In the response filed 12/16/2025: Attorney elected Group 1 (claims 1-17 and 19) for examination without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230300917 to Min et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 5465096 to Nawata et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220141891 to Masini et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190190635 to Goel et al.
Referring to claim 1, Min et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a flight vehicle (Section 0125: BS 210, which may be an airplane or drone, each of which is a claimed “flight vehicle”) which has an antenna (Section 0032; BS 210 has an antenna) for forming a wireless communication area (Sections 0041, 0064, and 0120-0122: BS 210 has a coverage area of NG-RAN 200 serving UE 100M and UE 100S) by … beam (Section 0032: BS 210 generates beams towards UE 100M and UE 100S) towards a ground (Section 0125: UE 100M and UE 100S may be on vehicles such as a car, which is on the claimed “ground”; so BS 210 can be an airplane or drone that uses beams to communicate with ground terminals UE 100M and UE 100S) to provide a wireless communication service (wireless communication) to a user terminal (UE 100M and UE 100S) in the wireless communication area, the flight vehicle comprising:
an … communication unit (not shown, but BS 210 must have a communication unit, similar to radio transmission unit 101, radio reception unit 103, input device 1005, and output device 1006 of UE) which communicates with a core network (core network 300) on the ground (Section 0125: UE 100M and UE 100S may be on vehicles such as a car, which is on the claimed “ground” with the core network) via a … link (uplink and downlink communication with core network 300). Sections 0021-0034: BS 210 communicates with core network 300 as shown in Figure 1.
…
A communication control unit (not shown, but BS 210 must have a control unit, similar to control unit 109 and processor 1001 of UE) which performs control such that communication between a first user terminal (UE 100M) in the wireless communication area (coverage area of NG-RAN 200) and a second user terminal (UE 100S) is relayed without intermediation of the core network by the user plane function (UPF 310). Section 0055: “In an embodiment, the gNB 210 sends a message including the TSN time to the terminal 100S. Alternatively, the terminal 100M sends a message including the TSN time to the terminal 100S. With such a configuration, the sharing of TSN time is completed within the NG-RAN 200 without using the core network 300 (UPF 310), so that quick synchronization can be achieved.”. So: BS 210, which is in NG-RAN 200, can control UE 100M to communicate with UE 100S without being relayed by UPF 310 of core network 300. Sections 0041, 0064, and 0120-0122: BS 210 has a coverage area of NG-RAN 200 serving UE 100M and UE 100S. Refer to Sections 0020-0155.
Min et al do not disclose a flight vehicle which has an antenna for forming a wireless communication area by irradiating beam towards a ground to provide a wireless communication service to a user terminal in the wireless communication area …
Nawata et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Column 1 lines 38-67 wherein a plurality of network control stations each control an area with a plurality of user terminals using orbiting satellites. Each of the orbiting satellites irradiates a plurality of spot beams in different radiation directions toward the ground to facilitate satellite communication between user terminals among different areas. By applying Nawata et al to Min et al: the flight vehicle (BS) of Min et al can irradiate beams towards the ground to facilitate communication between UEs, similar to the satellite of Nawata et al. Refer to Column 1 line 15 to Column 3 line 24 and Column 4 line 62 to Column 7 line 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a flight vehicle which has an antenna for forming a wireless communication area by irradiating beam towards a ground to provide a wireless communication service to a user terminal in the wireless communication area … One would have been motivated to do so since satellites and flight vehicles can utilize irradiating beams to improve communication between ground UEs.
Min et al and Nawata et al do not disclose … an FL communication unit which communicates with a core network on the ground via a feeder link …
Masini et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0004-0010, 0013, 0059, 0100, 0118, 0127-0130, 0134-0135, and 0144-0146 a satellite-based NG-RAN system with a gNB, wherein the gNB is on a satellite and there is a feeder link between gNB and ground nodes in the network. gNB uses the feeder link to communicate with a core network 5G CN via a gateway. gNB includes an initiating unit 1212 or a an establishing unit 1312 to establish a feeder link to communicate with 5G CN. Refer to Sections 0003-0018 and 0052-0242. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … an FL communication unit which communicates with a core network on the ground via a feeder link … One would have been motivated to do so since gNB conventionally uses a feeder link to communicate with core network.
