DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 31 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-9 have been cancelled. Claims 1-7 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102004009288 A1 to Trujillo et al. (Trujillo). A machine translation was relied upon for the basis of this rejection.
In reference to claim 1, Kanno discloses a vacuum carburizing harmful exhaust gas reduction apparatus (“a vacuum carburizing...” is interpreted as intended use) comprising: a high-temperature decomposition unit (“Reaktor I”; Fig. 3) configured to heat exhaust gases discharged from a vacuum pump in the vacuum carburizing process (“configured to...” is interpreted as intended use; however, see par. 0035) to a temperature ranging from 500 to 1500° C (1000° C; par. 0035); and a high-temperature catalyst unit (“Reaktor II”) comprising a supported catalyst supporting a catalyst including one or more selected from a group including platinum (Pt; pars. 0011, 0017), palladium (optional), and alloys thereof (optional) and configured to allow the exhaust gases heated in the high-temperature decomposition unit to contact the supported catalyst (“configured to...” is interpreted as intended use; however, see par. 0011).
In reference to claim 2, Trujillo discloses the vacuum carburizing harmful exhaust gas reduction apparatus of claim 1, wherein the high-temperature decomposition unit is configured to receive injected air to create an oxidizing atmosphere (par. 0030, Fig. 3; O2 and N2 are used, air is 99% O2 and N2).
In reference to claim 3, Trujillo discloses the vacuum carburizing harmful exhaust gas reduction apparatus of claim 2, wherein the injected air and the introduced exhaust gases have a volumetric ratio ranging from 1:1 to 1:3 (since no structure such as a valves and a controller are positively recited to achieve the volumetric ratio, this limitation is interpreted as intended use that only requires structure capable of the use – see Fig. 3 – the valves depicted in Trujillo are capable of the use).
In reference to claim 4, Trujillo discloses the vacuum carburizing harmful exhaust gas reduction apparatus of claim 1, wherein the air is injected to maintain a hydrogen concentration inside the high-temperature decomposition unit at 4% by volume or less (again, since no structure such as a valves and a controller are positively recited to achieve the volumetric ratio, this limitation is interpreted as intended use that only requires structure capable of the use – see Fig. 3 – the valves depicted in Trujillo are capable of the use).
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0089461 A1 to Kanno et al. (Kanno).
In reference to claim 1, Kanno discloses a vacuum carburizing harmful exhaust gas reduction apparatus (“a vacuum carburizing...” is interpreted as intended use) comprising: a high-temperature decomposition unit (5; Fig. 1) configured to heat exhaust gases discharged from a vacuum pump in the vacuum carburizing process (“configured to...” is interpreted as intended use) to a temperature ranging from 500 to 1500° C (650-850° C; par. 0028); and a high-temperature catalyst unit (2, 3) comprising a supported catalyst supporting a catalyst including one or more selected from a group including platinum (Pt; pars. 0015, 0019), palladium (pars. 0015, 0019), and alloys thereof (optional) and configured to allow the exhaust gases heated in the high-temperature decomposition unit to contact the supported catalyst (“configured to...” is interpreted as intended use; however, see pars. 0036-0037).
In reference to claim 5, Kanno discloses the vacuum carburizing harmful exhaust gas reduction apparatus of claim 1, wherein the supported catalyst is a ceramic honeycomb carrier (par. 0033).
In reference to claim 6, Kanno discloses the vacuum carburizing harmful exhaust gas reduction apparatus of claim 1, wherein the catalyst is supported on a catalyst support including Lanthanum (La) doped alumina (pars. 0019, 0054).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of JP 2011-101842 A to Akamine et al. (Akamine). A machine translation was relied upon for the basis of this rejection.
In reference to claim 7, Kanno discloses the vacuum carburizing harmful exhaust gas reduction apparatus of claim 6, but fails to explicitly disclose the supported catalyst further includes zeolite. However, Akamine discloses a similar high-temperature catalyst unit (see Figs.) that, like Kanno, provides for the removal of CO, NOx and hydrocarbons (par. 0002) at temperatures form 600-800 °C (par. 0034), the catalyst including platinum and/or palladium (par. 0011), wherein the supported catalyst further includes zeolite (par. 0011). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the known catalyst composition disclosed by Akamine for the known composition of Kanno. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (see MPEP 2141).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: JP 2020-079429 A and CN 206950943 U each disclose a vacuum carburizing apparatus and may be relied upon in a subsequent Office action.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MATTHIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
18 February 2026