DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/03/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 11 and 16 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recited “the outer snubber including a second plurality of in the unassembled state that are interleaved with the first plurality of ridges”.
It’s not clear what is including in the outer snubber”.
As per independent claims 11 and 16, examiner treated as “second plurality of ridges”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa Kazuyoshi (JP – H0798034 A, Examiner disclosed English machined translation for rejection reference) and further in view of Durre et al. (US – 2019/0264736 A1).
As per claim 1, Kazuyoshi discloses Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing comprising:
a hollow metal insert (12, Fig: 1, 3);
a rubber element (14, Fig: 1, 3) receiving the hollow metal insert therein (Fig: 1, 3) and including an inner annular snubber (19, Fig: 1-4) including a first plurality of ridges (19b, Fig: 1-4) in an unassembled state, the outer snubber (15, Fig: 1, 3) including a second plurality of in the unassembled state (20b, Fig: 1, 3) that are interleaved with the first plurality of ridges in an assembled state (Fig: 1-4);
a can (4, Fig: 5) having an outer wall receiving the rubber element therein (Fig: 5); and
a threaded stud extending through the hollow metal insert (2, Fig: 5) and having a first end configured to be engaged with a component to be supported (Fig: 5).
Kazuyoshi discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a web portion extending from the inner snubber and bending back to an outer snubber disposed outward of the inner snubber.
Durre discloses Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing comprising:
a web portion 922, Fig: 1-4) extending from the inner snubber (20, Fig: 1-4) and bending back to an outer snubber (20, Fig: 1-4) disposed outward of the inner snubber (Fig: 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing of the Kazuyoshi to make the outer snubber and inner snubber in one piece and the web portion extending from the inner snubber and bending back to an outer snubber disposed outward of the inner snubber as taught by Durre in order to provide the bearing support or the inner body is made of an extruded profile or plastic. A bearing support or an inner body formed as an extruded profile is inexpensive to manufacture and a safety clip or a retaining ring for attachment of the elastomeric body within the gap can be omitted.
As per claim 2, Kazuyoshi further disclose wherein the rubber element includes a groove (22, Fig: 3) adjacent to the outer snubber (15, Fig: 3).
As per claim 3, Kazuyoshi further disclose wherein the can (4, Fig: 5) includes a flange (left side of 4 in Fig: 5) that is received in the groove of the rubber element (5, Fig: 5).
As per claim 4, Durre further disclose wherein the inner snubber (18) and the outer snubber (20) are integrally formed with the rubber element (The connecting portion 22 is U-shaped and forms a fold, in particular a rolled fold, wherein the connecting portion 22 elastically and resiliently interconnects the two attachment legs 18, 20, [0031], Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 5, Durre further disclose wherein the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element (The connecting portion 22 is U-shaped and forms a fold, in particular a rolled fold, wherein the connecting portion 22 elastically and resiliently interconnects the two attachment legs 18, 20, [0031], Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 7, Durre further disclose wherein the rubber element has an undeformed state in which the outer snubber (20, Fig: 1-4) extends at an angle from the inner snubber (42, Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 8, Durre further disclose wherein the rubber element has an undeformed state in which the outer snubber (20) extends longitudinally from the inner snubber (18, Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 9, Kazuyoshi further disclose a washer (Attached figure and Fig: 5) disposed against an end of the hollow metal insert and receiving a second end of the threaded stud therein (Attached figure and Fig: 5).
As per claim 10, Kazuyoshi further disclose wherein a spacing between the ridges of at least one of the plurality of the first plurality of ridges (19a, Fig: 1-4) and the second plurality of ridges (20b, Fig: 1-4) are varied so that the bushing displays a progressively higher stiffness as the inner snubber is axially displaced further relative to the outer snubber (Detail Description, [0010], Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 11, Kazuyoshi discloses Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing comprising:
a hollow metal insert (12, Fig: 1, 3);
a rubber element (14, Fig: 1, 3) receiving the hollow metal insert therein (Fig: 1, 3) and including an inner annular snubber (19, Fig: 1-4) including a first plurality of ridges (19b, Fig: 1-4) in an unassembled state, the outer snubber (15, Fig: 1, 3) including a second plurality of in the unassembled state (20b, Fig: 1, 3) that are interleaved with the first plurality of ridges in an assembled state (Fig: 1-4);
a can (4, Fig: 5) having an outer wall receiving the rubber element therein (Fig: 5); and
a threaded stud extending through the hollow metal insert (2, Fig: 5) and having a first end configured to be engaged with a component to be supported (Fig: 5),
wherein the rubber element has in the unassembled an undeformed state in which the outer snubber (20b) extends perpendicular from the inner snubber (19b, Fig: 1-4).
Kazuyoshi discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a web portion extending from the inner snubber and bending back to an outer snubber disposed outward of the inner snubber.
Durre discloses Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing comprising:
a web portion 922, Fig: 1-4) extending from the inner snubber (20, Fig: 1-4) and bending back to an outer snubber (20, Fig: 1-4) disposed outward of the inner snubber (Fig: 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing of the Kazuyoshi to make the outer snubber and inner snubber in one piece and the web portion extending from the inner snubber and bending back to an outer snubber disposed outward of the inner snubber as taught by Durée in order to provide the bearing support or the inner body is made of an extruded profile or plastic. A bearing support or an inner body formed as an extruded profile is inexpensive to manufacture and a safety clip or a retaining ring for attachment of the elastomeric body within the gap can be omitted.
