DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The 35 U.S.C. 101 subject matter eligibility analysis first asks whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories (Step 1). It next asks whether the claim is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A), via Prong 1, whether an abstract idea (e.g., mathematical concept, mental process, certain methods of organizing human activity) is recited, and Prong 2, whether it is integrated into a practical application. It finally asks whether the claim as a whole includes additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B). See MPEP 2106.
STEP 1: The claims falls within one of the four statutory categories:
As all the claims are directed to hardware systems, tangible computer program products, and methods, the claims fall within the statutory categories.
STEP 2A PRONG 1: The claims recite a judicial exception:
The claims are directed to generating policy solutions to Markov Decision Processes, such as via a Reinforcement learning (RL) agent, by performing iterative tuning. As such, the claims are directed to a mental process, that of using judgment and observation to adjust a process in order to generate a strategy to generate a solution. Furthermore, the machine learning model itself is trained via a mathematical process. In the outline below, additional elements are underlined for further analysis. In particular:
For claim 1: A system, comprising:
one or more processors; and
a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, are configured to cause the system to:
iteratively, until one or more Markov Decision Process (MDP) solutions are identified:
receive input data comprising one or more first states and one or more first actions (Receiving of state data for a Markov process may be performed in the mind);
identify, via a machine learning model (MLM), a subset of the input data (identifying subsets of the state data may be performed in the mind), wherein identifying the subset of the input data further comprises training a predictive model associated with the MLM to rank the one or more first states based on a relevance to at least one specific problem or application (generating, based on a mental heuristic or model and based or trained on prior experience to generate judgments or rankings with regard to a particular problem may be performed mentally), and select one or more second states based on the ranked one or more first states (selection of a state may be performed mentally)
formulate, via the MLM, a search space based on the ranked one or more states from the subset of the input data, the search space comprising the one or more second states and one or more second actions (Formulating and planning a target subspace or identified states and target actions in order to identify policy may be performed in the mind);
conduct, via the MLM, hyperparameter tuning of the search space (conducting and generating hyperparameter tuning, such as adjusting hyperparameters, may be performed in the mind);
generate, via the MLM, an MDP instance based on the hyperparameter tuning (generating a MDP instance, i.e., performing training and tuning based on hyperparameters, is a mathematical optimization algorithm, hence, a mathematical concept); and
determine, via the MLM, whether the generated MDP instance comprises a first MDP solution (determining suitability of an MDP instance is an instance of judgment and observation performed in the mind).
For claim 2: The system of claim 1, wherein the input data comprises one or more annotated states, one or more first actions, one or more binning strategies, or combinations thereof (Training parameters may be identified and selected with the mind).
For claim 4: The system of claim 3, wherein the MLM is trained to accept a transformed state search space via feature transformation (Transformed feature spaces, e.g., removing states, etc. based on target policy, may be performed in the mind).
For claim 5: The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the subset of the input data comprises: ranking the one or more first states; and selecting the one or more second states based on the ranked one or more first states (Ranking states via a heuristic may be performed in the mind).
For claim 6. The system of claim 1, wherein the search space further comprises one or more bins configured to reduce a total number of the one or more second states and the one or more second actions thereby reducing an overall search space area (Determining binning policy may be performed in the mind).
For claim 7: The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the system to: receive, via a graphical user interface (GUI), a user selection of a specific criteria, wherein determining whether the generated MDP instance comprises the first MDP solution is based on the specific criteria (Determining criteria and evaluation based on criteria is a mental process).
For claim 8: The system of claim 1, wherein the input data is received via a web-based interface (receiving input data may be performed in the mind).
For claim 9. The system of claim 1, wherein conducting the hyperparameter tuning comprises: iteratively, via a search algorithm: generating one or more hyperparameter combinations (generating hyperparameter settings may be performed in the mind); and training the MLM to utilize the one or more hyperparameter combinations (Training a MLM via an optimization algorithm is a mathematical concept).
