DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Currently, the pending Claims are 1-20, with Claims 12-20 being withdrawn from consideration.
The examined Claims are 1-11, with Claims 1-6, 8, 11 being amended.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant’s amendments to the Claims, the previous objections of record and rejections of record under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn (with the exception of the previous rejection of Claim 4 with respect to the term “ionic-liquid based lithium salt” which was not addressed by Applicant).
Furthermore, Applicant has mainly (1) amended Claim 1 to remove poly(amide imide), poly (ether imide), polyether sulfone, and polyether ether ketone from the claimed group of polymers, and (2) amended Claim 2 to be in independent form, to include substantially the same limitations of Claim 1 as previously presented, and to remove transition metal oxide, aluminum oxide, silicon dioxide, and transition metal sulfide from the claimed (a) particles or fibers.
Applicant argues that the prior art rejections of record are overcome in view of the amendments to the Claims (Pages 7-9 of Remarks).
While Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged, they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the Claims. However, all previous prior art rejections of record are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites that the lithium salt may be an “ionic-liquid based lithium salt.” Accordingly, Claim 4 is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as it is unclear what specific/explicit lithium salts are considered “ionic-liquid based” lithium salts, or what shared relationship/characteristics exists, if any, between an “ionic-liquid based” lithium salt as opposed to any other lithium salt.
Claim 4, as instantly amended, recites that the lithium salt may be “Li-Fluoroalkyl-Phosphates (LiPF3(CF2CF3)3.” Accordingly, Claim 4 is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as the term “Li-Fluoroalkyl-Phosphates” encompasses more than strictly (LiPF3(CF2CF3)3, and it is unclear if the limitation in question means that lithium salt may be any li-fluoroalkyl phosphate, or if the lithium may only be (LiPF3(CF2CF3)3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2018/0294461), and further in view of Kishimoto et al. (6,528,205) and Kanamura et al. (US 2014/0329130), and further evidenced by Baron et al. (“Glossary of Class Names of Polymers Based on Chemical Structure and Molecular Architecture”).
Regarding Claim 1, Feng teaches a composite film (“polymer hybrid separator”) and a lithium secondary battery comprising the composite film therein as a separator interposed between the positive and negative electrodes (Abstract, [0002], [0012], [0088]). Feng teaches that the composite film comprises a porous separator and a fiber layer disposed on a surface of the porous separator ([0016]). Feng teaches that the fiber layer comprises multiple fibers (“first fibers”) of polyetherimide (“first thermally stable polymer”) and multiple fibers (“second fibers”) of an auxiliary polymer (“second thermally stable polymer”) which is not polyetherimide, wherein the auxiliary polymer is, for example, polyamide acid (“the first thermally stable polymer, the second thermally stable polymer, or both the first and the second thermally stable polymer are selected from the group consisting of… poly(amic acid)” wherein it is noted that Baron et al., an evidentiary reference, explicitly states on page 1148 under “Note 3” of “3.7 polyamide,” that polyamide acid is another name for polyamic acid) ([0020]-[0021]). Feng teaches that said multiple fibers of polyetherimide and said multiple fibers of auxiliary polymer intersect at multiple points of intersection (“first fibers intersect the second fibers” at “multiple points of intersection”) ([0026]-[0028]).
Feng does not explicitly teach that the multiple fibers of polyetherimide and the multiple fibers of auxiliary polymer are also bonded at multiple points of intersection.
However, Kishimoto teaches a separator for a sealed battery cell (Abstract). Kishimoto teaches that the separator comprises fibers, wherein particles serving as an adhesive are positioned at the locations where the fibers intersect with one another (col. 3 lines 19-31). Kishimoto teaches that said particles absorb positional changes of the fibers and restores them, thereby enhancing the repulsive force and restoration force upon compression characteristics of the separator (col. 3 lines 19-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would bond the multiple fibers of polyetherimide and multiple fibers of auxiliary polymer of Feng at multiple points of intersection by positioning adhesive particles at said multiple points of intersection, as taught by Kishimoto, given that such adhesive particles would help absorb positional changes of fibers and restore them, thereby enhancing the repulsive force and restoration force upon compression characteristics of the composite film.
