DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Received 12/08/2025
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 16, and 17 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 16 and 17 has/have been amended.
Claim(s) 6 and 12-15 has/have been cancelled.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 have been fully considered in view of the amendments received on 12/08/2025 and are fully addressed in the prior art rejection below.
Response to Arguments
Received 12/08/2025
Regarding dependent claim(s) 16 and 17:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 11: ¶ 2-3), filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the objection(s) of claim(s) 16 and 17.
The Examiner suggest Applicant further amending the independent claims to include the subject matter of claim 16 and/or claim 17. Wherein, the objected subject matter is considered allowable over the applied prior art based on the types of information considered characteristic information. For example, when considering claim 2, the prior art teaches the alternative language of account information of a user or avatar generation history information claim 2, however the language of claim 16 comprises a non-alternative list of elements for the characteristic information that fails to be addressed the prior art within the combination.
Therefore, the Examiner suggests further amendment(s) to the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., US PGPUB No. 20150312523 A1, hereinafter Li, in view of Tong et al., US PGPUB No. 20170069124 A1, hereinafter Tong, and further in view of Davis, US PGPUB No. 20130257877 A1, hereinafter Davis.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an electronic device (Li; an electronic device (i.e. device-to-device system or virtual space system) [¶ 0015, ¶ 0021, and ¶ 0060-0061], as illustrated within Figs. 1A-B; wherein, the device-to-device system and the virtual space system comprise one or more devices [¶ 0016 and ¶ 0023-0024]) comprising:
a communication module comprising communication circuitry (Li; the electronic device (i.e. device-to-device system or virtual space system) [as addressed above] comprises a communication module comprising communication circuitry (e.g. network and/or server) [¶ 0015-0017 and ¶ 0020-0021]; additionally, communication module [¶ 0037] moreover, client-server communications [¶ 0049-0050]);
a display (Li; the electronic device (i.e. device-to-device system or virtual space system) [as addressed above] comprises a display [¶ 0015 and ¶ 0018-0019]; moreover, touch-sensitive display [¶ 0023-0024]);
a camera (Li; the electronic device (i.e. device-to-device system or virtual space system) [as addressed above] comprises a camera [¶ 0015 and ¶ 0017, and ¶ 0023-0024]);
memory storing executable instructions and mapping information for avatar generation (Li; the electronic device (i.e. device-to-device system or virtual space system) [as addressed above] comprises (a) memory storing executable instructions [¶ 0060-0061 and ¶ 0065-0066] and mapping information (i.e. database) for avatar generation [¶ 0029-0030]; moreover, avatar DB [¶ 0039-0043]; wherein, databases implicitly map information/data, given data tables and/or a relational data; additionally, parameters for animating an avatar implicitly corresponding to mapping information, given the connection/conversion between features [¶ 0025-0027] and avatar graphics [¶ 0032-0034] associated with the avatar DB [¶ 0052-0053]), wherein the mapping information comprises first mapping information corresponding to first feature information related to a face of an object and second mapping information corresponding to second feature information related to components constituting the face (Li; the mapping information (i.e. database) [as addressed above] comprises 1st mapping information corresponding to 1st feature information related to a face of an object (i.e. avatar model/face-type via avatar selection module) and 2nd mapping information corresponding to 2nd feature information related to components constituting the face (i.e. parameters via avatar control module) [¶ 0029-0030 and ¶ 0032-0034]; moreover, avatar selection is from a DB [¶ 0039-0042 and ¶ 0046] of an avatar model/face-type [¶ 0047-0048], as illustrated within Figs. 4A-B), wherein the mapping information includes information representing mapping relationship related to the first feature information and the second feature information which are mapped with graphical data for generating an avatar (Li; the mapping information [as addressed above] includes