Min et al, Nawata et al, and Masini et al do not disclose … a UP execution unit which executes a user plane function … Min et al disclose only disclose in Figure 1 and Section 0033 wherein core network 300 comprises a UPF 310, but Min et al do not disclose that the flight vehicle (BS 210) comprises the claimed user plane function.
Goel et al disclose in Figures 1-23 and Sections 0128-0134 wherein BS includes a user plane function. By applying Goel et al to Min et al: the flight vehicle (BS) of Min et al can include a UPF, as disclosed by Goel, so that BS of Min et al can perform user plane processing to handle user data such as packet routing and forwarding. Refer to Sections 0045-0243. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … a UP execution unit which executes a user plane function … One would have been motivated to do so so that BS includes a UPF to perform user plane processing to handle user data such as packet routing and forwarding, thereby facilitating communication.
Referring to claim 7, Min et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the communication control unit performs control such that communication between the first user terminal (UE 100M) in the wireless communication area (coverage area of NG-RAN 200) and the second user terminal (UE 100S) in the wireless communication area (coverage area of NG-RAN 200) is relayed without intermediation of the core network. Section 0055: “In an embodiment, the gNB 210 sends a message including the TSN time to the terminal 100S. Alternatively, the terminal 100M sends a message including the TSN time to the terminal 100S. With such a configuration, the sharing of TSN time is completed within the NG-RAN 200 without using the core network 300 (UPF 310), so that quick synchronization can be achieved.”. So: BS 210, which is in NG-RAN 200, can control UE 100M to communicate with UE 100S without being relayed by UPF 310 of core network 300. Sections 0041, 0064, and 0120-0122: BS 210 has a coverage area of NG-RAN 200 serving UE 100M and UE 100S. Refer to Sections 0020-0155.
Referring to claim 19, Min et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a control method executed by a flight vehicle (Section 0125: BS 210, which may be an airplane or drone, each of which is a claimed “flight vehicle”) which has an antenna (Section 0032; BS 210 has an antenna) for forming a wireless communication area (Sections 0041, 0064, and 0120-0122: BS 210 has a coverage area of NG-RAN 200 serving UE 100M and UE 100S) by … beam (Section 0032: BS 210 generates beams towards UE 100M and UE 100S) towards a ground (Section 0125: UE 100M and UE 100S may be on vehicles such as a car, which is on the claimed “ground”; so BS 210 can be an airplane or drone that uses beams to communicate with ground terminals UE 100M and UE 100S) to provide a wireless communication service (wireless communication) to a user terminal (UE 100M and UE 100S) in the wireless communication area, the control method comprising:
Performing … communication unit to communicate with a core network (core network 300) on the ground (Section 0125: UE 100M and UE 100S may be on vehicles such as a car, which is on the claimed “ground” with the core network) via a … link (uplink and downlink communication with core network 300). Sections 0021-0034: BS 210 communicates with core network 300 as shown in Figure 1.
…
Performing communication control by performing control such that communication between a first user terminal (UE 100M) in the wireless communication area (coverage area of NG-RAN 200) and a second user terminal (UE 100S) is relayed without intermediation of the core network by the user plane function (UPF 310). Section 0055: “In an embodiment, the gNB 210 sends a message including the TSN time to the terminal 100S. Alternatively, the terminal 100M sends a message including the TSN time to the terminal 100S. With such a configuration, the sharing of TSN time is completed within the NG-RAN 200 without using the core network 300 (UPF 310), so that quick synchronization can be achieved.”. So: BS 210, which is in NG-RAN 200, can control UE 100M to communicate with UE 100S without being relayed by UPF 310 of core network 300. Sections 0041, 0064, and 0120-0122: BS 210 has a coverage area of NG-RAN 200 serving UE 100M and UE 100S. Refer to Sections 0020-0155.