As per claim 12, Kazuyoshi further disclose wherein the rubber element includes a groove (22, Fig: 3) adjacent to the outer snubber (15, Fig: 3).
As per claim 13, Kazuyoshi further disclose wherein the can (4, Fig: 5) includes a flange (left side of 4 in Fig: 5) that is received in the groove of the rubber element (5, Fig: 5).
As per claim 14, Kazuyoshi discloses “The inner peripheral surface 20 is also formed into concave and convex portions 20c and 20d having a rectangular vertical cross-section, corresponding to the concave and convex portions 19c and 19d, and the concave and convex portions 19c, 19d, 20c and 20d are fitted respectively, (Detail Description, [0029]) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element.
Kazuyoshi as modified by Durre disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to make the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element, since applicant has not disclose that the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element solve any problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with Kazuyoshi as modified by Durre invention.
As per claim 16, Kazuyoshi discloses Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing comprising:
a hollow metal insert (12, Fig: 1, 3);
a rubber element (14, Fig: 1, 3) receiving the hollow metal insert therein (Fig: 1, 3) and including an inner annular snubber (19, Fig: 1-4) including a first plurality of ridges (19b, Fig: 1-4) in an unassembled state, the outer snubber (15, Fig: 1, 3) including a second plurality of in the unassembled state (20b, Fig: 1, 3) that are interleaved with the first plurality of ridges in an assembled state (Fig: 1-4);
wherein the rubber element has an undeformed state in which the outer snubber extends longitudinally from the inner snubber (Fig: 1-4);
a can (4, Fig: 5) having an outer wall receiving the rubber element therein (Fig: 5); and
a threaded stud extending through the hollow metal insert (2, Fig: 5) and having a first end configured to be engaged with a component to be supported (Fig: 5).
Kazuyoshi discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a web portion extending from the inner snubber and bending back to an outer snubber disposed outward of the inner snubber.
Durre discloses Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing comprising:
a web portion 922, Fig: 1-4) extending from the inner snubber (20, Fig: 1-4) and bending back to an outer snubber (20, Fig: 1-4) disposed outward of the inner snubber (Fig: 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing of the Kazuyoshi to make the outer snubber and inner snubber in one piece and the web portion extending from the inner snubber and bending back to an outer snubber disposed outward of the inner snubber as taught by Durre in order to provide the bearing support or the inner body is made of an extruded profile or plastic. A bearing support or an inner body formed as an extruded profile is inexpensive to manufacture and a safety clip or a retaining ring for attachment of the elastomeric body within the gap can be omitted.
As per claim 17, Kazuyoshi further disclose wherein the rubber element includes a groove (22, Fig: 3) adjacent to the outer snubber (15, Fig: 3).
As per claim 18, Kazuyoshi further disclose wherein the can (4, Fig: 5) includes a flange (left side of 4 in Fig: 5) that is received in the groove of the rubber element (5, Fig: 5).
As per claim 19, Durre further disclose wherein the inner snubber and the outer snubber are integrally formed with the rubber element (The connecting portion 22 is U-shaped and forms a fold, in particular a rolled fold, wherein the connecting portion 22 elastically and resiliently interconnects the two attachment legs 18, 20, [0031], Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 20, Kazuyoshi discloses “The inner peripheral surface 20 is also formed into concave and convex portions 20c and 20d having a rectangular vertical cross-section, corresponding to the concave and convex portions 19c and 19d, and the concave and convex portions 19c, 19d, 20c and 20d are fitted respectively, (Detail Description, [0029]) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element.
Kazuyoshi as modified by Durre discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to make the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element, since applicant has not disclose that the inner snubber and the outer snubber are formed separately from the rubber element and bonded to the rubber element solve any problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with Kazuyoshi as modified by Durre invention.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa Kazuyoshi (JP – H0798034 A, Examiner disclosed English machined translation for rejection reference) as modified by Durre et al. (US – 2019/0264736 A1) as applied to claims 1, 5 and 11 above, and further in view of Petrie et al. (US – 2010/0199481 A1).
As per claims 6 and 15, Kazuyoshi as modified by Durre disclose all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inner snubber and the outer snubber are made from foam.
Petrie discloses Bicycle Components Mounting Method And Apparatus comprising:
wherein the inner snubber (9, Fig: 8) and the outer snubber (11, Fig: 8) are made from foam (FIG. 8, a resiliently flexible force dampening medium (9) and a progressively resistive elastomeric emplacement (11) in various embodiments may be made of any of various materials, so long as the material may permit functionality of the medium or emplacement consistent with the principles discussed herein. For example, in various embodiments, the medium or emplacement may include an elastomer, a polymer, neoprene, rubber, foam, one or more springs, a pneumatic cushion, gel, and the like, [0057], Fig: 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Elastomeric Body For A Shaft Bearing of the Kazuyoshi as modified by Durre to use the material of snubber in which the inner snubber and the outer snubber are made from foam as taught by Petrie in order to allow replacement of a worn medium or emplacement without needing to discard the entire housing structure, and in fact may permit modification of the performance characteristics of the housing structure by being able to change properties of the medium or emplacement such as shape, elasticity, resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Niwa Kazuyoshi (JP – H0798034 A) and further in view of Durre et al. (US – 2019/0264736 A1) and Petrie et al. (US – 2010/0199481 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN M AUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616