information representing mapping relationship related to the 1st feature information (i.e. avatar model/face-type via avatar selection module) and the 2nd feature information (i.e. parameters via avatar control module) which are implicitly mapped (given DB relational data and data conversion) with graphical data for generating an avatar [¶ 0029-0030 and ¶ 0032-0034]; wherein, the mapping of (1st and 2nd) feature information with graphical data is implicit, given the conversion between the features and the graphics for animating an avatar associated with the avatar DB [¶ 0052-0053]); and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Li; at least one processor comprising processing circuitry [¶ 0060-0061, ¶ 0063, and ¶ 0065]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the least one processor (Li; the electronic device (i.e. device-to-device system or virtual space system) [as addressed above] comprises at least one processor when executed by the least one processor wherein the instructions [¶ 0060-0061, ¶ 0063, and ¶ 0065]), cause the electronic device to:
in response to an avatar generation request, recognize an image displayed on the display by acquiring third feature information related to a face region of an object in the image and fourth feature information related to each components constituting the face region (Li; at least one processor causes the electronic device [as addressed above] to recognize an image displayed on the display by acquiring 3rd feature information related to a face region of an object (i.e. identifying and tracking a head, face, and/or facial region) in the image and 4th feature information related to each components constituting the face region (i.e. feature recognition and extraction of facial landmarks (e.g. eyes, eyebrows, nose, mouth)) [¶ 0025-0027] in response to an avatar generation request [¶ 0032-0035]; moreover, video call engagement [¶ 0036 and ¶ 0041-0043] associated with transmitting and receiving avatars for display [¶ 0013, ¶ 0037, and ¶ 0053]); and
generate an avatar based on the first mapping information corresponding to the third feature information and the second mapping information corresponding to the fourth feature information (Li; at least one processor causes the electronic device[as addressed above] to generate an avatar based on the 1st mapping information (i.e. avatar model/face-type) corresponding to the 3rd feature information (i.e. identifying and tracking a head, face, and/or facial region) and the 2nd mapping information (i.e. parameters) corresponding to the 4th feature information (i.e. feature recognition and extraction of facial landmarks (e.g. eyes, eyebrows, nose, mouth)) [¶ 0025-0027 and ¶ 0029-0030]), and wherein the at least one processor (Li; the at least one processor [as addressed above]) is further configured to:
identify a current version of the mapping information is a latest version (Li; the processor [as addressed above] is configured to identify/process a current version of the mapping information is the latest version [¶ 0041-0044]; moreover, avatar control module sending and receiving avatar data [¶ 0034-0037] based on received inputs (associated with tracking) [¶ 0025-0027] via a camera [¶ 0017 and ¶ 0024]); and
receive, from the designated server, the latest version of graphical data corresponding to the at least a portion of the graphical data (Li; receive the latest version of graphical data corresponding to the at least a portion of the graphical data [¶ 0041-0044] from the designated server [¶ 0035-0037 and ¶ 0049-0051]); and
generate the avatar based on at least the latest version of the graphical data (Li; generate the avatar based on at least the latest version of the graphical data [¶ 0034-0035]).
Li fails to disclose identify whether a current version of the mapping information is the latest version; and
in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version:
transmit characteristic information regarding a user of the electronic device to a designated server;
receive, from the designated sever, the latest version of the mapping information corresponding to the characteristic information, wherein the characteristic information comprises identification information associated with at least one of the electronic device or user;
identify at least a portion of graphical data related to the image to be updated, based on a result of the recognition of the image and the latest version of mapping information, wherein the at least a portion of graphical data is used to generate an avatar related to the image.
