber” in Inamdar and, as it is not specifically defined in Claim 1, it reads over the long glass fiber of Claim 1.
However, Inamdar teaches in a variety of glass fiber teachings in ¶[0036] in including long glass fibers have a length of 5 mm to 15 mm (5,000 microns to 15,000 microns) and short glass fibers have lengths of less than or equal to about 5 mm (or 5,000 microns or less). Both short and long glass fibers are exemplified by Inamdar (See Table 2A for short glass fibers with nearly same compositional amounts of polypropylene, glass fibers, and elastomer.
Therefore, Claim 6’s long fiber term is interpreted to be reflective of the actual length of taught in the art rather than the use of the term short or long fiber in the art. As Inamdar teaches exemplifies short fiber reinforcement and also teaches this is meant to encompass fiber lengths of less than or equal to 5 mm (or 5,000 microns) this short fiber teaching of Inanmada overlaps the long fiber reinforcement length of 5 microns to 15 microns of Claim 6.
The preamble language of “for a solar module” is considered future intended use and there is no evidence to suggest Inamdar and Gupta’s compositions cannot be used to make a solar module. This reads over the preamble of Claim 1.
In the examples, Inamdar adjusts the amount of elastomer (exemplified as 20 wt%) by adjusting the amount of polypropylene down rather than the amount of glass fiber. (See Table 1A)
The examples of Inamdar exemplified densities of the composite materials of 1.19 to 1.23 and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to practice the invention of Inamdar and Gupta such that the resulting densities of the composites were in the range of 1.19 to 1.23 g/cm3 which overlaps the range recited by Claim 4.
The MFI of the polypropylenes are taught as 4 to 20 g/10 minutes in ¶[0032] which meets the MFI of Claim 5.
Inamdar teaches in ¶[0033] the amount of polypropylene is 10 to 90 wt% and the amount of glass fiber is 20 to 70 wt%. In ¶[0035], Inamdar teaches the elastomer is used an amount of greater than 0 to 30 wt% and individually teaches 1, 5 and 10 wt% of the elastomer. The exemplified amount of elastomer does not meet the range of Claim 7.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Inamdar such that the amount of elastomer was 1, 5, or 10 in, in for instance, the 50 wt % glass fiber because Inamdar specifically teaches these amount of elastomer in ¶[0035]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add back in polypropylene when reducing the amount of elastomer because Inamdar reasonably suggests via the examples as discussed above. This would have lead on of ordinary skill in the art to 50 wt% glass fiber, 1, 5, 10 wt% elastomer and ~36 - ~45 wt% of polypropylene in the compositions which also meets the ranges of Claim 1 and 36-45:50 also meets the weight ratio Claim 1.
While not specifically taught as a toughening agent, the elastomer is considered a toughening agent no matter how good or poor it might be. Further, Applicant teaches in ¶[0031] of the as-filed specification the toughening agents include ethylene copolymerized with an olefin like butylene. Such a copolymer is exemplified by Inamdar and, as such, reads over the toughening agent of Claim 7.
The MAH-polypropylene coupling agents exemplified in amounts of 1.93 and 3 wt% read over the compatibilizer of Claim 8. MAH modified polyolefins are reasonably suggested to be compatibilizers according to the claims based on the MAH polyolefins taught for this purpose in the as-filed specification in ¶[0034].
The antioxidant (hindered phenol antioxidant) from Gupta is taught to be used in an amount of 0.001 to 0.50 wt% ¶[0049] which overlaps the range of Claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inamdar (U.S. 20140073731) in view of Gupta (U.S. 20150315465) as evidenced by Bird (U.S. 5,637,718) and in further view of Stockreiter (U.S. 20100317791).
Inamdar is applied as above.
Inamdar is open to other additives in the polypropylene compositions but does not teach or suggest a slip agent.
Stockreiter, working in the field of glass filled polypropylene compositions similar to Applicant and Inamdar, teaches slip / mold release agents are conventional additives in glass filled polypropylene and are used in an amount of less than 2 wt% of the composition. ¶[0064]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Inamdar as discussed above by adding a slip agent because Stockreiter teaches slip agents are common additives used in glass filled polypropylene compositions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add up to 2 wt% of the slip agent because Stockreiter teaches this amount.
This reads over the range of Claim 10.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766