Feng, as modified by Kishimoto, does not explicitly teach that the composite film has a thickness in accordance with the instantly claimed range.
However, it is first noted that Feng teaches that the fiber layer has a thickness of about 0.5-30 microns, that an inorganic particle layer having a thickness of about 0.5-3 microns is disposed between the fiber layer and the porous separator, and that the porous separator is, for example, formed of polypropylene ([0017], [0023], [0032], [0038]).
Furthermore, Kanamura teaches a lithium secondary battery separator (Abstract). Kanamura teaches that the separator comprises a separator substrate and a heat-resistant polyimide film on a surface thereof ([0010]). Kanamura teaches that the separator substrate is, for example, formed of polypropylene ([0012]). Kanamura teaches that the separator substrate exhibits a thickness of 10-300 microns ([0045]). Kanamura teaches that if the separator substrate is thinner than said lower limit, then the strength of the separator cannot be secured, whereas if the separator substrate is thicker than said upper limit, then ohmic resistance characteristics increase rendering any battery unsuitable for use ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the porous separator of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto, such that it has a thickness of 10-300 microns, as taught by Kanamura, given that such a thickness would help secure the strength of the porous separator while helping prevent an increase to ohmic resistance that would render the lithium secondary battery unsuitable for use. Accordingly, the composite film of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura is interpreted as having a thickness of about 11-333 microns (i.e. [about 0.5-30 microns] + [about 0.5-3 microns] + [10-300 microns]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 6, Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Furthermore, Feng teaches that an inorganic particle layer is disposed between the fiber layer and the porous separator, wherein the inorganic particle layer includes inorganic particles and adhesive particles ([0032]-[0033]). Feng teaches that the adhesive particles are specifically configured to adhere the inorganic particles to the porous separator ([0036]). Feng teaches, for example, that the adhesive particles are formed of polyoxyethylene (“poly(ethylene oxide)”), polyacrylonitrile (“poly(acrylonitrile)”), polymethyl methacrylate (“poly(methyl methacrylate)”), polyvinylidene fluoride (“poly(vinylidene fluoride)”), and poly(vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene) (“poly(vinylidene fluoride)-hexafluoropropylene”) ([0036]).
Accordingly, because the porous separator necessarily includes pores, and the adhesive particles are in direct contact with the porous separator, then the porous separator (and therefore the composite film) includes pores which are filled, to at least some degree, with said adhesive particles (each of which is interpreted as a “lithium ion-conducting polymer” based on the characterization of the materials listed in Claim 6 as lithium ion-conducting polymers).
Regarding Claim 9, Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Furthermore, Feng teaches that the lithium secondary battery comprises a positive electrode (“cathode”), a negative electrode (“anode”), the composite film disposed between said electrodes, and an electrolyte (“working electrolyte”) ([0088]-[0089]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2018/0294461), and further in view of Kishimoto et al. (6,528,205) and Kanamura et al. (US 2014/0329130) and Zhang et al. (US 2021/0143511), and further evidenced by Baron et al. (“Glossary of Class Names of Polymers Based on Chemical Structure and Molecular Architecture”).
Regarding Claim 2, Feng teaches a composite film (“polymer hybrid separator”) and a lithium secondary battery comprising the composite film therein as a separator interposed between the positive and negative electrodes (Abstract, [0002], [0012], [0088]). Feng teaches that the composite film comprises a porous separator and a fiber layer disposed on a surface of the porous separator ([0016]). Feng teaches that the fiber layer comprises multiple fibers (“first fibers”) of polyetherimide (“poly(ether imide)”) (“first thermally stable polymer”) and multiple fibers (“second fibers”) of an auxiliary polymer (“second thermally stable polymer”) which is not polyetherimide, wherein the auxiliary polymer is, for example, at least one of polyacrylonitrile (“polyacrylonitrile”), coply(ether ether ketone) (“PEEK”), polyether sulfone (“polyether sulfone”), and polyamide-imide (“poly(amide imide)”) ([0020]-[0021]). Feng teaches that said multiple fibers of polyetherimide and said multiple fibers of auxiliary polymer intersect at multiple points of intersection (“first fibers intersect the second fibers” at “multiple points of intersection”) ([0026]-[0028]).