However, Tong teaches mapping information corresponding to a database (Tong; mapping information corresponding to avatar data in relation with a database [¶ 0023-0024 and ¶ 0043-0045]; moreover, avatar DB [¶ 0041-0043], as illustrated within Fig. 3, associated with a plurality of animation messages [¶ 0025-0026, ¶ 0031-0032, and ¶ 0034-0035]; wherein, facial components/landmarks are matched with (similar or closest) artistic renditions (i.e. graphics) [¶ 0047-0050], as illustrated within Fig. 4; such that, an avatar reassembles a face within an image [¶ 0051]); and
wherein the at least one processor (Tong; the at least one processor [¶ 0075-0076]) is further configured to:
identify whether a current version of the mapping information is a latest version (Tong; the processor [as addressed above] configured to identify whether a current version of the mapping information (i.e. avatar data in relation with a database) is a latest version [¶ 0052 and ¶ 0054-0057]; wherein, tracking validation and/or one or more tracking processes of the face/head correspond to identifying an updated version (whether the current version is the latest version) of information [¶ 0031-0032]); and
in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version (Tong; the processor [as addressed above] configured to determine an event (i.e. in a case) that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version [¶ 0031-0033 and ¶ 0055-0056]; wherein, the event (i.e. in a case) that versions are not equivalent is implicit given avatar data compared to DB data [¶ 0038 and ¶ 0041-0045]; moreover, real-time determinations of facial expressions and/or head poses [¶ 0031]; wherein, generating animation messages using (facial expression and head pose) tracking [¶ 0025-0028 and ¶ 0031-0032] to drive animation of an avatar (via the avatar animation engine) corresponding to an event or determination that an avatar version requires an update [¶ 0034-0035]):
transmit characteristic information regarding a user of the electronic device to a designated server (Tong; transmitting characteristic (i.e. components) information regarding a user of the electronic device to a designated server (implicitly corresponding to an avatar DB) [¶ 0041-0044] in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version [as addressed above]; moreover, characteristic (i.e. components) information regarding a user of the electronic device (i.e. mobile device) [¶ 0038-0040]);
receive, from the designated sever, the latest version of the mapping information corresponding to the characteristic information (Tong; receiving (at the avatar animation engine) [¶ 0061-0062] the latest version of the mapping information corresponding to the characteristic information from the designated sever (implicitly corresponding to the avatar DB) [¶ 0041-0044], as illustrated within Fig. 7, in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version [as addressed above]; moreover, avatar animation engine [¶ 0036], as illustrated within Fig. 1), wherein the characteristic information comprises identification information associated with at least one of the electronic device or user (Tong; the characteristic information comprises identification information associated with at least one of the (electronic device or) user [¶ 0024-0025 and ¶ 0039]);
identify at least a portion of graphical data related to the image to be updated (Tong; the processor [as addressed above] configured to identify at least a portion (e.g. mesh) of graphical data related to the image to be updated [¶ 0058, ¶ 0061-0063, and ¶ 0074] in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version [as addressed above]; wherein, updating corresponds to modifying an avatar based on tracked facial features and/or expressions [¶ 0052-0054 and ¶ 0056-0058]; moreover, driving an avatar model to animate the avatar involving motion transfer and mesh deformation [¶ 0034-0035 and ¶ 0037]; additionally, a portion of graphical data corresponds to one or more facial components [¶ 0026, ¶ 0039, and ¶ 0041], as illustrated within Fig. 2 and Fig. 3), based on a result of the recognition of the image and the latest version of mapping information (Tong; identifying [as addressed above] based on a result of the recognition of the image and the latest version of mapping information [¶ 0042-0045 and ¶ 0052]; wherein, a result of the recognition of the image [¶ 0047-0050], as illustrated within Fig. 4, is updated to a latest version of mapping information [¶ 0063-0068 and ¶ 0074] associated with tracking [¶ 0031-0033 and ¶ 0055-0057]; moreover, blend shapes and mesh [¶ 0039 and ¶ 0062]), wherein the at least a portion of graphical data is used to generate an avatar related to the image (Tong; the at least a portion of graphical data is used to generate an avatar related to the image [¶ 0058, ¶ 0061, and ¶ 0074]; wherein, an avatar is generated based on animations data associated with facial components [¶ 0023, ¶ 0034-0035, and ¶ 0076]; moreover, automatically generating a personalized avatar from an image [¶ 0047-0050]);
receive, from the designated server, the latest version of graphical data corresponding to the at least a portion of the graphical data (Tong; the processor [as addressed above] configured to receive the latest version of graphical data [¶ 0023 and ¶ 0034-0035] corresponding to the at least a portion of the graphical data [as addressed above] from the designated server (implicitly corresponding to the avatar DB) [¶ 0041 and ¶ 0043-0045], as illustrated within Fig. 1, in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version [as addressed above]; moreover, as illustrated within Fig. 1, avatar animation engine (104) incorporates data from the avatar DB (134) and the facial expression and head pose tracking (102); wherein, the avatar system implicitly corresponds to a server [¶ 0038]; and wherein, the avatar animation engine incorporates mesh and blend shapes [¶ 0058 and ¶ 0061-0062], such that an avatar’s blended shapes is a layered structure [¶ 0039 and ¶ 0049-0050]); and
generate the avatar based on at least the latest version of the graphical data (Tong; the processor [as addressed above] configured to generate the avatar based on at least the latest version of the graphical data [¶ 0034-0036 and ¶ 0074]).
