DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/02/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation of “the abutment of claim 1, wherein the body has a hexagonal cross-section”, however claim 1 recites “ a lower body and an upper body” and as such it is unclear which body of claim 1 is intended to be further defined as having the hexagonal cross-section. For purposes of examination any prior art which provides for either or both of the upper or lower body having a hexagonal cross-section will be deemed to provide for the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dürr et al. (EP 3095409 A1, provided machine translation cited for text).
Regarding claim 1, Dürr discloses an abutment (Fig. 5) comprising:
a coupler having a polygonal shape (Fig. 5 element 88/89); and
a body configured to be mounted with a crown, the crown being an artificial tooth (Fig. 5 elements 92/80, page 9 lines 12-13 disclosing the body serves as a holder for an artificial tooth denture),
wherein the body includes a lower body (Fig. 5 element 80) and an upper body that is disposed on the lower body and having a polygonal cross-section, such that the upper body is configured to be gripped by an external driving tool (Fig. 5 element 92 being a hexagonal body that is configured by its hexagonal shape to be gripped by an external driving tool, translation page 9 lines 1- 12 disclosing the upper portion is for driving the implant ), and
wherein the upper body is configured to function as a scan body for a digital impression (Fig. 5 element 92 being a physical body is thus configured to function as a scan body that can be scanned by a scanner for a digital impression, page 9 lines 12-14 the upper portion can act as a scan body).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Dürr further discloses where the upper body of the body has a hexagonal cross-section (Fig. 5 element 92 is a hexagon, translation page 9 line 16 disclosing the driving head is a hexagon polygon).
Regarding claim 3, Dürr further discloses where the lower body has a trapezoidal shape with a diameter gradually increasing downwards (fig. 5 showing the cross-section of 80 being cross-section, as best understood the only way for a three dimensional structure to have a shape of a dimension shape of a trapezoid being a 2d shape would be in a cross-sectional view) and the upper body has a polyprism shape (Fig. 5 element 9 is a polyprism shape of a polygonal hexagon).
Regarding claim 4, Dürr further disclose where the upper body includes a plurality of grooves disposed thereon along a circumference of the upper body (Fig. 5 grooves between element 92 and 80 and between 80 and 90).
Regarding claim 6, Dürr further discloses wherein the upper surface of the upper coupler has a greater diameter than a lower surface of the lower body (see image above).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Dürr further discloses where the hexagonal cross-section includes six primary sides of substantially equal length and further includes additional planar faces disposed between adjacent sides of the hexagonal cross-section to define chamfered surfaces (Fig. 5 element 92 showing upper body having substantially equal length hexagon sides with chamfered planar faces between each).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dürr et al. (EP 3095409 A1, provided machine translation cited for text).
Regarding claim 5, Dürr further discloses where the coupler includes a lower coupler having a shape with a diameter decreasing downwards and an upper coupler disposed on the lower coupler and having a decreasing diameter shape with a steeper inclination than the lower coupler (see annotated image below), but fails to explicitly disclose that the decrease in diameter is a gradual taper.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the decreasing diameter of the lower couplers of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient such as a gradual taper. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Further Dürr disclose where the use of shapes that complement their implants, such as using morse tapers, would be used when needed (page 5 lines 9-15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.P.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799