Feng does not explicitly teach that the multiple fibers of polyetherimide and the multiple fibers of auxiliary polymer are also bonded at multiple points of intersection.
However, Kishimoto teaches a separator for a sealed battery cell (Abstract). Kishimoto teaches that the separator comprises fibers, wherein particles serving as an adhesive are positioned at the locations where the fibers intersect with one another (col. 3 lines 19-31). Kishimoto teaches that said particles absorb positional changes of the fibers and restores them, thereby enhancing the repulsive force and restoration force upon compression characteristics of the separator (col. 3 lines 19-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would bond the multiple fibers of polyetherimide and multiple fibers of auxiliary polymer of Feng at multiple points of intersection by positioning adhesive particles at said multiple points of intersection, as taught by Kishimoto, given that such adhesive particles would help absorb positional changes of fibers and restore them, thereby enhancing the repulsive force and restoration force upon compression characteristics of the composite film.
Feng, as modified by Kishimoto, does not explicitly teach that the composite film has a thickness in accordance with the instantly claimed range.
However, it is first noted that Feng teaches that the fiber layer has a thickness of about 0.5-30 microns, that an inorganic particle layer having a thickness of about 0.5-3 microns is disposed between the fiber layer and the porous separator, and that the porous separator is, for example, formed of polypropylene ([0017], [0023], [0032], [0038]).
Furthermore, Kanamura teaches a lithium secondary battery separator (Abstract). Kanamura teaches that the separator comprises a separator substrate and a heat-resistant polyimide film on a surface thereof ([0010]). Kanamura teaches that the separator substrate is, for example, formed of polypropylene ([0012]). Kanamura teaches that the separator substrate exhibits a thickness of 10-300 microns ([0045]). Kanamura teaches that if the separator substrate is thinner than said lower limit, then the strength of the separator cannot be secured, whereas if the separator substrate is thicker than said upper limit, then ohmic resistance characteristics increase rendering any battery unsuitable for use ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the porous separator of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto, such that it has a thickness of 10-300 microns, as taught by Kanamura, given that such a thickness would help secure the strength of the porous separator while helping prevent an increase to ohmic resistance that would render the lithium secondary battery unsuitable for use. Accordingly, the composite film of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura is interpreted as having a thickness of about 11-333 microns (i.e. [about 0.5-30 microns] + [about 0.5-3 microns] + [10-300 microns]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), does not explicitly teach that the composite film comprises an inorganic material as instantly claimed.
However, it is first noted that Feng teaches that the composite film comprises inorganic particles therein ([0032]-[0033]). Feng teaches that the inorganic particles are selected, for example, from a transition metal oxide, aluminum oxide, and silicon dioxide ([0032]-[0033]).
Furthermore, Zhang teaches a coated battery separator (Abstract). Zhang teaches that the separator comprises inorganic particles therein ([0166]). Zhang teaches that the inorganic particles help reduce resistance and improve ion conductivity of the separator ([0166]). Zhang teaches that the inorganic particles may be a transition metal oxide, aluminum oxide, or silicon dioxide, but also teaches that the inorganic particles may instead be calcium carbonate and/or silicon phosphate ([0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would use calcium carbonate and/or silicon phosphate (“(a) particles or fibers of… metal phosphate, metal carbonate, or a combination thereof”), as taught by Zhang, given that such inorganic particles would, in the same manner as at least a transition metal oxide, aluminum oxide, and silicon dioxide, help reduce resistance and improve ion conductivity of the composite film.
Claims 3-4, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2018/0294461), and further in view of Kishimoto et al. (6,528,205) and Kanamura et al. (US 2014/0329130) and Adams et al. (US 2020/0161618), and further evidenced by Baron et al. (“Glossary of Class Names of Polymers Based on Chemical Structure and Molecular Architecture”).
Regarding Claims 3-4, Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), does not explicitly teach that the composite film comprises 0.1-30 wt% of a lithium salt.