For claim 10: The system of claim 9, wherein generating the one or more hyperparameter combinations is based on a metric produced by performing a Fitted Q Evaluation of the trained MLM (Generating metric via FQE is a mathematical process; furthermore, adjusting hyperparameter combinations based on performance metrics is a mental process ).
For claim 18: The computer-implemented method of claim 16, wherein the input data is continuously received via a graphical user interface (GUI), and wherein the identifying, formulating, conducting, and generating are conducted dynamically based on the continuously received input data (repeatedly receiving input data for identifying / observing, formulating, conducting may be performed in the mind; the iterative performing of the generating operation is a repeated application of the mathematical concept).
The remaining claims contain analogous limitations and hence are similarly analyzed.
STEP 2A PRONG 2: The claims do not integrate the exception into a practical application:
The additional elements do not integrate the iterative mental tuning and adjustments of training parameters into a practical integration. They are not directed to a particular technical problem, but rather comprise improvements on the mental process itself.
For claim 1, 4, 19 the additional elements comprise one or more processors; and
a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors and performing the mental steps via a MLM. However, these are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or via machine learning algorithms and hence do not constitute an integration into practical application.
For claim 3, the additional element further recite that the wherein the MLM comprises a predictive model. However, this is mere instructions to implement the mental process on a predictive MLM model and hence do not constitute an integration into practical application.
For claim 7-8, 17-18, the additional element further recites that the receiving occurs via a GUI and via a web-based interface. However, these are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or networking interface and hence do not constitute an integration into practical application.
For claim 11, the additional elements include: the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor. However, these are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer and hence do not constitute an integration into practical application.
For claim 16, the additional elements include implementation via a computer. However, these are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer and hence do not constitute an integration into practical application.
For claim 20, the additional elements include: wherein the input data is received via a JSON file format. However, this is a general linking of the abstract idea to a field of use or particular technology and hence does not serve to meaningfully limit the abstract idea. Hence, they do not constitute an integration into a practical application.
STEP 2B: The claim as a whole do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
For claim 1, 4, 19 the additional elements comprise one or more processors; and
a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors and performing the mental steps via a MLM. However, these are general purpose computing and machine learning elements and is well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) and hence does not constitute significantly more.
For claim 3, the additional element further recite that the wherein the MLM comprises a predictive model. However, these predictive machine learning elements and is well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) and hence does not constitute significantly more.
For claim 7-8, 17-18, the additional element further recites that the receiving occurs via a GUI and via a web-based interface. However, these are general purpose computing and networking interfaces and is well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) and hence does not constitute significantly more.
For claim 11, the additional elements include: the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor. However, these are general purpose computing elements and is well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) and hence does not constitute significantly more.
For claim 16, the additional elements include implementation via a computer. However, these are general purpose computing and networking interfaces and is well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) and hence does not constitute significantly more.
For claim 20, the additional elements include: wherein the input data is received via a JSON file format. However, JSON is a widely known file format for storing data and is well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) and hence does not constitute significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair (US 20230281504 A1) in view of Lan ("Transfer reinforcement learning via meta-knowledge extraction using auto-pruned decision trees", published 2022).
For claim 1, Nair discloses: a system, comprising:
one or more processors (fig.9:910); and
a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, are configured to cause the system to (fig.9:915, 935, 940, 950):
iteratively, until one or more Markov Decision Process (MDP) solutions are identified (fig.2 gives overview of the invention, including executing and evaluating learned MDP policies, see fig.2:260, 0089; 0080-81, with 0089, 0017-18 contemplating an iterative process of patching rules, training agents, etc., such as conducted via the user interface fig.2:210, see also fig.7, 0166-167 disclosing iterative GUI workflow, such as via interface of fig.4-5, 0108):
receive input data comprising one or more first states and one or more first actions (fig.2:230, 0059, 0066-69: action spaces are defined for the RL agent and scenario-specific state spaces are defined);
identify, via a machine learning model (MLM), a subset of the input data (0066-69: based on scenario being tested, a state space is defined, such as a subset or a reduced state space (0067), for the RL model to traverse);
formulate, via the MLM, a search space based on the subset of the input data, the search space comprising one or more second states and one or more second actions (ibid: the RL agent is defined over the search space via step functions, see 0070-71, and initial states, see 0076, in order to learn policies);
conduct, via the MLM, hyperparameter tuning of the search space (0077-78);
generate, via the MLM, an MDP instance based on the hyperparameter tuning (0078); and
determine, via the MLM, whether the generated MDP instance comprises a first MDP solution (0083-87 gives overviews of RL learning of an MDP policy based on a scenario, including maximized reward values, goals achieved, etc., see 0088, hence, solutions).
