DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/22/2025. Claims being examined are group I: claims 1-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 14-15 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20180132789) herein referred to as Chen, in view of Lusted (US 10709339) herein referred to as Lusted.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a biological-information acquisition device (Figure 1) comprising: a biometric sensor unit (Figure 1, 101) that includes a biometric sensor configured to detect biological information (Paragraph [0039]; wherein sensor is operable for sensing biological information of a user) and a living-body wearable part that configures the biometric sensor to contact a living body (Figure 1, 103); and a main body (Figure 1, 102) that includes: an information processor configured to process the biological information (Figure 12, 1291), a battery configured to supply power to the information processing section (Paragraph [0073]; wherein the battery is compact size, and a battery will supply power to the entire device), a plurality of main-body-side external terminals that are electrically connected to the biometric sensor unit and that are arranged in a row in or on a bottom surface of the main body (Figure 14a, 1196), and a charger that charges the battery (Paragraph [0073]; wherein a charger can charge battery), wherein the biometric sensor unit is configured to be separated from the main body for replacement (Figure 13), wherein the main body is detachably attached to the biometric sensor unit so that the main body does not contact the living body when the biometric sensor unit is worn on the living body (Figure 13). However, Chen does not explicitly disclose a plurality of charging external terminals that are arranged in a row in or on a bottom surface of the main body and parallel to the plurality of main-body-side external terminals.
Lusted discloses a biological-information acquisition device (Figure 6A) comprising a plurality of charging external terminals that are arranged in a row in or on a bottom surface of the main body and parallel to the plurality of main-body-side external terminals (Figure 6B, 90 & 92; wherein 90 is the charging terminals and 92 is the main body terminals). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as taught by Chen to include charging terminals that are parallel to the main-body-side terminals. The motivation being to connect all elements in series (Lusted, Column 7 lines 54-67 & Column 8 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 1. Chen also discloses wherein the biometric sensor unit is disposed in such a manner as to be exposed in a first direction in which a living body wearing the biometric sensor unit is located when viewed from the main body (Figure 7, 101; wherein the first direction is annotated below), and wherein the main body is disposed in such a manner as not to be exposed in the first direction (Figure 7; wherein since 103 is longer then the main body 102, when looking at a side profile it will not be exposed).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 2. Chen also discloses wherein the biometric sensor unit includes a protruding portion exposed and protruding in the first direction (Figure 9a, 101).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 2. Chen also discloses wherein the biometric sensor unit comprises a measuring surface that is exposed in the first direction and that is perpendicular to the first direction (See annotated Figure 5a below; wherein figure 5a is an example of sensor 101).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 2. Chen also discloses wherein the main body is disposed in such a manner as to be exposed in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction (See annotated Figure 7 below).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 1. Chen also discloses wherein the information processor includes: a storage unit configured to store identification information (Paragraph [0057]; wherein the wireless communication unit stores an identification information (ID) of the user and transmits the health information with the user's ID to the electronic device without additional action of inputting user information), and a wireless communication unit configured to transmit a processing result (Paragraph [0057]; wherein the wireless communication unit stores an identification information (ID) of the user and transmits the health information with the user's ID to the electronic device without additional action of inputting user information).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 1. Lusted also discloses wherein the biometric sensor unit includes a sensor-side external terminal that is electrically connected to the main body (Figure 3, 88). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as taught by Chen in view of Lusted to include sensor-side external terminals as taught by Lusted. The motivation being to allow for connection all elements in series (Lusted, Column 7 lines 54-67 & Column 8 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 7. Lusted also discloses wherein the sensor-side external terminal and the plurality of main-body-side external terminals are arranged in or on surfaces that face each other in a direction perpendicular to directions in which the main body is attached and detached to and from the biometric sensor unit (Figure 6A, 6B & 6C; wherein the senor-side terminals 88 are on the opposing sides of the main-body-side terminals 92 such that they are in a direction perpendicular to which the main body 104 is attached/detached from the sensor unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as taught by Chen in view of Lusted to allow for the arrangement of the external terminals as taught by Lusted. The motivation being to distribute along the board to allow flex spaces between the components. It is also preferable that the sensor surfaces be mounted on the bottom interior of the ring to provide reliable contact with the skin of the user's finger (Lusted Column 7, lines 29-37)
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 7. Lusted also discloses wherein the sensor-side external terminal is disposed in or on a top surface of the biometric sensor unit (Figure 6C; wherein the surface the sensor side terminals are disposed on are seen as the top surface), wherein the plurality of main-body-side external terminals are disposed in or on a bottom surface of the main body (Figure 6B; wherein the surface the plurality of main-body-side external terminals are disposed on is seen the bottom surface), and wherein the battery is disposed above the plurality of main-body-side external terminals (Figure 6A, 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as taught by Chen in view of Lusted to allow for the arrangement of the external terminals and battery as taught by Lusted. The motivation being to distribute along the board to allow flex spaces between the components. It is also preferable that the sensor surfaces be mounted on the bottom interior of the ring to provide reliable contact with the skin of the user's finger (Lusted Column 7, lines 29-37)
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 7. Lusted also discloses wherein at least one of the sensor-side external terminal and the plurality of main-body-side external terminals includes a biasing member configured to bias the respective terminal in a direction in which a distance between the sensor-side external terminal and the plurality of main-body-side external terminals is reduced (Figure 6A, 102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as taught by Chen in view of Lusted to allow for the arrangement of the external terminals and battery as taught by Lusted. The motivation being to allow for contact with a contralateral side of the body (Lusted, Column 7 lines 26-27).
