Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims [1, 5-11, 13 and 19-20] are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alexey (US 20200229171 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 19-20 Alexey teaches A transceiver of a wireless communication system, [0171] As shown by FIG. 5, the system 500 includes UE 501a and UE 501b (collectively referred to as “UEs 501” or “UE 501”) wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, [0020] Various embodiments herein provide techniques for new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication, including techniques related to autonomous resource selection and associated channel access procedures, in which resources for a sidelink communication are allocated or scheduled autonomously by the transceiver, [0020] Various embodiments herein provide techniques for new radio (NR) vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication, including techniques related to autonomous resource selection and associated channel access procedures. In various embodiments, the resource selection procedure may support both periodic and aperiodic traffic types with large variations in packet sizes, wherein the transceiver is configured to perform, for the sidelink communication, a random selection of resources out of a resource pool [0059] Option 1: Random resource selection. In order to enable early reservation information sharing, resources may be randomly selected among predefined set of nearest in time resources, based on a quality of service, [0157] In various embodiments, the QoS attributes may have impact on sidelink resource selection. UE reselecting resources should take into account its own QoS attributes (e.g. latency, priority, etc.) as well as QoS attributes of other UEs that are indicated in SCI (e.g. priority), wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a control information, [0046] Alternative 1: Transmission in physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource pool. In this case reservation information is transmitted by SCI. The following design options may be used to support SCI with resource reservation information (SCI-R) the control information signaling at least one selected resource selected out of the resource pool by performing the random resource selection, [0139] Once resource (re)selection is triggered, UE is expected to form candidate resource set composed from at least M candidate resources and selects R tentative candidate resources for sidelink transmission. It is assumed that PSCCH and PSSCH resources are associated (linked) with each other so that both resources are selected, wherein the control information is transmitted via a first stage sidelink control information, SCI, a second stage sidelink control information, SCI, or a higher layer. [0053] Alternative 2: Transmission in physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). In this case resource reservation signaling may complement PSSCH data transmission and share PSSCH resources with data transmission. Assistance information with sharing of sensing results (e.g. candidate resource set or subset of candidate resources) in unicast communication may sent from RX side to TX or vice versa. A non-transitory digital storage medium [0193] The components of the CN 520 may be implemented in one physical node or separate physical nodes including components to read and execute instructions from a machine-readable or computer-readable medium (e.g., a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium).
In regards to claims 5 Alexey teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to perform the sidelink communication using one or more of the selected resources. [0141] UE reselects R tentative candidate resources from candidate resource set to avoid conflict (e.g. by excluding conflicting candidate resources). If there is no conflict detected, UE proceed with transmission on previously selected R candidate resources, otherwise UE makes new iteration and reselects R candidate resources (refinement of candidate resources—see FIG. 1B).
In regards to claims 6 Alexey teaches wherein the resource pool is a traffic type specific resource pool, or wherein the resource pool corresponds to a traffic type with a specific priority or a range of priority level. [0157] UE reselecting resources should take into account its own QoS attributes (e.g. latency, priority, etc.) as well as QoS attributes of other UEs that are indicated in SCI (e.g. priority). The latency may affect resource selection window, priority and reliability amount of resources to be reserved as well as whether to apply standalone reservation signaling or not. In addition, these parameters jointly with the thresholds on SL-RSRP measurements may affect resource exclusion procedure and preemption mechanisms.
In regards to claims 7 Alexey teaches wherein the resource pool is a aperiodic or periodic traffic only resource pool. [0149] For aperiodic traffic, the dynamic resource selection is a more reasonable choice since it transmission pattern is not predictable. Therefore, in various embodiments, NR V2X may support one or more of the following schemes for resource reselection: a dynamic resource reselection scheme, where resources are selected for transmission of each TB; and/or a semi-persistent resource reselection scheme, where resources are semi-persistently allocated for transmission of multiple TBs.
In regards to claims 8 Alexey teach wherein the resource pool is a dedicated resource pool or an exceptional resource pool. [0054] In one embodiment, predefined set of PSSCH resources is allocated for reservation signal transmission.
In regards to claims 9 Alexey teaches wherein at least a part of the resource pool is dedicated to users with traffic with a specific priority or priority level or quality of service [0113] In case of unicast and groupcast communication, sensing procedure detects and indicates resources which are reserved for transmission by members of the same group/unicast pair. Resources reserved for transmission by UEs that belong to the same group/unicast pair are automatically excluded from candidate resource set.
In regards to claims 10 Alexey teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to determine an information describing the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool itself. [0109] In addition, support of SL-RSSI measurement is also useful, and may be used. For instance, if transmission from UE-1 was decoded on sub-channel #1 and UE-1 reserve resources for (re)-transmission in future slots, then considering IBE impact it is desirable to know the level of RX signal power on other sub-channels if there is no other UEs detected. From that perspective SL-RSSI can be used as a secondary metric if there is no SL-RSRP measurement available on candidate resource for transmission.