However, Adams teaches a battery separator (Abstract). Adams teaches that the separator comprises an electrolyte additive therein which is released from the separator into an electrolyte when the separator is incorporated into a battery ([0017]). Adams teaches, for example, that the electrolyte additive is an LiPF6 salt stabilizer such as LiF, or that the electrolyte additive is an Al corrosion inhibitor such as LiBOB ([0022], [0080]-[0081]). Adams teaches that the electrolyte additive is present in the separator in an amount of 1000 to 200,000 ppm ([0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further include, in the composite film of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), 1000 to 200,000 ppm (i.e. 0.1-20 wt%) of LiF (“lithium salt” which is “LiX” where “X = F”) as an electrolyte additive, as taught by Adams, given that such an additive would allow the composite film to help provide enhanced LiPF6 salt stabilization characteristics when incorporated into a battery.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further include, in the composite film of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), 1000 to 200,000 ppm (i.e. 0.1-20 wt%) of LiBOB (“lithium salt” which is “LiBOB”) as an electrolyte additive, as taught by Adams, given that such an additive would allow the composite film to help inhibit corrosion from Al when incorporated into a battery.
Regarding Claims 7-8, Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), does not explicitly teach that the composite film comprises a flame-retardant additive.
However, Adams teaches a battery separator (Abstract). Adams teaches that the separator comprises an electrolyte additive therein which is released from the separator into an electrolyte when the separator is incorporated into a battery ([0017]). Adams teaches, for example, that the electrolyte additive is a flame retardant additive such as a halogenated flame retardant or a phosphate flame retardant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further include, in the composite film of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), a halogenated or phosphate flame retardant (“flame-retardant additive”) as an electrolyte additive, as taught by Adams, given that such an additive would allow the composite film to help improve flame retardance characteristics when incorporated into a battery.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2018/0294461), and further in view of Kishimoto et al. (6,528,205) and Kanamura et al. (US 2014/0329130) and Huang (US 2014/0038024), and further evidenced by Baron et al. (“Glossary of Class Names of Polymers Based on Chemical Structure and Molecular Architecture”).
Regarding Claim 5, Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), does not explicitly teach that the composite film has a porosity level in accordance with the instantly claimed range.
However, Huang teaches a composite battery separator (Abstract). Huang teaches that the composite battery separator comprises fiber layers on surfaces of an intermediate layer ([0026]). Huang teaches that the separator exhibits an overall porosity of about 30-90% by volume, thereby allowing for sufficient communication of lithium ions throughout the separator ([0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would construct the composite film of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), such that it exhibits an overall porosity of about 30-90% by volume, as taught by Huang, given that such a porosity would help ensure for sufficient communication of lithium ions through the composite film.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2018/0294461), and further in view of Kishimoto et al. (6,528,205) and Kanamura et al. (US 2014/0329130) and Kim et al. (US 2017/0222244), and further evidenced by Baron et al. (“Glossary of Class Names of Polymers Based on Chemical Structure and Molecular Architecture”).
Regarding Claims 10-11, Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 9, as previously described.
Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), does not explicitly teach that the working electrolyte is one of the instantly claimed types of electrolytes.
However, Kim teaches a lithium battery separator (Abstract, [0012], [0015]). Kim teaches that the separator comprises a separator membrane which is impregnated with a solid electrolyte ([0015]). Specifically, Kim teaches that the solid electrolyte includes inorganic solid electrolyte particles which are, for example, oxide type, sulfide type, phosphate type, and lithium phosphorous oxynitride. Kim teaches that a solid electrolyte avoids the issue of liquid electrolyte leakage, and also that a solid electrolyte exhibits lithium ion conductivity while maintaining a freestanding shape at room temperature ([0008], [0036]-[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would impregnate the composite film of Feng, as modified by Kishimoto and Kanamura (and as evidenced by Baron), with a working electrolyte which is an inorganic solid electrolyte including inorganic solid electrolyte particles of oxide type, sulfide type, phosphate type, or lithium phosphorous oxynitride, as taught by Kim, given that solid electrolytes avoid the issue of liquid electrolyte leakage, and also given that a solid electrolyte exhibits lithium ion conductivity while maintaining a freestanding shape at room temperature.
Conclusion
The following reference(s) is/are noted for their relevance to at least some portion(s) of the instant Claims:
Lange et al. (US 4,487,911) teaches polyamic acids (Abstract). Lange indicates that polyamide acid and polyamic acid are alternative names of the same material (col. 8 lines 59-60).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728