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 1. Chen also discloses wherein the main body is engaged with the biometric sensor unit at three points (See annotated Figure 7 below)
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 1. Chen also discloses wherein the living-body wearable part comprises a ring shape or an earphone shape (Figure 7, 103).
Regarding claim 15, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 1. Chen also discloses wherein the living-body wearable part includes a curved portion that is wearable on a finger of the living body and a flat portion that connects respective ends of the curved portion (See annotated Figure 7 below), and wherein the curved portion is provided with a flexible substrate on which the biometric sensor is mounted (See annotated Figure 7 below; Paragraph [0054]; wherein the 103 is flexible).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 15. Chen also discloses wherein the flat portion has a dimension larger than a dimension of the curved portion in an axial direction of the curved portion (See annotated Figure 7 below).
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 15. Chen also discloses wherein the battery is disposed such that a longitudinal direction of the battery is parallel to an axial direction of the curved portion (Figure 7; wherein 102 contains the battery which is not shown, but other components are visible in Figure 14a, such that all the components in 102 is parallel to an axial direction of the curved potion).
Claim 12-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Lusted in view of Von Badinski et al. (US 20160246326) herein referred to as Von.
Regarding Claim 12, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 11. However, Chen in view of Lusted does not explicitly disclose wherein the main body includes three hooks on an outer surface of the main body in a protruding manner, and wherein the biometric sensor unit is elastic and has three recesses into which the hooks of the main body are fitted.
Von discloses biological information acquisition device (Figure 34A) wherein the main body includes three hooks on an outer surface of the main body in a protruding manner (Figure 34A; 3420) , and wherein the biometric sensor unit is elastic and has three recesses into which the hooks of the main body are fitted (Paragraph [0290]; wherein WCD fits into the prongs which can have little hooks such that there would have to be a recess for it to fit into; Paragraph [0182]; wherein the components of the WCD are flexible therefore are elastic). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the main body as taught by Chen in view of Lusted to include the structure as taught by Von. The motivation being to have a semi-permanently or permanently affixed to the outward-facing surface of the sensing unit (Von, Paragraph [0290]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen and Lusted in further view of Von discloses the biological-information acquisition device according to claim 12. Chen discloses wherein the biometric sensor unit has a recess in which the main body is accommodated (See annotated Figure 14b), and wherein a guide groove that guides a hook of the main body is formed in an inner surface of the recess, which is inclined with respect to a bottom surface thereof (See annotated Figure 14B below).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Lusted in further view of Fine et al. (US 20190298186) herein referred to as Fine
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Lusted disclose the biological information acquisition device of claim 15 wherein the curved portion comprises an elastic material (Paragraph [0054]; wherein the 103 is flexible). However, Chen in view of Lusted does not explicitly disclose wherein the flat portion includes a reinforcing plate that has a rigidity higher than a rigidity of the curved portion.
Fine discloses a biological information acquisition device (Figure 17A) wherein the flat portion includes a reinforcing plate that has a rigidity higher than a rigidity of the curved portion (Figure 320B; Paragraph [0182]; wherein the plates are rigid therefore, will have a higher rigidity then a flexible portion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a reinforcing plate as taught by Fine. The motivation being restricts a range of motion of the flexible portion (Fine, Paragraph [0182]).
Conclusion
ALYSSA M. PAPE
Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794