DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed February 17, 2026. Applicant’s reply to the restriction/election requirement of August 28, 2025 has been entered. Claims 102 and 103 have been amended; claims 1-99, 101, and 108-119 have been canceled; and claims 120-126 have been newly added. Claims 100, 102-107, and 120-126 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit as a continuation of prior-filed U.S. Patent Application No. 17/159,846, filed January 27, 2021, which claims the benefit as a continuation of prior-filed U.S. Patent Application No. 16/281,908, filed February 21, 2019, which claims the benefit as a continuation of prior-filed U.S. Patent Application No. 15/265,415, filed September 14, 2016, which claims the benefit as a continuation of prior-filed U.S. Patent Application No. 14/612,604, filed February 3, 2015, which claims the benefit as a continuation of prior-filed U.S. Patent Application No. 14/007,793, filed December 27, 2013, which claims the benefit of prior-filed WIPO International Application No. PCT/US2012/034489, filed April 20, 2012 under 35 U.S.C. 365(c), which claims the benefit of prior-filed U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 61/477,988, filed April 21, 2011 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 100-107, is hereby acknowledged. Applicant’s elections of i) “sprinkle” as the species of composition form, ii) “antipsychotic medication” as the species of entity further administered, iii) “dopamine antagonist” as the species of antipsychotic medication, iv) “hydrogenated soy oil” as the species of lipid coating constituent, and v) “about 80%” as the species of the amount of digestive enzymes in the coated particles are all also acknowledged. The Examiner has determined that claims 100 and 102-106 read on the elected subject matter.
While the election of Group I has been made without traverse, the species elections have been made with traverse, on the ground that “a search of generic independent claim 100 falls within the same class and subclass of the non-elected species”.
The ground for traversal of species elections, however, is not found persuasive. For the identified species, there is an examination and search burden due to their mutually exclusive characteristics.
Accordingly, claims 107 and 120-126 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election of Group I was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 17, 2026. Claims 100 and 102-106 are currently under examination.
Obviousness-Type Double Patenting
I. Claims 100 and 102-106 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, and 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,980,252.
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of treating schizophrenia in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase in the amounts of 140,000 U.S.P. units/dose, 144,000 U.S.P. units/dose, and 23,000 U.S.P. units/dose, respectively; wherein the protease to lipase ratio is 5.371:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; wherein the composition can be in the form of a sprinkle; and wherein the method can further comprise administering a dopamine antagonist.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,980,252 disclose a method of treating schizophrenia in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease to lipase ratio is about 6:1, or 1:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; wherein the composition can be in the form of a sprinkle; and wherein the method can further comprise administering a dopamine antagonist.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 8,980,252 discloses that by effective amount is meant e.g. that the pharmaceutical composition comprises about 23,000 U.S.P. units/dose of lipase, about 144,000 U.S.P. units/dose of amylase and about 140,000 U.S.P. units/dose of protease.
II. Claims 100 and 102-106 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-14 of U.S. Patent No. 9,492,515.
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of treating schizophrenia in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase in the amounts of 140,000 U.S.P. units/dose, 144,000 U.S.P. units/dose, and 23,000 U.S.P. units/dose, respectively; wherein the protease to lipase ratio is 5.371:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; wherein the composition can be in the form of a sprinkle; and wherein the method can further comprise administering a dopamine antagonist.
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 of U.S. Patent No. 9,492,515 disclose a method of treating a schizophreniform disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease to lipase ratio is about 6:1, or 1:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; wherein the composition can be in the form of a sprinkle; and wherein the method can further comprise administering am antipsychotic medication.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 9,492,515 explicitly discloses that schizophrenia is an example of a schizophreniform disorder; that dopamine antiagonists are a suitable antipsychotic medication, and that by effective amount is meant e.g. that the pharmaceutical composition comprises about 23,000 U.S.P. units/dose of lipase, about 144,000 U.S.P. units/dose of amylase and about 140,000 U.S.P. units/dose of protease.
III. Claims 100 and 102-104 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 9-15, and 17-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,279,016.
