DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed July 11, 2025. As directed by the amendment, claims 63-65 have been added. As such, claims 1, 3-6, 18, 20, 22-25, 37, 39, 43, 51, 53, 55, 63-65 remain under consideration in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one or more teeth” (claims 63-65), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification does not disclose “one or more teeth” (claims 63-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not disclose “one or more teeth” (claims 63-65).
Claims 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear to what the “one or more teeth” recited in claims 63-65 refers. Additionally, Applicant fails to provide where in the specification antecedence can be found in the Remarks dated September 30, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 20-25, 39, 41, 43, 51, 53, 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mehl et al. (US 2019/0388131), hereinafter “Mehl”.
Regarding claim 1, Mehl discloses a bone screw (10) comprising: a screw shaft (30) having one or more threads (33) and one or more bone collecting channels (35a-c), wherein the one or more bone collecting channels include one or more cutting edges extending from an outer diameter of the channel to an inner diameter of the channel (“cutting flutes” 35a-c).
Regarding claim 3, Mehl discloses the bone screw of claim 1 wherein the one or more bone collecting channels has a depth from a crest of the one or more threads to a radial distance less than a minor diameter of the one or more threads (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Mehl discloses the bone screw of claim 1 wherein the one or more bone collecting channels extends in a helical path (¶48).
Regarding claim 5, Mehl discloses the bone screw of claim 1 wherein the one or more bone collecting channels extends in a straight path (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Mehl discloses the bone screw of claim 1 wherein the one or more bone collecting channels extends from a distal end of the bone screw towards a head of the bone screw (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Mehl discloses a cannulated (34) bone screw (10) comprising: a screw shaft (30) having one or more threads (33) and one or more bone collecting channels (35a-c); wherein said one or more bone collecting channels are separated from a central bore of said cannulated bone screw (via wall at 35a, FIG. 1); and wherein the one or more bone collecting channels include one or more cutting edges extending from an outer diameter of the channel to an inner diameter of the channel (“cutting flutes” 35a-c).
Regarding claim 22, Mehl discloses the cannulated bone screw of claim 20 wherein the one or more bone collecting channels has a depth from a crest of the one or more threads to a radial distance less than a minor diameter of the one or more threads (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 23, Mehl discloses the cannulated bone screw of claim 20 wherein the one or more bone collecting channels extends in a helical path (¶48).
Regarding claim 24, Mehl discloses the cannulated bone screw of claim 20 wherein the one or more bone collecting channels extends in a straight path (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Mehl discloses the cannulated bone screw of claim 20 wherein the one or more bone collecting channels extends from a distal end of the bone screw towards a head of the bone screw (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 39, Mehl discloses a method of inserting a bone screw comprising the steps of: providing one or more bone screws (10) having one or more bone collecting channels (35a-c); inserting the one or more bone screws into a bone (¶12); and cutting material with the one or more bone collecting channels, wherein the one or more bone collecting channels include one or more cutting edges extending from an outer diameter of the channel to an inner diameter of the channel (“cutting flutes” 35a-c).
Regarding claim 43, Mehl discloses the method of claim 41 further comprising the step of collecting bone material into the one or more bone collecting channels (¶12).
Regarding claim 51, Mehl discloses a method of inserting a cannulated (34) bone screw (10) comprising the steps of: providing one or more cannulated bone screws (10) having one or more bone collecting channels (35a-c), wherein the one or more bone collecting channels include one or more cutting edges extending from an outer diameter of the channel to an inner diameter of the channel (“cutting flutes” 35a-c); and inserting the one or more cannulated bone screws into a bone (¶12).
Regarding claim 53, Mehl discloses the method of claim 51 further comprising the step of cutting bone material with the one or more bone collecting channels (¶12).
Regarding claim 55, Mehl discloses the method of claim 53 further comprising the step of collecting bone material into the one or more bone collecting channels (¶12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehl.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use an insertion torque in the range of about 1.5 in-lbs to about 12 in-lbs, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant's argument that Mehl fails to disclose “wherein the one or more bone collecting channels include one or more cutting edges extending from an outer diameter of the channel to an inner diameter of the channel,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The bone collecting channels 35a-c are described as “cutting flutes” (¶48) which are well known in the art as comprising cutting edges. These “flutes” extend from the outer diameter of the channel to the inner diameter of the channel as depicted in at least Figures 2-3. Therefore, the invention of Mehl meets the claim.
Conclusion
/OLIVIA C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775