DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claims 15-20 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claims 15-20 are supported in paragraphs in at least p. 0049-0067.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constantinides (US 2020/0236514) in view of Sood et al. (US 2019/0139089), and further in view of Anima et al. (US 11157572).
Claims 1 and 16, Constantinides teaches a system comprising: at least one processor;
a memory storage device storing instructions thereon which, when executed by the at least one processor (p. 0034), cause the system to perform operations comprising:
obtaining a plurality of media content items (i.e. types of activities) previously shared by the first end-user (i.e. a user) via the client computing device from the selected location (p. 0028-0030); and
Constantinides is not entirely clear in teaching the specific features of:
storing, in a location database associated with a first end-user, a plurality of locations visited by the first end-user;
receiving, over a network and from a client computing device of the first end-user, data indicating a selection of a location from among the plurality of locations stored in the location database associated with the first end-user;
causing a user interface to be presented that includes (i) a plurality of timeline selectable items organized in chronological order of the plurality of locations stored in the location database associated with the first end-user, each timeline selectable item of the plurality of timeline selectable items corresponding to a respective location of the plurality of locations and identifying a date on which the first end-user visited the respective location, and (ii) a chronological listing of the media content items previously shared by the first end-user from the selected location.
Sood teaches the specific features of:
storing, in a location database associated with a first end-user, a plurality of locations visited by the first end-user (i.e. action log) (p. 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a travel history as taught by Sood to the system of Constantinides to predict affinity (p. 0034).
Anima teaches the specific features of:
receiving, over a network and from a client computing device of the first end-user, data indicating a selection of a location from among the plurality of locations stored in the location database associated with the first end-user;
causing a user interface to be presented that includes (i) a plurality of timeline selectable items (i.e. reminder post) organized in chronological order of the plurality of locations stored in the location database associated with the first end-user (i.e. timeline of activity), each timeline selectable item of the plurality of timeline selectable items corresponding to a respective location of the plurality of locations (i.e. locations) and identifying a date (i.e. date and time) on which the first end-user visited the respective location, and (ii) a chronological listing of the media content items previously shared by the first end-user from the selected location (i.e. select a portion of the displayed activity) (fig.6; col. 21-22, lines 50-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a travel timeline as taught by Anima to the system of Constantinides to provide a selectable travel time for sharing (col. 22, lines 29-50).
Claims 2 and 18, Constantinides teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the media content items previously shared by the first end-user are media content items shared, by a first end-user of a social networking service, with one or more other end-users who are friends of the first end-user as memorialized in a social graph (i.e. map) maintained by the social networking service (i.e. friends are ranked within the map) (p. 0027-0028, 0033).
Claim 3, Constantinides teaches The system of claim 1, wherein selecting a media content item from the listing of the media content items previously shared by the first end-user from the selected location will cause the user interface to present the selected media content item (i.e. selecting a channel) (fig. 2; p. 0062).
Constantinides is silent regarding the specific feature of:
“a chronological listing”.
Anima teaches the specific feature of:
“a chronological listing” (i.e. activity timeline) (fig.6; col. 21-22, lines 50-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a travel timeline as taught by Anima to the system of Constantinides to provide a selectable travel time for sharing (col. 22, lines 29-50).
Claims 4 and 19, Constantinides teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the selected location is a city, and each media content item of the plurality of media content items is a location check-in item (i.e. plurality of channels on a map), each location check-in item indicating a place in the city (i.e. city activities) at which the end-user shared a media content item that indicated the presence of the first end-user at the place at the time the location check-in item was shared (i.e. locations can be zoomed in or out for any region, including a particular city) (p. 0028-0033, 0061).
Claims 5 and 20, Constantinides teaches The system of claim 4, wherein the location check-in item was shared as a result of the end-user selecting a place from a list of places located in the city (i.e. bars in the city), each place in the list of places proximate to the current location of the first end-user at the time listed (i.e. a user selecting a post of interest near his location) (p. 0030-0033).
Claim 6, Constantinides teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the selected location is a city, and each media content item of the plurality of media content items is a custom location check-in item configured for selection by the first end-user (i.e. bars around the city), each custom location check-in item indicating a place at which the first end-user shared a media content item that indicated the current location of first the end-user at the time the media content item was shared (i.e. times of posts are stored), wherein the media content item was shared as a result of the end-user selecting the check-in item from a selection of custom location check-in items (i.e. sending components to location based content platform), each check-in item associated with a place proximate the current location of the first end-user at the time selected (i.e. geographic location of client device) (p. 0022, 0030-0033, 0061, 0094).
Claim 9 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 1.
Claim 10 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 3.
Claim 11 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 4.
Claim 12 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 5.
Claim 13 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 6.
Claim(s) 7-8, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constantinides (US 2020/0236514) in view of Sood et al. (US 2019/0139089), and further in view of Anima et al. (US 11157572), and further in view of Lippow et al. (US 2016/0171395).
Claim 7, Constantinides teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
prior to receiving, over the network and from the client computing device, data indicating the selection of the location, presenting via the user interface a list of countries including in the location database associated with the first end-user from which one or more media content items have been shared by the first end user (fig. 5).
Constantinides is silent regarding The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
the user interface indicating for each country in the list of countries the number of media content items that were shared by the first end user while the first end-user was in the country, wherein the data indicating the selection of the location is data indicating a selection of a country from the list of countries.
Lippow teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
the user interface indicating for each country in the list of countries the number of media content items that were shared by the first end user while the first end-user was in the country (i.e. itinerary of other users within that location), wherein the data indicating the selection of the location is data indicating a selection of a country from the list of countries (i.e. user can search for any country and a list will be provided) (p. 0028-0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided selectable locations a user as visited as taught by Lippow to the system of Goldscheider to allow for tracking of cities visited (p. 0028).
Claim 8, Constantinides teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
prior to receiving, over the network and from the client computing device, data indicating the selection of the location, presenting via the user interface a list of cities within a country included in the location database associated with the first end-user and from which one or more media content items have been shared (i.e. zooming into to a location).
Constantinides is silent regarding The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
the user interface indicating for each city in the list of cities the number of media content items that were shared by the first end user while the first end-user was in the city, wherein the data indicating the selection of the location is data indicating a selection of a city from the list of cities.
Lippow teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
the user interface indicating for each city in the list of cities the number of media content items that were shared by the first end user while the first end-user was in the city (i.e. itinerary), wherein the data indicating the selection of the location is data indicating a selection of a city from the list of cities (i.e. user can search for any city and a list will be provided) (p. 0028-0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided selectable locations a user as visited as taught by Lippow to the system of Goldscheider to allow for tracking of cities visited (p. 0028).
Claim 14 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 7.
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210294485 A1 LI; Wei et al. – timeline user interface – displaying frequent check-ins
US 20150172327 A1 WANSLEY; Andrew Theodore et al.. --
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 10/28/2026