DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson (US 20150047110 A1) (previously cited) in view of Xiao et al. (US 20220169812 A1) (previously cited) and Cohen (US 20150223546 A1) (previously cited), as evidenced by PPGS for High-speed rail, car seats and Interior Molding (PPGS for High-speed rail, car seats and Interior Molding, 2025, LetichiaChem, Pages 1-3) and Polyether Polyol ED28; CAS NO.:9003-11-6 (Polyether Polyol ED28; CAS NO.:9003-11-6, 2025, Predrawn Chemicals, Pages 1-5).
Regarding claim 1, Chilson teaches a head protective gear comprising a plurality of three-dimensional inserts made of an energy absorbing material (see shock absorbing insert), the plurality of three-dimensional inserts disposed on an interior surface of the head protective gear forming an energy absorbing layer thereon, the plurality of three dimensional inserts spatially distributed on the interior surface of the head protective gear (Chilson, Abstract, Par. 0001, 0011-0016, 0018, 0020, and Figs. 1-2). Chilson teaches the plurality of three-dimensional inserts are configured into a plurality of hollow members, each of the hollow members comprises a top surface, a base surface, and a hollow space passing through a center of the hollow member from the top surface to the base surface, wherein the base surface of the hollow members faces the interior surface of the head protective gear while the top surface of the hollow members faces a wearer’s head (Chilson, Par. 0011-0018 and Fig. 1 – see tube for ventilation).
Chilson is silent regarding the energy absorbing material being a polyurethane-based composite, the polyurethane-based composite composed of at least two components, a first component of the at least two components comprising one or more isocyanates, and one or more chain extenders; and a second component of the at least two components comprising at least one hydroxyl-terminated polyol, a catalyst, a blowing agent, a surfactant, and a polyolefin, wherein the first component and the second component are in a weight ratio between 1:1 and 1:1.5 constituting an isocyanate index of at least 100.
Xiao teaches an energy absorbing material for use in head protective gear (helmet), wherein the energy absorbing material is a polyurethane-based composite, the polyurethane-based composite composed of at least two components, a first component of the at least two components comprising one or more isocyanates, and one or more chain extenders; and a second component of the at least two components comprising at least one hydroxyl-terminated polyol, a catalyst, a blowing agent, a surfactant, and a polyolefin (see crosslinker) (Xiao, Abstract, Par. 0006, 0012-0014, 0036, 0048-0055, 0066, 0069-0070, 0087-0109, and Fig. 4). Xiao teaches using 85-97 g of isocyanate, 1 g of chain extender, 100 g polyols, 3.6 g catalyst, 0.2 g blowing agent, 0.5 g surfactant, and 4 g of crosslinker (Xiao, Par. 0069-0071 and 0091), resulting in 86-98g of the first component and 108.3 g of the second component and a ratio of the first and second component of 1:1.1 to 1:1.27, which lies within the claimed range of 1:1 to 1:1.5 and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03. Further, Xiao uses MDI as the isocyanate (Xiao, Par. 0091) which has two NCO groups and a molecular weight of 250 g/mol, resulting in an amount of NCO groups of 0.68-0.776 mols. Further, Xiao uses 8 g of DV-125, 58g of HPOP40, 30g of 10LD76E, and 4g of ED-28 as the polyols (Xiao, Par. 0091), which respectively have acid values of ~450, 21.5, 34, and 28 respectively as evidenced by PPGS for High-speed rail, car seats and Interior Molding (PPGS for High-speed rail, car seats and Interior Molding, pages 1-3) and Polyether Polyol ED28; CAS NO.:9003-11-6 (Polyether Polyol ED28; CAS NO.:9003-11-6, Page 3). Using a molecular weight of OH of 17 g/mol, this results in an amount of OH units of 0.35 mols. This results in an isocyanate index of 194 – 221, which lies within the claimed range of at least 100 and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Chilson and Xiao are analogous art as they both teach energy absorbing material for use in head protective gear. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the energy absorbing material of Xiao as the energy absorbing material of Chilson. This would allow for a thermally conductive, impact absorbent material (Xiao, Par. 0012).
Modified Chilson is silent regarding the polyurethane-based composite having a hardness of 25 Shore A.
