Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims and in view of the current amendment to claims have been considered but are moot, please refer to rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1, 6-11, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethi (US 10,779,230 B1) in view of SRINIVASAN (US 2010/0311402 A1).
As per claim 1, Sethi teaches a method for operating a mobile telecommunications device connected to a first mobile telecommunications network having a country code identifying a first country (Fig.6 and Col.11, lines 1-5, method of operating the terminal device 102 connected to home mobile network based in Germany (i.e. first country) with mobile country code (MCC) identifying the country), the method comprising: determining whether the mobile telecommunications device crosses from the first country into a second country (Fig.6, Col.16, lines 37-45, determining that the terminal device visits a different country such as UK (i.e. second country) thus crosses from the Germany into the UK); when the mobile telecommunications device crosses from the first country into the second country, scanning, through the mobile telecommunications device, for mobile telecommunications networks discoverable to the mobile telecommunications device (Fig.6, Col.16, lines 37-53, when the terminal device visits different country such as UK, scanning for mobile networks available by detecting/discovering to the terminal device), wherein each discoverable mobile telecommunications network has a country code identifying a service country of that mobile telecommunications network (Fig.6 and Col.11, lines 1-5 and Col.16, lines 37-53, available mobile networks has country code identifying a mobile service country of that mobile networks).
However, Sethi does not explicitly teach offering to a user of the mobile telecommunications device to manually connect the mobile telecommunications device to the discoverable mobile telecommunications networks in order of priority on a prioritized roaming list of mobile telecommunications networks associated with the mobile telecommunications device and having a country code not identifying the first country.
In the same field of endeavor, SRINIVASAN teaches offering to a user of the mobile telecommunications device to manually connect the mobile telecommunications device to the discoverable mobile telecommunications networks in order of priority on a prioritized roaming list of mobile telecommunications networks associated with the mobile telecommunications device and having a country code not identifying the first country (¶0136 and ¶0138 and ¶0151, providing or offering to the user of mobile device 101 through user input selection (i.e. manual) connect the mobile device 101 to discoverable communication networks based on preferred/prioritized roaming list (PRL) (PRL which is a priority listing of approved SID's which the service provider provides to the mobile device in order to determine which network SIDs the mobile device is allowed to utilize for service) of communication networks associated with mobile device 101 and having different or new country location with new country code, therefore the country code not identifying the first country).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SRINIVASAN into invention of Sethi in order for indicating when to select and enable a new cellular telephone provisioning information supporting wireless communications on a mobile device.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi teaches wherein the prioritized roaming list is stored in memory in the mobile telecommunications device (Col.16, lines 42-45, ranked roaming list is stored in the terminal device).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi teaches wherein the prioritized roaming list is stored in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) in the mobile telecommunications device (Col.16, lines 42-45, ranked roaming list is stored in the SIM/USIM in the terminal device).
As per claim 8 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi teaches wherein the mobile telecommunications device is a cellular mobile handset (Col.2, lines 16-18, terminal device is a cellular phone handheld).
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi teaches wherein the mobile telecommunications device is a cellular telecommunications module fixedly mounted in a motor vehicle (Col.2, lines 16-23, terminal device can include any mobile or immobile wireless communication device handheld or body-mounted electronic devices in the vehicles).
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi teaches wherein the prioritized roaming list is an operator-preferred mobile telecommunications network list (Col.14, lines 13-16, prioritized roaming list is an operator preferred list (i.e. preferred VPLMN)).
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi teaches wherein the prioritized roaming list is a user-preferred mobile telecommunications network list (Col.10, lines 25-30, the prioritized list for roaming is a user prioritized or preferred list).
As per claim 15, Sethi teaches a mobile telecommunications system (Fig.3, mobile communication system) comprising: a mobile telecommunications device (Fig.3, terminal device 102); and one or more controllers (Fig.3, controller 306) collectively programmed with the following instructions: if the mobile telecommunications device is connected to a mobile telecommunications network having a country code identifying a first country (Fig.6 and Col.11, lines 1-5, operating the terminal device 102 connected to home mobile network based in Germany (i.e. first country) with mobile country code (MCC) identifying the country), determine whether the mobile telecommunications device crosses from the first country into a second country (Fig.6, Col.16, lines 37-45, determining that the terminal device visits a different country such as UK (i.e. second country) thus crosses from the Germany into the UK); when the mobile telecommunications device crosses from the first country into the second country, scan, through the mobile telecommunications device, for mobile telecommunications networks discoverable to the mobile telecommunications device (Fig.6, Col.16, lines 37-53, when the terminal device visits different country such as UK, scanning for mobile networks available by detecting/discovering to the terminal device), wherein each discoverable mobile telecommunications network has a country code identifying a service country of that mobile telecommunications network (Fig.6 and Col.11, lines 1-5 and Col.16, lines 37-53, available mobile networks has country code identifying a mobile service country of that mobile networks).