In regards to claims 11 Alexey teaches wherein the transceiver is a UE [0171] As shown by FIG. 5, the system 500 includes UE 501a and UE 501b (collectively referred to as “UEs 501” or “UE 501”). In this example, UEs 501 are illustrated as smartphones (e.g., handheld touchscreen mobile computing devices connectable to one or more cellular networks).
In regards to claims 13 Alexey teaches wherein the transceiver is battery operated. [0212] The PMIC 625 may often be included when the platform 600 is capable of being powered by a battery 630, for example, when the device is included in a UE 501a-b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [2-4, 12 and 14-18] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Alexey (US 20200229171 A1) in view of Rao (US 20190239112 A1).
In regards to claims 2 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to determine the traffic density and/or user density in dependence on at least one out of an aperiodic traffic and periodic traffic within the resource pool.
However, Rao does teach wherein the transceiver is configured to determine the traffic density [0100] For each CC, the CBR indicates the level of congestion on the subchannels, which is determined by measuring the average reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the subchannels over a certain sensing period (a number of previous subframes), and/or user density in dependence on at least one out of an aperiodic traffic and periodic traffic within the resource pool. [0077] If a V-UE requires performing transmission of periodic data (e.g. for platooning and extended sensor use cases), it may transmit an RRC reconfiguration request and SR/BSR to the RAN. The RAN may perform the configuration of the Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) resources on the SL-RBs and provide the SL grants to the UE.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the traffic configurations as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
In regards to claims 3 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to perform the random selection of resources if the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool fulfills a certain or pre-defined condition.
However, Rao does teach wherein the transceiver is configured to perform the random selection of resources [0106] Step 4: From the selected CCs, the subchannels required for transmissions are determined from the corresponding resource pools based on Layer 1 parameters (e.g. RSSI) and SCI sent by other UEs in the vicinity range or selected randomly, if the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool fulfills a certain or pre-defined condition. [0101] a CBR threshold can be applied as an indicator to assess the usability of a CC transmission where the transmissions should only be performed if the resulting CBR value is below the CBR threshold. For PD, it is necessary to use multiple CCs and, correspondingly, multiple CBR threshold values to guarantee that the resulting congestion from transmissions does not adversely affect the overall transmission reliability.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the traffic configurations as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
In regards to claims 4 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach wherein the certain or pre-defined condition is fulfilled if the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool or a measurement value describing the same is smaller than a predefined threshold, and/or wherein the traffic density or user density corresponds with a specific priority threshold, range of priority levels, or any other metrics, and/or wherein the transceiver is configured to perform a normal selection of resources if the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool does not fulfill the certain or pre-defined condition.
However, Rao does teach wherein the certain or pre-defined condition is fulfilled if the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool or a measurement value describing the same is smaller than a predefined threshold, [0101] To ensure that the congestion in a certain CC, and consequently the CBR, is minimized, it is necessary to either limit the transmission power or reduce the number of subchannels used in the CC. Here, a CBR threshold can be applied as an indicator to assess the usability of a CC transmission where the transmissions should only be performed if the resulting CBR value is below the CBR threshold, and/or wherein the traffic density or user density corresponds with a specific priority threshold, [0105] Step 3: A configured PPPP-to-CBRthreshold mapping (provided via RRC or pre-configured in the UE) is used together with the CBR measurements to determine a subset of CCs identified from the previous step (step 2). Typically, a higher priority service (low PPPP index) maps to a lower CBR threshold value. For example Priority(PPPP1)>Priority(PPPP2) translates to Threshold(CBR1)<Threshold(CBR2) for a given CC k, range of priority levels, or any other metrics, [0086] a PPPP=1 may require traffic handling with highest priority and lowest Packet Delay Bound (PDB). The PPPP value corresponding to a V2X service can be obtained from upper layers (in non-access layer at application). The PDB value for the packets associated with a V2X service can be determined directly from the PPPP using a one-to-one mapping, and/or wherein the transceiver is configured to perform a normal selection of resources if the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool does not fulfill the certain or pre-defined condition. [0121] Step 3: If the two best CCs are not sufficient to meet the reliability requirement then the third best CC is considered. The third best CC should also satisfy the above requirements for combined CBR, CQI.sup.th and resource threshold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the traffic configurations as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
In regards to claims 12 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach wherein the UE is a vulnerable UE.
However, Rao does teach wherein the UE is a vulnerable UE. [0112] To support PD, it is necessary for the Tx UE to take into account of the CCs monitored by the Rx UE. The Rx UE (e.g. P-UE) may have limited capability in monitoring all CCs used on sidelink or may have powered off a subset of the Rx chains to minimize power consumption.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the UE as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
In regards to claims 14 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach wherein the control information comprises at least one out of a priority or priority range corresponding to the traffic density or user density of the at least one selected resource.