Li and Tong are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing media data, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Li, to incorporate mapping information corresponding to a database; and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify whether a current version of the mapping information is a latest version; and in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version: transmit characteristic information regarding a user of the electronic device to a designated server; receive, from the designated sever, the latest version of the mapping information corresponding to the characteristic information, wherein the characteristic information comprises identification information associated with at least one of the electronic device or user; identify at least a portion of graphical data related to the image to be updated, based on a result of the recognition of the image and the latest version of mapping information, wherein the at least a portion of graphical data is used to generate an avatar related to the image; receive, from the designated server, the latest version of graphical data corresponding to the at least a portion of the graphical data; and generate the avatar based on at least the latest version of the graphical data (as taught by Tong), in order to provide an improved generation and animation of avatars while reducing computer resource related to intensive graphics processing (Tong; [¶ 0003]).
Li as modified by Tong fails to explicitly disclose to transmit and/or receive from a designated server.
However, Davis teaches in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version (Davis; in a case (i.e. a determination event) that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version [¶ 0095-0097]; wherein, generating/updating avatar characteristic table (via a server side) and/or determining next state avatar action model (via a client side) corresponds to a determination event):
transmit characteristic information version information regarding a user to a designated server (Davis; transmitting characteristic information version information regarding a user to a designated server in a case (i.e. in the even) that the current version of the mapping information (i.e. data table) is not the latest version [¶ 0095-0097], as illustrated within Fig. 8; moreover, avatar builder [¶ 0070-0072], and avatar engine [¶ 0090 and ¶ 0093-0094]; additionally, characteristics info [¶ 0035] and data mapping/table [¶ 0077, ¶ 0093-0094, and ¶ 0113]; even further, system involving a server configuration comprising an avatar engine and avatar table [¶ 0116], as illustrated within Fig. 15B);
receive, from the designated sever, the latest version of the mapping information corresponding to the characteristic information (Davis; receiving the latest version of the mapping information (i.e. data table) corresponding to the characteristic information from the designated sever in a case (i.e. in the even) that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version [¶ 0095-0097]); and
receive, from the designated server, the latest version of graphical data corresponding to the at least a portion of the graphical data (Davis; receiving the latest version of graphical data corresponding to the at least a portion of the graphical data from the designated server [¶ 0095-0097]; moreover, data from the avatar characteristic tables is used to implement an avatar [¶ 0093-0094]; wherein, at least a portion of graphical data is implicit given CGI (computer-generated imagery) [¶ 0077-0078 and ¶ 0088-0089]).
Li in view of Tong and Davis are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing media data, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Li as modified by Tong, to incorporate in a case that the current version of the mapping information is not the latest version: transmit characteristic information version information regarding a user to a designated server; receive, from the designated sever, the latest version of the mapping information corresponding to the characteristic information; and receive, from the designated server, the latest version of graphical data corresponding to the at least a portion of the graphical data (as taught by Davis), in order to provide an improved generation and animation of avatars that have an increased interactivity and/or responsiveness by learning and adapting to new information (Davis; [¶ 0003-0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Tong and Davis further discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the characteristic information comprises at least one of a model name of the electronic device, account information of the user, country information, event information, and avatar generation history information (Davis; the characteristic information [as addressed above] comprises at least one of (a model name of the electronic device) account information of the user(, country information, event information,) and avatar generation history information [¶ 0093-0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Li as modified by Tong and Davis, to incorporate wherein the characteristic information comprises at least one of a model name of the electronic device, account information of the user, country information, event information, and avatar generation history information (as taught by Davis), in order to provide an improved generation and animation of avatars that have an increased interactivity and/or responsiveness by learning and adapting to new information (Davis; [¶ 0003-0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Tong and Davis further discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device (Li; the instructions cause the electronic device to perform when executed by the at least one processor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) to:
select a face base model based on the first feature information regarding the face region of the object included in the image (Li; the processor [as addressed above] (is configured) to: select a face base model based on the 1st feature information regarding the face region of the object included in the image [¶ 0025-0027 and ¶ 0032-0035]).