Nair does not disclose: wherein identifying the subset of the input data further comprises training a predictive model associated with the MLM to rank the one or more first states based on relevance to at least one of a specific problem or application, and select one or more second states based on the ranked one or more first state; wherein subset is of the ranked one or more first states from the subset; wherein the one or more second states are the second states selected by the predictive model.
Lan discloses: wherein identifying the subset of the input data further comprises training a predictive model associated with the MLM to rank the one or more first states based on relevance to at least one of a specific problem or application (fig.2a: identifying a subset of decision states from a large state space via a trained neural network, based on relevance to the task as define din the MDP, to generate a decision-tree subspace in the MDP), and select one or more second states based on the ranked one or more first state (fig.2b: substates are selected during inference); wherein subset is of the ranked one or more first states from the subset (ibid: ranked states in the MDP are selected); wherein the one or more second states are the second states selected by the predictive model (ibid).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Nair by incorporating the decision tree pruning technique of Lan. Both concern the art of reinforcement learning and MDP, and the incorporation would have, according to Lan, developed greater transparency and accuracy in MDP settings (p.2 c.1¶2-4).
For claim 2, Nair modified by Lan discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein the input data comprises one or more annotated states (0068: states annotated by, e.g., account balance, credit to debt ratio), the one or more first actions (0059-62), one or more binning strategies (Lan fig.2: binning via decision tree simplification), or combinations thereof.
For claim 4, Nair modified by Lan discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein the MLM is trained to accept a transformed state search space via feature transformation (0084: RL agents operating on transition values indicating expected future benefit that are encoded as a neural net constitutes a transformed state space, i.e., a state space transformed by the neural net weights to yield outputs; Lan fig.2: transformed search space based on decision trees).
For claim 6, Nair modified by Lan discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein the search space further comprises one or more bins configured to reduce a total number of the one or more second states and the one or more second actions thereby reducing an overall search space area (0062: enforcing transaction constraints., by setting 1000 step increments, constitutes a binning of the search space that reduces total searched states; Nair fig.2: decision trees comprise binned states).
For claim 7, Nair modified by Lan discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the system to:
receive, via a graphical user interface (GUI), a user selection of a specific criteria (fig.7: 0167-168: user scenario tuning via GUI),
wherein determining whether the generated MDP instance comprises the first MDP solution is based on the specific criteria (fig.7, 0167-168: determine overall strength of scenarios, hence, whether MDP is a solution to the scenario and whether scenario needs to be strengthened based on scenario criteria).
For claim 8, Nair modified by Lan discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein the input data is received via a web-based interface (fig.2: REST API is a web-based interface, see 0052; see also 0051: Flask web framework).
For claim 9, Nair modified by Lan discloses the system of claim 1, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein conducting the hyperparameter tuning comprises:
iteratively, via a search algorithm: generating one or more hyperparameter combinations (fig.7, 0167: iteratively generating hyperparameters via workflow, including interface of fig.4 and hyperparameter selection fig.2:250); and
training the MLM to utilize the one or more hyperparameter combinations (fig.2:250-255).
For claim 18, Nair discloses the system of claim 16, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein the input data is continuously received via a graphical user interface (GUI) (fig.7, 0166-168 contemplates a continuous and iterative process of refining the scenarios for training, see fig.4 for GUI example and fig.2:250-260 or scenario and training workflow), and wherein the identifying, formulating, conducting, and generating are conducted dynamically based on the continuously received input data (fig.7, fig.2:250-260, 0167-168: conducting iterative formulating, conducting, and generating of RL space and hyperparameters via custom user-defined scenarios).
