Response to Amendment
The amendment made dated 12/8/2025 does not contain any new matter, and has been accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ledvina does not disclose the newly amended features and limitations of independent claims 1 and 11.
However, due to the broadness of the claim language, Examiner asserts that Ledvina still discloses the newly amended features and limitations of said claims.
Specifically, Ledvina discloses the limitations regarding the first module of the electronic device to
receive a signal including information on a first orientation of the external electronic device from the external electronic device (Fig. 3; [0058]-[0064]: exchanging ranging capabilities; [0080]; Fig. 3; [0064]-[0066], [0003]: coordinated ranging operations between the mobile devices that can provide distance information used to determine angular (orientation) information), and
wherein the second communication module is further configured to:
adjust an antenna characteristic of at least some of the at least one antenna, based on a second orientation of the electronic device obtained by the at least one sensor, and the first orientation of the external electronic device obtained through the first communication module ([0145]-[0150]: UWB circuitry is used for ranging purposes to determine the distance and orientation of external devices relative to user device; [0148]: wherein external devices are displayed on the user device according to their relative distance and angular orientation to the user device; [0150]: based on the depiction of devices the user can adjust their location and turn to the desired recipient to select data transfer/sharing), and
perform at least an operation for identifying a position of the external electronic device, using the at least one antenna having the adjusted antenna characteristic ([0150]-[0151]: perform data transfer/sharing based on the user turning the antennas of the user device to the intended device).
Therefore, the claims are still not yet in condition for allowance and are still rejected as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ledvina et al. (US 2020/0106877; filed 9/27/2019; hereinafter Ledvina).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Ledvina discloses an electronic device comprising:
at least one antenna for transmitting and receiving signals (Fig. 2: antennas of mobile devices);
at least one sensor (mobile device antennas as shown in Fig. 2);
a first communication module configured to support a first communication scheme ([0056]: first wireless protocol can be BLE or other Bluetooth); and
a second communication module configured to support a second communication scheme ([0056]: second wireless protocol using UWB; [0275]: use of UWB ranging circuitry can make adjustments to ranging information such as orientation such as angle of arrivals),
wherein the first communication module is further configured to:
establish a connection of the first communication scheme with an external electronic device that supports the second communication scheme (Fig. 3; [0058]-[0064]: using the first wireless communication protocol to authenticate for use of second communication protocol), and
receive a signal including information on a first orientation of the external electronic device from the external electronic device (Fig. 3; [0058]-[0064]: exchanging ranging capabilities; [0080]; Fig. 3; [0064]-[0066], [0003]: coordinated ranging operations between the mobile devices that can provide distance information used to determine angular (orientation) information), and
wherein the second communication module is further configured to:
adjust an antenna characteristic of at least some of the at least one antenna, based on a second orientation of the electronic device obtained by the at least one sensor, and the first orientation of the external electronic device obtained through the first communication module ([0145]-[0150]: UWB circuitry is used for ranging purposes to determine the distance and orientation of external devices relative to user device; [0148]: wherein external devices are displayed on the user device according to their relative distance and angular orientation to the user device; [0150]: based on the depiction of devices the user can adjust their location and turn to the desired recipient to select data transfer/sharing), and
perform at least an operation for identifying a position of the external electronic device, using the at least one antenna having the adjusted antenna characteristic ([0150]-[0151]: perform data transfer/sharing based on the user turning the antennas of the user device to the intended device).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ledvina discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein as at least a part of performing the operation for identifying the position of the external electronic device, the second communication module is further configured to:
transmit a first communication signal based on the second communication scheme, receive a second communication signal based on the second communication scheme, corresponding to the first communication signal, and identify a distance between the electronic device and the external electronic device based on a transmission time of the first communication signal, a reception time of the second communication signal, and a process time of the external electronic device (Figs. 1-3; [0067]: performing ranging operations to determine distance between the two devices).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Ledvina discloses the electronic device of claim 2,
wherein the second communication module comprises a switch selectively connecting at least one of a plurality of stubs corresponding to the at least some of the at least one antenna to the at least some of the at least one antenna, and
wherein as at least a part of adjusting the antenna characteristic of the at least some of the at least one antenna, based on the second orientation and the first orientation, the second communication module is further configured to:
select at least one stub of the plurality of stubs based on the second orientation and the first orientation, and control the switch to connect the selected stub to the at least some of the at least one antenna ([0042]-[0046]: having multiple antennas corresponding to the use of ranging for 1D, 2D 3D distance and position ranges).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ledvina discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the second communication module comprises a switch configured to selectively connect at least one of a plurality of elements corresponding to the at least some of the at least one antenna to the at least some of the at least one antenna, and wherein as at least a part of adjusting the antenna characteristic of the at least some of the at least one antenna, based on the second orientation and the first orientation, the second communication module is further configured to:
select at least one element of the plurality of elements based on the second orientation and the first orientation, and control the switch to connect the selected at least one element to the at least some of the at least one antenna antennas ([0042]-[0046]: selecting the use of ranging for 1D, 2D 3D distance and position ranges).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ledvina discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein after adjusting the antenna characteristic of at least some of the at least one antenna based on the second orientation and the first orientation, the second communication module is further configured to:
transmit a third communication signal based on the second communication scheme, receive a fourth communication signal based on the second communication scheme, corresponding to the third communication signal, and identify a distance between the electronic device and the external electronic device based on a transmission time of the third communication signal, a reception time of the fourth communication signal, and a process time of the external electronic device (Fig. 2, ranging operations with 3 antennas).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Ledvina discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein as at least a part of performing the operation for identifying the position of the external electronic device, the second communication module is further configured to:
receive a fifth communication signal based on the second communication scheme from the external electronic device through a plurality of antennas of the second communication module, and identify a direction of the external electronic device with respect to the electronic device, based on a difference in reception characteristics of the fifth communication signal at each of the plurality of respective antennas ([0099]: the UWB antennas having different orientations for receiving signals to determine direction of incoming signal from nearby device).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Ledvina discloses the electronic device of claim 7, wherein as at least a part of adjusting the antenna characteristic of at least some of the at least antennas, the second communication module is further configured to:
identify at least one parameter for correcting the direction of the external electronic device, based on the second orientation and the first orientation, and correct the direction of the external electronic device by applying the at least one parameter to the direction of the external electronic device ([0275]: ranging circuitry can make adjustments to ranging information such as orientation such as angle of arrivals).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Ledvina discloses the electronic device of claim 7, wherein as at least part of adjusting antenna characteristic of at least some of the at least one antenna, the second communication module is further configured to:
identify at least one parameter for correcting the direction of the external electronic device based on the direction of the external electronic device, the second orientation, and the first orientation, and correct the direction of the external electronic device by applying the at least one parameter to the direction of the external electronic device ([0099]: the UWB antennas having different orientations for receiving signals to determine direction of incoming signal from nearby device; [0148]: wherein external devices are displayed on the user device according to their relative distance and angular orientation to the user device; [0150]: based on the depiction of devices the user can adjust their location and turn to the desired recipient to select data transfer/sharing).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Ledvina discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first communication module is further configured to:
transmit a communication signal including the second orientation of the electronic device to the external electronic device, and request adjustment of a position of the electronic device identified by the external electronic device, based on the second orientation and the first orientation ([0275: ranging circuitry can make adjustments to ranging information such as orientation such as angle of arrivals; [0148]: wherein external devices are displayed on the user device according to their relative distance and angular orientation to the user device; [0150]: based on the depiction of devices the user can adjust their location and turn to the desired recipient to select data transfer/sharing).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUCK HUYNH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644