Min et al do not disclose a control method executed by a flight vehicle which has an antenna for forming a wireless communication area by irradiating beam towards a ground to provide a wireless communication service to a user terminal in the wireless communication area …
Nawata et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Column 1 lines 38-67 wherein a plurality of network control stations each control an area with a plurality of user terminals using orbiting satellites. Each of the orbiting satellites irradiates a plurality of spot beams in different radiation directions toward the ground to facilitate satellite communication between user terminals among different areas. By applying Nawata et al to Min et al: the flight vehicle (BS) of Min et al can irradiate beams towards the ground to facilitate communication between UEs, similar to the satellite of Nawata et al. Refer to Column 1 line 15 to Column 3 line 24 and Column 4 line 62 to Column 7 line 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a control method executed by a flight vehicle which has an antenna for forming a wireless communication area by irradiating beam towards a ground to provide a wireless communication service to a user terminal in the wireless communication area … One would have been motivated to do so since satellites and flight vehicles can utilize irradiating beams to improve communication between ground UEs.
Min et al and Nawata et al do not disclose … performing FL communication unit which communicates with a core network on the ground via a feeder link …
Masini et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0004-0010, 0013, 0059, 0100, 0118, 0127-0130, 0134-0135, and 0144-0146 a satellite-based NG-RAN system with a gNB, wherein the gNB is on a satellite and there is a feeder link between gNB and ground nodes in the network. gNB uses the feeder link to communicate with a core network 5G CN via a gateway. gNB includes an initiating unit 1212 or a an establishing unit 1312 to establish a feeder link to communicate with 5G CN. Refer to Sections 0003-0018 and 0052-0242. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … performing FL communication unit which communicates with a core network on the ground via a feeder link … One would have been motivated to do so since gNB conventionally uses a feeder link to communicate with core network.
Min et al, Nawata et al, and Masini et al do not disclose … performing UP execution by executing a user plane function … Min et al disclose only disclose in Figure 1 and Section 0033 wherein core network 300 comprises a UPF 310, but Min et al do not disclose that the flight vehicle (BS 210) comprises the claimed user plane function.
Goel et al disclose in Figures 1-23 and Sections 0128-0134 wherein BS includes a user plane function. By applying Goel et al to Min et al: the flight vehicle (BS) of Min et al can include a UPF, as disclosed by Goel, so that BS of Min et al can perform user plane processing to handle user data such as packet routing and forwarding. Refer to Sections 0045-0243. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … performing UP execution by executing a user plane function … One would have been motivated to do so so that BS includes a UPF to perform user plane processing to handle user data such as packet routing and forwarding, thereby facilitating communication.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230300917 to Min et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 5465096 to Nawata et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220141891 to Masini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190190635 to Goel et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20220078700 to Minokuchi et al.
Min et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the communication control unit performs control such that a … area network (coverage area of NG-RAN 200) is constructed between the first user terminal (UE 100M) in the wireless communication area (coverage area of NG-RAN 200) and the second user terminal (UE 100S) in the wireless communication area (coverage area of NG-RAN 200). Min et al only disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0041, 0064, and 0120-0122 wherein BS 210 has a coverage area of NG-RAN 200 serving UE 100M and UE 100S, so UE 100M and UE 100S are in the same area network. Refer to Sections 0020-0155.
Min et al, Nawata et al, Masini et al, and Goel et al do not disclose wherein the communication control unit performs control such that a closed area network is constructed between the first user terminal in the wireless communication area and the second user terminal in the wireless communication area.
Minokuchi et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0023, 0093, and 0094 a system comprising BS and a plurality of UEs, wherein BS or UE can be an airplane or drone, or a system comprising a plurality of UEs communicating via D2D or V2X. The system can be in a closed area network with a private network slice using a 5G system, and terminals are allowed to connect only to the private network slice. Refer to Sections 0016-0108. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the communication control unit performs control such that a closed area network is constructed between the first user terminal in the wireless communication area and the second user terminal in the wireless communication area. One would have been motivated to do so since a closed area network is a more private network with restricted access and more security.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230300917 to Min et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 5465096 to Nawata et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220141891 to Masini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190190635 to Goel et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20150189588 to Westberg et al.