However, Sethi does not explicitly teach offer to a user of the mobile telecommunications device to manually connect the mobile telecommunications device to the discoverable mobile telecommunications networks in order of priority on a prioritized roaming list of mobile telecommunications networks associated with the mobile telecommunications device and having a country code not identifying the first country.
In the same field of endeavor, SRINIVASAN teaches offer to a user of the mobile telecommunications device to manually connect the mobile telecommunications device to the discoverable mobile telecommunications networks in order of priority on a prioritized roaming list of mobile telecommunications networks associated with the mobile telecommunications device and having a country code not identifying the first country (¶0136 and ¶0138 and ¶0151, providing or offering to the user of mobile device 101 through user input selection (i.e. manual) connect the mobile device 101 to discoverable communication networks based on preferred/prioritized roaming list (PRL) (PRL which is a priority listing of approved SID's which the service provider provides to the mobile device in order to determine which network SIDs the mobile device is allowed to utilize for service) of communication networks associated with mobile device 101 and having different or new country location with new country code, therefore the country code not identifying the first country).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of SRINIVASAN into invention of Sethi in order for indicating when to select and enable a new cellular telephone provisioning information supporting wireless communications on a mobile device.
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 15 above, Sethi teaches wherein the prioritized roaming list is stored in memory in the mobile telecommunications device (Col.16, lines 42-45, ranked roaming list is stored in the terminal device).
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 15 above, Sethi teaches wherein the prioritized roaming list is stored in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) in the mobile telecommunications device (Col.16, lines 42-45, ranked roaming list is stored in the SIM/USIM in the terminal device).
B) Claims 2-5, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethi (US 10,779,230 B1) in view of SRINIVASAN (US 2010/0311402 A1) and further in view of Juang (US 2014/0031033 A1).
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi in view of KWAK does not explicitly teach when the mobile telecommunications device has manually connected to a discoverable mobile telecommunications network, ceasing to offer to the user to manually connect to discoverable mobile telecommunications networks and entering, through the mobile telecommunications device, an automatic mobile telecommunications network selection routine.
In the same field of endeavor, Juang teaches when the mobile telecommunications device has manually connected to a discoverable mobile telecommunications network, ceasing to offer to the user to manually connect to discoverable mobile telecommunications networks and entering, through the mobile telecommunications device, an automatic mobile telecommunications network selection routine (¶0026 and ¶0032-33, when the device has manually connected to PLMN network (i.e. manual PLMN selection) then ending the method and allowing the device to automatically select PLMN network (i.e. automatic PLMN selection)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Juang into invention of Sethi and KWAK in order to determine when to scan for the preferred wireless network when the mobile device moves beyond the coverage area in order to save battery power.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi in view of KWAK does not explicitly teach when the mobile telecommunications device has not manually connected to a discoverable mobile telecommunications network after the user has been offered to manually connect to all discoverable mobile telecommunications networks on the prioritized roaming list and having a country code identifying the second country, entering, through the mobile telecommunications device, an automatic mobile telecommunications network selection routine.
In the same field of endeavor, Juang teaches when the mobile telecommunications device has not manually connected to a discoverable mobile telecommunications network after the user has been offered to manually connect to all discoverable mobile telecommunications networks on the prioritized roaming list and having a country code identifying the second country, entering, through the mobile telecommunications device, an automatic mobile telecommunications network selection routine (¶0032-33, when the mobile wireless device 101 is not configured (i.e. has not manually connected) to be in a manual PLMN selection mode, then the mobile wireless device 101 is configured for automatic PLMN selection and adaptive scanning method can be applied when the mobile wireless device 101 is configured for either automatic or manual PLMN selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Juang into invention of Sethi and KWAK in order to determine when to scan for the preferred wireless network when the mobile device moves beyond the coverage area in order to save battery power.