Cohen teaches a polyurethane-based material for forming an energy absorbing material for headgear, wherein the polyurethane-based material has a Shore A hardness of less than 60 (Cohen, Abstract, Par. 0018, 0047, and 0050), which encompasses the claimed value of 25 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed value, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Modified Chilson and Cohen are analogous art as they both teach poly-urethane based materials for forming an energy absorbing material for headgear. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the polyurethane composite of modified Chilson to have a shore A hardness of 25. This would allow for a soft, resilient material (Cohen, Par. 0047).
Regarding the limitation of the hollow members being configured to counter-act a rotational force exerted in more than one axial direction around the top surface of the hollow members by a rotation, shearing, or a combination thereof, modified Chilson teaches the hollow members are formed from energy and impact absorbing material that is deformable (Chilson, Par. 0011-0018; Xiao, Par. 0012). Modified Chilson further teaches inserts are hollow and conical with a larger base surface than top surface as described above and below in claims 4-6 (Chilson, Par. 0011-0018), which is the same as the instant invention per the instant claims 1 and 4-6. Modified Chilson thus teaches the hollow members are deformable against a force exerted in more than one axial direction to at least some extent and would counteract the rotational force to at least some extent, satisfying the claimed limitation, see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 2, Modified Chilson teaches the polyurethane-based composite is formulated to have a density of 0.45 g/cm3 and a transmission force of 7.6 kN (Xiao, Par. 0045, 0062, 0072, 0087-0109 and Fig. 4), which lie within the claimed ranges of 0.3 to 0.5 g/cm3 and equal to or lower than 30 kN respectively and therefore satisfy the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Chilson teaches the hollow members may be the same, cylindrical shape (Chilson, Par. 0011-0018).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chilson teaches the hollow members have an open end and a cavity and may be a cylindrical tube structure with an irregular geometry, and may be conical, and thus teaches the top surface area of the hollow member is smaller than a base surface thereof (Chilson, Par. 0011-0018).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chilson teaches the hollow members have two opposing ends (Chilson, Par. 0011-0018 and Fig. 1).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chilson in view of Xiao et al. and Cohen as evidenced by PPGS for High-speed rail, car seats and Interior Molding and Polyether Polyol ED28; CAS NO.:9003-11-6 as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, further in view of Schneider (US 20060112477 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chilson teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Modified Chilson is silent regarding the interior surface of the head protective gear having a foam layer as a base layer supporting the base of the hollow members and the plurality of hollow members is disposed thereon, and wherein the foam layer has energy absorbing capability.
Schneider teaches a head protective gear comprising an interior surface that has an energy absorbing base foam layer as a base layer thereon (Schneider, Abstract, Par. 0006, and 0021-0023).
Modified Chilson and Schneider are analogous art as they both teach head protective gear. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the foam layer of Schneider on the interior surface of the head protective gear of modified Chilson. This would allow for moisture absorbent material that absorbs energy when the head protective gear is impacted (Schneider, Par. 0021-0023). This would further result in the base layer of foam supporting the base of the hollow members and the plurality of hollow members being disposed thereon.
Regarding claim 9, modified Chilson teaches the base layer is in a bowl-shaped or hemispherical structure (Chilson, Par. 0012-0013 and Fig. 1; Schneider, Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 25 August 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejections under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action.
The rejections under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action.
Regarding arguments directed to the rejections over prior art, Applicant argues that the inserts of Chilton are not configured to counter-act rotational force by rotation and/or shearing. This is not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Modified Chilson teaches the hollow members (inserts) are formed from energy and impact absorbing material that is deformable (Chilson, Par. 0011-0018; Xiao, Par. 0012). Modified Chilson further teaches inserts are hollow and conical with a larger base surface than top surface as described above for claims 1 and 4-6 (Chilson, Par. 0011-0018), which is the same as the instant invention per the instant claims 1 and 4-6. Modified Chilson thus teaches the hollow members are deformable against a force exerted in more than one axial direction to at least some extent and would counteract the rotational force to at least some extent, satisfying the claimed limitation, see MPEP 2112.01. It is noted that the instant claims do not recite an amount of counteraction and only that they are configured to counteract the force. Therefore, modified Chilson satisfies the claimed limitation of being configured to counter-act rotational force and Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782