Tong further teaches to:
select a face base model based on the first feature information regarding the face region of the object included in the image (Tong; selecting a face base model based on the 1st feature information regarding the face region of the object included in the image [¶ 0053-0054]; moreover, similar/closest facial components [¶ 0048-0049], as illustrated within Fig. 4, based on one or more (extracted) facial components [¶ 0039-0040 and ¶ 0042], as illustrated within Fig. 2);
select graphical data corresponding to facial components configuring the face region, respectively (Tong; select graphical data corresponding to facial components configuring the face region, respectively [¶ 0034-0035 and ¶ 0061-0069]; moreover, an animation message and avatar animation engine are configured to select graphics data associated with render an avatar (artistic renditions) [¶ 0034-0035, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0049-0050] based on tracked information of a face region [¶ 0031-0032]); and
configure a face part of the avatar at least by arranging the selected graphical data in the selected face base model (Tong; configure a face part of the avatar at least by arranging the selected graphical data in the selected face base model [¶ 0034-0035 and ¶ 0049-0050]; wherein, the avatar animation engine manipulates a face mesh and shapes ¶ 0061-0069] for rendering [¶ 0073-0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Li as modified by Tong and Davis, to incorporate to:
select a face base model based on the first feature information regarding the face region of the object included in the image; select graphical data corresponding to facial components configuring the face region, respectively; and configure a face part of the avatar at least by arranging the selected graphical data in the selected face base model (as taught by Tong), in order to provide an improved generation and animation of avatars while reducing computer resource related to intensive graphics processing (Tong; [¶ 0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Tong and Davis further discloses the electronic device of claim 1, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device operate (Li; the instructions cause the electronic device to operate/perform when executed by the at least one processor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Tong further teaches the electronic device to periodically and/or aperiodically identify whether the mapping information is updated (Tong; the electronic device (i.e. avatar system) [¶ 0023 and ¶ 0038] to periodically and/or aperiodically identify whether the mapping information is updated [¶ 0063-0068 and ¶ 0073-0074], as illustrated within Fig. 7; moreover, Fig. 7 illustrates a recurring cycle for which to apply blend shape and calculate head movements corresponding to periodically and/or aperiodically; even further, the tracking of the face/head is implicit to frequent updating, given an animation thereof [¶ 0016, ¶ 0025-0026, and ¶ 0055-0057] associated with animation message(s) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Li as modified by Tong and Davis, to incorporate mapping information (as taught by Tong), in order to provide an improved generation and animation of avatars while reducing computer resource related to intensive graphics processing (Tong; [¶ 0003]).
Davis further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to periodically and/or aperiodically identify whether the mapping information is updated (Davis; the instructions when executed by the at least one processor [¶ 0115-0117] cause the electronic device to periodically and/or aperiodically identify whether the mapping/table information is updated [¶ 0095-0097]; moreover, continually updates [¶ 0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Li as modified by Tong and Davis, to incorporate the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to periodically and/or aperiodically identify whether the mapping information is updated (as taught by Davis), in order to provide an improved generation and animation of avatars that have an increased interactivity and/or responsiveness by learning and adapting to new information (Davis; [¶ 0003-0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Tong and Davis further discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to operate (Li; the instructions cause the electronic device to operate when executed by the at least one processor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) to:
download the latest version of the mapping information (Li; download the latest version of the mapping information (i.e. database) [¶ 0040-0043 and ¶ 0045]).
