DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12/24/2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,5-9,11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112201779 (CN ‘779).
As to Claim 1, CN ‘779 discloses a method whereby a silicon based material is coated with a carbon material, pre-lithiated to form a lithium silicate wherein a lithium source compound is reacted with coated silicon based material and exposed to heat and then an acid treatment involving the use of an acid gas atmosphere treatment step (pg. 2, lines 10-32, pg. 3, lines 23-27).
As to Claim 3, see discussion of Claim 1 above.
As to Claim 5, the lithium source can be lithium metal or lithium hydride (pg. 2, line 28).
As to Claim 6, the acid gas can be blown in (Example 3-1, pg. 6).
As to Claims 7 and 8, the Examiner notes that the claims are directed to alternative limitations of Claim 6, and insofar as one of the alternatives of Claim 6 is met, Claims 7 and 8 are also considered rejected.
As to Claim 9, the gas can be CO2 (Example 3-1, pg. 6).
As to Claim 11, the Examiner respectfully submits the prior art would inherently display the claimed limitation due to similarity of the prior art and instantly claimed process as well as the materials used in the process.
As to Claim 12, see discussion of Claim 5 above.
As to Claim 13, the Examiner notes the prior art does not use a metal carbonate containing precursor and therefore would meet the limitations that specify 0 wt % of the metal carbonate in the material where the limitation of 3.0 wt % or less is construed as including 0 wt %.
As to Claim 14, Example 3-1 illustrates the process whereby, after the exposure to the CO2 gas in the furnace, the temperature is taken from 850 deg C to 40 deg C in inert atmosphere (Example 3-1, pg. 6) which the Examiner construes as equivalent to the drying process required by the instant claim.
Claim(s) 1,2 and 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2019204683 (JP ‘683).
As to Claim 1, JP ‘683 discloses a method of bringing a silicon containing negative electrode material in contact with lithium metal and polycyclic aromatic compounds and doing a CO2 treatment of the resulting material (pg. 2, lines 19-26) using a CO2 gas blowing process (pg. 6, lines 15-21).
As to Claim 2, the silicon containing negative material can be silicon dioxide (pg. 6, lines 37-42).
As to Claim 5, see discussion in Claim 1 above.
As to Claim 6, see discussion in Claim 1 above.
As to Claims 7 and 8, the Examiner notes that the claims are directed to alternative limitations of Claim 6, and insofar as one of the alternatives of Claim 6 is met, Claims 7 and 8 are also considered rejected.
As to Claim 9, see discussion of Claim 1 above.
As to Claim 10, JP ‘683 discloses the percentage change of oxygen present in the electrode material before and after CO2 treatment as 3 to 20 % (pg. 6, line 13).
As to Claim 11, the Examiner respectfully submits the prior art would inherently display the claimed limitation due to similarity of the prior art and instantly claimed process as well as the materials used in the process.
As to Claim 12, see discussion of Claim 1 and 11 above.
As to Claim 13, the Examiner notes the prior art does not use a metal carbonate containing precursor and therefore would meet the limitations that specify 0 wt % of the metal carbonate in the material where the limitation of 3.0 wt % or less is construed as including 0 wt %.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘779 in view of JP ‘683.
As to Claim 2, CN ‘779 fails to disclose the use of silicon dioxide as required by the claim.
As to the difference, JP ‘683 discloses a process of doping and acid treating a silicon electrode material wherein the silicon electrode material can be silicon metal or silicon dioxide (pg. 6, lines 38-42).
It would have been obvious to utilize a silicon dioxide similar to that of the instant claims in CN ‘779 invention as the prior art illustrates common silicon based electrode materials used for similar applications.
As to Claim 4, CN ‘779 discloses a metal doping step conducted at 750 to 850 deg C (pg. 2, line 27), however, fails to disclose at temperatures of 500 to 700 deg C as required by the claim.
As to the difference, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.051.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 2/13/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762