However, Rao does teach wherein the control information comprises at least one out of a priority or priority range corresponding to the traffic density or user density [0114] Packet duplication can be performed on sidelink transmissions to ensure certain V2X services (e.g. platooning) satisfy the high reliability and low latency requirements. An example of the PPPP-to-CBRthreshold mapping between different V2X services to CBR threshold values to support PD using multiple CCs is shown in the Table of FIG. 6. Each V2X service is associated with a PPPP indicator and is represented with an SL-RB ID, of the at least one selected resource.[0074] The SCI can contain the PRBs information within the subchannels used for transmission, the Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index used on the PRBs, the reservation of the subchannels for a number of future subframes and the packet transmission counter (indicating the number of times the Tx UE will continue transmitting before subchannels are reselected).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the traffic configurations as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
In regards to claims 15 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to trigger the random selection of resources within the resource pool based on the traffic density or user density of the resource pool or based on a configured priority of the resource pool.
However, Rao does teach wherein the transceiver is configured to trigger the random selection of resources [0106] Step 4: From the selected CCs, the subchannels required for transmissions are determined from the corresponding resource pools based on Layer 1 parameters (e.g. RSSI) and SCI sent by other UEs in the vicinity range or selected randomly, within the resource pool based on the traffic density or user density of the resource pool or based on a configured priority of the resource pool [0118] Note that when k=1 PD can be deactivated and a single CC is used for transmitting the PDU and when k>1 PD can be activated. Given a certain sensing duration, T_sense=[0,T_max], during which the CBR and CQI of the n available CCs are monitored by the UE, the steps involved in determining CCs are as follows (Steps 1-4)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the traffic configurations as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
In regards to claims 16 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to perform the random selection of resources of the resource pool using a sensing window, wherein a number of candidate resources defined by the sensing window is below a configured threshold.
However, Rao does teach wherein the transceiver is configured to perform the random selection of resources of the resource pool using a sensing window, [0115] In typical operation, after configuring the SL-RBs the Tx UE monitors the CCs over a sensing period, T_sense=[0,T_max] and determines the CBR values. Once the CCs are selected they can be reserved for a reservation duration, T_reserve=[Tr_min, Tr_max]. The reservation duration may be determined based on the PDB requirement for the V2X packet, where typically T_reserve>=PDB, wherein a number of candidate resources defined by the sensing window is below a configured threshold. [0116] Also, in FIG. 6, ΔCBR=f(1/T_sense) refers to the variance or uncertainty in the CBR measurement. Typically, longer sensing period translates to smaller CBR variance, where increasing T_sense to T_max translates to reducing ΔCBR to 0. However, for satisfying the URLLC requirement, it may be necessary to make a faster CC selection decision with either limited or no sensing (i.e. T_sense<<T_max).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the traffic configurations as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
In regards to claims 17 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to trigger the random selection in order to provide a minimum amount of radio resources required for a specific quality of service.
However, Rao does teach wherein the transceiver is configured to trigger the random selection [0106] Step 4: From the selected CCs, the subchannels required for transmissions are determined from the corresponding resource pools based on Layer 1 parameters (e.g. RSSI) and SCI sent by other UEs in the vicinity range or selected randomly, in order to provide a minimum amount of radio resources required for a specific quality of service. [0119] the resources (i.e. subchannels) available on the primary CC.sub.p are sufficient to meet the reliability requirement R for SL-RB i (i.e. PPPP i), CC.sub.p is selected for sidelink transmission of V2X PDU and PD is deactivated.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the traffic configurations as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
In regards to claims 18 Alexey teaches the limitations of the parent claim
Alexey does not teach another transceiver, wherein the other transceiver is configured to determine an information describing the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool, and wherein the other transceiver is configured to transmit the information describing the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool to the transceiver
However, Rao does teach another transceiver, wherein the other transceiver is configured to determine an information describing the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool, [0076] To ensure that the RAN nodes have sufficient information when selecting the CCs and allocating subchannels/resources, the Mode 3 UEs may report the CC usage of other Mode 4 UEs located within the coverage of the RAN. The CC usage information, which includes the CBR measurement, subchannel usage, PD activation status, and reservation duration (which may be obtained by decoding the SCI), can be used by the RAN nodes to mitigate congestion and interference when shared CCs are used by both Mode 3 and Mode 4 UEs, and wherein the other transceiver is configured to transmit the information describing the traffic and/or user density on the resource pool to the transceiver [0160] In Mode 4, the Rx UE can perform the CBR and channel measurements to determine if PD should be activated or deactivated. Based on the measurements, the Rx UE can provide indication to the Tx UE on a PD indicator MAC CE for the configured set of SL-RBs and CCs.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Alexey and Rao before him or her, to modify the method of Alexey to include the traffic configurations as taught by Rao.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved resource utilization. (0063 by Rao).
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466