Min et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a communication management system (Figure 1; system 10) comprising:
The flight vehicle (BS 210) according to claim 1 (refer to the rejection of claim 1).
A control system (UPF 310) arranged in the core network (core network 300).
Wherein, the communication control unit performs control such that … communication between a first user terminal (UE 100M) in the wireless communication area (coverage area of NG-RAN 200) and a second user terminal (UE 100S) is relayed without intermediation of the core network by the user plane function (UPF 310). Section 0055: “In an embodiment, the gNB 210 sends a message including the TSN time to the terminal 100S. Alternatively, the terminal 100M sends a message including the TSN time to the terminal 100S. With such a configuration, the sharing of TSN time is completed within the NG-RAN 200 without using the core network 300 (UPF 310), so that quick synchronization can be achieved.”. So: BS 210, which is in NG-RAN 200, can control UE 100M to communicate with UE 100S without being relayed by UPF 310 of core network 300. Sections 0041, 0064, and 0120-0122: BS 210 has a coverage area of NG-RAN 200 serving UE 100M and UE 100S. Refer to Sections 0020-0155.
Min et al, Nawata et al, Masini et al, and Goel et al do not disclose … wherein, the communication control unit performs control such that in response to an instruction from the control system, communication between a first user terminal in the wireless communication area and a second user terminal is relayed without intermediation of the core network by the user plane function.
Westberg et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0041-0055 wherein a first network node 215 of transport network (claimed “control system”) transmits a command instructing BS 201 (claimed “flight vehicle”) to perform communication between second network node 217 and third network node 220 by bypassing transport network transmission equipment 215 with the use of relay 209 to perform communication without the transport network (claimed “communication between a first user terminal in the wireless communication area and a second user terminal is relayed without intermediation of the core network”). Section 0049: “The first base station 201, upon receipt of the instructions, activates the relay 209, i.e. bypassing the transport network transmission equipment 205.”. Refer to Sections 0002-0011 and 0032-0081. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein, the communication control unit performs control such that in response to an instruction from the control system, communication between a first user terminal in the wireless communication area and a second user terminal is relayed without intermediation of the core network by the user plane function. One would have been motivated to do so that based on an instruction from a control system, first UE can transmit data to second UE without use of the network, thereby allowing the control system to determine when to perform data transmission without use of the network.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230300917 to Min et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 5465096 to Nawata et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220141891 to Masini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190190635 to Goel et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150189588 to Westberg et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20160006883 to Cartmell et al.
Min et al, Nawata et al, Masini et al, Goel et al, and Westberg et al do not disclose wherein when the first user terminal and the second user terminal have a contract for performing communication via the flight vehicle without intermediation of a core network, the control system transmits the instruction to the communication control unit.
Cartmell et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0062, 0063, 0070, 0071, 0077-0079, and 0085 wherein WTRU transmits a request to content provider via CGW. CGW, based on an agreement with the content provider, bypasses the core network and routes the request directly to the content provider (claimed “contract for performing communication … without intermediation of a core network”). Refer to Sections 0019-0110. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein when the first user terminal and the second user terminal have a contract for performing communication via the flight vehicle without intermediation of a core network, the control system transmits the instruction to the communication control unit. One would have been motivated to do so that user terminals can have a contract to communicate without core network intermediation, thereby facilitate communication between user terminals with the use of a contract.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-10, and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20220287137 to Futaki et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Sections 0034, 0048 wherein an old gNB determines whether or not to send UL data of UE to the core network via the old gNB; in response to a decision not to send the UL data via old gNB, old gNB provides the UE context of the UE to the new gNB; so, new gNB 1 so the UL data directly to the core network node, wherein the core network includes a UPF. Refer to Sections 0031-0119.
U.S. Publication No. 20190280762 to Arcidiacono et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0069, 0093-0097, and 0101-0114 wherein a satellite comprises an antenna array AN to receive signals emitted by terminals and a feeder link FL to send signals to ground stations and/or terminals. Refer to Sections 0068-0117.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
January 12, 12026