For claim 19, Nair discloses the system of claim 16, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein the MLM comprises a predictive model and is trained to accept a transformed state search space via feature transformation (0084: RL agents operating on transition values indicating expected future benefit that are encoded as a neural net constitutes a transformed state space, i.e., a state space transformed by the neural net weights to yield outputs).
For claim 20, Nair discloses the system of claim 16, as described above. Nair further discloses: wherein the input data is received via a JSON file format (0031).
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15-17 recite computer program products and methods corresponding to the above systems and are hence rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair (US 20230281504 A1) in view of Lan ("Transfer reinforcement learning via meta-knowledge extraction using auto-pruned decision trees", published 2022) in view of Paine ("Offline Hyperparameter Selection for Offline Reinforcement Learning", published 2020).
For claim 10, Nair discloses the system of claim 9, as described above. Nair does not disclose: wherein generating the one or more hyperparameter combinations is based on a metric produced by performing a Fitted Q Evaluation of the trained MLM.
Paine discloses: wherein generating the one or more hyperparameter combinations is based on a metric produced by performing a Fitted Q Evaluation of the trained MLM (§2 gives overview of the process including hyperparameter selection in ¶2-3 and evaluation via critics trained by FQE, see p.3 ¶1-2, §2.1 ¶1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Nair by incorporating the FQE based hyperparameter selection technique of Paine. Both concern the art of reinforcement learning, and the incorporation would have, according to Paine, allow better hyperparameter selection for RL policies, especially in an offline setting (§1 ¶1-2).
Claim(s) 14 recite computer program product corresponding to the above systems and are hence rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. In the remarks, Applicant argued:
1. Regarding the 102 and 103 rejections:
Nair does not disclose the amended limitations, as Nair fig.7 refers to overall scenarios and not specific states.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the newly cited art.
2. Regarding the 101 rejections:
a. The present invention cannot be practically performed in the mind.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the rationale in the rejection above.
b. The claims do not recite, but rather merely involve, an abstract idea.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the rationale in the rejection above.
c. The claims are directed to improvements into how a machine learning model operates.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the rationale in the rejection above. The claims are not at present tied to an improvement in the machine learning model itself, but rather only the abstract idea of finding a solution via experience and judgment.
d. Regarding step 2A prong 2: the claimed invention is directed to improving MDP and RL models as they are directed to state, action, and binning strategies to aid reduce a search space in identifying MDP solutions, and allow a MLM to iteratively and automatically generate solutions. Improving a MDP would improve any RL models running in the space. These are improvements to how the machine learning model itself operates.
Examiner appreciates applicant’s pointing out the particular technical advantages of the invention, but respectfully disagrees. Ex Parte Desjardins clarifies that, in the application of the 101 analysis, one should ask: (1) whether there is an improvement to a technical problem, e.g., the training of machine learning models, in the Specifications (p.8), and (2) whether the claims reflect this improvement (p.8-9), and finally (3) whether the improvement is an improvement to the technical problem (e.g., the machine learning model) and not to the abstract idea (p.9).
While Examiner (1) acknowledges the technical improvements as found in the Specifications, the Examiner submits that, at present, the claims do not at present (2) reflect this improvement and (3) rather constitute improvements to the abstract idea.
For example, claim 1 is directed to the generally process of solving MDP problems, which are encountered in everyday life, for example, in weighing the relative merits of various modes of transportation (car, bike, train) for a commute. The recited steps, including reducing decision spaces, identifying and ranking relevant states, formulating a search space, conducting a search, changing the parameters of the search strategy, such as via introspection, serve merely to detail or describe improvements in such mental processes. In contrast, the implementation details (use of a MLM, processor, etc.) serve as mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or MLM and hence does not constitute an integration into a practical application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DeNijs (US 20190279096 A1) discloses a decision-tree based MDP state reduction, see fig.6.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG LI/
Primary examiner AU 2143