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, Sethi in view of KWAK does not explicitly teach sensing a position of the mobile telecommunications device; and comparing the position of the mobile telecommunications device to a position of a boundary between the first country and the second country.
In the same field of endeavor, Juang teaches sensing a position of the mobile telecommunications device (¶0020, detecting that a position of the mobile device); and comparing the position of the mobile telecommunications device to a position of a boundary between the first country and the second country (¶0024 and ¶0028, comparing the position of the mobile device when move a large distance such as may occur when the user travels by plane to a different country, thus boundary between the first country and the second country).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Juang into invention of Sethi and KWAK in order to determine when to scan for the preferred wireless network when the mobile device moves beyond the coverage area in order to save battery power.
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 4 above, KWAK wherein sensing a position of the mobile telecommunications device comprises using GPS (¶0074, determine the location information based on a GPS signal of electronic device).
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 15 above, Sethi in view of KWAK does not explicitly teach when the mobile telecommunications device has manually connected to a discoverable mobile telecommunications network, ceasing to offer to the user to manually connect to discoverable mobile telecommunications networks and entering, through the mobile telecommunications device, an automatic mobile telecommunications network selection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Juang teaches when the mobile telecommunications device has manually connected to a discoverable mobile telecommunications network, ceasing to offer to the user to manually connect to discoverable mobile telecommunications networks and entering, through the mobile telecommunications device, an automatic mobile telecommunications network selection mode (¶0026 and ¶0032-33, if the device has manually connected to PLMN network (i.e. manual PLMN selection) then ending the method and allowing the device to automatically select PLMN network (i.e. automatic PLMN selection)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Juang into invention of Sethi and KWAK in order to determine when to scan for the preferred wireless network when the mobile device moves beyond the coverage area in order to save battery power.
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 15 above, Sethi in view of KWAK does not explicitly teach when the mobile telecommunications device has not manually connected to a discoverable mobile telecommunications network after the user has been offered to manually connect to all discoverable mobile telecommunications networks on the prioritized roaming list and having a country code identifying the second country, entering, through the mobile telecommunications device, an automatic mobile telecommunications network selection mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Juang teaches when the mobile telecommunications device has not manually connected to a discoverable mobile telecommunications network after the user has been offered to manually connect to all discoverable mobile telecommunications networks on the prioritized roaming list and having a country code identifying the second country, entering, through the mobile telecommunications device, an automatic mobile telecommunications network selection mode (¶0032-33, If the mobile wireless device 101 is not configured (i.e. has not manually connected) to be in a manual PLMN selection mode, then the mobile wireless device 101 is configured for automatic PLMN selection and adaptive scanning method can be applied when the mobile wireless device 101 is configured for either automatic or manual PLMN selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Juang into invention of Sethi and KWAK in order to determine when to scan for the preferred wireless network when the mobile device moves beyond the coverage area in order to save battery power.
As per claim 18 as applied to claim 15 above, Sethi in view of KWAK does not explicitly teach sense a position of the mobile telecommunications device; and compare the position of the mobile telecommunications device to a position of a boundary between the first country and the second country.
In the same field of endeavor, Juang teaches sense a position of the mobile telecommunications device (¶0020, detecting that a position of the mobile device); and compare the position of the mobile telecommunications device to a position of a boundary between the first country and the second country (¶0024 and ¶0028, comparing the position of the mobile device when move a large distance such as may occur when the user travels by plane to a different country, thus boundary between the first country and the second country).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Juang into invention of Sethi and KWAK in order to determine when to scan for the preferred wireless network when the mobile device moves beyond the coverage area in order to save battery power.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 21-23 are allowed.
The prior arts of record do not disclose or teach the following limitations, in combination with other limitations of the independent claim 21:
determine that no private land mobile network has been detected by the first search; wait a predetermined time and perform a second search of private mobile telecommunications networks detectable by the mobile telecommunications device that have a country code different from the first country code; determine that at least one private land mobile network has been detected by the second search; create a list of "n" private land mobile networks detected by the second search; set a counter "k", wherein k indexes from 1 to n; select a kth private land mobile network in the list; offer to a user to perform manual private land mobile network selection of the kth private land mobile network in the list; and upon success in attaching to the kth private land mobile network in the list, set the mobile telecommunications device to automatic private land mobile network selection.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643