Tong further teaches before generating the avatar, identify through the designated server whether the mapping information is updated (Tong; identifying through the designated server (implicitly corresponding to the avatar DB) [¶ 0043-0045] whether the mapping information is updated before generating the avatar [¶ 0039-0040]; wherein, the avatar animation engine relies on the avatar DB [¶ 0041-0042 and ¶ 0043-0045] for animating and then rendering an avatar [¶ 0035-0036], as illustrated within Fig. 1 and Fig. 3; wherein, the avatar system implicitly corresponds to a server [¶ 0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Li as modified by Tong and Davis, to incorporate before generating the avatar, identify through the designated server whether the mapping information is updated (as taught by Tong), in order to provide an improved generation and animation of avatars while reducing computer resource related to intensive graphics processing (Tong; [¶ 0003]).
Davis further teaches before generating the avatar, identify through the designated server whether the mapping information is updated (Tong; identify through the designated server whether the mapping information is updated before generating the avatar [¶ 0093-0094]; moreover, before an avatar is implemented for a user (i.e. 3rd person) the next state-avatar action is determined [¶ 0094]);
in case that the mapping information is updated, download the latest version of the mapping information from the designated server and store the latest version of the mapping information in the memory (Davis; download the latest version of the mapping/table information from the designated server and store the latest version of the mapping information in the memory in case that the mapping information is updated [¶ 0095-0097], as illustrated within Fig. 8; moreover, table updating and implementation [¶ 0093-0094]);
based on the latest version of the mapping information, identify whether at least a portion of the latest version of graphical data to be downloaded exists (Davis; identify whether at least a portion of the latest version of graphical data to be downloaded exists based on the latest version of the mapping information [¶ 0095-0097], as illustrated within Fig. 8; moreover, table updating and implementation [¶ 0093-0094]); and
download the at least a portion of the latest version of graphical data to be downloaded from the designated server and store the downloaded portion of the latest version of graphical data in the memory (Davis; download the at least a portion of the latest version of graphical data to be downloaded from the designated (DB of the) server and store the downloaded portion of the latest version of graphical data in the memory [¶ 0095-0097], as illustrated within Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Li as modified by Tong and Davis, to incorporate before generating the avatar, identify through the designated server whether the mapping information is updated; in case that the mapping information is updated, download the latest version of the mapping information from the designated server and store the latest version of the mapping information in the memory; based on the latest version of the mapping information, identify whether at least a portion of the latest version of graphical data to be downloaded exists; and download the at least a portion of the latest version of graphical data to be downloaded from the designated server and store the downloaded portion of the latest version of graphical data in the memory (as taught by Davis), in order to provide an improved generation and animation of avatars that have an increased interactivity and/or responsiveness by learning and adapting to new information (Davis; [¶ 0003-0006]).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 7 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 7 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 7. Although, claim 7 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 7 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 8 is addressed within the rejection of claim 2, due to the similarities claim 8 and claim 2 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 2 regarding the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 9 is addressed within the rejection of claim 3, due to the similarities claim 9 and claim 3 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 3 regarding the rejection of claim 9; however, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 9 is/are addressed below.
Li discloses wherein the recognizing of the displayed image comprises extracting feature information of a face of an object included in the image and feature information of components constituting the face (Li; the recognizing of the displayed image comprises extracting feature information of a face of an object (i.e. identifying and tracking a head, face, and/or facial region) included in the image and feature information of components constituting the face (i.e. feature recognition and extraction of facial landmarks (e.g. eyes, eyebrows, nose, mouth)) [¶ 0025-0027 and ¶ 0032-0033]; moreover, video call engagement [¶ 0034-0036 and ¶ 0041-0043] associated with transmitting and receiving avatars for display [¶ 0013, ¶ 0037, and ¶ 0053]).
(further refer to the rejection of claim 3)
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 10 is addressed within the rejection of claim 4, due to the similarities claim 10 and claim 4 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 4 regarding the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 11 is addressed within the rejection of claim 5, due to the similarities claim 11 and claim 5 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 5 regarding the rejection of claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611