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of treating schizophrenia in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease can be present in the amount of 5,000 to 1,000,000 U.S.P. units, or in the amount of 140,000 U.S.P. units/dose; wherein the amylase and the lipase can be present in the amounts of 144,000 U.S.P. units/dose, and 23,000 U.S.P. units/dose, respectively; wherein the protease to lipase ratio is 5.371:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; wherein the composition can be in the form of a sprinkle.
Claims 1-5, 9-15, and 17-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,279,016 disclose a method of treating a schizophreniform disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease is present in the amount of 5,000 to 1,000,000 U.S.P. units; wherein the protease to lipase ratio is about 6:1, or 1:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; wherein the composition can be in the form of a sprinkle.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 10,279,016 explicitly discloses that schizophrenia is an example of a schizophreniform disorder; and that by effective amount is meant e.g. that the pharmaceutical composition comprises about 23,000 U.S.P. units/dose of lipase, about 144,000 U.S.P. units/dose of amylase and about 140,000 U.S.P. units/dose of protease.
IV. Claims 105 and 106 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 9-15, and 17-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,279,016, in view of Buckley et al. (AHDB. 2008; 1(4): 13-22).
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of treating schizophrenia in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease can be present in the amount of 5,000 to 1,000,000 U.S.P. units; and wherein the method can further comprise administering a dopamine antagonist.
Claims 1-5, 9-15, and 17-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,279,016 disclose a method of treating a schizophreniform disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease is present in the amount of 5,000 to 1,000,000 U.S.P. units; wherein the protease to lipase ratio is about 6:1, or 1:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; wherein the composition can be in the form of a sprinkle.
Buckley et al. disclose that schizophrenia can be successfully treated with antipsychotic medications, particularly dopamine antagonists.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 10,279,016 explicitly discloses that schizophrenia is an example of a schizophreniform disorder; and since Buckley et al. disclose that schizophrenia can be successfully treated with dopamine antagonists, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to further administer a dopamine antagonist to the schizophreniform patient in need thereof, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting method will successfully treat the schizophreniform disorder, such as schizophrenia.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 100, 102, and 104-106 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fallon (International Patent Application Pub No. WO 2010/002972), in view of Buckley et al. (AHDB. 2008; 1(4): 13-22).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of treating schizophrenia in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease is present in the amount of 5,000 to 1,000,000 U.S.P. units and the protease to lipase ratio is 5.371:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; wherein the composition can be in the form of a sprinkle; and wherein the method can further comprise administering a dopamine antagonist.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Fallon discloses a method of treating a neurological and/or mental health disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease can be present in the amount of e.g. 10,000 to 70,000 U.S.P. units and the protease to lipase ratio can be 1:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; and wherein the composition can be in the form of e.g. a sprinkle (abstract; paragraphs 002, 058, 060, 062, 064, 066, 067).
Buckley et al. disclose that schizophrenia is a neurological and mental health disorder, and that the bedrock for treatment are antipsychotic drugs, particularly dopamine antagonists.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Fallon does not explicitly disclose that neurological and/or mental health disorders include schizophrenia, and that schizophrenia can be treated with antipsychotic drugs, including e.g. dopamine antagonists. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Buckley et al.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Fallon and Buckley et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s presently claimed method.
Fallon discloses a method of treating a neurological and/or mental health disorder in a subject in need thereof comprising orally administering to the subject an effective amount of a composition comprising a protease, an amylase, and a lipase; wherein the protease can be present in the amount of e.g. 10,000 to 70,000 U.S.P. units and the protease to lipase ratio can be 1:1 to 20:1, based on U.S.P. units; and wherein the composition can be in the form of e.g. a sprinkle. Since Buckley et al. disclose that schizophrenia is a neurological and mental health disorder, and indeed the most serious of all the mental health disorders, and that schizophrenia can be successfully treated with antipsychotic drugs, particularly dopamine antagonists; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ the Fallon method for the treatment of schizophrenia patients, and to combine the Fallon treatment with digestive enzymes with the proven bedrock treatment with antipsychotic drugs, particularly dopamine antagonists, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting method will successfully treat the schizophrenia in the patients in need thereof.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617