DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 15-20 in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6 and 15, 16, 18, and19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Beutel et al (US 7,781,122).
Regarding claim 1, Beutel teaches a bipolar plate for a PEM fuel cell including channels for reactant flow and coolant flow (col 1, lines 5-20 and 35-45). The bipolar plate is shown in figures 2-6 to include a cathode flow field defined by zig-zagging channels (col 2, lines 55-65), an anode flow field defined by zig-zagging channels (col 3, lines 5-15), and coolant flow channels wherein the coolant flow channels are aligned such that the channels are interweaved across one another (col 3, lines 35-45). The zig-zagging shape is considered to meet the instantly claimed “z-shaped” and the interweaved channels are considered to meet the instantly claimed “x-shaped” pattern.
Regarding claim 2, figures 1-5 show the reactant flow channels to be parallel, as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Beutel shows in figures 2-6 that horizontal flow in relation to the inlet location is present due to the shape of the channels being horizontal to the inlet location.
Regarding claim 5, Beutel teaches the cathode inlet and outlet headers to be shown in figure 2 as component 36 (col 2, lines 60-67) and the anode inlet and outlet headers to be component 50 of figure 3 (col 3, lines 5-15) which are opposite sides of the bipolar plate 14.
Regarding claim 6, Beutel teaches the cathode inlet and outlet headers to be shown in figure 2 as component 36 (col 2, lines 60-67) and the coolant inlet 38 is further included on the cathode plate 22 (col 2, line 56- col 3, line 20).
Regarding claim 15, Beutel teaches a bipolar plate for a PEM fuel cell including channels for reactant flow and coolant flow (col 1, lines 5-20 and 35-45). The bipolar plate is shown in figures 2-6 to include a cathode flow field defined by zig-zagging channels (col 2, lines 55-65), an anode flow field defined by zig-zagging channels (col 3, lines 5-15), and coolant flow channels wherein the coolant flow channels are aligned such that the channels are interweaved across one another (col 3, lines 35-45). The zig-zagging shape is considered to meet the instantly claimed “z-shaped” and the interweaved channels are considered to meet the instantly claimed “x-shaped” pattern.
Regarding claim 16, figures 1-5 show the reactant flow channels to be parallel, as claimed.
Regarding claim 18, Beutel shows in figures 2-6 that horizontal flow in relation to the inlet location is present due to the shape of the channels being horizontal to the inlet location.
Regarding claim 19, Beutel teaches the cathode inlet and outlet headers to be shown in figure 2 as component 36 (col 2, lines 60-67) and the anode inlet and outlet headers to be component 50 of figure 3 (col 3, lines 5-15) which are opposite sides of the bipolar plate 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beutel et al (US 7,781,122).
Regarding claim 3, Beutel teaches the channels of the cathode and anode plates have the same geometric configuration but the angle will vary (col 3, lines 43-57).
Beutel does not explicitly teach the channels being tilted opposite each other, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to tilt the channels away from each other to ensure separation as would be considered obvious to try by an ordinarily skilled artisan without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Beutel teaches the bipolar plate as discussed above.
Beutel does not explicitly teach the singular Z-shape as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize a singular Z-shape as opposed to the zig zag shape as taught by Beutel, as such would be considered design choice and would be obvious to try without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, Beutel teaches the channels of the cathode and anode plates have the same geometric configuration but the angle will vary (col 3, lines 43-57).
Beutel does not explicitly teach the channels being tilted opposite each other, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to tilt the channels away from each other to ensure separation as would be considered obvious to try by an ordinarily skilled artisan without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Beutel teaches the bipolar plate as discussed above.
Beutel does not explicitly teach the singular Z-shape as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize a singular Z-shape as opposed to the zig zag shape as taught by Beutel, as such would be considered design choice and would be obvious to try without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 July 16, 2026